Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lanefoot Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Lanefoot Farm
Thornthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5RZ
Tel: 01768 778097
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 153 Reviews
                8/10 from 153 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  153 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alfred54 1 review from this member

Good: Beautiful views. Nice fields with trees. Clean toilets and showers. Friendly and sensible owners. Had a couple of problems whilst there and they were most helpful, going beyond the level expected. Handy shop open all day. Free hot showers. Washing up area with hot water. Walking distance to pubs and village shop. Great location close to hills. No music allowed and quiet after 10 pm.

Bad: Field sloping. Quite muddy considering the dry summer (had a bit of rain more recently but it must get really bad if it's wet summer). Not enough showers - had to queue half an hour both evenings and the site was nowhere near full. To be fair some people spend a ridiculous amount of time in the shower and should just be a bit quicker when others are waiting! (Did enjoy chatting to other campers whilst in the shower queue!) Price a bit steep for the facilities. (9. 50 pppn low season for tent). Road noise from A66 very noticeable on still nights - bring earplugs.

There are electric hookups but fussier types are probably better off on the more expensive holiday park type sites of which there are several around the area. This site is suited to campers who appreciate the lovely views and little luxuries such as toilet paper provided and a covered washing up area!

Would definitely go there again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 11 reviews from this member

I have to agree with the previous review. This site is more suited to smaller units and tents. The area on the other side of the showers was pristine compared to the field we were in. As you would expect, it does rain in the Lake district, but the field was sodden and it was a very muddy walk to get to the toilets and showers. It is not a site suitable for caravans and motorhomes.

There are 3 showers which are situated in a converted farm building.

The toilets are scattered around the site. There is no shower/wash block to speak of.

The site is ideally situated for the bus and there is a lovely hotel, Middle Ruddings down the road, that has a relaxing bar and does excellent food. It's a shame that we won't be staying here again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalky9 23 reviews from this member

I must be in a parallel universe to the people rating this site as 10/10. It is quite the most basic site imaginable, with very ordinary facilities and charging extortionate prices. The hardstandings are too narrow to accommodate both car and caravan and the grass between the hardstandings is long and the ground sodden - you need wellingtons to go to the toilets. You either have to walk 100 metres up the lane to the 'main' facilities or use the two toilets which you reach through a farmyard and past the chemical waste disposal.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tommygoy 1 review from this member

We have just had 4 nights camping as part of a 15 strong team - all family members. The weather was indifferent but the experience was enjoyable mainly because the facilities were perfectly adequate and the people that run the site were so pleasant and welcoming. We were concerned how many tents we were taking and how much space we might need but this was not a problem, they plan the number of pitches required and the space available very well. There were no strict unnecessary rules, just a very welcoming feeling the whole time we were there. When our rather large group found the whole area was turning to mud they provided us with some boards to put down - very helpful. The provided campfire burners were superb and really made the evenings special. They will sell you firewood from the shop. Oh, and the views from the site are spectacular as well. I would not hesitate to come again if given the chance.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smorgasbord- 2 reviews from this member

I did plenty of research before settling on Lanefoot for its location primarily and the list of site features. I travel solo with a small car and a modest tent. I wanted to have good access to evening meals so nearby pubs is essential and Lanefoot is great for that. Keswick has a wide choice and Braithwaite is a good walking option. Although the shower block has underfloor heating you have to accept that it may well be cold in there outside of morning and evening periods. It's not a sealed building, more of a converted 16th Century barn. I arrived after sunset and as the owners were not around (their dinner break) I found my own pitch and checked in with them a few hours later. I didn't see them again for a whole week. At this time of year (late October) the casual nature of that check-in was perfectly fine for me. I saw and spoke the owners just once more to buy logs the following night.

I did find the lane along the North Eastern edge of the site surprisingly busy, ear plugs may be required for light sleepers. We had little rain but quite high winds. I was able to turn and pitch my tent into the wind but could do nothing about a very muddy and waterlogged pitch. Despite being at the top of the field and on a slope it was pretty boggy even after modest rain. Advise that you bring either a footprint or groundsheet. Advise also that you try and leave you car on the drier/hard standing areas if at all possible as the site gets churned up when you don't have 4wD. The shop sells kiln dried wood for around 6 a bag and this will last a couple of hours on a cold night. You may benefit from buying cheaper bags of seasoned wood and bringing it to site if you want to get more value.

Toilets in both the main block and smaller barn were always clean and well maintained. There are PIR sensor-driven lights for access after dark.

I did find my particular pitch and uncomfortable slope. Perhaps I could have pitched better but it was hard to avoid the sodden areas and get a good compromise between distance from fellow campers, aspect and the levels. I would like to see more obvious defined level pitches - marked perhaps and separate hard-standing parking for those that are happy to avoid tent-by-car pitches. That would benefit the site enormously. I did also feel the shower block could be improved with more insulation and cold-weather proofing and the showers although free were on very short timers. When all three were being used the pressure/flow was quite poor.

In summary for (tent based campers) it's a picturesque location with great access to the Northern and Western Fells. There are solid nearby facilities for food and drink and consumables. There is excellent access to road bus transport. It's a casual site with a care-free approach to customer service and a modest shop for sundries. Personal facilities are clean but could be improved with better cold weather protection and more powerful showers. Pitching options appear numerous but are dramatically reduced once you consider waterlogging, road noise, aspect and slope. At under 70 for a car and tent for 7 nights I would say that does still remain good value.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

We stayed at Lanefoot Farm in August, so it was full, but the campsite didn't feel overcrowded and we rarely had to queue to use the facilities which were clean and plentiful. It was useful to have the small shop on site, stocking logs, bread, ice creams etc and we have happy memories of sitting around the campfire overlooking Skiddaw. It was lovely to be on a working farm with sheep, hens and the sweetest little chicks wandering around the camping field.

A big plus is that although Lanefoot feels like it's in the middle of nowhere, it's close to the main road. We didn't need to move our campervan once we'd parked up as we could get around by bus or on our bikes - it was an easy bike ride in to Keswick for all the family. Braithwaite is a short walk away where there were several pubs and an excellent village shop. In summary, a fantastic campsite in a wonderful location.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grannyzap 9 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 weeks at Lanefoot. Welcomed on arrival by Gareth and Helen. The site is well maintained, there are showers, and toilets. Washing up facilities and a dryer if needed. There is a shop on site that sells milk, bacon, free range eggs, etc if you run out of everything. There are chickens running around, so have plenty of bread. If you are looking for peace and quiet, then Lanefoot is for you. Gareth and Helen are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.

Keswick is just 5 mins down the road by car for shopping, market days are Thursday and Saturday. Plenty of shops. You are not far from Cockermouth, Penrith etc.

Can't wait to go back next year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Goodies5 5 reviews from this member

We spent the half-term week at this site in a tent. The weather was fantastic which made our break really special. The site itself was good. Plenty of space but no specific pitches which was a plus in my eyes. There is a shop on-site which sells basic foodstuffs if you run out. Pubs nearby and other places to go within easy reach. The main criticism I have is that there are not enough toilets and showers for the size of the site although the showers are hot and included in the price. I didn't enjoy queuing 3 or 4 deep to use either of the facilities and, of course, everyone wants to use them at the same time. Overall a lovely site, maybe slightly overpriced for available facilities though. We would go back there.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 24 reviews from this member

We chose Lanefoot Farm for our first outing of the year in our campervan and were VERY happy with our first time here.

The beautiful weather helped, as did the Middle Ruddings hotel bar which was ace but the site itself was perfect. We were in the little field near the road and had a horse, sheep and a noisy goose for neighbours!

The owner was friendly, the toilets etc clean and the shop was open at handy times. We paid a fiver for wood for the firepit which was good for the chilly evenings. A bonus, as ever, was the plug socket in the shower area.

It was about a 40 min walk to Keswick (there are off road paths if you have map). On one of the days we caught the Derwentwater launch to Hawes End and struggled up Cat Bells, walking back via the Newlands Valley. Look out for the handy cafe in Little Town.

I think we chose the right time to visit as it was pretty quiet on the site. There are a few reviews about it being busy on summer weekends which means I'd think twice about going in high season.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grannyzap 9 reviews from this member

Just got back today from 9 lovely days away at Lanefoot Farm. It was lovely to see the owners again, and they even helped out when we had trouble with our electrics. Met the usual chickens and sheep. Lovely shop on site in case you forget anything, lovely fresh eggs, cumberland sausage (for hubby) and bacon.

Lovely nice hot showers and washing facilities, even lovely washing up facilities. Everything is always lovely and clean.

Keswick is a 5 minute drive away, there are also some nice places to visit. Don't forget the trip on Derwentwater. Market day in Keswick is Thursday and Saturday not to be missed. Moot Hall is worth a visit for help and booking tickets.

Counting down the weeks till we go back to Lanefoot.

Previous     153 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


158 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!