Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthclais Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Porthclais Farm Campsite Reviews

Porthclais Farm Campsite
Porthclais
Haverfordwest
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6RR
Tel: 01437 720616
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fortsmithcastor 13 reviews from this member

 Cracking location, lovely views, walks straight from van door,

St Dave's is a pretty little town.

The owner is, shall we say, a little out there.

Would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mtully 1 review from this member

 Location was Great, with Views in walking distance. So made it worth the visit.

We disliked the fact the showers was not including in the price they were 50p for around 5 minutes.

We had no 50ps and was advised from the owners that we should ask fellow campers because they don't want people calling to reception.

A Family of four was nearly £30. With no EHU none was available.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Naburt 1 review from this member

 We pitched on the second field, so the view of the sea was absolutely incredible - the amazing weather helped!

Basic facilities, but it’s enough for what you need. Can’t wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 62 reviews from this member

 Cliff-top location so expect wind. Campervans must pitch in first field which doesn't have the best of the views. Walking distance of St Davids. Well positioned for coastal path and great walks. Other than that, rather isolated.

Vans and cars from the furthest pitches did drive to the facilities early morning but didn't particularly blame them in wet and windy weather. Most expensive of the 4 sites booked on our tour of Wales, and not our favourite.

Not all level pitches - the best seemed to be taken by permanent caravans. Plenty of toilets but the wash basins were a little cramped and awkward. Most visitors were there for watersports. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbara Bron 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well-run campsite in a location which is exceptional. It has sea views, direct access to the coast path, and is within walking distance of the lovely, interesting town of St. Davids.

The charges on the site are per person, so I had a bargain as I was on my own in quite a large tent, and only paid £7 a night.

It was quite windy on one night, but that's to be expected really in top of a cliff, and I was prepared for this.

Freezer blocks and mobile phone charging are both available, information which I couldn't find easily on the web site.

My only gripe is about campers driving to and from the toilets starting at about 6. 30 on the Sunday morning. This wasn't very noisy, but as I was pitched just the other side of the hedge from their route, it was unpleasant to be lying there breathing in the fumes and being aware of wheels spinning just above my head. I would advise you to look the other side of the hedge when choosing a pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClairandAdam 4 reviews from this member

 Visiting in early July meant we had a huge choice of pitches across the different fields available, all of which were well maintained and had spectacular views. Direct access to the coast path meant we could watch the sun come up over the bay and set over Ramsey Island. A bit breezy on the last night but worth it for the views.

The facilities were excellent, clean and tidy. The owners came round checking we had 50ps for the showers which was a lovely touch. They also provided details of the local bus routes so we could walk out and get a bus back without worry.

Perfectly positioned site for exploring St David's and the surrounding islands. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chuckylefrek 1 review from this member

 We narrowed our choices of campsite down to 3 campsites in the area and visited each of the 3 sites on the day or our arrival to select our favourite. All 3 sites had superb sea views and several fields, important factors for us.

Porthclais Farm was an instant hit with all the family. It was in a superb setting, the owners of the site are really nice people and the facilities are clean and enough showers and toilets to cater for the number of people on the site. I did not have to queue once for the showers in a whole week though I do get up rather early and was at the showers at around 7am each day.

There were several fields to choose from all with space which is great considering it is August. We chose the field with the best views though all fields would have had a view. On reflection, I may have chosen a field further back from the edge of the cliff as it got rather windy on the last day and we took the brunt of it in our position. It was worth it for the views though.

The location of the campsite is fantastic - you can walk into St David's either along a path or along the road and it is approximately 30 minutes walk - probably less but I was taking photos along the way so that slowed me down. There is also a lovely harbour next to the site, no more than a few minutes walk from all the fields. There is a cafe and carpark next to the harbour so you could drive if you are feeling lazy or have old dogs who refuse to walk.

Overall we were really pleased with this campsite and it was perfect for our needs and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ALord 3 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite and I agree with all the already positive comments of all the other reviewers. For us it was exactly what we wanted. It's a fantastic location - the only caveat being that the lowermost field is exposed to all weathers (including wind) so you might want to think carefully how/where you pitch.

Owners are lovely, the facilities well thought out, clean and function fine, pitches are good. 50p for 4mins worth of shower.

You can walk into St Davids via a footpath rather than on the road. St Davids itself has an excellent variety of food shops and including an excellent deli, butchers and veg shop. Also excellent Giannis ice-cream shop, the fish and chip shop and Saffron (the Indian restaurant). 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ed Yorks 2 reviews from this member

 First time to Wales and spoilt by a large picturesque campsite, with stunning views over the sea and countryside. Owners were chatty, friendly and very helpful. Choice of pitch and freedom to arrive and depart at leisure.

The large fields provide ample space and people pitch around the edges leaving plenty of room in the middle for activities such as ball games and kite flying.

50p showers ensures enough hot water and sufficient time to wash, condition hair etc. Never had to wait. Just a suggestion (intended to mention at the time) a row of lower hooks in the shower would make it easier for children to hang up their clothes whilst showering.

A path provides an easy walk into town where there's a choice cafés, pubs and a small supermarket. Crabbing in the nearby harbour is a must for young children.

Will definitely return to explore more of the coastal path, beaches and bike rides. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pili pala 9 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site, returning after our visit last year.

Nothing more to add - it's still in a stunning location. Facilities were clean and practical. People running the site were friendly and helpful.

Mostly tents with plenty of space in the fields. Reasonably priced.

I hope we'll return next year. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Porthclais Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthclais Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Porthclais Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement