Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moorhouse Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Moorhouse Campsite
Holford
Bridgwater
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA5 1SP
Tel: 01278 741295  or  07900251613
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To November.

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trummy200 5 reviews from this member

Like a mini Arboretum with several species of trees planted through out the touring field. Very peaceful during the week but large party Friday night with lots of kids broke the tranquillity.

However this is site that is on the 'happy to stay again' list.

The owners dog is real friendly and a bit of a character. Enjoyed a meal at the Plough Inn that is in easy walking distance along a track and then a quiet road. Good base for cycling the Quantocks and the narrow lanes toward the coast - but stay off the A39 -busy and narrow. £18 for two low season with hook up - facilities clean

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site, handy for the Quantocks and the beaches, they seem to have thought of everything. Quiet site when we went although I did think there would likely be insufficient shower facilities when its busy. There needs to be more light for the showers as well so I used the disabled/family. 50 pence to use but sufficient time. Laundry facilities excellent and pitches a good size with a choice. Good telephone signal here. I would be happy to go back and use this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy McKay 14 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it was close to an area we had not explored before – The Quantock Hills. The site was situated on a farm at the foot of the hills, which gave us great views from our well drained grass pitch. We got a warm welcome from the owners and shown around so we could choose our own pitch (the site wasn’t busy at this time of year). The was lots of information in the reception and shower / toilet area’s including information on local walks and places to visit, they also sold their own cider which was lovely. The main showers and wash facilities were always clean, we didn’t use the secondary loo’s as there were a few D of E campers (well behaved) using them so they got a little muddy at times. Overall an ideal base as the Quantocks were within walking distance as was the coast, this enabled us to invent some great circular walks. Had a day in Minehead which was great also cycled to Bridgwater which wasn’t so impressive. The River Parrot Trail out to Stert Point is to be recommended. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henlease Camping 3 reviews from this member

Good location for visiting many North Somerset towns (Dunster, Minehead, etc) and coastal attractions. Flat camping fields for both caravans and tents - with a separate recreational area. A working farm with animals on show (hens, ducks, geese, etc). Good wash facilities with heating and plenty of hot water. Good ampage electric hook-ups allowing for tent / awning heaters. Friendly and helpful site owners. Pub in walking distance for meals out. Good value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ciderboy2487 1 review from this member

First time here, lovely location, great views!

Met at reception, seemed ok, got shown to pitch, was surprised to see so many tents on the way, so close together!

Pitched tent, went to use toilets, found one way blocked by a load of tents! great! Could use toilet block that's closer, but no showers in that so had to go the long way around!

Kids play area was great, however, we read the rules and made sure ours were in the tent and at least relaxing at 2230, by 2330 there were still youngsters running around shouting and screaming! Complained but it that was after the event so nothing could be done!

Won't be coming back, shame really

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba649 7 reviews from this member

I visited as a Duke of Edinburgh exped assessor and arrived a day earlier than the school.

The owner kindly accommodated my last minute request at the same charge as D of E staff on the weekend!

The campsite is clean, tidy, flat with good facilities.

There is also a new shop and reception, very tastefully decorated and set out with a good selection of supplies making the arrival easier to manage.

My only issue with this weekend was not with the campsite, but with the other campers, there were two large families visiting, totally different families in separate parts of the campsite, that had taken over their own corners of it. This wouldn't have been an issue if they hadn't have BLOCKED direct access to the facilities, making the route to the toilets a very meandering one!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fepper 4 reviews from this member

My son and I had a fantastic 3 night stay at Moorhouse. It was our first visit to the site and we found the owners very friendly and accommodating. The site is well laid out and we had plenty of space for our van+awning. We were in the large tent field (with electric hook up) which was perfect for us. The site and the facilities were always kept very clean. We enjoyed an open fire every night. The site doesn't sell things like bread & milk, but they do provide a fridge and freezer in the communal bbq area which was useful.

We enjoyed exploring the local area - Kilve Beach, Watchet harbour, the steam railway, etc. And we also cycled to the Plough for food one evening. Families are welcome and the food was plentiful and good.

All in all we had a great stay, and would visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

A working farm with chickens and ducks roaming about. Spacious pitches, pretty and well maintained site in lovely surroundings.

Customer service marked down because we didn't see the site owners all week so cannot judge. Sorry!

Decent shower block, 50p for 5 mins shower but taking into account we paid 18. 00 a night including EHU and awning, it still worked out cheap. Shower was hot. Facilities clean.

Lots of seasonal pitches taken. The camping field (with EHU) is lovely, very spacious and we stayed on there despite being in a caravan. Thoroughly enjoyed watching the sunrise in the morning and set in the evening. Lots of space for children to play and some equipment for them too.

There is a covered communal BBQ area with a fridge and freezer available to use.

Fire pits everywhere.

You can purchase wood and cider on the farm.

Free wifi available around the shower block. We did have problems with phone signals.

40 minutes walk to Kilve beach, a real fossil hunters paradise. 20 minutes walk to nearest pub, (not along main road but on a green route) which is a locals place but friendly enough with a decent range of ales and ciders and a basic menu. Huge portions mind! 10 minute drive to Williton with a good selection of other places to eat and a co-op and spar. A more basic shop is in Kilve handy for milk, bread etc.

Dunster and its castle are close by as is Minehead. Good access to cycling and walking routes. WWT Steart less than 10 minutes drive.

All in all a good site and we will return. Really enjoyed the peace and tranquillity and hopefully next time we will get to meet the owners because from what we've read we would have enjoyed that :-)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ticky Tree 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, spacious site which is family friendly. Our two year old loved the fact there were chickens and ducks wandering around and on the bank holiday weekend the owner put on tractor rides! Facilities are clean and well maintained, although the showers (for which there is an additional charge) are not great in terms of power. All in all, we would highly recommend the site and the pub up the road!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda Pickstock 1 review from this member

This has to be one of the nicest campsites we have visited. The owners are very helpful and friendly and very obviously love what they do. The site is on a working farm, the pitches are a good size, many separated by pretty hedges with flowers. There are lots of trees and lovely plants and the site is very well maintained. It's clear that Simon, Helena and their family work very hard to make this such an appealing campsite. There are two shower/toilet/washing up blocks and wet rooms. At busy times there is a short wait but there are plenty of facilities for the size of the site. It's 50p for a 5 minute shower but when you look at the cost of a nights stay it really isn't a problem. We stayed with our camper, 2 adults and 2 dogs for just £20 per night including hook up. We think it's a real bargain for this quality of campsite. There are so many personal touches that make it so good. In the shower block there are fresh flowers, there is recycling, an information point with maps, local attraction leaflets, books and magazines. WIFI is available if you feel the need and you can even buy Cider made at the farm, fresh eggs and wood for your campfire. It's a great camping experience. The owner has a wonderful collection of vintage tractors and gives rides around the farm for children and adults. There are chickens, rabbits and horses, a children's play swing and a communal barbecue area with fridge and freezer. If like us you want to go for scenic walks, you can walk up a track from the campsite and in 30 minutes you are on the Quantocks moorland with stunning walks and views. Walk the other direction and you are at the beach in 30 minutes. There are plenty of places to grab a cream tea or light lunch and the Plough pub serves giant food portions of delicious pub grub. Whatever your age there is something for all. I cannot fault this site. We have visited twice in a month. Once for a weekend and then full week. We will be returning for sure.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019