Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Watchfield Inn

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Highbridge > The Watchfield Inn > Reviews

The Watchfield Inn
The Causeway
Watchfield
Highbridge
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA9 4RD
Tel: 01278 783551
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 38 reviews from this member

 We used the Watchfield Inn as a stopover on the way to Devon - a lot of the other sites in the area seem to have a lot of motorway noise and after a year of shielding we also quite fancied a pub site!

It's a small. Level field behind the pub; the landlord came out and greeted us and was very friendly. As it was so wet we parked up on one of the access tracks rather than the grass pitches at his suggestion.

It was the day before pubs were allowed to open their inside areas, and this newish landlord has built a nice pole barn supplemented by a couple of event shelters. We enjoyed an early evening drink in the rather full pub garden - the clientele is lively, but there was a great atmosphere. They don't really do food on a Sunday evening, but again our host obliged and we had some good pub food, ideal as it was a bit windy to get the BBQ out.

Campers have access to the loos which are outside but we have our own facilities. There's a cider farm shop opposite which I think also sells other bits and bobs.

Good stop off, or perhaps for a few days' cycling - it's a pretty area and quite flat and we saw a fair few cyclists. Haven't scored for child friendliness as we don't have any; being a pub field it's not fenced off from the road and there was still some building work going on so a few materials lying around.

The pub doesn't have a website but the landlord answered FB messages promptly. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rondeb 3 reviews from this member

 Campsite is open and pub open very friendly

Even has electric hook up, although all on grass

But was really hot and sunny when we stayed and others were also staying 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that the campsite at this pub may temporarily be closed.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dmcc1234 10 reviews from this member

 It's been about a year since we last stayed at the Watchfield Inn and it's possibly been that long since they've cleaned the toilets too!

Not so impressed this time around, still a great location for an overnight stopover for Devon/Cornwall and still a good price at 15 per night including hook up. But the toilet block just wasn't anywhere near as clean as it was last time around. In peak season and with such a small amount of toilets in the first place, the management really do need to keep on top of it!

I'd still happily stay there as an an overnighter, but only because we have our own facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dmcc1234 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed at The Watchfield Inn site as an overnight stop over, when travelling down to North Devon. It's ideal for this as it's just a few minutes from Junction 22 of the M5, and on the night we stayed there we actually had the whole site to ourselves, so we didn't even need to unhitch!

I only went into the pub to pay for the pitch, but it looked like a nice place and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The site is very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from the comings and goings at the pub either. There is also a small children's play area next to the pub, that our kids loved.

The toilet/shower block appears to have recently been refurbished, it's basic but clean and well presented. It's only a small block though, with just two toilets and one shower, so it could get quite busy if the site was full. If you intend to use the shower, then make sure you wear a pair of flip flops though, as there is hard rubber matt on the floor of the shower cubicle that is actually quite painful to stand on in bare feet!

All this for just 15 per night (including hookup) is an absolute bargain in my opinion, and is highly preferable to the alternative of paying 17 to stay overnight in Sedgemoor Motorway Services instead! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gary.fitton 20 reviews from this member

 Visited the Watchfield whilst travelling down to Cornwall.

Pleasantly surprised. The pub itself is a wonderful old building the interior being themed on a street - Has to be seen, as words cannot do it justice!

The new proprietors were both extremely warm and welcoming.

The night we stayed a Rock n Roll night was being held. Despite being well attended, we were not disturbed by noise etc.

Toilets as mentioned in previous review are currently not functional, however we were informed that they were to be refurbished. Excellent value - 10 with h/u. Will return! 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jj01 1 review from this member

 Visited Watchfield inn overnight on 07/02/2012 and was pleasantly surprised at warm welcome we received from the new owners of three weeks.

Lovely old pub 17th century in parts.

The dining area still has the original 17th century wood panels.

Central square bar area surrounded by separate rooms, one of which will be converted to a snug with a wood burning fire.

The skittle alley to be updated, part of which will include a carvery area.

Varied menu, reasonably priced, our meal was excellent.

Small grass camping area, some with hookups, two hard standings at present. However toilet facilities out of bounds (due to past neglect)awaiting refurbishment.

Short drive from m5 junction 22, good access into park 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WernerL 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as an over night stop from the M5 on the journey to Cornwall.

The site was unkempt, with no management visibility. You paid in the pub, but I didn't eat or drink here at all, but resorted to travelling into Weston Super mare.

Dirty toilets and the shower block required renovation and a good clean.

There were other units present, they seemed to be resident.

We left very early next morning and won't be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsgrumpy 5 reviews from this member

 We found this campsite by accident, as we were passing from Highbridge camping and caravan centre.

We had purchased a new tent a couple of weeks beforehand and needed to give it a test-drive.

The field is behind the Watchfield inn, surrounded by Conifers and mown grass with EHU pitches. We phoned to book our pitch.

We were to pitch the tent anywhere we liked and go and pay when the pub was open.

The field is next to a main road and an 'unclassified' lane on the left hand side of the site, but this was hardly used . Mostly used by horses and tractors. We could hear traffic from the M5, more so of a buzz than a traffic noise!

There was a cess pit covered with 2 drain covers, for the toilet waste.

The toilet block contained 2 toilets and sinks, 1 with 'slow' running hot water. A shower with hot water. The toilet block itself, needed a good clean and paint. The shower room wasn't very appealing at all!

There wasn't any facilities for pot washing or hot water with speed to fill your bowl! Caravan owners may be better off with their own facilities.

Overall, it was a pleasant site for an overnight or weekend stay.

There wasn't any facilities for children and they could escape into the car park and possibly onto the main road. (The details on here states there is a play area but we didn't see one)

There was Richs cider farm opposite, to stock up on your cider and local produce. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Watchfield Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Watchfield Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Watchfield Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Highbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement