Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De La Filature

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Allier > Camping De La Filature Reviews

Camping De La Filature
Route De Chouvigny
Ebreuil
Allier
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03450
Tel: 0033 470 907201
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: 15th April To 1st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

I don't suppose there is any need to submit a review as this wonderful campsite is about to close to the public, as, evidently, no buyer can be found who will take it on. This is a real shame as we simply had to extend our stay here. The situation: on a river and just outside a large village, is perfect. As 'foodies' we would normally cook our own meals but we could not pass up four wonderful meals produced by Jane, John and the crew. A truly great experience - thank you!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 10 reviews from this member

Loved this site. We stayed 3 nights at the end of June (referendum). Pitches are large and flat, river is gorgeous. Facilities are somewhat quirky but very clean and all you need. Murals on walls outside facilities of tintin. As I said 'quirky'. But I actually loved them! The site was not quite in high season when we arrived, but gearing up for it. Bar not yet open.

We had the home cooked meal on our last night there. Beautifully cooked and simple. It is given to you in a terracotta dish to take away. The area is interesting. I would like to spend more time there. We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Safety Jon 1 review from this member

We first came in 2002 and fell in love with this peaceful and interesting site.

Pitches are flat and generous, with hedges. Some can be accessed from two ends, allowing vans to be pulled on and off without trouble. Electrical hookups everywhere. Toilets and showers are clean and well-provided with paper and hot water. Wifi available at the bar.

The site has many trees, including quince, apple, walnut, ash, willow, oak etc etc, and being next to the river Sioule (safe for kids splashing around), there is much wildlife to see - red squirrels, kingfishers, dippers, woodpeckers, tree creepers etc etc

Very helpful English owners who provide daily delicious hot meals - superb value with good portion sizes.

The site is close to the Sioule Gorges, well worth seeing either from the river bank or from a kayak! There are castles to see, markets to tramp around, walks to go on, volcanoes to climb in the near vicinity.

Highly recommended - we're eagerly looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B2tuscan 4 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit and always a pleasure to stay here.

A beautiful position by the river with flat good sized pitches. Electric points and water nearby although water taps have to be pressed in and held. Pressure is not high so a 40 litre Aquaroll takes a while to fill! Not a big problem though.

Site is very quiet with lots of trees and pitches separated with hedging.

Very helpful English owners, excellent small bar area with free wifi. The takeaway meals are very tasty, varied and superb value at Euro 9. Good size portions too.

Loos are very clean, have seats and paper (a rare thing in France). Showers have lots of hot water and good pressure.

Highly recommended and we will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise Latimer 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for just one night on our two week road trip, and both our teenage sons and my husband and I, fell in love with it immediately!

It was boiling hot when we arrived, but according to the instructions at reception, we found our own spot and pitched up, right next to the river.

After putting our tent up, we went for a dip in the river, my husband was adamant he was only going for a paddle, but within 30minutes he had the spare air bed inflated (obviously I don't recommend this as it specifically states on the side not to be used as an inflatable!)and they were cruising down the small rapids!

We spent about 3hours in the river, then ordered pizza from reception. But got a lovely surprise when we picked it up, as we then had to take it to the outside pizza oven for it to be cooked. The pizza's were huge, yummy and great value for money.

There was plenty to do whilst waiting for pizza to be cooked, including table tennis, Boules, a little shop and a reasonably priced bar.

The reception/bar staff were lovely and all spoke enough English to understand what we were asking for. The site has been owned by a lovely English couple for the past 30yrs, so they definitely know what works.

The facilities were clean and quirky with lots of loo's

and showers.

The bread van came around in the morning so you could get your supplies.

There was a big storm in the morning, but as it had been predicted, the owners were very safety conscious and moved anyone under the big willow tree encase of lightening strikes!

Lovely site and good value for money, €32. For the four of us.

Would 100% come back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane1954 2 reviews from this member

We found this delightful site in the ACSI book and the caravan club directory. It is run by a very pleasant, helpful English couple who have owned the site for 30 years.

The pitches are a very good size offering plenty of shade. The toilet facilities are spotlessly clean and plentiful for a site this size and the site is very well situated for touring the Auvergne.

The site is situated by the river and there is easy access for a paddle. For those who like to swim a short walk to the village, beside the municiple site will afford access to the beach which enables swimming in the river. Walking, canoeing and horseriding are just some of the activities available in the area.

The site do an excellent take away meal every evening which is very good value for money and extremeley tasty. I would recommend this site for a short or long stay particularly as it is easily accesible from the A71.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a peaceful location a few minutes walk from Ebreuil. It is owned by a very pleasant english couple who provide a different takeaway meal each night. These were good value for money and delicious. There is a small bar with reasonably priced drinks.

The pitches are large and some shaded as the site was once an orchard.

You can paddle in the river which was very cooling during hot weather, you can take a short walk to the village where there is a park with access to the river for swimming.

There are a few restaurants in the village, market on Thursdays.

Nearest supermarkets are in Gannat not far away.

The site facilities are quirky including a bathroom, washrooms with marble worktops and gilded mirrors in some!

All were spotless and had plenty of hot water.

We love this part of France for its tranquillity and secenery, there are pleasant drives to the local gorges, Vulcania park or Vichy.

We loved the site and recommend it for long or short stay, as it is not far from the A71.

There is a children's play area and laundry facilities as well as a lounge with fridge and tv.

ACSI is taken.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

Great site that we only found while parked in an Aire checking out the Acsi app. Easy access from motorway. Arrived at lunchtime but a notice on the door of reception told new arrivals to go & find a pitch then check in at 5pm. Lovely big pitches by the river, some with shade or partial shade - take your choice. Fairly level so easy to pitch. A water tap by each pitch. It was so lovely just listening to the river tinkling so close by - very peaceful. Plenty of clean toilets & showers, yes they are old but you can't keep building new blocks when there is nothing wrong with the existing one! Toilet paper provided & clean. The little bar was nice to use while waiting for your takeaway meal which is a great idea on a stopover. We intended just 1 night but stopped 3 on our way down south. Good free wifi near the reception/bar with chairs in the shadet so a nice touch. In the village you had a small Spa shop, but we went over to Gannat where there were several large supermarkets. Gannat a nice place with plenty of bars & restaurants in the square for a spot of lunch. The English owners were friendly & informative about the area. Overall a lovely peaceful site that we would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dens 6 reviews from this member

What a great campsite - we loved the quirkiness, the welcome and the location. We parked right by the river for one night and stayed for three! The owners, who are English, were helpful and gave us frozen bottles of water as the weather was very hot. They make evening meals to buy and take away, provided in ceramic dishes which you return. The food was so tasty. My husband had the meal every evening!

The toilets and showers are clean and plentiful (more are locked ready for when the site is busier). Not a turkish-style toilet in sight and toilet paper provided! Bliss!

Great to have a little bar on site and a small shop too. People gravitated to the bar for a wine or beer early evening. We met so many friendly people there and we loved paddling in the river to cool off.

Ebreuil is very quiet. Has a helpful tourist information office, interesting church and while we were there, an art exhibition. The market is on Thursday and a little life comes to the town. We loved cycling into the town on the back road.

We will go back to Filature!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B2tuscan 4 reviews from this member

When I see such negative reviews ( there are a couple here), I sometimes wonder if we went to the same campsite!

We called in en-route from the south without a booking. Arrived in a huge thunderstorm and torrential rain. Owner told us to park anywhere we fancied and check-in with him when the rain had abated. This we eventually did. No problems. Decided to try their home cooked take-away. Only €8 and VERY GOOD SIZE PORTIONS and excellent taste. We found the small bar to be cosy and not unrealistic prices.

The heavens opened up most of the night with very heavy rains. In the morning, we expected to see a lake outside, but the pitches had drained very well and driving on and off was NO PROBLEM.

We liked the site so much that we decided to stay another night. Yes, the showers and toilet buildings look a little dated but they work perfectly well, are very clean and are most adequate. Unlike most French sites, they even supplied loo paper! A bonus.

We found the English owners to be friendly and most helpful. They were not aloof as someone else on here commented and we enjoyed our chats with them. Other people staying seemed to enjoy the site and the owners.

Highly recommended.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3573 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019