Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Shallow Grange Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Shallow Grange Farm Reviews

Shallow Grange Farm
Old Coalpit Lane
Chelmorton
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9FW
Tel: 01298 23578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 touring + 20 tent pitches
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Time to relax 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful cared for site. Owners welcoming & helpful. Large flat pitches (on EHU) field. Wash rooms & pot wash very clean.

Like the barrier entry/exit to site. Loved the Eco friendly aspect, more need to follow suit if only recycling waste.

Great choice of walks from site & within local area. Lots to see and do in small radius of site.

Would definitely re visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roadie6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful Location, lots of places to visit in surrounding area. Good area for walkers.

Spotless facilities, covid system well thought out.

Pleasant owners 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newsonoid 1 review from this member

 This eco-friendly campsite ticked all the boxes for us. On arrival we immediately realised we had made the right decision.

From the welcome on arrival, to finding our perfectly level pitch with hook-up, the small but spotlessly clean facilities, and the friendliness of the other campers, we all felt totally relaxed and so glad we had chosen this site over many of the nearby alternatives.

Well situated for Buxton and Bakewell, easy access to many of the surrounding dales for walks, and plenty of opportunities for cycling (thought its hilly).

With a security barrier at the entry to the site and low numbers of pitches, we felt totally safe and relaxed throughout our stay.

No on-site shop but that's something you can easily plan for.

One for the list of sites to return to! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Squire 1 review from this member

 Large camping pitches, clean and tidy, beautiful location.

On arrival, the greeting was quite brusque and it felt a little like we were intruding. When we booked we hadn’t been asked what vehicle we had and were charged a certain price - when he paid the balance on arrival we were sternly told that we would need to pay an extra £4 per night as we had a transit van (and tent). When we queried this, we were told that the van would ‘rip up the campsite’. We were then given an alternative pitch in the camper van field and the extra charge was waived after queuing this.

We were hoping to fish over the week-end but was unable to access the fishing lake over the ladder-style style due to my health needs - this was not identified on the website or we would have looked elsewhere.

Toilet block was a little ‘tired’, although clean but we feel not really ‘gold standard’ as advertised.

Lovely book shop and cafe down the road (High Peak Book Store) - well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kathsa 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely peaceful place to stay. The owners were welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed beautiful walks from the site.

The site is very clean and COVID precautions are in place. We plan to visit again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tcrann 1 review from this member

 Ed and Marylin great hosts. Facilities are brilliant and spotlessly clean (showers, Loos, washup, laundry, recycling). Lots of space between pitches, lovely flat field easy to pitch.

Great location for walks we did circular one visiting Chelmorton, Taddington, Miller dale- great pub for lunch, then back along river through Deep dale. 10 mins drive to Buxton or 15 to Bakewell.

Site was managed so well for Covid considerations - facilities one way system only 4 in at one time but there was never more than 2 during our stay, regular sanitising and cleaning.

Very efficient, friendly, charming site, highly recommend will definitely visit again next year x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Family comprising two couples and a young child. Stayed for two nights as tent campers and had a fab time. Check in easy, with a map of the site and Covid information given.

Very safe as access code needed for the security barrier on entrance to the site. Spacious pitches, and a huge area in the middle of the field for playing games.

Very clean facilities with a good system for Covid 19 compliance, one way systems etc and the facilities deep cleaned on regular intervals through the day.

A lovely village pub about 35 minutes walk in Chelmorton.

Would definitely visit again 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Edsav2 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, with good precautions against Covid-19 - the owners have gone out of their way to expand pitch sizes (at their expense) to reduce covid risk.

Don't believe BBC weather - was meant to rain all the time we were there and we had 2 essentially rain-free days.

Shower / toilet facilities are good and with a 4 in at once cap (mostly there was no-one else in when I went) so I did not feel at risk to Covid-19.

Location is good with good access to great walks and Buxton. The owners were extremely friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Acilia 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, well maintained and family friendly. Felt very clean and safe.

The family really enjoyed the fishing.

Would definitely return for another visit. Thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Horsey 1 review from this member

 Lovely weekend at Shallow Grange. Great facilities Lovely and clean with good covid-19 security precautions in place. Peaceful stay on a lovely flat pitch.

If you are looking for peace and quiet with good facilities I would recommend.

We cycled the Tissington trail from camp site and walked the following day.

Thanks we will be back. 
via mobile


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shallow Grange Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shallow Grange Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shallow Grange Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder