Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Porthclais Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Porthclais Farm Campsite Reviews

Porthclais Farm Campsite
Porthclais
Haverfordwest
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6RR
Tel: 01437 720616
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara Bron 1 review from this member

This is a lovely well-run campsite in a location which is exceptional. It has sea views, direct access to the coast path, and is within walking distance of the lovely, interesting town of St. Davids.

The charges on the site are per person, so I had a bargain as I was on my own in quite a large tent, and only paid £7 a night.

It was quite windy on one night, but that's to be expected really in top of a cliff, and I was prepared for this.

Freezer blocks and mobile phone charging are both available, information which I couldn't find easily on the web site.

My only gripe is about campers driving to and from the toilets starting at about 6. 30 on the Sunday morning. This wasn't very noisy, but as I was pitched just the other side of the hedge from their route, it was unpleasant to be lying there breathing in the fumes and being aware of wheels spinning just above my head. I would advise you to look the other side of the hedge when choosing a pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClairandAdam 4 reviews from this member

Visiting in early July meant we had a huge choice of pitches across the different fields available, all of which were well maintained and had spectacular views. Direct access to the coast path meant we could watch the sun come up over the bay and set over Ramsey Island. A bit breezy on the last night but worth it for the views.

The facilities were excellent, clean and tidy. The owners came round checking we had 50ps for the showers which was a lovely touch. They also provided details of the local bus routes so we could walk out and get a bus back without worry.

Perfectly positioned site for exploring St David's and the surrounding islands.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chuckylefrek 1 review from this member

We narrowed our choices of campsite down to 3 campsites in the area and visited each of the 3 sites on the day or our arrival to select our favourite. All 3 sites had superb sea views and several fields, important factors for us.

Porthclais Farm was an instant hit with all the family. It was in a superb setting, the owners of the site are really nice people and the facilities are clean and enough showers and toilets to cater for the number of people on the site. I did not have to queue once for the showers in a whole week though I do get up rather early and was at the showers at around 7am each day.

There were several fields to choose from all with space which is great considering it is August. We chose the field with the best views though all fields would have had a view. On reflection, I may have chosen a field further back from the edge of the cliff as it got rather windy on the last day and we took the brunt of it in our position. It was worth it for the views though.

The location of the campsite is fantastic - you can walk into St David's either along a path or along the road and it is approximately 30 minutes walk - probably less but I was taking photos along the way so that slowed me down. There is also a lovely harbour next to the site, no more than a few minutes walk from all the fields. There is a cafe and carpark next to the harbour so you could drive if you are feeling lazy or have old dogs who refuse to walk.

Overall we were really pleased with this campsite and it was perfect for our needs and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ALord 3 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful campsite and I agree with all the already positive comments of all the other reviewers. For us it was exactly what we wanted. It's a fantastic location - the only caveat being that the lowermost field is exposed to all weathers (including wind) so you might want to think carefully how/where you pitch. Owners are lovely, the facilities well thought out, clean and function fine, pitches are good. 50p for 4mins worth of shower.

You can walk into St Davids via a footpath rather than on the road. St Davids itself has an excellent variety of food shops and including an excellent deli, butchers and veg shop. Also excellent Giannis ice-cream shop, the fish and chip shop and Saffron (the Indian restaurant).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ed Yorks 2 reviews from this member

First time to Wales and spoilt by a large picturesque campsite, with stunning views over the sea and countryside. Owners were chatty, friendly and very helpful. Choice of pitch and freedom to arrive and depart at leisure.

The large fields provide ample space and people pitch around the edges leaving plenty of room in the middle for activities such as ball games and kite flying.

50p showers ensures enough hot water and sufficient time to wash, condition hair etc. Never had to wait. Just a suggestion (intended to mention at the time) a row of lower hooks in the shower would make it easier for children to hang up their clothes whilst showering.

A path provides an easy walk into town where there's a choice cafés, pubs and a small supermarket. Crabbing in the nearby harbour is a must for young children.

Will definitely return to explore more of the coastal path, beaches and bike rides.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pili pala 9 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site, returning after our visit last year.

Nothing more to add - it's still in a stunning location. Facilities were clean and practical. People running the site were friendly and helpful.

Mostly tents with plenty of space in the fields. Reasonably priced.

I hope we'll return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacs5 2 reviews from this member

Can't really add much to the previous reviews. We loved this site. Nice to be able to pitch where you like as long as you're not less than 20ft from the next unit. There was plenty space in all the fields even in a gorgeous week in August. Slightly busier at the weekend. Being a campervan we were asked to camp in the top field but after a couple of days we were glad of this as the walk to the loo is not quite so far! The facilities are basic compared to some but the showers worked fine (50p gives plenty time) and the toilets always flushed first time! A footpath leads to St Davids and took less than half an hour to walk. A van comes onto the site every morning selling bread etc. Can't say exactly what as we never used it but could be very useful. We would definitely go again as loads to do in the area too.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aduffelluk 1 review from this member

Location: 20 mins' walk from St David's on quiet footpaths so great for pubs, cafes and dinner. Right on the coast so quite exposed especially in the lower fields (we had 40mph winds on the first night!), but great views in good weather and good walks all around you.

Management: well-run, friendly welcome. Lots of notices telling you to do this / don't do that but didn't mind those as they were only encouraging people to be considerate.

Character: big, natural and rugged.

Ground: solid and well-drained – take a hammer!

Price: £7 per adult per night, which we thought was good value.

Facilities: toilets and showers kept very clean (showers 50p a go), but everything is clustered together near reception with nothing on the rest of the large site. This means the caravans and camper vans (all in the first field) that already have toilets are nearest to the blocks, with all the tents further away, which is not the ideal setup. Having said that, there was plenty of room even in August so there's no reason why you have to pitch miles away from it all.

Nice things: mobile catering van comes round every morning serving hot drinks and all sorts of breakfast items, so cheating is easy.

All round a good campsite with lots of space to spread out.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

The site is right on the coast and so offers easy access to the coastal path and there are great walks in either direction.

The shower, toilet and washing up facilities are very good and there was plenty of hot water. The showers take 50 pence pieces, but one gives you enough time.

St. David's is a mile away and is a lovely little city with shops for your supplies and dog-friendly pubs.

The pitches are not allocated and this is a very relaxing and quiet site, despite it being so popular.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowfamily 11 reviews from this member

We spent three nights at Porthclais during the first week of the school summer holidays and had a very warm welcome from the last owner. It's a large site and was busy but never felt crowded and even in that peak week, there was plenty of room for tents in any one of their four or five fields, so I wouldn't imagine there was ever a need to book unless you wanted to guarantee a particular pitch or were coming as part as a large party all wanting to camp together. I'm not sure about the arrangements for caravans which were mainly parked around the edges of the first field, presumably with the electric hook-ups. Tents seemed to be in the majority at this site, and with a rule of 6m between camps and 3m between tents camping together it felt spaciously laid out.

The grass was quite long and rough and I imagine you would find wellies useful in wet weather. It does feel like a farmer's field rather than carefully manicured lawns. I liked the atmosphere here though - it felt like 'proper camping' with a mixture of people, everything from families on week-long holidays, to walkers stopping by for a night or two.

It cost £7 per adult per night, £3 for under-13s but showers were extra 50p a time; plenty of time to wash your hair but not quite enough to shave your legs too, as I discovered when I got lathered up only for the water to abruptly shut off! Facilities were cleaned daily and seemed to be adequate for the number of campers (I usually get up early to best the rush so hard to tell if there would be queues for showers later in the AM) but there was more than one block and so if one was busy it was worth trying the other. Both were close to the entrance though, so depending on where you camp, it could be quite a walk up to to loo block (even so, I could not believe the number of lazy people who drove to the toilets - surely not in the spirit of camping, polluting this beautiful spot with unnecessary exhaust fumes!).

The best thing was the location - a 20min walk inland, I am told, into St David's (we didn't find time to do it) - and stunning views out onto onto the coast. I will never forget the full blue moon hanging over a shimmering silver St Brides Bay one night as I returned from the loo. Just across the hedge from our tent was the Pembrokeshire Coast Path - we walked in both directions - half an hour (and past St Non's Chapel) in one direction to Caerfai where there is a beach (not much beach left though, at hightide!), and five minutes to the picturesque inlet of PorthClais harbour in the other. Fun too, to watch people kayaking and coasteering from our tent.

Of course the downside of those expansive coastal views is that was pretty windy and I was sometimes kept awake at night by the tent flapping away. We did suffer some wind-related damage too, and had to buy a needle and thread to repair a couple of tent peg loops ripped off in the wind! I daresay we were unlucky with the weather but possibly we could have picked a more sheltered pitch had we been willing to compromise on proximity to the sea. Something to bear in mind for next time.

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019