Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Annstead Farm Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Beadnell > Annstead Farm Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Annstead Farm Caravan And Campsite
Annstead Farm
Beadnell
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE67 5BT
Tel: 01665 720387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter - End September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caravancollie 6 reviews from this member

This is the standard to which all sites should aspire to.

Booking was easy, excellent communication from Beth and Sue, paid two nights deposit of £22 by electronic transfer for a pitch in the walled garden. Although no one was at the farmhouse when we arrived it was easy to follow instructions and pitch number on the noticeboard. We didn’t meet the owners but saw them undertaking their roles around the farm. We felt able to knock on the farmhouse door had we needed them. They have a laid back yet friendly approach and leave campers to get on with their holiday.

There are 8 pitches in the adults only walled garden open to members of the Caravan and Motorhome Club or the Camping and Caravan Club. The pitches are level and spacious, ample room for motorhome and awning. The pitches are not overcrowded and the grass is well maintained. Our fellow campers in the garden were friendly, one even made scones which she distributed and despite their being one or two dogs in most units everyone behaved sensibly and kept dogs tethered as requested. There is good TV reception, 4g signal was fine. There is no WiFi but it wasn’t missed.

There is a toilet, shower and washing up facility in a small building in the walled garden and further ( heated) facilities and laundry a short walk away across the farm yard which serves the main campsite. I never had to wait to use the facilities which were always spotless with plenty of toilet roll and hand wash. The farm yard is the cleanest and most tidy yard I have ever seen. Occasional noise from the cows but usually late morning so not disturbing. There is a 2 mile flat farm track to walk the dog.

Half an hour to walk into Seahouses where there are shops, restaurants and pubs. The Co-Op is good for essentials. Half an hour to walk to the beautiful dog friendly sandy beach at Beadnell. The large car park is free and takes motorhomes. Across from the site there is access to a beach, we saw a seal being rescued whilst we were there.

There are lots of places to visit, Bambrough is close by and a trip to Lindisfarne is a must but be careful of crossing times. Again the car park is large enough to take motorhomes. Amble Sunday market was worth a look and the coastal road back with lunch at Craster before a walk to Dunstanbrugh castle to blow away the cobwebs and burn a few calories was lovely.

Would we visit the area and site again- yes in a heartbeat. The area and the site was simply fabulous

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bazelbruch 1 review from this member

The site was perfect, nice and clean, and the washing & toilets were very clean. 100 percent could not fault the site one bit. The owners were very polite they are a credit to the camping and caravan club. They deserve a club award.

Will be going back this year and in the future. Thank you very much for a nice stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Little Red Van 15 reviews from this member

A lovely, tastefully and well-maintained, quiet site in a great location. We stayed on the Farm Site, which was spacious, with plenty room between pitches.

The showers/toilets were clean and tidy, and there was also a useful indoor washing-up area and laundry. We had to wait a few times to use the shower, but not long.

There was a sandy beach just 10 minutes walk from the site, which was great for an early morning walk with the dogs. At £20 per night, this site is great value for money as well. We will be returning next year!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barleynco 1 review from this member

Just back from this lovely farm campsite. Walking distance to the beach & easy biking to Seahouses. Spotlessly clean toilets, showers & utility room with plenty of hot water & a small freezer for ice packs. Both the family & the adult only sites were completely full the whole week we camped & yet we only had to wait once or twice to use the showers & never for the toilets or washing up.

In the family campsite there are spacious flat pitches for tents or campers/caravans - with plenty of room for the children & dogs to play but not disturb the neighbours.

As a working farm there is animal & machinery noise but aside from that it is very quiet & secluded.

There is a lane where dogs can be exercised adjacent to the site & the beaches are dog friendly - as are most of the places we visited.

The Co-op in Seahouses has a good range of food, but sold out of much of the fresh bread, fruit & vegetables & even some meat & cheeses by the late afternoon so grocery shop early in the day!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CVM17 10 reviews from this member

I had booked and paid in advance for a pitch in the walled garden. Nobody in when I arrived but easy to follow instructions and pitch number clearly posted on the noticeboard.

A delightful site, sheltered and quiet (adults only in walled garden, Caravan & Motorhome Club or Camping & Caravan Club members only), with level hardstanding. All facilities to hand, plus more a few yards away which serve the main campsite. Everything well maintained and spotless.

20-30 minutes walk into Seahouses - shops, pubs & restaurants, with a large car park with space for motorhomes, but the centre of the village does get very busy. An ideal location for coastal walking, plus numerous inland footpaths. Bamburgh Castle is an easy beach walk at low tide. The regular bus service can be used for exploring further afield if you prefer not to drive.

This was my first visit but I will definitely be back and would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Site on a tidy working farm, large camping field but we stayed in the 'walled garden' with hard standing (Caravan & Motorhome Club members) which has its own toilet & shower. There are also cottages for rent around the farm.

Great base for exploring Northumbria coast, huge beach 5 mins walk away. Seemed the owners were preparing for an event in one of the big barns.

As it's a working farm there are large farm machinery movements but it adds to the ambience! Friendly, helpful owners, would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain and kay 5 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site, the first time we’ve ever returned somewhere. We stay in the adults only walled garden, which is very sheltered and peaceful.

There’s another, larger area which caters for families too. Dead level, with very easy access, there are 4 new hardstandings this year. The walled garden shower/toilet facilities are adequate rather than amazing, but the main site showers are excellent, and kept very clean.

The beaches in this area are stunning, miles and miles of soft sand, access is literally just over the road from the site exit. It’s an easy walk into Seahouses over the golf course for the obligatory seaside fish and chips, and Beadnell is just as easy in the opposite direction.

The food is excellent at the dog friendly Craster Arms, as are the wood fire cooked pizzas from Box Pizza just a mile further on. They’ll deliver to site too.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 8 nights over the Whit week half term. As we have a tent we were on the farm camping and caravan site. This part allows children - there were loads! There is an adults only caravan and motorhome site called the walled garden too.

The pitches are huge. You don't feel hemmed in. The kids (and adults at times) played ball games in the middle of the field.

There are some notices with rules but, in general, it's a fairly laid-back site. The facilities were two toilets and two showers in both the ladies and gents. The showers are really good - best campsite showers we've used so far. Although with the sand from the beach they can flood at times.

I only had to wait once for a shower, never for the loo and my hubby never waited at all. Not bad for a full site. The laundry and utility room had two sinks, two washers and two dryers. There is a charge for the machines. I was always alone washing up!

The location is brilliant. Just over the road is the beach which is quiet and dog friendly. We walked on it nearly every day and sat on it on the Sunday. It is about a mile either way to Beadnell or Seahouses. You can walk to either on the beach or along the roadside pavement or via footpaths. One of our dogs is old now and has to ride in a buggy some of the time -the pavements were very good for this purpose.

We were underwhelmed with the Craster Arms at Beadnell - too busy and poor beer selection! The Olde Ship Inn at Seahouses had brilliant beer but only allowed dogs in the garden. So good for lunch on a sunny day but no good for dinner when it got cooler.

We went to Warkworth Castle, Bamburgh Beach, Etal Castle, Lindisfarne Priory, a Grey Seal Cruise with Serenity Cruises around the Farne Islands. The butchers in Bamburgh is superb if you fancy cooking rather than the pubs. We did and barbecued twice. Also brought some home.

At £20 per night including EHU we thought the site was good value given the facilities and space. We have paid more for less of both!

Overall a fab site and we will go back. Booking essential.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

I reviewed this site last year and said we would be back. Well we have been twice this year :) Both times on the main campsite as we have a tent. First time with our son for a week, second time just me and hubby for a weekend.

This is a lovely site on the Northumberland coast, just a few mins walk to the beach. The site has plenty of space with pitches round the edge and loads of room for kids to play in the middle.

We were further down the site this year so further to walk to the facilities, two mins according to my hubby :) Never had to wait for a toilet or shower, hubby did so not sure if I was just lucky.

The fact that we spent a week there in August and it is where hubby and I decided to go for our weekend escape says a lot about both the site and the area.

We will be back next year :)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KnitKnutter 4 reviews from this member

We stayed in the Walled Garden, which has spacious pitches for 8 units, adults only. Ours was next to the water tap, so people were coming past regularly and we needed to park slightly closer to the next van (which appeared to be a seasonal) than we would normally, just so we had room for our awning and for people to get to the tap.

The advantage was that we were also near the toilet/shower, which meant we knew when it was busy and when it was free. There is one shower and one toilet, both clean and providing hot water. There are also a couple of dishwashing sinks. You can get to each facility if another is busy, but until you go into the room you don't know what the last person entered to use.

There is also a larger toilet block with a laundry (remember to check the condenser on the tumble drier is empty!) by the other part of the campsite, so you can use that too.

As others have said, there is a sign on entrance telling you which pitch to take, and otherwise no-one comes to check you've arrived or take your money. I knocked on the Farmhouse door a couple of days in to pay. And we guessed that the waste water went into the drain in the yard between the two campsites - there were no signs and no-one to ask.

You can easily walk into either Seahouses or Beadnell, by beach or via the footpath by the road. You can reach the beach immediately opposite the farm and across the dunes.

There isn't a whole lot to Seahouses and only a small Co-op supermarket, but it has a few hotels, pubs and restaurants. We went to The Bamburgh Castle Hotel and sat in the garden, overlooking the sea and harbour. We walked to Bamburgh itself too (6 miles), thinking we could go by beach, but the tide came in. The 'coastal path' is quite inland and the last stretch went through a field of cows with calves (a no-go zone if you have a dog, as we do). We'd missed that path by going via the beach anyway, and had to walk the last few miles by the road (no path). We got the bus back to Seahouses.

I would have liked to have tried The Craster Arms in Beadnell but we didn't get the chance during our stay.

This is a site that we'd go back to, and if they installed super pitch taps and waste in the Walled Garden, they could charge even more. It would really make that area more special.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019