Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bwlchgwyn Farm Equestrian Centre & Holiday Cottages

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Bwlchgwyn Farm Equestrian Centre & Holiday Cottages
Coast Road
Fairbourne Arthog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL39 1BX
Tel: 01341 250107  or  07900573662
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter / October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blue Klaus 3 reviews from this member

Wow, a really fabulous position half way up a mountain with incredible views across to Barmouth.

The storm that passed through did give us a few hair raising moments as its not very sheltered.

Sadly the facilities were tired and not cleaned at all during our stay.

The walk into town was difficult along the road but the estuary walk was lovely.

Probably better visited in Summer!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

This site is a gem. I like that it's hilly with flat pitches and the views are incredible. It's a steep drive up to the farmhouse to check in but it was so lovely even when it rained! You can see Barmouth from the site and from Barmouth we could even pick out our tent from a distance! The area was very nice and picturesque. It's a short drive to Fairbourne where we could get the steam train. The site has its pluses, the shower block is a set of singular bathrooms with loo, which is great because you can get the kids in with you and no waiting for one family room. There are extra loos further up the site also. The people we met were very nice, and we had no problems with anyone else staying there. I'd very much like to go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil and Katie 7 reviews from this member

This site was recommended to us by our son who has a tent. We were a little nervous from his description of the access. We have a 20' caravan and the access road is steep but once you have arrived at the pitches you immediately appreciate why you have climbed so high. The views over the estuary to Barmouth are absolutely stunning. We were allowed to pitch with our main windows facing the view which was wonderful. The facilities were well kept in an individual bathroom style providing plenty of space when showering. The whole site is tiered to offer just about every pitch a magnificent view, but of course means that trips to the facilities have a steep climb back to your unit. A site we will definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Summer2006 2 reviews from this member

We spotted this campsite across the bay. A great drive round 70p across the toll bridge. When we arrived we were warmly greeted. We picked a great pitch over looking the estuary. We had wonderful weather very quiet when we stayed. Very clean site shower block was new with more than enough showers. Each shower had a sink and toilet and a chair and spotless and free we stayed for only one night wish we found it sooner and will be returning as soon as we can thanks for a great time

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BASE849 1 review from this member

Toilets & showers adequate, just.

View amazing.

Quiet, family dominated site.

Steep slopes for kids (& some parents) to tumble down.

Owners friendly & relaxed.

Lovely beach & miniature railway nearby to keep my toddler happy.

Only negative experience unrelated to the campsite- we indulged in a curry from the local town & it was by far the most expensive we have eaten, but at the same time the shabbiest ever, including ones we've eaten in the poorest slums in the far east. Appalling quality meat, badly cooked & microwaved rice- minging:-(

But the campsite was quality:-)

Really liked the place.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pete j 1 review from this member

The touring pitches on this site are at the top of a steep incline that includes an hairpin bend so if you have a large caravan you'll need a 4x4. Not to worry though as the kind owners towed our caravan from the 'Pony Trecking carpark' by the road for us and also brought van back down. Just ring and ask if you think you'll need help. It is worth the effort to visit this site for the view alone, It must be one of the best in the UK. Facilities are basic but clean. The Elsan point is two levels down from the touring pitches by the lower set of showers, whilst the distance isn't much you do have to climb back up the hill. I wouldn't recommend this site for anyone with mobility problems due to the inclines involved even getting to the showers.

Barmouth is a steady 40 minute walk over the railway bridge ( which is now free) and Fairbourne is around 20 minutes. Once you get down the hill from the site the rest of these walks are level.

We will definitely be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shanefidel 3 reviews from this member

This was my first camping trip ! I had 3 days mountain biking in an area I had never ridden. I wanted a basic site that was handy for the area I wanted to ride.

This site was perfect for my needs. The owners were very helpful on arrival and showed me where to pitch(right by the toilets and showers).

The toilets were clean and the showers piping hot.

Considering it did not stop raining the whole time, and I was sure at times my little tent was going to be blown away with the winds, the site drained really well and was far less muddy than I expected considering the awful weather.

All in all this was a very good first experience of life under canvas and if you just need a base to explore the area this site would be a very good choice.

My wife and little boy came to pick me up and decided to stay the night (which was really nice as she swore she would never sleep in a tent !)

My little boy who is 3 loved the experience.

On the down side as a family, longer than a night or two may be too much with just the basic amenities, but as I say one your own this site is perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Towzer 9 reviews from this member

We spent the bank holiday weekend here with very mixed weather. 2 tents, 4 adults, 5 kids and a dog.

Firstly the positives, the views are superb! all the tent pitches are on levelled plateaus up the side of the hill so everyone has amazing views out to Barmouth, lovely during the day and looking out over the twinkling lights on an evening - beautiful. Also, the area is very very pretty the drive to Barmouth and out that way is beautiful.

We went to some lovely waterfalls and the beach one day and had a fantastic time. The campsite owners are often to be seen driving round the site and are friendly and helpful showing you where to pitch and offering advice on where to go. The pitches are a good size, but due to the layout of the them it wasn't as child friendly as some sites as it didn't really promote them running around and playing or riding bikes or scooters, some may see this as a positive of course!

Negatives are that the facilities are very basic. In the camping field there is one portable loo which towards the middle of the bank holiday weekend stank (only when inside it). On the edge of the camping area there is a toilet block which is a green portable cabin. In the ladies there are 2 toilets and 1 shower. Looking at the size of the gents I would imagine much the same plus some urinals. There are also 2 small hand sinks and no mirror. They are, however, clean enough and the showers are free and warm.

On the bank holiday we did find ourselves having to queue for showers. There is also another toilet block down the hill by the static caravans (very spacious static area compared to those that are normally crammed in by the way), my other half said that these were fine, though we were told the showers were 1, but I do not know that first hand from my party.

The only other negative was that on the Friday night it did rain very heavily and when we woke up in the morning and put away our blow up mattress water had leaked through the base of the tent and through the rugs down underneath it. This has never happened before and didn't happen any other night on our stay, but I do think that as the site is built on a hill with the plateaued pitches the rain must run down and then sit on the pitches. However, the rain was very hard so it may just have been unfortunate but as we have never had this problem before and have camped in the rain more times than I care to mention thought it worthy of note. Our friends did not have the same issue though on the pitch/plateau next to us.

All in all we had a great break and I would stay there again, though with young kids would possibly look for somewhere flatter with something for them to do.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AnnMal 2 reviews from this member

The drive up to the top part of this site is v steep and owners with large/heavy caravans may find it difficult with 180 degree turn to negotiate. Also the drive needs some repair to the broken surface and deep potholes.

The toilets leave a lot to be desired, the lower ones were broken and very dirty. The top ones not very clean and the shower curtain is too short to hang in the tray and the water spills on to the floor (which does need to be cleaned). I would have been happy to mop up but no cleaning equipment is provided.

There is loads to do in the area, either on foot, bike, train and the views from the site are to die for but I think the charges are too high for the quality of the facilities provided and you are paying for the view.

Would be such a beautiful site with a little bit of TLC. Would not return in its present condition

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beckii209 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site! We have a campervan, we were showed where we could pitch by the owner, it was a week day so very quiet! We had the most amazing views over the sea and Barmouth.

The toilets were clean, but as it was very quiet (only others in statics) I couldn't say what they would be like in summer. Showers were good too!

There was also plenty of space to do the pots with draining boards! The only trouble we had was that the site was on a hill, all the spaces are flat, but cycling from the site would be hard work, especially on the way back up!

Overall very pleased, good price, lovely owners, we will be back!

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938