Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pillaton Hall Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Penkridge > Pillaton Hall Farm Reviews

Pillaton Hall Farm
Pillaton
Penkridge
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST19 5RZ
Tel: 01785 715177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 158 Reviews
                9/10 from 158 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  158 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Caroli83702uds 1 review from this member

 FANTASTIC! So impressed, really adhering to COVID 19!

Staff very friendly and site immaculate!

It was our first time at the site but we will absolutely be back!

Keep up the great work 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denand31254rav 1 review from this member

 An excellent place to stay, and very well maintained.

We'll book again next season.

I think this site will take a lot of beating.

I honestly can't find anything to complain about regarding the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 10 reviews from this member

 This is our second time staying here. Since we stayed last year they have built a state of the art toilet/shower/facilities block which is more central.

We had a lovely stay right next to cherry pond. We will be coming back again.

The only thing that marks the site down is the shop is at the entrance which is a walk up a long drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallykirton 9 reviews from this member

 This site is in a really beautiful location, and is set out really well & was easy to find. Loved all the lakes, even though we don't fish ourselves.

Very peaceful except for the Saturday night when some loudish music went on until 11. 15 although it is supposed to be quiet after 10pm. Not too much of a problem though.

The wardens and reception staff are excellent, all very helpful and pleasant. There is a takeaway on site at the weekends which looked and smelled very good, but we didn't use it as we were staying as a base to visit relatives nearby.

The toilets and showers let the site down in our opinion, the facilities were cleaned but are quite old so look shabby. We booked near to the disabled facilities but once we'd arrived discovered that this consists of a disabled toilet only.

My husband says that the toilet in there is quite low so not comfortable if you have trouble getting up or down.

There was no disabled shower and the gents shower cubicles have no seat in them, (the ladies did have seats) again making it uncomfortable for disabled guests who can't stand for long.

2 out of the 4 showers had problems, one the water dribbled out and the other had a broken lock.

That is the only reason we've marked the site as 7/10. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ackbar 1 review from this member

 Large Pitches. Toilets and showers are clean, and cleaned. Its a tranquil site, only let down by the peeps on it.

Evenings are quiet and great for a relax away from the world.

Had great time and will book again.

No way peeps can moan about facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 10 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite. We had a pitch next to Cherry pond. The site is very clean and tidy. The on site warden is really friendly. There are toilets and showers. The showers are free and warm, but be careful to draw the curtain before you turn on the shower to keep your clothes dry. The site is a good size with four fishing ponds and two children’s play areas. There is a takeaway open on Friday and Saturday nights. There is also a snack bar where you can get breakfasts and snacks. The only niggle we had was that the shop is by the entrance which is a little walk up bank. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mflynn 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff, pitches are a good size, 2 play areas which show that a fair amount of money had been spent on them at some stage, but now sadly shows signs of wear and tear on some items with broken elements chopped out.

Found it rather odd that the washing up facilities are within the toilet blocks as opposed to outside, sufficient sinks and hot water.

The showers that I used were of the electric domestic type, good water flow and temperature. Shower stalls were a bit cramped, and had to change / dry-off in the communal area.

Found the toilets a bit disappointing, rather dated, floors not noticeably cleaned during or stay. It was a dry weekend, yet dried muddy footprints present throughout the stay, lack of sinks for having a wash, teeth brushing, etc. Only the 3 hand basins in the loos.

All in all a fair campsite, but a bit overpriced considering the toilet / shower blocks, or have I just been spoilt on other sites ? 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Wannabeonthebeach 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Pillaton Farm. We stayed in our folding camper, with EHU on pitch 19 - so we could supervise the children on the football pitch from our deck chairs :0)

On arrival, staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. Once onto the actual site Karen, one of the wardens, was really helpful, showed us to our pitch and told us where everything was.

All pitches were pristine, generous and marked out. The grass was lovely and short. The pitches next to 19 (15 & 17) are no longer grass but black gravel and would be ideal for larger motorhomes or RVs.

We only used the toilets and showers along from pitch 19, but they were always spotlessly clean. The showers were warm, the temperature could be adjusted and the shower head taken off the post if needed. Each shower opened onto the communal changing area, with a bench and lots of hooks - ideal if you have children and for keeping your things dry. I am told the other shower area has individual changing areas attached to each shower and push button not adjustable temperature showers. The showers also had free lockers just outside. I did not find anywhere to plug in a hairdryer or straighteners, but being on EHU this did not matter for us.

Behind the shower/toilet block was also a vending machine area with a freezer for freezer packs.

The take away was a real bonus - 5 star hygiene rating, lots of choice and open at useful times.

The pitch and park kept my two boys 12 and 9 entertained all weekend. I will say that both my boys are strong swimmers and even though they were given their boundaries before we got to the campsite I am confident that had they have fallen into the lakes, they could have got out. Being the slightly OTT mum I am, I am not sure how I would feel with say, a curious toddler and so much water! I'd probably resort to making them play in one of those floatation jackets they use to learn to swim!

The dog paddock, is fully fenced off and gated. It has a poop bin and the grass was free of dog poo, so I could run around with the dog off lead. The fence is about 4ft high and the paddock big enough to run our speedy whippet. It was also lovely to see her play with other friendly dogs here.

The only reason I have given 9 instead of 10 stars, is because from pitch 19 you can hear the slight noise from the motorway (we do not live near any main roads, so this is probably why it was noticeable for us). And the light aircraft from the local small run way was a little bit much at times.

The site is well looked after, well maintained and well thought out. We will definitely be returning :0) Many thanks. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JulesT-001 6 reviews from this member

 We came here in June 2017 & stayed 3 nights. Our friends joined us for the weekend. What a lovely site.

It is peaceful, safe & secure. The on site shop is a bit of a tardis (bigger on the inside than it looks!).

The pitch was flat even and spacious (our tent is a Kampa Filey 6 - so a big tent). Plenty of space.

The toilet & shower facilities were brilliant. Hot showers & clean. There was one block with small shower cubicles that opened onto a communal changing room. The other shower block had spaces to change within the cubicles. I can only speak for the ladies facilities though! Plenty of toilet cubicles & separate sinks. One toilet cubicle containing a sink. Everything was clean.

The whole site is thoughtfully laid out and just beautiful with the fishing pools. We even caught a glimpse of the herd of deer over the Chase as sun set. Just perfect. Thank you to the incredibly friendly and ever so helpful team.

A highly recommended site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

 Tent & Touring Caravan

We were lucky enough to get pitches on a small enclosed area not far from reception so it was fairly quiet, not crowded and plenty of room to play tennis/badminton etc with the 10yr old in our 'group'. One loo and shower per gender - can't even remember what the washing up facilities were like since we did all ours in my friends caravan. Has a takeaway on site which seemed very popular but if you have any kind of food 'allergy' it's a no go since it caters for the 'normal' diets (which I understand totally)

For just a long weekend there was no need to leave the site. We walked the dogs to the specific field supplied for the purpose, the 10 yr old enjoyed the play park, the fishing folks enjoyed their fishing in the ponds etc.

Not sure we would go for a longer period but would go back for a long weekend again. 


Previous     158 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pillaton Hall Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pillaton Hall Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pillaton Hall Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penkridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement