Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pillaton Hall Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Pillaton Hall Farm
Pillaton
Penkridge
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST19 5RZ   See Map
Tel: 01785 715177
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sallykirton 8 reviews from this member

This site is in a really beautiful location, and is set out really well & was easy to find. Loved all the lakes, even though we don't fish ourselves. Very peaceful except for the Saturday night when some loudish music went on until 11. 15 although it is supposed to be quiet after 10pm. Not too much of a problem though. The wardens and reception staff are excellent, all very helpful and pleasant. There is a takeaway on site at the weekends which looked and smelled very good, but we didn't use it as we were staying as a base to visit relatives nearby. The toilets and showers let the site down in our opinion, the facilities were cleaned but are quite old so look shabby. We booked near to the disabled facilities but once we'd arrived discovered that this consists of a disabled toilet only. My husband says that the toilet in there is quite low so not comfortable if you have trouble getting up or down. There was no disabled shower and the gents shower cubicles have no seat in them, (the ladies did have seats) again making it uncomfortable for disabled guests who can't stand for long. 2 out of the 4 showers had problems, one the water dribbled out and the other had a broken lock. That is the only reason we've marked the site as 7/10.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ackbar 1 review from this member

Large Pitches. Toilets and showers are clean, and cleaned. Its a tranquil site, only let down by the peeps on it. Evenings are quiet and great for a relax away from the world. Had great time and will book again. No way peeps can moan about facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Drings 5 reviews from this member

What a great campsite. We had a pitch next to Cherry pond. The site is very clean and tidy. The on site warden is really friendly. There are toilets and showers. The showers are free and warm, but be careful to draw the curtain before you turn on the shower to keep your clothes dry. The site is a good size with four fishing ponds and two children’s play areas. There is a takeaway open on Friday and Saturday nights. There is also a snack bar where you can get breakfasts and snacks. The only niggle we had was that the shop is by the entrance which is a little walk up bank.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mflynn 2 reviews from this member

Friendly staff, pitches are a good size, 2 play areas which show that a fair amount of money had been spent on them at some stage, but now sadly shows signs of wear and tear on some items with broken elements chopped out.

Found it rather odd that the washing up facilities are within the toilet blocks as opposed to outside, sufficient sinks and hot water.

The showers that I used were of the electric domestic type, good water flow and temperature. Shower stalls were a bit cramped, and had to change / dry-off in the communal area.

Found the toilets a bit disappointing, rather dated, floors not noticeably cleaned during or stay. It was a dry weekend, yet dried muddy footprints present throughout the stay, lack of sinks for having a wash, teeth brushing, etc. Only the 3 hand basins in the loos.

All in all a fair campsite, but a bit overpriced considering the toilet / shower blocks, or have I just been spoilt on other sites ?

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wannabeonthebeach 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Pillaton Farm. We stayed in our folding camper, with EHU on pitch 19 - so we could supervise the children on the football pitch from our deck chairs :0)

On arrival, staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. Once onto the actual site Karen, one of the wardens, was really helpful, showed us to our pitch and told us where everything was.

All pitches were pristine, generous and marked out. The grass was lovely and short. The pitches next to 19 (15 & 17) are no longer grass but black gravel and would be ideal for larger motorhomes or RVs.

We only used the toilets and showers along from pitch 19, but they were always spotlessly clean. The showers were warm, the temperature could be adjusted and the shower head taken off the post if needed. Each shower opened onto the communal changing area, with a bench and lots of hooks - ideal if you have children and for keeping your things dry. I am told the other shower area has individual changing areas attached to each shower and push button not adjustable temperature showers. The showers also had free lockers just outside. I did not find anywhere to plug in a hairdryer or straighteners, but being on EHU this did not matter for us.

Behind the shower/toilet block was also a vending machine area with a freezer for freezer packs.

The take away was a real bonus - 5 star hygiene rating, lots of choice and open at useful times.

The pitch and park kept my two boys 12 and 9 entertained all weekend. I will say that both my boys are strong swimmers and even though they were given their boundaries before we got to the campsite I am confident that had they have fallen into the lakes, they could have got out. Being the slightly OTT mum I am, I am not sure how I would feel with say, a curious toddler and so much water! I'd probably resort to making them play in one of those floatation jackets they use to learn to swim!

The dog paddock, is fully fenced off and gated. It has a poop bin and the grass was free of dog poo, so I could run around with the dog off lead. The fence is about 4ft high and the paddock big enough to run our speedy whippet. It was also lovely to see her play with other friendly dogs here.

The only reason I have given 9 instead of 10 stars, is because from pitch 19 you can hear the slight noise from the motorway (we do not live near any main roads, so this is probably why it was noticeable for us). And the light aircraft from the local small run way was a little bit much at times.

The site is well looked after, well maintained and well thought out. We will definitely be returning :0) Many thanks.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JulesT-001 6 reviews from this member

We came here in June 2017 & stayed 3 nights. Our friends joined us for the weekend. What a lovely site.

It is peaceful, safe & secure. The on site shop is a bit of a tardis (bigger on the inside than it looks!).

The pitch was flat even and spacious (our tent is a Kampa Filey 6 - so a big tent). Plenty of space.

The toilet & shower facilities were brilliant. Hot showers & clean. There was one block with small shower cubicles that opened onto a communal changing room. The other shower block had spaces to change within the cubicles. I can only speak for the ladies facilities though! Plenty of toilet cubicles & separate sinks. One toilet cubicle containing a sink. Everything was clean.

The whole site is thoughtfully laid out and just beautiful with the fishing pools. We even caught a glimpse of the herd of deer over the Chase as sun set. Just perfect. Thank you to the incredibly friendly and ever so helpful team.

A highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

Tent & Touring Caravan

We were lucky enough to get pitches on a small enclosed area not far from reception so it was fairly quiet, not crowded and plenty of room to play tennis/badminton etc with the 10yr old in our 'group'. One loo and shower per gender - can't even remember what the washing up facilities were like since we did all ours in my friends caravan. Has a takeaway on site which seemed very popular but if you have any kind of food 'allergy' it's a no go since it caters for the 'normal' diets (which I understand totally)

For just a long weekend there was no need to leave the site. We walked the dogs to the specific field supplied for the purpose, the 10 yr old enjoyed the play park, the fishing folks enjoyed their fishing in the ponds etc.

Not sure we would go for a longer period but would go back for a long weekend again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graham 33 reviews from this member

Another trip to Pillaton with our grandkids. (now aged 9!)It's a local site so we can do a couple of trips to enable then to use their bikes to ride about on.

Got a great pitch near the lake that had some shelter thanks to the mature trees behind it.

This is about our third or fourth visit to Pillaton and there are just a few additions to the kids play areas since our last visit.

Toilets/showers/wash-up areas all clean and in good working order.

Ground is nice and flat and the tent pegs went in easy enough (no need for rock pegs). If I could offer one piece of advice re pitches it would be to avoid numbers 15, 17, 19. They have a fair slope on them and you may have probs getting a tent up properly.

We made use of the on site takeaway service. Nice food, cooked while you wait and in decent portions for the price. Not so much choice as our last visit I noted. But all the normal chips, pizza, burgers etc.

The only gripe I seem to have with this site is the lack of proper parenting skills. Although the older kids play area has signage to say ALL kids must be accompanied by an adult my wife and I rarely saw another adult down there. Hence the language used by kids as young as 6 years old. It was like a meeting of the ADHD club. I'm no prude but there was one 'dust-up' between kids then about half an hour later the mother turned up, told off everyone, then wandered off again to her tent/caravan never to be seen again. This is not the fault of the site at all BUT in any review you have to speak as you find.

So, a great local site that we will use again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymills 9 reviews from this member

My husband, myself and our 3 boys have just returned from a long weekend camping here & yet again, had an amazing time!

We arrived Friday eve, checked in & starting pitching our new tent. Wishing 10 minutes of arriving, the warden whizzed past on his golf buggy & gave us a nod. The first of many times we saw him patrolling the site.

We had fish & chips from the chippy in the local village which was reasonably priced & lovely. The village itself looked lovely though we didn't venture back. Choosing instead to spend a couple of days exploring nearby Cannock Chase.

The facilities were great as usual, though one of the showers was a bit cold I just tried another which was fine. The toilet are cleaned at least twice a day which is reassuring, and there was always plenty of toilet roll. There are freezers for ice packs & vending machines for hot & cold drinks too.

The two kids play areas are brilliant, spacious & fenced off. They thoroughly tired my boys out!

The hook up points are a quite spread out so bring an extension if you don't want to be short.

The shop at the entrance to the farm is well stocked & reasonablely priced. I'd put it on a par with corner shop prices.

The only thing I didn't see was laundry facilities.

All in all another fantastic weekend at our favourite local site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here while the kids were at V festival which was only 10 mins away, and although it was so close and quite busy the site never felt overcrowded or noisy, we had a great pitch next to the lake which I made full use of, great facilities, only problem was the showers were a bit on the small side you were confined to the area the size of the shower tray, unless you stepped out to the open changing room area.

The staff were all great and very friendly and a brilliant on site shop stocking allsorts from essentials to fishing bait and tackle. This is a site we will definitely ne returning to

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Staffordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth £457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938