Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Carron Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Nomansland > Carron Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Carron Caravan And Camping Site
North Lane
(new Forest)
Nomansland
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 2BU
Tel: 01794 390428
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bluesman 1955 1 review from this member

 Have used this site many times.

If you want 5 star facilities and kids play area, do not come here. But if you want affordable camping in the heart of the new forest this is a good place for you.

We enjoy our times here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Two2Go 1 review from this member

 Very reasonably priced small site. Room for a few tents, and very few motorhomes and caravans. Only one hard pitch not being already used by seasonal vehicles. EHU.

One small shower and 2 toilets. Couldn't find the chemical waste facilities. Wherever you park you slope, sometimes quite dramatically so if this worries you bring blocks.

The site is a little unloved (but clean) and very basic but due to being so reasonable priced I feel its unfair to simply moan.

For what you get re location and peace and quiet outweighs any little niggles so just overlook them. If you require state of the art facilities just go elsewhere and pay accordingly.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jollyhants 1 review from this member

 A very small site ideally located. We found it very quiet as we wanted. The site itself doesn't offer the most modern of things we may like, but it's sufficient. It has two toilets which are cleaned often and a tiny shower cubicle which for the larger person isn't sufficient, but it's still clean and useable.

As soon as you walk off the site you come into the open ground where you can be greeted by horses Donkeys or sometimes Cows, depending on the time of day. The local pub I personally took a dislike to as they were unwelcoming, but it's ok for a quick drink if you can afford the prices! A nice French restaurant nearby also, never tried it as we felt under dressed, but menu looks good.

Overall a pleasant stay, very quiet and peaceful. Only gripe is the dogs barking at the top of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

 Not sure where to begin with this site!

I would not like to stay for more than a few nights here, Its very basic which is reflected in the price. But it's also unkempt and uncared for. In short it's pretty filthy. The ageing two toilets and one tiny shower cubicle I don't think have been cleaned in a very long time.

But that aside I loved the quiet privacy in the field, the location was great if you enjoy getting away from it all. A pub and restaurant within two minutes walk. Not sure I would have enjoyed it had the weather been wet and chilly.

The owner Mrs. Keats I don't think was able to walk too far, but she had two nice people living in a mobile home next door who seemed to help her out by emptying bins etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caro48 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site in a beautiful New Forest village. A very reasonable price, consequently you get no frills. Two toilets [one disabled], a shower and a wash up area. CDP is a bit awkward but adequate.

Whilst the facilities were a little shabby, they were always kept clean. Grass pitches on a bit of a slope, which could prove difficult if wet. Narrow entrance track of around 50 yards or so.

There were two instances of loss of power to the EHUs during the night. Nice village, good local pub and French restaurant. Nearby Landford has a well stocked village shop and post office.

Wonderful walks in the New Forest. We plan to use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cymru1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site in one of the prettiest new forest villages, access the forest within 50yards and a very nice pub with food nearby.

A quiet site one toilet and shower, no frills as in swimming pools and frippery but right in the natural beauty of the new forest with ponies and deer evident.

Very reasonable price, we loved it so much we went there for over 20 years. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muggeridge 1 review from this member

 Recently spent a weekend there and it is a lovely site. All the people are friendly and helpful and a great pub within spitting distance.

Only has a couple of toilets and one shower but as it is not a busy site this is not a problem.

If you want a quiet few days then I highly recommend, if you want a large campsite with pools and playground for kids then wouldn't recommend we just want a few quiet days away with neighbours and our 3 children

we would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cruiser_crew 13 reviews from this member

 We were struggling to find a site in the New Forest which had both availability and electric hook up to allow us to test out our new caravan more fully. We almost discounted this site due to the negative reviews but we are glad that we didn't.

The Main field slopes such that you have to really raise the front legs on your van so chocks are necessary.

The toilets are basic but clean. The shower is warm and refreshing - although it does occasionally lose pressure with a warm surge following.

The best part of the site is the views that you get in the evening. The sun sets behind some trees which is great to watch.

It is only a couple of minutes walk from the forest which is great for walking around.

In short, this is a great site offering exceptional value in a lovely part of the New Forest 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on two successive nights whilst overnighting on the way to the Isle of Wight.

There's no denying that this is a basic, no-frills site - but then I guess there aren't many places where you can camp amidst the stunning beauty of the New Forest for £12-per-night all-in.

The site is approached down a narrow drive way that is only just wide enough for a large caravan (and God forbid that you meet one coming the other way!) and is situated on a pronounced sideways slope, of the the sort which is sometimes the most difficult on which to level a caravan properly. In addition, some of the hook-up points are located at uneven intervals, which meant our 25-metre cable only just about reached to one from where our caravan was situated.

The toilets are located in an annexe to the proprietor's house through a garden gate watched over by a friendly little Cairn terrier. We found them warm and clean (although they would benefit from a towel or a hand dryer). However, I never did find the Elsan point, which must be hidden somewhere beneath the adjacent bushes, shrubs and garden plants. Therefore, I confess I emptied our tray down the toilet. Meanwhile, we used our own caravan shower, having observed the note on the drinking water tap that urges users to check no one is in the site shower before turning it on!

With regard to other amenities, there is a small village store in Landford (about a mile away). Otherwise, it would appear that Salisbury and Southampton are where the nearest main supermarkets are to be found.

On a more positive note, the site is slap bang in the middle of a charming New Forest village, with cows and semi-wild horses grazing on the common and a superb pub (the Lamb Inn), which does great meals for about £10-per-head. Next door is a smart French restaurant for the more exclusive diner.

Across the common is Bramshaw Wood, which is large enough to be explored on a bike - although is best done so on foot on account of the quagmires, fallen trees and hidden tree stumps to be encountered on even the gravelled paths. Dog owners also need to be aware that there are wild pigs roaming the woods and adders often lurk in the undergrowth.

In summary, this is a cheap, basic site set amidst an enchanting rural setting, which although in need of a bit of TLC is still worth visiting - especially if you like being at one with the natural world. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Fcatt48 5 reviews from this member

 Really good location for touring the new forest, but that's it. You get what you pay for and this is a cheap site. In need of major improvement.

The shower stops completely if a toilet is flushed or a tap turned on, resulting in scalding hot water when it comes back on. Not advisable to send the kids up on their own.

Toilets are 'mingin'. Chemical waste disposal is under a plastic manhole removable with the attached piece of electrical cable.

Play area is soon taken over by an excess of tents and adjacent field is out of bounds due to horses.

The grass is not cut short enough and the clippings are not collected so that grass is trodden into your tent, camper, caravan.

Will definitely go back to the new forest, but not this site unless it has a very much needed revamp. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carron Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carron Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Carron Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nomansland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3078 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder