Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Smithy Park ( Bestparks )

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Montgomeryshire > Smithy Park ( Bestparks ) Reviews

Smithy Park ( Bestparks )
Abermule
Newtown
Montgomeryshire
Powys   (Browse area)
SY15 6ND
Tel: 01686 630657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, which is kept immaculate. The pitches are all serviced and hard standing. Tv cables are also on the pitches. A good WiFi reception which is free. Toilet and showers where also spotless. There is a play area for children.

The site is next to the river which is accessible for fishing or for the children to play in weather permitting.

There is a canal path which you can ride a bicycle either way, or walk.

The little supermarket stocks most things, but if you want a big shop there are two supermarkets at Newtown.

The pub is a short walk away.

We would definitely visit this site again.

The down side is you do get a some road noise from the bypass.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

We visited Smithy Park as the last stop of our two week touring holiday and I am so glad we did.

What a beautiful site in a lovely location, excellently maintained, extremely clean and great facilities.

There is a great play area for children, beautiful bathrooms and excellent free wifi connection.

We really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be back very soon.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barry Cox 1 review from this member

Just had 5 nights here. Couldn’t fault it. The site is really good. Kept in pristine condition. A credit to the staff.

A pub and a supermarket on the doorstep. What more could you need. Will definitely be back. 5 star

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Metalmickey 6 reviews from this member

Just had a 4 night break at Smithy Park and couldn't fault it. Our pitch was against the hedge with the river Severn about 5 metres away, an anglers heaven.

The pitch was fully serviced with well cut grass next to a concrete base for the van, so if you pitched with the units wheels against the edge of the concrete, pegging out your awning was not a problem.

No problems with electrics tripping and the waste was directed away by a cleverly designed movable pipe which could reach 1/2 way along even a large caravan. TV cable long enough to reach through our front window to plug into the tv and no problem with reception.

The whole site is well kept and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. There is a small book swap / CD / DVD / information room which has seating and even a kettle to make yourself a cuppa if you want some quiet time. The local pub The Abermule is just a few minutes walk away, nice food at reasonable prices and some good real ales on tap.

Access to the site is easy, just remember to turn right into the access road for the site, opposite the Premier shop in the village, as it is not very well signed up to this point.

Facilities are what you would expect from a Best Parks site, very clean. There is a small play Parks for young children but not much for older ones.

Only one slight niggle, the shower pressure was very high, leaving water all over the cubicle floor behind the curtain, there are stools supplied however to allow you to dress without difficulty.

Fishing is free behind the site, and there are some really nice walks along the canal which runs parallel to the site. This is the second Best Park we have stayed at, the other being Westbrook just outside Ludlow.

With Best Parks you know what standard of pitch you can expect. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philipsvan 1 review from this member

Fantastic as usual, 10 out of 10 for everything, third time here, so peaceful with lovely surrounding.

Particularly handy for touring the area, Welshpool, Newton particularly on market day,

Pleasant staff around if you need them. Good local shop and restaurant pub in a quiet village.

Overall one of the best we've stayed at, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicknick2212 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Spotlessly clean grounds and facilities. The owners are friendly and very accommodating.

We only had a one night stop over but would definitely visit again for a longer period.

This site was perfectly located for our halfway stopover to Tenby. Thank you Smithy Park!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mmg11468 5 reviews from this member

We just love this site. We always start and end the touring season here.

Flat level fully serviced pitches including TV.

Facilities are always spotless. Site is very well maintained and neat and tidy.

Nice little touches like book exchange and herb garden.

Lovely walk along the canal and river and plenty to do in the area if you get fed up of relaxing.

There is road noise, but if you are from a town like us you don't really notice. The proximity to the main road is one of the advantages for us. There is also sheep bleating and cows mooing and birds of prey screeching. I've also heard owls hooting and watched an otter swimming in the river. Certainly wouldn't complain about this.

Fantastic view of the stars at night

Just love it.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

We will continue to come here and almost hope it doesn't get too popular so that we will always be able to get pitches when we want them.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davster 1 review from this member

WOW peaceful, calm, relaxing and friendly place :)

We bought a new van and needed somewhere close to check it over. Upon arrival we were met and given info about the site, pitch and a park bake off that was happening sounded fun, but unfortunately had other plans although a lot of people were there for cake and coffee so looked a success. Got to our pitch. Right along the river it is such a beautiful setting started to check out the awning poles 1 short. But was quickly offered help from the warden to go and see if he could find another pole, he was so helpful. It really is a well kept park there is nothing that you could fault. The toilets and showers were spotless. The people SO friendly and the staff there unbelievably Helpful. We went and sat on the benches by the river. Not one person we passed went without speaking. A lot of them and were from the static caravans and told us places to walk and things to see.

We went into Newtown and welshpool whilst there and could get absolutely anything you needed from the supermarkets or local shops lovely places.

We ate out of an evening at three horseshoes Berriew lovely meal, the chef at the abermule hotel which is walking distance was on holiday. But we did call in for a drink. Nice place too. Its a definite for us to go to again loved it. Thank you

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jointbox30 8 reviews from this member

All that has been said before, I can not better. Peaceful by a river that just rolls on by. The surrounding area has lots to offer. Welshpool and Newtown are the main towns well worth a visit along with the Charlie's store in Newtown that sell most everything. Powis Castle is a delight and the Llanfair Light Railway is worth a ride through nice country side that you can see that is not blocked by tree's. The Elan Vally was the best area we visited. Just stunning. Will return again that's for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

A very nice site. I was impressed that electric, fresh and grey water removal were available on each individual pitch ( there a was a TVs Ariel hookup as well which we didn't use ). Toilets spotless. Staff on the ball and friendly. The other tourers we talked to all said they would come again. There is a small well stocked shop just over the road from the site entrance. Mobil phone signals tend to be poor in the entire area. Free Wifi worked fine for 2 of our 3 days for basic internet usage.

We did make the mistake of being slavish to our sat nav and took an early turn off the A5 onto 20 miles of B roads, very picturesque but quite tight in places. By staying on the A roads up until Abermule it's a very easy / straight forward journey.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Montgomeryshire      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019