Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthclais Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Porthclais Farm Campsite > Reviews

Porthclais Farm Campsite
Porthclais
Haverfordwest
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6RR
Tel: 01437 720616  or  07970 439310
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 23/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 93 Reviews
                9/10 from 93 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janes7 1 review from this member

 Love it that thereís no designated pitches. Just pull up, find your spot and settle down.

Facilities are very clean. Relaxed and enjoyable camping and quiet.

Porthclais Harbour literally the other side of the coastal path which the site backs onto and 20 minutes across fields you are in St Davids.

Second time Iíve stayed here and will definitely come again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aduffelluk 1 review from this member

 Location: 20 mins' walk from St David's on quiet footpaths so great for pubs, cafes and dinner. Right on the coast so quite exposed especially in the lower fields (we had 40mph winds on the first night!), but great views in good weather and good walks all around you.

Management: well-run, friendly welcome. Lots of notices telling you to do this / don't do that but didn't mind those as they were only encouraging people to be considerate.

Character: big, natural and rugged.

Ground: solid and well-drained Ė take a hammer!

Facilities: toilets and showers kept very clean (showers 50p a go), but everything is clustered together near reception with nothing on the rest of the large site. This means the caravans and camper vans (all in the first field) that already have toilets are nearest to the blocks, with all the tents further away, which is not the ideal setup. Having said that, there was plenty of room even in August so there's no reason why you have to pitch miles away from it all.

Nice things: mobile catering van comes round every morning serving hot drinks and all sorts of breakfast items, so cheating is easy.

All round a good campsite with lots of space to spread out. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angela71 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxed campsite lots of space and absolutely beautiful views. Gorgeous coastal walks straight from the campsite.

We walked to Caerfai beach and visited St Nons Chapel along the way. The next day we went the opposite direction along the coast to the most western tip of wales.

There is also a beautiful harbour just behind the campsite.

St Davidís is just down the road where we visited the beautiful St Davidís Cathedral.

We loved it here and would definitely stay again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colville2 2 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews we were undeterred and open minded but not in the least disappointed even though it rained the whole time we spent in this location.

IT WAS FABULOUS! absolutely FAB we will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fortsmithcastor 18 reviews from this member

 Cracking location, lovely views, walks straight from van door,

St Dave's is a pretty little town.

The owner is, shall we say, a little out there.

Would stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mtully 1 review from this member

 Location was Great, with Views in walking distance. So made it worth the visit.

We disliked the fact the showers was not including in the price they were 50p for around 5 minutes.

We had no 50ps and was advised from the owners that we should ask fellow campers because they don't want people calling to reception.

A Family of four was nearly £30. With no EHU none was available.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Naburt 1 review from this member

 We pitched on the second field, so the view of the sea was absolutely incredible - the amazing weather helped!

Basic facilities, but itís enough for what you need. Canít wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 75 reviews from this member

 Cliff-top location so expect wind. Campervans must pitch in first field which doesn't have the best of the views. Walking distance of St Davids. Well positioned for coastal path and great walks. Other than that, rather isolated.

Vans and cars from the furthest pitches did drive to the facilities early morning but didn't particularly blame them in wet and windy weather. Most expensive of the 4 sites booked on our tour of Wales, and not our favourite.

Not all level pitches - the best seemed to be taken by permanent caravans. Plenty of toilets but the wash basins were a little cramped and awkward. Most visitors were there for watersports. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbara Bron 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well-run campsite in a location which is exceptional. It has sea views, direct access to the coast path, and is within walking distance of the lovely, interesting town of St. Davids.

The charges on the site are per person, so I had a bargain as I was on my own in quite a large tent, and only paid £7 a night.

It was quite windy on one night, but that's to be expected really in top of a cliff, and I was prepared for this.

Freezer blocks and mobile phone charging are both available, information which I couldn't find easily on the web site.

My only gripe is about campers driving to and from the toilets starting at about 6. 30 on the Sunday morning. This wasn't very noisy, but as I was pitched just the other side of the hedge from their route, it was unpleasant to be lying there breathing in the fumes and being aware of wheels spinning just above my head. I would advise you to look the other side of the hedge when choosing a pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClairandAdam 4 reviews from this member

 Visiting in early July meant we had a huge choice of pitches across the different fields available, all of which were well maintained and had spectacular views. Direct access to the coast path meant we could watch the sun come up over the bay and set over Ramsey Island. A bit breezy on the last night but worth it for the views.

The facilities were excellent, clean and tidy. The owners came round checking we had 50ps for the showers which was a lovely touch. They also provided details of the local bus routes so we could walk out and get a bus back without worry.

Perfectly positioned site for exploring St David's and the surrounding islands. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Porthclais Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthclais Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Porthclais Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement