Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Smithy Park ( Bestparks )

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Montgomeryshire > Smithy Park ( Bestparks ) Reviews

Smithy Park ( Bestparks )
Abermule
Newtown
Montgomeryshire
Powys   (Browse area)
SY15 6ND
Tel: 01686 630657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 13/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrew 2 reviews from this member

 Nice owners, immaculately maintained, excellent covid awareness, super clean loos etc. Free fishing in the Severn.

One drawback, constant traffic noise from the (hidden) main road across the river. If that's a dealbreak

Er then go elsewhere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Welshmanwandering 4 reviews from this member

 Under the circumstances (Covid restrictions) it is really difficult to leave a review in any way other than I found the site

The site was immaculately well kept, clean and tidy, staff were friendly and the social distances was really well organised and adhered to. We were put on a serviced hardstanding pitch that was excellent, though having to drive over the grass to get to it, could have been difficult had the pitches (grass) in front of us been occupied, A minor issue I'm sure.

The toilet block was out of use, and the on site shop was closed. However I'm sure in normal times they would be very good, there was no reason to think otherwise, and there was a Premier shop at the end of the lane for any essentials anyway.

We arrived at the same time that another guest was leaving and that proved a bit of a tight squeeze.

Would I go back?. 100% yes 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, which is kept immaculate. The pitches are all serviced and hard standing. Tv cables are also on the pitches. A good WiFi reception which is free. Toilet and showers where also spotless. There is a play area for children.

The site is next to the river which is accessible for fishing or for the children to play in weather permitting.

There is a canal path which you can ride a bicycle either way, or walk.

The little supermarket stocks most things, but if you want a big shop there are two supermarkets at Newtown.

The pub is a short walk away.

We would definitely visit this site again.

The down side is you do get a some road noise from the bypass. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

 We visited Smithy Park as the last stop of our two week touring holiday and I am so glad we did.

What a beautiful site in a lovely location, excellently maintained, extremely clean and great facilities.

There is a great play area for children, beautiful bathrooms and excellent free wifi connection.

We really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barry Cox 1 review from this member

 Just had 5 nights here. Couldn’t fault it. The site is really good. Kept in pristine condition. A credit to the staff.

A pub and a supermarket on the doorstep. What more could you need. Will definitely be back. 5 star 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Metalmickey 6 reviews from this member

 Just had a 4 night break at Smithy Park and couldn't fault it. Our pitch was against the hedge with the river Severn about 5 metres away, an anglers heaven.

The pitch was fully serviced with well cut grass next to a concrete base for the van, so if you pitched with the units wheels against the edge of the concrete, pegging out your awning was not a problem.

No problems with electrics tripping and the waste was directed away by a cleverly designed movable pipe which could reach 1/2 way along even a large caravan. TV cable long enough to reach through our front window to plug into the tv and no problem with reception.

The whole site is well kept and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. There is a small book swap / CD / DVD / information room which has seating and even a kettle to make yourself a cuppa if you want some quiet time. The local pub The Abermule is just a few minutes walk away, nice food at reasonable prices and some good real ales on tap.

Access to the site is easy, just remember to turn right into the access road for the site, opposite the Premier shop in the village, as it is not very well signed up to this point.

Facilities are what you would expect from a Best Parks site, very clean. There is a small play Parks for young children but not much for older ones.

Only one slight niggle, the shower pressure was very high, leaving water all over the cubicle floor behind the curtain, there are stools supplied however to allow you to dress without difficulty.

Fishing is free behind the site, and there are some really nice walks along the canal which runs parallel to the site. This is the second Best Park we have stayed at, the other being Westbrook just outside Ludlow.

With Best Parks you know what standard of pitch you can expect. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philipsvan 1 review from this member

 Fantastic as usual, 10 out of 10 for everything, third time here, so peaceful with lovely surrounding.

Particularly handy for touring the area, Welshpool, Newton particularly on market day,

Pleasant staff around if you need them. Good local shop and restaurant pub in a quiet village.

Overall one of the best we've stayed at, you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicknick2212 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site. Spotlessly clean grounds and facilities. The owners are friendly and very accommodating.

We only had a one night stop over but would definitely visit again for a longer period.

This site was perfectly located for our halfway stopover to Tenby. Thank you Smithy Park! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmg11468 6 reviews from this member

 We just love this site. We always start and end the touring season here.

Flat level fully serviced pitches including TV.

Facilities are always spotless. Site is very well maintained and neat and tidy.

Nice little touches like book exchange and herb garden.

Lovely walk along the canal and river and plenty to do in the area if you get fed up of relaxing.

There is road noise, but if you are from a town like us you don't really notice. The proximity to the main road is one of the advantages for us. There is also sheep bleating and cows mooing and birds of prey screeching. I've also heard owls hooting and watched an otter swimming in the river. Certainly wouldn't complain about this.

Fantastic view of the stars at night

Just love it.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

We will continue to come here and almost hope it doesn't get too popular so that we will always be able to get pitches when we want them. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davster 1 review from this member

 WOW peaceful, calm, relaxing and friendly place :)

We bought a new van and needed somewhere close to check it over. Upon arrival we were met and given info about the site, pitch and a park bake off that was happening sounded fun, but unfortunately had other plans although a lot of people were there for cake and coffee so looked a success. Got to our pitch. Right along the river it is such a beautiful setting started to check out the awning poles 1 short. But was quickly offered help from the warden to go and see if he could find another pole, he was so helpful. It really is a well kept park there is nothing that you could fault. The toilets and showers were spotless. The people SO friendly and the staff there unbelievably Helpful. We went and sat on the benches by the river. Not one person we passed went without speaking. A lot of them and were from the static caravans and told us places to walk and things to see.

We went into Newtown and welshpool whilst there and could get absolutely anything you needed from the supermarkets or local shops lovely places.

We ate out of an evening at three horseshoes Berriew lovely meal, the chef at the abermule hotel which is walking distance was on holiday. But we did call in for a drink. Nice place too. Its a definite for us to go to again loved it. Thank you 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smithy Park ( Bestparks ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smithy Park ( Bestparks )?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Smithy Park ( Bestparks ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montgomeryshire      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement