Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site Reviews

Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site
Littlethorpe Road
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 1TZ
Tel: 01765 605117
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kay Harker 2 reviews from this member

 VERY enjoyable stay at lovely site. Perfect location, extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating owners and beautiful place.

Could do with more of them but facilities were great: hot shower with plenty of time per token; lots of room; very welcome mat to keep feet warm.

Hopefully we will have time to stay longer in future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stuy 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite for a visit to the races! We were able to walk into Ripon which is lovely and also able to walk to the races, which are both lovely walks.

The site is beautifully maintained and Carol is lovely. There is only one shower and one ladies and one gents loo which are a very basic and a token is needed for the shower.

There was no hot water to wash dishes. But we had a lovely stay and would recommend as great value. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: COAST63 1 review from this member

 Having just left this site I felt I would like to write an honest review having read other reviews. Our expectations were low but on arrival we were met by a lovely friendly lady who showed us a choice of pitches ours was reasonably flat for all there were a few where Ramps would be needed.

The site is a quiet little gem clean, well looked after and on the canal side. Yes the toilet facilities are very basic but well maintained and at 14. 00 a night peak season could not be moaned at. We bought 5 electric card which did us the full three days. Showers were 50p tokens.

Walking into Ripon was a pleasant 10/15 minute walk along the canal side passing up past the newly renovated pub the water rat (very nice).

We will definitely be returning one thing I would say is there is a strict NO GROUND SHEET RULE, to help keep the grass in good condition.

If you want a quiet but near town centre site (also walkable to York races) this little site ticks the boxes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nat1001 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Lockside.

The site is beautifully kept the owners very welcoming and friendly. Having been here before we knew there were limited facilities on site so one toilet for each sex and a single shower did not concern us. We were more interested in the location as it is only a 15 minute walk into Ripon and all it has to offer

We had read a few reviews suggesting the cost of electricity was excessive and that it tripped out regularly.

We needn't have worried, We bought a five pound card and the meter had 87p credit. We used everything in the van including a standard 240v kettle and a microwave without tripping once. When we left the site after a two night stay there was over three pound left on the meter.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ecco v 2 reviews from this member

 WE stayed at Lockside for a weekend in October. Mrs Bramley who runs the site is very friendly and helpful, and although there is only one toilet and shower on site, they are well kept and very clean.

There were no hard standing pitches as this area is used as a car park.

The site is very handy for Ripon town centre and has a lovely walk along the canal.

ON the down side, some of the site is quite sloping, there is no access to the canal from the site. But worst of all the electric which is on a meter is useless. The five amp supply wont run anything above 1000 watt. Ours tripped six times in the first ten minutes. Five pounds worth of electric didn, t last a day even though you had to use your gas for most things.

All in all it was a nice weekend, but I wouldn't use the site again, because of the electric. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benidorm 3 reviews from this member

 What a great find !

Just returned from having relaxing weekend at Lockside. The site is very well kept, clean and tidy & no hassle. We picked this site because of its location to the Racecourse and weren't disappointed. Ideal, less than 10 mins walk.

The only thing that we were not able to do was access the lovely Canal walks direct from the site. You had to leave the site to do this, but its not a problem really.

All in all though, I would highly recommend a visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daforfar 9 reviews from this member

 We have been going to this site over the last six years on Camping and Caravan rallies, We like it because you can always get an EHU although it has changed to a meter card system now. It still works out reasonable. I spent 12 over 7 nights although I used gas for hot water.

The shower is small and dingy. I do not like not being allowed to use a groundsheet even though mine is breathable.

We go there because it has a nice canal side walk to Ripon and on rallies the fees are reasonable. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mollymoo2 4 reviews from this member

 The owners of this site were very welcoming to four tired and emotional cyclists and their crew van! We found the site by accident after we had been given short shrift by another campsite in Ripon which 'did not take groups'. (Two women in their thirties, their partners, and Mum and Dad. Hmmmmm yes, we radiate trouble!)

Facilities are basic, with one Ladies and one Mens toilet. Showers 50p, but a large cubicle where you are not banging elbows, and plenty of hot water. I was bewitched by the location, which is next to the canal with lots of pretty barges and houseboats moored on it. Lovely walk into Ripon along the canal. Strangely there were no midges, which was a nice surprise.

The owner hung out our wet towels on her washing line and was generally very kind to us.

Some of the site is on a pretty steep slope, so I wonder if it had been busier we might have had a problem getting levelled up.

I would definitely recommend the atmosphere of this site, peaceful and great location. We will be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over bank holiday weekend and found it a very peaceful and friendly site.

We stayed on top of field which was flat but site does slope slightly down towards the canal.

Site has one male and one female toilet and one shower, facilities although dated were clean.

Hot water for pot wash 20p and shower 50p,

We had ehu which we found very reasonable we used 5 for the entire weekend.

About 10min walk to nearest pub the water rat which is lovely situated on banks of the river. A further 5mins walk takes you into town of Ripon which has a host of bars and shops and a beautiful cathedral.

Would recommend this site if wanting a quiet peaceful break and we will be returning in near future 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pollyanna 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a few nights this month. The site had a rally on but the normal side of the site had about 8 units on. The smaller area was well tended with pretty flower borders etc.

There was only one toilet and one shower which were very basic but very clean. Certainly could do with improving to modern day standards.

It was easy to walk into Ripon but a shame the route along the canal path directly from the site wasn't accessible.

I think there may be some dog kennels very close by as we heard dogs barking very late into the night and again from early morning.

However, I would probably return to this site due to its close proximity to the town. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lockside Caravan Park Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3513 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement