Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Hexham > Riverside Campsite > Reviews

Riverside Campsite
Chollerford
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4EW
Tel: 01434 681325
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Walkers only, no vehicles
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Hkregi 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, and landlords.

Facilities are great, the showers and washrooms were very clean.

No smell, nothing.

The campsite is great, especially the sound of the water in the background during the night lulled me to sleep. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Phil Gamble 3 reviews from this member

 Just what we needed on our 2nd day doing hadrian wall.

Nice field for camping. lovely shower,

Wish the cafe was open a bit later. But a lovely bacon sandwich the next day. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sweapy 1 review from this member

 Great place to camp by the river and weir. Very peaceful once night time comes.

Great, very clean shower and toilet facilities. Pub within a stones throw from the site for food/drinks. There are also takeaway / delivery menus in the shower block.

Safe, secure place for bag drop off/ pick up.

Works on an ‘honesty box’ basis where envelopes are provided in the shower block for you to include payment for your stay and then post through the letterbox in the bungalow next door.

Super lovely owners 👌🏻 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sedgwi 1 review from this member

 Stayed here at the end of the second day walking the Hadrian's Wall Trail.

Excellent facilities on site,

A great pub 10 minutes walk away in Humshaugh for an evening meal and a cafe adjacent to the site for breakfast 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Johalf 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely open site with clean facilities. Spacious shower rooms, hot water. Good value.

We really enjoyed our stay while cycling Hadrians Cycle Path. Just what we needed at the right point on our journey.

It was quiet when we were there so no issue waiting for toilets or showers.

Proximity to Chesters Roman Site was a plus. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Market 1 review from this member

 First of all I have to mention how beautiful the area of Chollerford is.

We stayed while walking Hadrian's wall from West to East and I thoroughly recommend Riverside to travelers.

On arrival there was a little confusion because there's nobody available to speak to and the cafe is nothing to do with the camp site, although it is apparently owned by the same people. We ordered a delicious sandwich from the cafe and although the young lady who served us knew nothing about the camp site, she was very helpful and went and found out for us.

What you do is pitch your tent and find the honesty envelopes in the shower block, put your money in and post it through the letter box at the adjacent bungalow. Forwarded baggage is left in a blue portakabin behind the buses.

The facilities are clean and comfortable. Great Showers.

Well kept and maintained ground with plenty of space. Nice and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdashmore333 14 reviews from this member

 Great site if your walking the wall.

Its backpackers only (no vehicles).

A very basic but fully functional toilet and shower block with plenty of hot water.

It was very busy when we stayed, probably around 30 campers on site but the facilities were enough to cope.

I wouldn't bother with the George across the road as its a bit stuck up but the crown is only 5 mins walk away where you can drink and share tips with other walkers.

The breakfast was an added bonus in the morning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jrtonks 9 reviews from this member

 This site was our second night's stop while walking Hadrian's Wall (from East to West). I cannot fault it. The prices were reasonable, the field excellent (although it was part sloping which could be a problem if busy), and the facilities very suited to walkers. The cafe is great for breakfast too unless you set off very early. There is a pub in the village about a mile walk from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Argentum66 8 reviews from this member

 Perfect for overnight stay while walking Hadrian's wall. Site right in the centre of Chollerford. Owner operates Cafe by the Garage during the day, out of hours enquire at the bungalow. We were told they only take backpackers on the site.

The facilities are great, with a spotless, purpose built shower and toilet block. Camping field is well kept but rather large if it really is just for backpackers.

2 nearby pubs, The George just over the Road and The Crown about 1 mile away. Chesters Roman fort is just about 1 mile away also. Cafe opens at 9 for breakfast and to get you on your way on the next leg. £5 per night 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathy22w 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite is located in the picturesque village of Chollerford, and on the route of the Hadrian's Wall path.

There is a cafe here, plus basic facilities (toilet, shower). Unfortunately, the dryer was not connected, but I didn't really need it.

The owners were sufficiently friendly and accommodating; campground booking took place in the cafe, and outside of cafe hours you need to go and knock on the bungalow door. (Took me a while to work that out!).

There's a pub over the road; didn't investigate it, but it looks nice enough. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement