Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Lydbury North > Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park Reviews

Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park
The Powis Arms
Lydbury North
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY7 8AU
Tel: 01588 680254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 x electric hook up / 5 x no electric
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andysh 1 review from this member

 Nice small Site, showers and toilets were cleaned everyday, the people from the pub and locally were friendly,

We ate in the pub only once and it was very good, they didn't serve food in the week and on Monday were not open at all.

Good location Bishops castle 3 miles away and walkable, would use the site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Js1074 1 review from this member

 Nice flat site with WHY & mains water. Clean, we'll maintained & warm toilet block.

Nice friendly team in the pub.

Only issue I experienced was that there was No-one on site on arrival and the board hadn't been updated so had no idea which pitch to use. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jmullany 1 review from this member

 A lovely little campsite, big flat pitches, quiet location, the pub is really nice and staff super friendly.

Would definitely go back, we loved the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dion Watson 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful site. Beautiful surroundings.

Friendly helpful staff. Right next to the pub. Good local beer.

Walcot Hall is just up the road, though it was closed when we were there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Krtea 1 review from this member

 Wow. A gem of a campsite with 12 pitches in total for tents, caravans & motorhomes in a lovely setting. Showers were clean & warm.

All for 5 ppn, an absolute bargain.

Pub food (restricted to basket meals at the moment, but the best chips I've had for ages) was lovely and the real ale was very good. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jackfield 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night, and so pleased it was only one. It is the worse site I have stayed in for a long while.

The toilets weren't clean, the dryers didn't work in the ladies, although there was a towel. The lights didn't always come on in the toilets so you had to go in in the dark. Someone who has said they were clean and spotless, has something wrong. I didn't shower as it didn't look clean.

There were flies in the kitchen sink, it was really grubby with a dirty washing up brush.

It is a nice field, flat and mown. No-one else there except us. As it is a lovely site at the end of the track to Walcot Hall, why doesn't someone clean up the facilities.

The pub in front of the site, was good, we ate there and the staff are really friendly and the food was good, but wouldn't camp here again.

I suppose it is cheap at 10 a night but would pay more, if it was nice. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marka128 7 reviews from this member

 Site was clean, and tidy. Staff were very helpful. Local facilities need planning as transport links are limited.

Food and beer at site attached pub was good.

Site facilities were minimal and would struggle to cope with a full site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mmick 5 reviews from this member

 One of the best toilet blocks I've come across, clean and heated, looks like it was a former lodge from the estate. Showers are free.

Good location, alongside the drive to the local big house. Friendly landlord. Tent fee for one small tent with one person was 5.

Good local beer in pub (Monty's and Ludlow). Friday night when I visited was fish and chip night - 5 a meal.

Will use again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maisie3351 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night recently. Pretty disappointing. It's a small field just behind the pub, adjacent to a road.

The showers and loos were far from spotless. We had electric hook up - for which we were charged 10 a night, which I thought was extortionate. A previous reviewer has commented that campers were allowed in the arboretum / lakes area.

We were not told this - and felt rather cheated by the site, after looking at the website. Not far from Bishops Castle, which is a delight! The surrounding countryside is beautiful. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chambers4 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site in a beautiful location.

Field is nice and flat and the only traffic is people going up to Walcot Hall and people horse riding from the stables there.

We met friendly staff at the office of the Hall and they explained that we were permitted free entry to the arboretum as campers and also to fish on either of the two pools. My husband and sons had a lot of fun catching most tench from one of the pools. The grounds are beautiful and it really is an idyllic spot.

We only stayed a weekend but found the showers to be cold when we tried them but the building itself was lovely and warm.

The only draw back is there is nowhere to freeze coolpacks and as we don't normally use EHU this would limit us to a shorter stay - if they could put a small freezer in the kitchen area this would get 9/10.

The adjacent pub is very nice and has a pool table too! 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Walcot Hall Camp Site And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydbury North      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement