Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gees Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Wittering > Gees Camping Site Reviews

Gees Camping Site
127 Stocks Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8NY
Tel: 01243 670223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MarkHughes 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic stay on Gees a lovely small site a stones throw from the beach.

Excellent facilities & fantastic hosts.

Lovely little on site shop where you can obtain essential items. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richardeverton 1 review from this member

 A very nice small Campsite, Debbie who runs it is very friendly. Advisable to book as it gets very busy.

Toilets are adequate, but could do with a lick of paint

Overall a nice site, would return. Out of season 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilary C 31 reviews from this member

 The first thing to say is that this is an improving site. We were given a lovely welcome by Debbie and John who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. The perimeter of the field has seasonal pitches and the centre is for the tourers.

The pitches only have electric hook up and are all grass which was a bit soggy in places but then we'd had a lot of rain and there is on going work to try to make it better. There are 2 toilets, 1 shower and wash basins in each block.

The blocks are dated but the owners have tried to brighten them up and they are going to improve them further, at the moment there is no way to dry your hands and the toilet roll ran out. New for this year is a lovely reception which also houses a nice little seating area where you can have a tea or coffee and there is also seating outside.

Dogs are very welcome although I do have a gripe which is our dogs have to be on a lead but the owners doesn't and several times her dog came into our awning until we put a chair across the doorway to stop her.

Children are also welcome but with nothing to do on site it's not really suitable.

My other gripe would be the closeness of the other caravans, motorhomes and tents although I would imagine that an out of season mid week break it would be better.

Nearby in Bracklesham is a convenience store, tea rooms, fish and chip shop, Chinese take away as well as a cafe on the beach. East Wittering has an excellent array of shops, cafes and pubs.

We will definitely consider going back should we visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Datha 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous little camp. It is currently being run by the owners as the wardens have retired. The regular campers told us it has improved 10 fold in the few months of new management. They are going to update the shower block for next season which will be great. The site was clean and very friendly. We were made to feel really welcome and we had a lovely few evenings with the other campers.

It is situated within a 3-4 minute walk from a beautiful beach. The village is less than a mile away with lots of shops and places to eat.

We had plenty of room as the owners don't want people to feel cramped in, so booking in advance is a good idea. The phone line was down but there is a mobile number which is 07769956684.

I would recommend this site and intend to use it again.

It's nice to know that things are changing for the better, i. E. , the shower block will be updated as that was its only negative point.

Great site, great people I highly recommend it. And an added bonus it was only 20 per night on a bank holiday weekend, it doesn't get better than that. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dougalvw68 1 review from this member

 This is a real little gem that we have discovered. This a basic campsite with just a toilet and shower block but what else do you need so close to the beach.

The owners are great, they are very friendly and helpful. This is great for kids as it is small enough to let them run free.

It is only a short walk to the beach, a shop and some fab restaurants ( Billy's on the beach is a must).

I have been twice in the last two weeks and will definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jo oj 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights with daughter and friend. The site is basic, but has hot showers (40p) toilets, washing up (20p) water points, EHU and a CDP point. Dogs on leads, BBQ's

The beach is an easy walk from the site, so is - bus stop, shops, takeaways, pub. Parks. (my dog loves the beach).

Small site with aprox 20 vans around the outside, and the middle for camping - tents, motorhomes, vans, only thing to remember bring your own loo roll.

The sun was out - so a fab couple of days! didn't use the car - will be back.  


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pauline12 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely time at Gee's for the full moon. The night sky was full of stars and magical. Plenty of room on the site, at a price with doesn't change with the season's. Basic but reasonable and the site wardens keep it clean and tidy. Dogs are welcome on leads and there is a lane and fields to walk them.

Toilet block with shower for 40p, bring your own toilet roll then you know it won't run out. Only 2 roads from the beach and shops nearby. Near to Bognor Regis and Chichester where the cathedral is well worth a visit and is donation only. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brannlou 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from staying at Gee's for 2 nights over a weekend. The site is situated down a small lane which is just off a housing estate. The area is quiet and you are very close to the beach, a pub, several take-aways, bicycle hire and hairdressers.

We found the site was too small and as more and more people arrived we started to feel cramped. The lawn is not completely level and looks like it needs some attention as it's quite balding.

The shower / toilet block is in dire need of modernisation. I think it's the worst block we've ever encountered. There are 2 toilets, 2 sinks and 1 shower in the ladies and the gents. The washing up sinks were also in each of the ladies & gents.

There were signs up all over the place about the toilets being cleaned on a regular basis but we saw no evidence of this. I saw the same piece of chewing gum & false nail on the floor for 24 hours in the ladies.

To use the shower you need a 20p coin and the same to use the washing up sink. There is no toilet paper you must provide your own! The showers, well, they are filthy and the taps have no thermostatic control for the water just 2 brass stopcocks attached to a bath mixer hose & shower head. To get the right temperature is almost impossible and you'll do well not to scald yourself.

The toilets are filthy. Day 1, no soap was provided. Day 2 we had soap but the hot water taps had been turned off at the sinks. Day 3 we had soap, hot water but now no paper towel to dry your hands!

On the plus side the owners seem nice enough but we won't be going back. If you're paying extra for water I at least expect the facilities to be clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jo oj 4 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 4 nights at Gees. We will be going back!

We found the site to be quiet, owners really helpful, and a brilliant position. As there is no clear central area it looks tight, but actually the pitch was plenty big enough,and clearly marked out. The grass is cut regularly. There are EHU's and a Elsan point.

There is a big rec/park within 5 min walk, so is the beach, shops, cafe pub & takeaways. I didn't use the car whilst we were there. The loos and shower were clean, Yes you do need to take your own loo roll, but easy to get into once you remember. Showers and hot water for washing up 20p (Think washing up sink only in the ladies?! Other half would like hot tap in gents for shaving) is my only criticism. Very reasonable pitch rates, my kids loved it wanted to stay longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOVEGEES 1 review from this member

 Site good = new wardens since I visited in 2007 who are very friendly and helpful. I understand the fight mentioned in another review was when the warden asked visitors to turn down their loud music. Enjoyed my visit and looking forward to the next. The beach was only five minutes away and pubs, shops and restaurants in walking distance. I even used the bus service to Chichester which was fine. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gees Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gees Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gees Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


620 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December