Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Royal Oak Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Selby > The Royal Oak Inn > Reviews

CLOSED: The Royal Oak Inn
Main Street
Hirst Courtney
Selby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Becca307 7 reviews from this member

 We went with friends to welcome in the new year. The welcome in the pub was good as were the fireworks to mark the coming in of the new year.

The toilets were still unfinished and the ladies did not have a light so were unusable. Hubby and son braved the unfinished shower but found it did not drain.

We were lucky that we had our own shower and loo but had booked on the understanding that showers and toilets were available and usable.

Not an ideal site but ok if you need to stop over when travelling. Its a shame the owners have not finished the showers/toilets and tidied the place in general. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Saralouise1980 2 reviews from this member

 The website looks very good, but unfortunately that is where it starts and finishes.

Nice big open site but the pub has seen better days. Very run down and shuts on Monday and Tuesday. The whole place was obviously very nice and well looked after, but not now.

Needs lots of TLC, as does the site. Toilets are damp and dirty, no toilet paper and bags of rubbish everywhere.

Tom is a nice enough bloke and means well, but he either needs to sort the place out or close it.

I would not of thought he will get many repeat customers, we certainly won't be!

A real shame though because it was obviously a lovely big old country Pub, going the same way too many are right now. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Starcruise 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this campsite. It was dark when we arrived but Tom, the new owner,was very helpful directing us to a pitch and helping us fill with water. A hosepipe was provided and he had his own electric leads.

The main attraction of this site is that it is adjacent to a nice friendly pub with wood burning stove, which Tom and his wife own and run. We had a very good meal in the pub on the Saturday evening, freshly cooked and reasonably priced.

The downside to this site is the toilet facilities, which we would have been reluctant to use, fortunately we are self contained in our motorhome. However, Tom has ambitious plans which include the construction of new toilet facilities once planning consents have been obtained.

Unfortunately our departure was delayed due to the fact that recent gales had reduced our grass pitch to a quagmire and our motorhome could not cope with the soft terrain. Luckily for us Tom again came to our rescue and with the help of a friendly caravanner got a tow out courtesy of his 4x4.

Tom has ambitious plans to create hardstanding pitches.

There are extensive walks from this site and we walked along the river Aire to the historic market town of Snaith. We hope to return to this site and anticipate another warm friendly welcome. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Picsndicks 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for the weekend and were very impressed, the field is flat and long with plenty of room, it will look fantastic when finished and the toilet block is completed.

The Pub is clean with a pool table and space to wander round, we didn't eat there but was told the food was very good,we found the staff very friendly, and the owners couldn't do enough for us.

We are going back with friends for the New Year as they are putting on a bit of a do and so should be a good time for all.

The site is not far from the village of Snaith about 10 mins in the car with a couple of shops and pubs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheznmax 2 reviews from this member

 The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The food and service were fantastic even the site was good. The field was flat and sheltered by surrounding fir trees and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The only draw back is lack of any toilets, showers ect between 11pm and 9am. As we were camping with a 6 year old this wasn't very convenient. There was a large party of adults and children camping close to us so weeing privately was quite impossible and embarrassing. It spoilt what could have been a very good couple of days. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suecursonuk 2 reviews from this member

 We booked short notice and were lucky to get a pitch with electric hookup at the entrance to the site. On arrival a lovely friendly lady came to greet us and rallied some campers to help us push our van onto its pitch ( we later found out she works in the pub) The site is basic but nicely situated with trees surrounding the pitching area and a field next to it. There was a rally at the other end of the site which was nice and a mix of tourers and tents. There is a lot of refurbishment going on so you can see the potential. We ate in the pub a couple of times and the food is fantastic and very reasonably priced, a good selling point because we were more inclined to eat there and more often as it was so reasonable. The only downside was the toilet/shower situation. The site has a Ladies (under construction) and a Gents: one shower and 2 loos at the side of the pub. As said before they weren't the cleanest but with everyone using them whilst the ladies is built it is understandable but it was more the fact that any Tent campers were at a disadvantage as the site loos are only open in pub hours. We were OK with a van but campers weren't so lucky. All in all it was a pleasant stay and we will certainly return and recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kadgerlot 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite is under new management, better than before. The field is lovely. Plenty of space. The toilets and showers are under construction.

The pub has had major refurb, outside is decked and you get a fantastic greeting from the landlord and land lady, Tommy and Ileane, the food is class one and plenty of choice, from simple meals to gourmet, your choice.

They also have rooms to rent as well.

Prices for the campsite is 8.50 a night with electric, not many electric points but is having more put in in the near future.

A pleasant site well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BOB MCKEE 1 review from this member

 In September this year myself and six friends cycled and camped the Trans Pennine Trail. On Wed 16th of Sept we were fortunate enough to stop at the Royal Oak Pub / campsite at Hirst Courtney. Our first contact was a warm and friendly greeting by the owners daughter who told us all the charges we would expect.
The facilities were basic but clean and adequate, and in the pub itself the drinks and meals were the best and cheapest we had during our whole journey. The couple who owned it made us very welcome and the breakfast that they served us was so good that it gave us enough energy to peddle to The Humber Bridge for our next stop. Almost worth a lap of honour just to get another meal. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 27 reviews from this member

 This site has potential. It is set near the Aire in the countryside to the rear of a middle-sized pub, not far from the M62.

It changed hands 3 or 4 months ago.

The site is surrounded by conifers which are high, it feels as though you're staying in a high sided canyon.

There were obviously static vans on site at one time, now removed and there are therefore some pitches which are not on grass but on soil.

The electric can be a great distance from the pitch - we had to use all 3 of our extensions.

There was rubbish in the hedgerow (caravan blinds etc) and too many tab ends to count. At the far end of the site - beyond the Bonfire in prep fro Bonfire night was a caravan on it's side - not a good look. There are still at least 3 or 4 people who use the site long term if not permanent and there were 2 extremely large mobile homes. The site itself looked tatty.

We used the pub for a meal on Friday evening, we chose the Landlord's steak pie. There were plenty of veg and the steak filling was tasty but the pie part was a separately cooked circle of puff pastry. It was warm and edible. The pub was not busy.

The toilets intended for site use were - 3 urinals and a shower in the gents and 2 toilets in the ladies - no toilet paper. I chose to bob into the pub loos, only one of the toilets had paper and there was no hot water. Kim and Aggie's attention is required here.

We were charged 15 per night. There is also washing up facility there and a microwave and fridge freezer at this other site. Nothing even approaching that on this site, there were taps in the hedgerow. No welcoming greeting - we were advised to see someone on the site. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


31575 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement