Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > St Martin Des Besaces > Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie > Reviews

Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie
La Groudiere
Rue Slaugham
St Martin Des Besaces
Normandy   (Browse area)
14350
Tel: +33 6 37 87 99 53
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geoff48 36 reviews from this member

 Used as a stop over from Calais to South Brittany. Very handy to the A84, good access from St Martin Des Besaces. Signed from the main road.

Hard clay roads on site and some illumination at night. When entering the site the road leads to a small roundabout where you can stop and check in at reception before moving on to your pitch.

16amp and water on pitches in area D with great views. Pitches are a mixture of sun and shade.

The toilet and shower area are an upgrade in the past few years and are excellently maintained and very clean. Although we were in low season the restaurant, bar, and bread ordering system were in force and very handy.

The owners are an Anglo American couple who are most helpful the staff also speak excellent English. The facilities are centred around a courtyard and which is covered in stone.

The local village is very quiet a superette, a boulangerie, a couple of boucheries and a tabac. There is a war museum in the village also there is a petrol/ diesel station where you can pay by either cash or card. Lots of places to visit.

I fully intend to revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 This was our second night on this holiday and the campsite we found was very nice being a short drive from the autoroute roughly halfway between Caen and Mont St Michel.

It's therefore ideal for visiting many sites around the area, including Bayeux and the D-day beaches.

The site itself is owned by an English couple and we found it to be quiet and peaceful, with views over the rolling fields and trees in the nearby area.

There is a bar and snack facility, we only used it for a couple of drinks, which had a rustic rural feel to it.

The showers were excellent as were the toilets and the outdoor dish washing area.

The pitch itself was on grass and separated from other pitches by some hedging which gave a degree of privacy.

As with other sites in France, rubbish and recycling tends to be at the entrance to the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Came here for my first ever EU camping trip and it did not disappoint.

Dawn and Steve the ex-pat owners were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay.

The pitch I was on in Zone C with 10A electricity supply was very spacious, with hedges on two sides as natural windbreaks.

The site was very well-maintained, however, there were no bins except for the big general rubbish bins by the site's entrance.

They took recycling seriously and would provide dedicated yellow recycling bags free of charge.

There was a café/restaurant called the "Cowshed" on site, and it was busy at weekends and holidays as there was no restaurant in town which was only a short walk away from the campsite.

The food and drink on offer were acceptable, French fries were great, so were the Camembert bites, as well as the local ciders and Calvados.

Fresh breads could be ordered and picked up by prior arrangement.

There were some lovely walks around the campsite that Bean enjoyed off-leash.

The campsite was popular with one-nighters as well as Brits for longer stays.

The town centre has a pharmacy, 2 delicatessens, a small supermarket (there might be another one that I missed), a bakery and a hairdresser. As mentioned, there was no restaurant, however, there was a pub as well as a tabac. In addition, there was a self-service fuel station that opened 24/7. It was a pretty town that was worth a visit/stroll.

The local vets recommended by Dawn and Steve was about 15min's drive away. They were very helpful and spoke very good English, and charged about 34 EUR for Bean's worm treatment.

After taking Bean to the vets, I drove to Omaha Beach which was about an hour's drive away. It was busy on the Friday after their Ascension Day public holiday as the locals like to take the day off to make it a long weekend. The campsite and Cowshed restaurant were very busy that weekend!

It should noted that the main restaurant at Omaha Beach closed its kitchen in the afternoon and served drinks only. However, the beach was definitely worth a visit. There were other WWII attractions nearby, however, I did not pay them a visit.

All in all, a very nice stay at this campsite, and I shall definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 10 reviews from this member

 This site has much going for it. British owned and managed, they really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Facilities are centered around the old farmhouse and stable block, and offer excellent washrooms and toilets and a small bar and restaurant area.

I would certainly stay here again, indeed we did on our way home from our April May trip to Western France (gave a 5/10 review for child as not relevant to us) 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Adrian06 35 reviews from this member

 2nd trip, unusual for us! Everything as previously described,

The start of the French Covid autumnal wave.

Hosts very accommodating and helpful.

We will return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Meridienmick 8 reviews from this member

 We booked a stay of three nights on our way to visit other parts of France, and then a further four nights on our return journey, thinking that if we didn't like it on the first visit we would find somewhere else on the way back.

Well, there was no need for that. A beautiful site, like camping in a park or someone's garden. Generous sized pitches with a mixture of sun and shade.

British owners, but a varied mix of clientele from most European countries. Modern showers and toilets, with the showers producing a deluge of water and without the fiddly push buttons that give you 15 seconds of water before you have to press it again.

Very welcoming owners who seem to work constantly keeping the place smart and attractive.

Nice bar with outside eating/drinking area serving a good selection of food most nights, although one night we decided to eat in the bar and didn't buy anything for dinner, only to find a greatly reduced menu - it would have been nice to have warning that there wasn't going to be a full menu. Bread and croissants can be ordered up until 9. 00pm for collection next morning from 8. 00, which is really helpful.

The site has a really pleasant ambience and we will happily return.

The small village of St Martin des Besaces has a small supermarket, two butchers and a boulangerie. On Saturday morning there was also a man selling fruit and veg from a stall (cash only).

Travelling from Calais is easily do-able in a day (about 250 miles nearly all motorway), but some of the other ports are obviously much closer.

I know the owners are still looking at enhancements to the site, but I would say, please don't change too much, it's great as it is. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lisbeth 1 review from this member

 Booked 1night as close to motorway but wish we had stayed longer.

Idyllic site professionally run by lovely hosts.

Nothing too much trouble. Large pitches with shade.

Excellent facilities.

Enjoyed a good meal at restaurant.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Adrian06 35 reviews from this member

 I have run out of superlatives to describe our opinion of this site. We went for a fully serviced pitch, well worth the investment!

The site is meticulously maintained and the owners Steve and Dawn are the best hosts we have had the honour of meeting.

The sanitary facilities are well maintained and as near perfect as it is possible to get. The terrace/ bar/ restaurant serves as a focal point in the late afternoon /evening.

The area abounds in history, both modern and ancient, with numerous points of interest.

Well worth a stay of any length. Thank you! 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie58 11 reviews from this member

 A wonderful peaceful site in beautiful countryside.

The owners are so welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The best hosts we have ever come across in many years caravanning.

The pitches are huge, well maintained with small hedges to separate.

The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean. Site is close to lots of things to do, visiting the Normandy Landing beaches, memorials and museums.

Beautiful sandy beaches. Wonderful towns, cities and villages to explore. The site is central to explore all of Normandy.

I cannot recommend it highly enough and will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamG40 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for three nights and it proved an excellent base for touring the battlefields, handy for Bayeux also.

We were only going to stay one night and move on but it such a nice peaceful site and handily located we stayed longer.

There are bats to watch going in and out of the barns and birds galore including the baby owl whilst we were there.

The facilities were also very good and clean. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Sous Les Etoiles Normandie dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Martin Des Besaces      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56927 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement