Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Northwich > Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Station Road
Delamere
Northwich
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW8 2HZ
Tel: 01606 889231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Twisney 1 review from this member

 We have been here before and love the access to the forest trails. The road and railway are noisy but not too bad at night.

This time, the site facilities were poor, not very clean and several out of order.

The site management were invisible and we found the site noise was much louder and later than usual, probably due to the lack of management.

There are no activities for children on site but the forest more than makes up for it. There are lots of places to visit nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Markbe 1 review from this member

 Good location near to the train station and forest tracks for walks or biking. Half a mile from Go Ape.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Cleaning take place between 1030-1200 each day.

Nearest Pub is approx 1 mile away. Nearest Cafe is 5 minutes walk away at the train station.

On site Facilities are basic but adequate enough.

Paid £58 for two nights which is quite expensive but I suppose all campsites have increased there prices.

Found it quite noisy being near a road and some people having a party till 0100 and keeping us awake. 😴☹️ 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NorthernKitten 4 reviews from this member

 Amazing location - we were up and out every morning into the forest, and back much later in the day. Plenty to keep us busy on our cycles in there.

The campsite itself was effective: showers and toilets fine (although as others have said, seemed to close for a LONG time for cleaning). The indoor pot wash is welcome. It's a bit bare bones, but for what we needed it for, it did the job.

The pitches are not level, and it did get VERY muddy on the centre main field. It's quite tricky to work out where your pitch begins / ends, but the warden did half map it out for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wetwellies 13 reviews from this member

 We have been here before and find the location fantastic - you can walk into the forest directly from the site, and the kids love the swings in the woods.

We find this site to be a bit less friendly in atmosphere than other club sites we have been on, one warden lovely, one a bit grumpy - not as relaxing, but it doesn't matter too much for us as we are usually out all day.

Toilets clean and plenty of hand wash, but not many facilities considering the size of the park. Nice high hedges to pitch your tent besides. There are bricks you can borrow for a BBQ.

Recommend the GoApe in the woods next to the site for activities or the crockly trail c. 20mins away, the Goshawk pub with a play area c. 10 mins away and the chippy van at this site on a fidays. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Wetwellies 13 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site with lovely surroundings for children. My friend and I took our boys of five and two.

The good : Friday chippy van had huge portions, and tasted delicious. Super location for the forest and associated activities in the area, we did the crocky trail and Beeston castle. Both amazing. Site quiet for traffic and well maintained.

Rope swings in woods on site and lots of small clearings to explore that we considered to be the top feature of the site. Toilets very clean throughout stay. Wardens seemed OK generally, one older gentleman was lovely. Shop has milk, ice cream and other camping essentials.

Could be better : showers really, really hot which suits me but I wouldn't use for children. Code accessed toilets which was a major inconvenience as it isn't an easy code to remember like a significant date, and a hassle when you're wrestling with the a small child.

Really comes across as unwelcoming although I can understand that they don't want walkers using the facilities constantly. Fields and site generally pools with water quickly when it rains and is waterlogged. More of a problem if you have a tent.

In summary, we loved it for a few days and would go back for a week but it lacked a certain something for a longer stay. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 25 reviews from this member

 Excellent welcome from campsite warden Paul who couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful (an asset to the CCC team).

Well maintained, comfortable site with adequate, clean facilities even when full at the weekend.

Lots to see and do in immediate and surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

 We are leaving today after 6 nights on a hardstanding pitch.

The site is easy to access, directly off a B road, right next to Delamere Station. No single track roads or potholes! Pitches are mainly flat and are well spaced giving both privacy and a sense of openness. The site is the shape of a long thin triangle. We were offered 2 locations: near the road or alongside the railway line. I thought the road was quite busy so we went for the railway line side.

Although the trains were quite loud, they aren’t frequent and I didn’t find them bothersome (possibly because I have lived close to railway lines). I was surprised at how loud the planes coming into Manchester Airport were. That did wake me up a couple of times.

I have read some reviews about problems with the attitude of the wardens. Everyone we interacted with was helpful and friendly.

The facilities are good. Not outstanding (a couple of minor plumbing issues which could do with attention) but modern, warm and clean. I like a hot shower but the water is VERY hot. Parents might be concerned about the temperature.

The location is excellent. The only downside is there are no shops in the immediate vicinity. There is a bus to Frodsham from Hatchmere (about a mile walk away) and the train to Chester / Manchester is literally next door.

There is pedestrian access directly from the site into the Delamere Forest for walks and cycling. We caught the bus to Frodsham then walked back via the Sandstone Trail. Around 10 miles. There is a pleasant, well surfaced route around Blakemere Moss (a lake) which is around 3 miles door to door from the site. If you have a car, there are lots of walks available based upon the Sandstone Trail and the Delamere Way.

I thought the site had a very nice atmosphere. There were less children than I was expecting but those that were here seemed to be having a great time. Lots of families cycling together. I didn’t see a children’s play area but it isn’t really needed with the proximity of the forest. Overall, the site is quite quiet (especially at night when everyone seemed to have lights out by about 9pm).

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to walkers and cyclists. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 31 reviews from this member

 We’ve stayed at this site loads of times as we visit family close by. The site is lovely and exactly what is expected of a Camping and Caravan Club site. However, this is the first time in all my Motorhome travels that I have taken a dislike to one of the wardens.

We arrived early as we had an appointment to keep and whilst we knew that we may not be able to book in we still asked politely if we could leave our Motorhome anywhere. Now in my opinion there’s ways and means of saying no but the abrupt rudeness of the chap was quite shocking. We were told in no uncertain terms that there was nowhere on site nor was there any alternative parking nearby. Having gone to our appointment in the Motorhome we returned later to book in.

The next day whilst waiting for the showers to open after they are closed for cleaning I saw the same chap wandering around the site. It was 20 minutes to the showers being opened but I know that on other sites they get opened early once they are finished. I politely asked if the showers were open yet to which I received a blunt “12. 30” grunt from him. Again it would have been nice if he had engaged in a little more.

The same chap came round with a clip board each day bang on 12. 00 to check that people had left on time. Now I’m not one for overstaying but he scared us enough to make sure we were clock watching on our day of departure.

We moved on to another camping and caravan club site the next day where we were allowed to leave our Motorhome before booking in and the showers opened early the next day.

Suggest they employ people in future who have the ability to engage with us general public in a friendly manner. It wasn’t what he said but the way he said it - he really needs to practice his “people skills”. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arcadia 11 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site.

+ves:

Easy access by rail to Chester, Liverpool etc

Nice walks

Nearby cafes both nice

-ves:

The manager was a bit stand offish and avoided eye contact on many occasions (the others were nicer)

Far too few showers for a site as busy as this and too few grey water draining areas 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZIZAG 29 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say that has already been said, before. As I arrived backpacking from the Sandstone trail and was well looked after given a lovely pitch for the night, at a very reasonable price

Top class site everything for a nice stay.

Staff are very friendly and attentive. The campsite

Well laid out and all facilities and amenities, Spotless clean well looked after toilets and showers, shop has basic selection of food and drinks.

Information and leaflets to peruse. Lovely walks all around the forest and visitors centre about 1k with cafe. The added bonus is the CCC is close to the Rail service to Chester and close to Sandstone trail, handy for walkers backpacking and camping.

I would highly recommend this Campsite 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Delamere Forest Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3024 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement