Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Municipal De Bernay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Bernay > Camping Municipal De Bernay Reviews

Camping Municipal De Bernay
Rue Des Canadiens
Bernay
Normandy   (Browse area)
27300
Tel: 0033 232 43 30 47
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adventure16 1 review from this member

Stayed for 1 night stopover on the journey back from Bordeaux are. Reserving the site by e mail was easy. Elsa met us when we arrived - very pleasant and efficient. As it was off peak we could choose our pitch. Very tidy. Facilities very clean and easy. We didn't leave the site so can't comment on the nearby area. Pitches were grass and flat defined by very well trimmed hedges ! Would use site again as a stopover.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 33 reviews from this member

We stopped for a night on our way to the Loire. A very clean and tidy site with pitches separated by immaculate hedges. Grass very brown due to recent hot spell!

Pitches level and a fair size with 10A electrical supply.

There is wifi all over the site, the password is at reception.

The lady on reception was very friendly and spoke some english although Iused french!

They have information leaflets in english.

Its a short walk to town although we went to small supermarket close by.

You can order bread for the morning.

Facilities very clean.

A nice site convenient for the autoroute.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

As mere tenter's, this was our very first overnighter on a camp site, after using hotels on our previous two camping trips to and from France. And I have to say, it all went rather well!

A doddle to find from the A28. Nice tidy site. Welcoming enough at reception. Clean and practical facilities, and nice flat grassy pitches. Ok, the pitches are all exactly 10m x 9. 5m, all perfect rhomboids, and the dividing hedges all look exactly the same, but we needed practicality, not natural beauty or excitement, so we got what we wanted.

Of course, being September, it was quiet, with only 3 or 4 other units on site, all getting away before we did, next morning, as you'd expect, as they all had wheels!

Turn right out the front gates and keep walking in a straight line. A fifteen minute stroll gets you into a rather pleasant town, with plenty of shops/bars/café's etc, some on a pedestrianised 'High Street'. Ideal for a stop-over such as ours, where we rely on local catering facilities rather than rustling up our own meals back at the tent.

All in all, we'll definitely overnight in a tent again, and if we were to find ourselves on this same route, (Tunnel to Vendee) I'd have no qualms about stopping here again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jclarkguy1234 3 reviews from this member

Nice little municipal site quite close to the motorway and approx 3 hrs from Calais, we used this site as a stopover on way home, good clean facilities, acceptable showers, very well ran, we were asked if we would like to order Baggett etc, we did and were able to collect from reception at 08-00hrs, ten minute walk into town, would stay here again if passing this way again, very helpful staff on this well laid out site

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ardoveering 2 reviews from this member

We have stopped off here many times on our journeys both north and south. It is a real gem of a site, even if it is a bit pricey for a municipal. The pitches are delineated by hedges that are trimmed to within a mm of their lives and the shower block is kept clean. Pitches can be tight, but if you have a mover it's not a problem. Intermarche and LeClerc are within a short drive so we usually drop in to fill up with diesel and to buy provisions. The warden is a pleasant guy and over the years his spoken English has improved a lot, but we must remember that we are the visitors so it's our duty to at least try to communicate with him in French. Bread can be ordered for collection in the morning and wifi is free provided you ask for a wifi pass which the warden will print off for you. You have to be in the reception area or immediately outside of it to log on, but we've never had any problem. As we don't travel with children we can't comment on suitability for families, but there is a small children's play area and a sports area nearby.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andywelsh 5 reviews from this member

It's difficult to disagree with any of the other reviewers' thoughts - the site is very clean and tidy, with good sized pitches. Nice and quiet, too - we had no issues with noisy neighbours.

We only used Bernay as a one night stopover en route, so we weren't there long enough to explore the local town.

There's not a lot in the way of things to do on site, but there is a little play area for the kids.

The site's proximity to the main route to the Vandee from Calais is a bonus, as is the easy access to the site when towing a caravan.

When used as a short term stopover, the site is hard to fault. We will use it again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nobbygezza 4 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for only one night when on route for Calais from the southwest of France. As described in previous reviews the site sounds pretty much the same. Directions to the site are very easy and we'll sign posted from all directions in Bernay. On arrival there was a mobile pizza/panini stall outside the site doing a fair trade. The wardens speak no English so be prepared for plenty of hand gestures unless you can speak the native language. Pitches are tight if you have a large outfit and the only places left are in the centre of the site, also on my pitch the electricity supply was reverse polarity so make sure you test before you plug in. There is also a water tap on each of the power supply bollards, but the waste water point is at the toilet block as is the elsan disposal point, hot water is plentiful so is toilet roll but no seats on toilets. In the information room there is a table tennis table for use, I was also giving 1 hours free wifi for use in the same area, I assume this is for every visitor but can not guarantee this as my French is very poor and had no way of asking, I would say you are approximately 10 to 15 mins from the motorway the gate is locked and you need a code for access that you will be giving but remember the main drive through gate is switched off at night supposedly at 10 pm but I found it switched off at 9. 45pm meaning if you are out you will have to leave your car outside the site and use the pedestrian gated access. The town has many Tudor style buildings which even I found interesting to look at, there is a fair amount of Chinese, pizza, Indian, kebab take always in the town and plenty of brasseries, although there seemed to be only one real restaurant that served mixed meals but was very busy with locals and had an hour an halfs wait for a table, so we ended up at the local Mc Donald's. Overall the site was a little dated and could benefit from a bit of modernisation but it was clean and available and made a pleasant stop over, albeit that the price was a little high for one nights stay I would stay there again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1topaz1 10 reviews from this member

Good, efficient well organised site. Very clean facilities. Most pitches have some shade, perhaps a little on the tight side if you don't have a mover.

Bernay is an interesting little town with several places to eat. Good for a stroll around but perhaps too far to walk from campsite. Lovely cycle route along a disused railway but it is uphill to the campsite!

Only ten minutes from motorway, follow signs from previous reviewer.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judas_hill 37 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site on our way back from the Vendee, we found it was hard to get on to the pitches with a larger van, so had to use the mover. The other thing was it was dearer than we would have paid for a normal site for one night it was 19. 50 euros. It is a well kept site. The toilets block was clean and tidy. The town is well worth a visit if you have the time. There is a large supermarket in the town.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rcld15 1 review from this member

We used the site as a one night stop off as we went further south. It is 3 hours from Calais and was perfect when you have 2 young children in the back. It is only 10 minutes from the autoroute. The family who run it were polite, friendly and very proud of their site. The lady who we dealt with spoke mainly French and broken English. She appreciated our efforts to speak French, as you would expect. You do not have to pre-book, but it did get busy. It was a mixture of people continuing their journey and those who stopped to explore the region. The facilities were clean and the pitches were a good size, separated by hedges. The park was fun for the kids and you can also borrow games, bats and balls etc. From the office. Gas barbecues are allowed. The main gate is secure and has a code. The surrounding area is residential and business, but very quiet. Bernay itself is a pleasant town, as I found when driving around trying to find a local store late in the evening. In fact the local store a 5 minute walk away was ideal and friendly.

Since we enjoyed our initial visit, we decided to return on our way home. The lady remembered us and was pleased to see us. It was just as good the second time around, even if the weather was not! I certainly recommend this site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bernay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019