Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pixley End Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ledbury > Pixley End Country Park Reviews

CLOSED: Pixley End Country Park
Trumpet
Ledbury
Herefordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that at the time of writing this campsite is no longer open for tents or tourers. The site is now a static caravan / lodge park only, open 12 months of the year, for adults only over 45s please let us know please! Many thanks. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Pixley End Caravan & Camp Site is situated on a crossroads just outside the picturesque Herefordshire market town of Ledbury. The lowest and flattest part of the site is segregated off for use by semi-permanent caravans, with the main touring field next to it on a gently undulating incline; and an overflow camping field beyond that in a meadow sloping away on the other side of the incline. The main field has plots around its perimeter for about twenty caravans (a dozen or so with electric hook-up - with a few more hook-ups dotted about the overflow field).

Campers - who can either book or turn up on the day - will need to pull up at the main gate to the site and phone a contact number to receive a key to get in. Allocation is on a first-come-first serve basis, with the sunniest and most level access being on the west-facing flank adjacent to the semi-permanent caravans at the bottom of the field. The east-facing flank at the top is also level (although located on an escarpment that a caravan will have to be hauled up onto). Both the north-facing flank and the south-facing one (which has no hook-ups) are on gradual sideways sloping ground.

The facilities at Pixley End are located in portakabins at the top of the camping field and are clean and well-maintained, with male and female toilets and separate male and female showers. The coin-meters indicate that the showers were once charged for, but are now offered to campers for free (perhaps a welcome acknowledgement that charges unfairly penalise campers in older caravans, whilst those with newer models boasting hot water showers will be merrily burning up the site's electricity anyway). The washing-up station, freezers and information point is located in an old railway wagon accessed by a number-dial padlock. Outside is an elsan point that can be unearthed as much by smell as by sight - as a previous commentator has noted, something that could probably be fixed by an adjustment to the plumbing.

At 14 per night, Pixley End is good value for money, although there are a few minor niggles that could be quite easily remedied. For example, when we arrived the grass had not been mowed for a while; which was not a problem on the first gloriously warm and sunny morning of our stay, but was on the second when a cold night had deposited dew on it and a trip to the loo first thing resulted in a pair of very wet feet. In fact, the semi-permanent caravanners appear to bring their own mowers, which some of them were busy trundling around their units whilst we were there. Meanwhile, the overflow field was even more of a jungle, and those visitors without a 4x4 really would struggle to tow their caravans off it should it rain.

In addition, a few more signs would not go amiss - for example, I partook of two trips up the field to the facilities block to haul back an aqua-roll full of water only to discover there was actually a tap hidden behind a fence post right next to where we were camped!

It should be noted that directly next to the semi-permanent caravan plots is a camping field belonging to the Trumpet Inn, upon which a VW campervan club organised a karaoke birthday party one evening during our stay. Whilst it was friendly, good-natured bash and was finished just after eleven, it did serve as a reminder that however much the owners of Pixley End might encourage a 'quiet campsite' policy they may have little control over what their neighbour permits on his field.

Around and about, Ledbury is just a few miles away with a large Tesco supermarket and charming little shops and pubs to explore. Hereford is about nine miles away and boasts a greater variety of retail opportunities. Both towns are linked by the hourly 476 bus service which stops right outside the main gate of the campsite. Otherwise, Worcester, Gloucester, Ross-on-Wye and Monmouth are within an afternoon's drive, whilst the charming Edwardian watering hole of Malvern is about twenty minutes away - as are the breathtaking hills that bear the name and the walking trails across them that once inspired that quintessential Edwardian gentleman, the composer Edward Elgar.

On the subject of walking, one unfortunate thing I found with Pixley End is that although there are pleasant walks to be had in the surrounding countryside they need to be accessed by first trekking some distance along the busy main roads around the camp, few of which have any decent footways.

On balance though, Pixley End is a quiet little site that is handily located and easy on the pocket. However, whilst the owners have evidently put thought into some aspects of their site, there are still a few additional flourishes yet to be made that would assist making it a more irresistible destination to anyone looking to enjoy the peace and splendour of this corner of rural England. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo232 1 review from this member

 I only decided to leave this review because of the previous one that said the site is seasonal pitches only that is not correct. I booked by email and there were several other over night / weekend campers on site so you can book on. When I arrived I rang the number on the gate to get a key it was nice knowing the gate is locked at all times and being adult only very peace full. The new owners were very nice and nothing was to much trouble the toilets and showers were basic but they were spotless as was the whole site its a very central location easy access to Hereford the Malvern's ross on wye and ledbury would recommend and will be going back our selves 8 out of 10 only negative sat nav took me across the road but once at the traffic lights turn for Hereford then 50 yards past the trumpet inn next gate easy when you know how. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevexjr1300 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the Jubilee weekend. The warden was really kind and helpful meeting us on the site and helping us set our caravan up. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The toilets and showers are basic but clean and free.

There is also a small cabin for campers to wash up etc. The site is a short stroll from a pub which serves food and has real ale. There is also a bus stop across the road where there is a hourly service to Ledbury or Hereford.

The site has now gone to seasonal pitches and we have now taken a seasonal pitch as we liked it so much. We cannot recommend this site enough. It is excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saracen 15 reviews from this member

 We spent three nights at Pixley End - the weather was pretty bad throughout, which didn't help!

Good points:

- Andrew was very helpful with the problems that we encountered and always turned up quickly; he also generously lent us an additional hook-up extension so that we could get electricity.

- The site is easy to find near a major road junction and is well-positioned for lots of attractions. The Trumpet Inn is a nice enough little pub (we didn't eat there so can't comment on that) which is reasonably priced.

- The nightly fee of just 12 including electricity is very good value these days.

Not-so-good points:

- Recyling facilities: there are none. As a previous reviewer noted in 2009 that's just not good enough - even more so in 2012.

- I booked pretty early for a campervan place but we ended up as far as possible from the facilities, which was a nuisance, especially in the bad weather. It's possible that all the other places were already booked when we booked, and so I may be wrong about this, but it just looked like careless allocation of places when caravans with onboard facilities were so much nearer. When the field remained half-empty (many bookings did not turn up because of the weather of course) that also did not make us feel any better about it.

- we had problems with the electric supply, which Andrew was very helpful in resolving, but it was a pain not to be able to warm up and get on with a meal when wet and cold from putting up an awning in driving rain. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Prosserand lodge 19 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at this site. It was surprisingly quiet for the middle of the summer holidays, so no problems at all with access to the on site facilities (washup sinks and fridges in one hut, 2 rooms with shower / toilet / washbasin in a second and a further male and female toilet / washbasin block).

The owners live off site but visit regularly. A board at the entrance shows new prebooked arrivals the location of their pitch. It is now an adult only site.

There is a pub next door offering meals though cannot advise further as we did not visit it!

One word of warning to anyone visiting with a dog and wishing to leave their van on site and use local public transport! An hourly bus service (serving Ledbury - Hereford) stops outside the nearby pub. However the company does not allow dogs to travel. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Delsa 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very grassy campsite with limited facilities - two showers in porter cabins and toilets. Could do with updating as not enough for the amount of people on site. We were on Charlies Field which was on a hill we were at the bottom which seems to collect the water. However we did enjoy ourselves.

The Trumpet pub 150 yards away but you need to pre book tables as we were told even though they found us a table. It is within Hereford/Ledbury and Leominster for visiting. On leaving we did struggle to get off the field.

The warden was very friendly when we arrived. Not a lot for children to do - need to make sure you have things for them to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LuLuandMe 1 review from this member

 Good basic site, well located for access to Ledbury and Hereford, and a cheerful, rustic pub next door. Owners friendly and helpful.

The toilets and showers, whilst clean, were let down by the fact they are right next to the waste water disposal area with consequent ingress of smells - it only costs a few quid to run a extra few metres of waste pipe! The site also desperately needs recycling facilities - chucking everything into black bin bags may have been the norm ten years ago, but these days most sites offer at least glass recycling. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beverleyjn 1 review from this member

 This is a really lovely site the owner was really friendly and helpful, we're new to camping so it has really helped coming to such a lovely site even the other campers were nice. The toilets and shower rooms were really clean and fully stocked all weekend, in fact the whole field was tidy. We enjoyed ourselves that much we can't wait to go back again.

The only thing that this site lacks is a children's play area, we thought this would pose a problem but our kids absolutely loved the freedom and loved the space they had.

Thanks Pixley End we'd really recommend this site for a relaxing break & for a real value for money weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carry on campin 1 review from this member

 Great friendly site. Owner came round every day to check everything ok nice and friendly.3 toilets in ladies always toilet paper, soap and paper towels. 2 shower rooms with wc`s in. 2 washing up sinks freezer, electric sockets. Pub next to site great meals.No shops in walking distance. May be not enough toilets and showers if site full.Will be back in future for long weekend. Would recommend to anyone. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement