Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Boussac Bourg > Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze
Route De La Chatre Bp 12
Boussac Bourg
Limousin   (Browse area)
23600
Tel: +33 05 55 65 02 21
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/06/2021 to 01/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MyTinTent 3 reviews from this member

 Chateau de Poinsouze is part a the Castels group and this being the first time we have stayed on a Castels site we were very pleased with result. The site is about 1. 5miles outside of a small town of Boussac, and access to the site is very good even for larger units. On arrival the staff are very welcoming and they speak English, so even if your French is not so good, booking in is a painless process. You are shown to you pitch, which by any measure are a very generous size, and you get a brief description where to find all the facilities. The shower, toilets and washing up facilities are all very clean, with separate ladies and gents. We ate at the on site restaurant, which was very good. We stayed July / Aug and the other clientele was a mix of Dutch, French, Belgian’s and English, and all were very friendly. There is a small shop for those emergency items but it is expensive. The site is in a very rural location, and although we found plenty to do in our two week stay, you do need to be prepared to drive 30mins to an hour or more for some of the attractions, but these are easy journeys on good roads. We had a very relaxed time on site with the swimming pool, lake with pedalo’s and Kayak’s for those lazy days in the sun, also the site has bikes for hire, football pitch and animations for the younger children.

We had a great holiday here and would definitely recommend it if you want to unwind in the sun. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 33 reviews from this member

 Chateau de Poinsouze is a 4-star site situated in the Creuse region of France approximately 2kms north of the small market town of Boussac. It is a member of the Castels group and has all the character and quality that you would expect. The site is fairly remote but the roads leading to it are all wide enough for easy towing which makes for a relaxing journey.

Campsite reception is on the left of their drive. Staff are all very friendly and speak English. Once booked in they will accompany you to your pitch and explain where everything is. There are no tour operators on this site. They do, however, have their own units for hire. These consist of 20+ mobile homes situated at the top of the site close to the football / games field, 2 chalets near the lake and 2 gypsy type caravans (also close to the lake).

The 150 touring pitches are positioned together away from the hired units which gives this part of the site a traditional campsite feel. All of these pitches are large and have electricity (ranges between 6amp and 20amp depending on the type of pitch). Most pitches have water and drainage on or nearby and many also have a toilet disposal point. The most expensive Castel Pitches also come with table, chairs, fridge and charcoal barbecue. There is campsite-wide wifi available. We didn’t use it so I cannot comment on its reliability.

There is only one toilet block and this is situated pretty much in the centre of the touring pitches. Ladies and Gents facilities are separate. The toilets have seats and paper seat protectors are available. The showers are push button with temperature control. Basins in the Ladies part are in cubicles. The block also houses the washing up and clothes washing sinks. The laundry contains two washing machines and is also situated here. The toilet block is cleaned thoroughly throughout the day. It’s great that it is always clean but it can also be a nuisance when some parts get closed to allow the floor to dry as there is nowhere else on-site to use.

All of the on-site facilities are well away from the camping area. Most are close to the chateau. These include a small shop (order your bread the day before), takeaway (open most evenings), restaurant (open 4 evenings a week), small bar, children’s play area with inflatable castle, and a compound holding a donkey and some goats. We tried the restaurant and take-away a few times and the quality of the food was excellent. In high season the campsite puts on children’s entertainment 3 times a day every day except Saturday.

Just beyond the restaurant is the swimming pool area. This consists of an area of water fountains for the young children, a flume, and a small swimming pool which overlooks the lake. Fishing is allowed in the lake and there is also kayak and pedalo hire. Swimming is not allowed in the lake.

The closest supermarket is the Carrefour in Boussac. This is reasonably large, and well stocked. It should cater for all your holiday needs. Fuel is also available here. Market day in Boussac is Thursday morning. Should you wish, it is possible to walk or cycle to Boussac without having to walk along the main road. Simply leave the site at the bottom end, turn left onto the minor road and follow the GR signs (red and white stripes) into town. It takes around 45 minutes on foot and is reasonably flat most of the way.

If you like walking the tourist information in Boussac has printed sheets of local walks which are free. You do have to ask for them as they are kept under the counter. There are no major attractions close to Poinsouze but that doesn’t mean there is nowhere to visit. We visited Crozant and Fresslines to do a couple of walks which follow a route used by the impressionist artists. We also visited Masgot (to see the sculptures), Chabrieres (to see the wolves), Aubusson (to see the tapestries), and les Jardins de Drulon (to see the gardens). All well worth a visit and none of them further than 50 minutes away. Les Jardins de Drulon are very unusual with many weird sculptures both in the chateau and throughout their grounds. Much closer to the site is Toulx Sainte Croix which has a tower you can climb for free and has fantastic 360 degree views. Just up the road from there are the Pierres des Jaumatres (a walk around some very large and very interesting stones). Look closely and one looks like an elephant and another like a hamster. There is also a large restaurant here.

The Creuse region is not that well known but it certainly is an interesting place for a holiday. It may not be as dramatic as some areas of France but it is definitely well worth a visit. We spent 17 nights here and had a fantastic time. Chateau de Poinsouze being the icing on the cake. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 This site is just over the border of Indre into Limousin, it is located close to Boussac. To say it’s “In the sticks” would be an understatement, Boussac is a 5 Minute Drive away and it has the standard, Bakery, Butchery and Mini Supermarket, They have an average sized Market on Thursday’s and a Night Market on Friday (in July anyway). If you are looking for Big Supermarkets eg. Auchan, E’Leclerc and Lidl they are around 25-35 minute Drive away.

The site has a small shop which is stocked primarily with Lidl goods that have a little ‘Convenience Margin’ added to the price. Bread can be ordered via reception for delivery the next day and they have a small bar and restaurant on site.

The site is huge and has around 145 Pitches varying in size and location, A lot have dedicated water supply and Grey water drains, you can select pitches with different Amperage supply as well upto 20A which is rare to find in France. Our pitch and it would appear many others had drain access for emptying Toilet cassettes as well, rare on any site. When you check-in you should note reception shuts between 12:00 and 13:30 (even though they did open early for us) as this didn’t seem to be visible on the web site or correspondence that we received. All these little ‘Plus Points’ certainly add up to the beginning of a very positive view of this site. On check-in we were very warmly welcomed and were given loads of information along with answers to every question we posed them with. Full payment is on arrival we paid 37 euro a night for the 1st two weeks of July for a pitch approx 10m wide and about 25m deep with 16amp supply, Own water, grey and Black waste with a very over a stunning Lake. We were escorted to the pitch and shown all the water and waste points. We couldn’t have been looked after more.

Around the site, we’ll start with the Toilet Block as everyone likes a good Toilet to talk about, well here you won’t be disappointed, It looks to be recently built and has separate sides for Male and Females, with Toilets, Showers, disabled facilities, even down to toilet seat covers if you want. They are cleaned throughout the day and we never saw dirt on the floor or a toilet without paper they were kept to an excellent standard. In the same block as the toilets is vast array of sinks for washing up all with foot pedal taps so you don’t have to keep turning taps on and off(Look like a fine idea) You also have washing machines, tumble dryer, ironing board Freezer for Ice Blocks and an information room with all the leaflets you could ask for.

The bins, rather than central large bin areas that you have to drag all your rubbish up to they have opted for a unique idea of placing a general waste and recycling bin every 3-4 pitches and then by the Toilet block is glass recycling handy to get rid of all the bottles the morning after and Cardboard recycling is by the Reception. They even want old bread and veg peelings to feed to the animals (More on them later)

Other things around the site include a couple of play areas for Kids (2-10yrs), a small farm area with Goats, Rabbits and a Donkey. The pool area is very good although looked like if the site got busy the pool could get over run as their was limited Sun loungers and space, however the many pool is mounted on the hillside with an infinity edge looking down the valley, there is a small toddlers pool, an area with loads of fountains and water spraying everywhere to amuse any child small or not to so small and nice water flume into a dedicated pool (care should be taken if you are a big kid as the bottom of the pool is quite rough and the flume will fire you out at some speed and elbows can get a little grated). The bar and restaurant have unusual opening times so it's worth familiarising yourself with them. We dined in the restaurant just on one occasion and found the service exceptionally friendly and attentive, the menu’s are simple but of an excellent standard, 4 courses 22. 50 or 2 courses for 17. 00. They also do a small takeaway service as well should you so choose. And finally one of the key features of the site is the beautiful lake with Chateau mounted behind it.

So far everything I can think of is positive about the site, negatives are few and far between, the only thing that affected us was the WiFi as we were on a pitch right at the edge of the range it was a bit patchy, good enough the read emails and facebook but don’t bother with iPlayer or Netflix.

Would we recommend here, Yes, Would we come back, Yes without a doubt. It is probably the best site we have stayed at in France for facilities both range and quality. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Lavericks 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week stay on this site (Myself, my wife and 3 year old daughter) and I have to say it is one of the best sites I have ever stayed on and this is our sixth visit to France.

The site is within the grounds of the chateau and unlike many others there is more green space than pitches so it never feels crowded. The plots are huge (2 times larger than what I would normally expect).

The pool and slide are modem and clean and we spent a large proportion of our time there.

Food on site is very good with the Restraunt booked up fully most nights but they also do Take Away which is excellent.

The local town of Boussac is 5 minutes drive away with two small supermarkets. There is also a nice walk from the site into the town which only takes 40 minutes. Most importantly market day is Thursday and this one didn't disappoint with all the great local produce you would expect including a reassuringly smelly cheese stall!

The site is lovely and quiet on an evening with all noise gone by 10 at the latest. It seems to attract nice families and the three of us made lots of new friends as families came and went. I liked the fact that there was a good mix of nationalities with what seemed like an equal number of French, English, Dutch and German.

The lake is a nice feature with Pedalo, Canoe and Boat hire very cheap (about 5 euro an hour).

A lot of people were using the site for an extended stay over on the way back from the south of France and it is clearly well located for this.

The chateau owners are very actively involved in running the site and they and the staff are very friendly and it has a nice family feel.

A great site and a credit to the people in charge we will certainly return in the future and have already started to recommend it to friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here on our way back from the South.

The site is absolutely beautiful, and we didn't want to leave !

We have a twin axle and I had requested a large pitch on booking. The pitch we were allocated was absolutely huge, and I didn't see a small pitch on the site as we had a wander round, so no worries about pitch sizes !

The toilet / amenities block is immaculate. We didn't make use of the bar or restaurant but they looked nice. The pool area is small but very well situated, and our teenage girls spent a nice day there.

The whole feel of the site was really lovely, and we loved the fact that the pitches are not set out in straight lines, and some of the front ones have great views of the lake and the chateau.

All in all, a really relaxing 3 night end to our trip, and we booked before we left for a longer period next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dairsie 2 reviews from this member

 9 years visiting this site peace and quiet heaven

Claudine and staff first class all facilities excellent if you want rural france look no further site restaurant excellent value boussac pleasant town new cafe/restaurant on square new owners very nice and attentive market day is very busy very many stallholders back to poinsouze lovely just sitting looking out at the lake with aglass of chateau poinsouze vin rouge in hand bliss. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 After a two year gap we returned here. Still as well managed as ever. It now accepts ACSI cards which makes it wonderful value. The sanitaires block is the best I've seen in France. Thee pool has wonderful views over the lake and the country side. There is fishing in the lake. The animals are still there for the children, goats, donkeys rabbits. Boussac Bourg as pleasant as ever, especially on market day, Thursday. Spacious pitches, many with views of the lake and chateau.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 Return visit to this lovely site. Had pitch near lake for 3 euros more than our camping cheque price. Lovely outlook from wherever your pitch is I would think. Just as good as in 2009. Pool wonderful. Toilet block with dish washing and ironing facilities exceptional, clean and spacious. Visited Abbe de Peneboit nearby again and Boussac, pleasant little town. Excellent value with camping cheques though we were told they are going over to ACSI next year as the site gets a better deal. Would return again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davetvhuk 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week stay in the Creuse at Chateau De Poinsouze. This is a lovely quiet site, very clean and well kept.

There are two bars, but they only used one of these, a very small dark one, which was not open all day. In its favour a small beer was only 2. 50€. There is a larger bar which when we asked the owner if it would be open during our stay we were told “Non! Not enough people”. This is not a major problem to us, but would be nice to sit and chat to new people.

The pool and children’s play area are great and activities for the little children organised everyday, football and dodge ball for the older kids in the evening, absolutely nothing in the evenings to keep teenagers occupied.

The Restaurant on site is only open 4 nights a week

This is the ideal site if you want to chill out, read a book, walk etc.

Supplement payable for pup tents on the pitch. We found out after being told we owed them 3€ per night on the tenth night of our holiday, Carefree had forgotten to tell the site when we booked.

Ok for a stop over heading south, just 30 miles from nearest motorway.

I will not be back; it’s too far to travel with so little at the end.

28 years of travelling all over France and I would not recommend this site for your first venture 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here a couple of times and this time for 3 nights (had intended to stay longer but the weather was awful). Shower block is super and kept very clean.

Didn't use the restaurant which seems a bit pricy. The take away however is very reasonable and also very good. The beef burguinon is really delicious. All take away meals were priced at 7 euros 50 which is very good value.

Went into the local village of Boussac and had a 5 course lunch at the small restaurant on the square for 12 euros. Exceptional value and good quality.

The site is well kept and staff are friendly but there is not a lot to do in the area if the weather is bad. Camping cheque site in low season. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Le Chateau De Poinsouze dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Boussac Bourg      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement