Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shallow Grange Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Shallow Grange Farm > Reviews

Shallow Grange Farm
Old Coalpit Lane
Chelmorton
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9FW
Tel: 01298 23578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11 touring + 20 tent pitches
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Shaz19 1 review from this member

 Fabulous, clean & peaceful site!

Very clean toilets & showers which were the perfect temperature.

If you want calm & peace & quiet, this is perfect - just what we wanted. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs C R Heron 4 reviews from this member

 The huge open skies were perfect for watching the Perseids.

The pitches are a great size. Water points very convenient. The showers were fine, nothing special but did the job. The toilet facilities were clean and tidy.

Fellow campers were sociable and respectful.

The owner was welcoming and very clear with instructions.

The scenery was just beautiful. We enjoyed a circular walk around the area, there are lots to choose from. We visited the High Peak bookstore and cafe, one of my favourite places to shop and eat.

The site is easy to access, well equipped for a variety of units with or without electric hook up.

Solar power, rainwater capture and recycling contribute to make it eco friendly.

A lovely peaceful site. I can see why so many people choose to stay on site long term. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jcjbears 13 reviews from this member

 Myself and my adult daughter stayed, in a tent, at Shallow Grange for 3 nights. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and directed to a suitable pitch. The site was well maintained and the facilities were kept clean.

The location was good in that there were walks from the site - a leaflet was available from reception - and Buxton, Tideswell and Bakewell are all within a short drive with plenty of good walks, pubs, cafés and restaurants.

Apart from young people taking part in Duke of Edinburgh Award expeditions (they were quiet, well behaved, in bed early and packed up and gone before we even awoke each morning), there were almost no other campers in the tent field, although many of the seasonal caravans were occupied - many with irritating flashing fairy lights which, in our opinion, spoilt one of the the main delights of camping: getting away from the trappings of suburbia and enjoying the natural environment, especially the night sky!

The touring caravan field also looked nearly full but everyone respected the site rules regarding lack of noise.

We enjoyed having a fire, one evening, using a fire basket and logs available for hire and purchase (respectively) from reception although it was a bit of a pain having to carry them across the site. The fire basket was too big and sooty to want to try and fit it in the car. Previous sites we have stayed on have included delivery to our tent in the rental price!

Despite the selling point that this is an eco-friendly site, we were disappointed to discover that only paper, plastic BOTTLES, metal food and drinks cans and glass could be recycled.

All other card and plastic packaging - that we would normally recycle at home - had to go into "general waste" (presumably destined for landfill). It was good to see at least some opportunity to recycle and I suppose the limitations were likely to be the fault of Derbyshire waste management rather than the site owners.

However, spraying the path edges with weed killer, which had obviously been done, cannot be considered environmentally friendly! On the plus side: there was a charging point for electric cars; the first I've seen on a campsite.

There was a freezer for freezing ice packs but we didn't find it: only discovering, on our last day, from one of the caravan owners, that it was in the locked laundry room - key obtainable for a £5 deposit from reception!

Another disappointment was the almost constant road noise, both from the nearby A515 and the road past the farm, including frequent quarry traffic.

Although obviously out of the control of the owners, this, along with regular (every 20 minutes including all night) quite low flying aircraft - presumably taking off from Manchester (?) Airport spoilt the otherwise peaceful setting and will stop us wanting to camp there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Time to relax 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful cared for site. Owners welcoming & helpful. Large flat pitches (on EHU) field. Wash rooms & pot wash very clean.

Like the barrier entry/exit to site. Loved the Eco friendly aspect, more need to follow suit if only recycling waste.

Great choice of walks from site & within local area. Lots to see and do in small radius of site.

Would definitely re visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roadie6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful Location, lots of places to visit in surrounding area. Good area for walkers.

Spotless facilities, covid system well thought out.

Pleasant owners 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newsonoid 1 review from this member

 This eco-friendly campsite ticked all the boxes for us. On arrival we immediately realised we had made the right decision.

From the welcome on arrival, to finding our perfectly level pitch with hook-up, the small but spotlessly clean facilities, and the friendliness of the other campers, we all felt totally relaxed and so glad we had chosen this site over many of the nearby alternatives.

Well situated for Buxton and Bakewell, easy access to many of the surrounding dales for walks, and plenty of opportunities for cycling (thought its hilly).

With a security barrier at the entry to the site and low numbers of pitches, we felt totally safe and relaxed throughout our stay.

No on-site shop but that's something you can easily plan for.

One for the list of sites to return to! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Squire 1 review from this member

 Large camping pitches, clean and tidy, beautiful location.

On arrival, the greeting was quite brusque and it felt a little like we were intruding. When we booked we hadn’t been asked what vehicle we had and were charged a certain price - when he paid the balance on arrival we were sternly told that we would need to pay an extra £4 per night as we had a transit van (and tent). When we queried this, we were told that the van would ‘rip up the campsite’. We were then given an alternative pitch in the camper van field and the extra charge was waived after queuing this.

We were hoping to fish over the week-end but was unable to access the fishing lake over the ladder-style style due to my health needs - this was not identified on the website or we would have looked elsewhere.

Toilet block was a little ‘tired’, although clean but we feel not really ‘gold standard’ as advertised.

Lovely book shop and cafe down the road (High Peak Book Store) - well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kathsa 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely peaceful place to stay. The owners were welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed beautiful walks from the site.

The site is very clean and COVID precautions are in place. We plan to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tcrann 1 review from this member

 Ed and Marylin great hosts. Facilities are brilliant and spotlessly clean (showers, Loos, washup, laundry, recycling). Lots of space between pitches, lovely flat field easy to pitch.

Great location for walks we did circular one visiting Chelmorton, Taddington, Miller dale- great pub for lunch, then back along river through Deep dale. 10 mins drive to Buxton or 15 to Bakewell.

Site was managed so well for Covid considerations - facilities one way system only 4 in at one time but there was never more than 2 during our stay, regular sanitising and cleaning.

Very efficient, friendly, charming site, highly recommend will definitely visit again next year x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Family comprising two couples and a young child. Stayed for two nights as tent campers and had a fab time. Check in easy, with a map of the site and Covid information given.

Very safe as access code needed for the security barrier on entrance to the site. Spacious pitches, and a huge area in the middle of the field for playing games.

Very clean facilities with a good system for Covid 19 compliance, one way systems etc and the facilities deep cleaned on regular intervals through the day.

A lovely village pub about 35 minutes walk in Chelmorton.

Would definitely visit again 😊 
via mobile


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Shallow Grange Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shallow Grange Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shallow Grange Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement