Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Lydbury North > Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park Reviews

Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park
The Powis Arms
Lydbury North
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY7 8AU
Tel: 01588 680254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 x electric hook up / 5 x no electric
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmick 5 reviews from this member

One of the best toilet blocks I've come across, clean and heated, looks like it was a former lodge from the estate. Showers are free.

Good location, alongside the drive to the local big house. Friendly landlord. Tent fee for one small tent with one person was £5.

Good local beer in pub (Monty's and Ludlow). Friday night when I visited was fish and chip night - £5 a meal.

Will use again if in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maisie3351 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night recently. Pretty disappointing. It's a small field just behind the pub, adjacent to a road. The showers and loos were far from spotless. We had electric hook up - for which we were charged £10 a night, which I thought was extortionate. A previous reviewer has commented that campers were allowed in the arboretum / lakes area. We were not told this - and felt rather cheated by the site, after looking at the website. Not far from Bishops Castle, which is a delight! The surrounding countryside is beautiful.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chambers4 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little site in a beautiful location.

Field is nice and flat and the only traffic is people going up to Walcot Hall and people horse riding from the stables there.

We met friendly staff at the office of the Hall and they explained that we were permitted free entry to the arboretum as campers and also to fish on either of the two pools. My husband and sons had a lot of fun catching most tench from one of the pools. The grounds are beautiful and it really is an idyllic spot.

We only stayed a weekend but found the showers to be cold when we tried them but the building itself was lovely and warm.

The only draw back is there is nowhere to freeze coolpacks and as we don't normally use EHU this would limit us to a shorter stay - if they could put a small freezer in the kitchen area this would get 9/10.

The adjacent pub is very nice and has a pool table too!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan Walsh 2 reviews from this member

Great little site, only £5pp and no charge for the dog. Loos, showers etc. first class. It is just a shame that group bookings are allowed as a very noisy (till 1am both Friday and Saturday night) party were on the site the weekend I visited. This group also has three dogs (all off lead). If there are rules regarding noise, dog control etc. they were not adhered to or enforced.

I would go back and hope for a quieter stay.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shortlegs 3 reviews from this member

This is our fourth visit to this site and we love it here.

We arrived on the Friday evening in torrential rain, the site was full as there was a beer festival on in nearby Bishops Castle,

The site was very muddy as folks had decided they didn't want to get wet and drove up and down the site rather then leaving their 4 x 4's on the road outside made a right mess.

The site is in a lovely spot, the scenery in South Shropshire is beautiful and the views from the site are stunning.

The showers are free, well included in the price, 2 showers and there is always plenty of hot water, couple of sinks and same amount of toilets so never a problem getting a shower, wash etc.

We have only eaten in the pub once and the food was good but as we only travel from Shrewsbury and spend a couple of nights so we take food with us. The pub serves a good selection of real ales, so I am assured by my hubby and to his delight draught mild.

There is plenty to do and see in this lovely area of South Shropshire including Bishops Castle, Clun and the surrounding area which includes numerous walks and pretty villages.

We will be back of course we usually visit twice a year even though it is only 40 minutes from home it is a great weekend retreat.

The fee for the a caravan is £17 per unit which isn't too bad I am not sure how much the tent fee is.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sidecardave 5 reviews from this member

I've been to this site quite a few times over the past few years for weekend visits, and have always enjoyed it. The field is quite small with one of the best shower / toilet blocks I've seen at a pub site, (its only a few years old but has been built to look like a small Victorian pavilion, its all quarry tiles and sash cord windows etc).

I say pub site, because that's what this is. You can't compare it with a commercial camp site, with all the facilities (and a price to match) The pub serves excellent real ale, and pretty good food. The campsite is cheap, and for a short break all the kids usually need is somewhere to run around and play, and there's plenty of grass for that.

There is a community village shop in the village where you can get basic needs. For more than that you need to drive to Craven Arms / Church Stretton / Bishops Castle.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CAROLINE64 6 reviews from this member

This site is at the back of the Powis arms pub has stated on the website, in our eyes its just a small rally field with electric, and the heated shower facility is just a radiator on the the wall very basic 2 showers (you get lucky if the water is hot ) 2 toilets in the ladies not sure about the mens but my sister did take a shower in the mens because the water is hotter ?. Walcot Hall is down a very long lane about 10/15 mins walk but on doing the walk to the hall you are met by a sign that say no admittance past this point to the public so we can't comment on the grounds and hall very disappointed as this is why we booked Walcot Hall (for a 50th birthday week end )

On arriving at the Powis Arms to book in with the landlord he didn't have a clue to our booking (we weren't the only ones ) so had to show him our booking email from Val at the hall. Was told to pitch our tents at the bottom of the field, the ground was boggy and just full of twigs and small pot holes. We did ask if we could pitch our tents on the grass but was told they where reserved for caravans that never turned up. There's nothing for kids to do, only swing from a tree rope, so all the kids gathered at the bottom of the field. There is hook up but if you have to pitch at the far end like we had to there's no hookup so take an extension lead. Also the lane that runs up to walcot hall is quite busy at times and the Powis arms site is on a very busy and noisy road,

There is nothing around the site no shops so get your supplies before hand.

The rate for this site was £5.00 per person and £5.00 for hookup per night so I guess you get what you pay for.,

As you can gather from this review we were not very happy with Walcot hall or the Powis Arms, but if your a biker or someone that wants to pitch for one night then this will suit you down to the ground

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Preece181913 2 reviews from this member

Basic, but nice little site for an overnight stay. It is no where near Walcot hall though like the Walcot hall website makes out. Check out the pub website, Powis arms.

In my opinion the toilets weren't too bad, hairs and grass were left in the showers but this is as much down to the campers to clean up after themselves. With no mop about though it is difficult.

The washing up and laundry facilities were dirty, I cleaned it myself I felt that strongly about it being a mess. Dirty old dish cloths and sponges that were black, god only knows how long they had been there. And a sink that was just as bad. It looked more like a boot room rather than somewhere to wash your cooking utensils!

Price was excellent, £10 for us because we didn't use the hook up (extra £5per night)

Great secure little site (field) that you could let the kids run wild on, our lil chap loved it.

Also a few times in the night very fast cars went past scaring me to death so I'd recommend pitching against the next field rather than next to the road.

Things for owners to bear in mind:

Clean/mop floors more regularly , provide a mop in the toilets, clean out the washing up facilities!

Other that I would return for its peace and quiet and cheap prices.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saniman 1 review from this member

As the previous reviewer. Wash block neglected, showers unwashed, smelly sink/washing machine/drier room. Landlord not particularly welcoming.

Shame - site itself lovely. Not particularly peaceful, though - noisy dogs during night at local kennels.

However - good beer at pub, handy location for walk to Bury Ditches (local farmer not walker-friendly), recommend Crown Inn, Clunton for food.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Todger1 1 review from this member

Although the ground was muddy on arrival, a touch of sun soon dried it out. The site is beautifully set in a valley with an avenue of beech? trees along the drive to the hall. The pub is warm and friendly with excellent real ale and delicious home cooked food. The landlord is prone to impromptu folk songs with the locals and this adds to the charm and fun.

Wildlife abounds here and we saw treecreepers among the many varieties of birds. We were serenaded each night by a tawney owl.

Would definitely go here again, just a shame its 3 hrs drive away!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019