Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silver Road Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Burnham On Crouch > Silver Road Caravan Park Reviews

Silver Road Caravan Park
5 Silver Road
Burnham On Crouch
Essex   (Browse area)
CM0 8LA
Tel: 01621 782934
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joan and Pat 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent small site with good facilities including a WC and shower which is accessible for a disabled person. The managers are friendly and helpful and not obsessed with posting rules and regulations all over the site. The location is perfect for exploring this interesting part of Essex. The fact that many of the caravans are pitched permanently means that there is a family atmosphere which is very welcoming and friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rf1982 4 reviews from this member

 Small site looks ok to start with but when you get taken to your pitch you soon realize they try to cram a lot of tents, tourers and caravans in as possible and is a fire and safety hazard one instant is there was barely a metre between a caravan and tent. This site will be reported by myself.

The ladies toilets was ok is what I am being told but the mens is bad. One of the toilets you have to walk through the bin area. Plaster is falling off the wall and roots coming through the drains of the shower.

A number of the resident tourer owners are very arogant and don't like outsiders and some of the caravans are in a very bad state.

Would I come back here I would rather pull out my eyeballs and cut them off 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steq184 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 2 night stay here, £16 per night without electric hookup. Verity the manager took us to our tent pitch, very friendly, the ladies 3 toilets and 3 showers are fine, the mens 1 toilet and 1 shower are fine, yes they are basic but there was always hot water and never had to wait to use.

Site kept nice and clean, grass cut just before we arrived.

There is no club house etc but the location of the site is great, 2 minutes walk to the river, Burnham has plenty of pubs and places to eat.

Site is mainly tourers whose owners are down every weekend, very friendly lot and great to just sit outside your tent and chill out.

Will be back 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bazhawk@aol.com 1 review from this member

 This site has many advantages of being at the end of a high street.

Everything is close by.

The place is undiscovered and and favourite place of ours.

The camp site could do with some money spending on it however it is usable and fairly clean.

However there has been new management recently! They will need to learn fast how to communicate with people as telepathy is not one of our specialities.

The grounds are not very well kept of late and could do with a full time gardener to deal with these issues.

Stocking up the toilets with tissues and general hand cleaning items could be improved on too.

Nice site but new managers need to put a little more effort in. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moulshamgirl 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this last minute and there were 4 families with tents. The camp site is in a great location and there are some good pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately the park needs to upgrade if they want campers. The toilet facilities were basic and not as clean as we are normally used to. The showers were also basic. There is also no lighting when it gets dark and so makes the journey to the toilets a little hazardous. If they could upgrade these points then I would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marion55 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite is really conveniently placed for the promenade and town, it is very friendly and we were made welcome, even though we had a problem that meant we had to stay into the early evening waiting for AA help. There is only one washing up sink, so not sure if it could get busy, although we had no problem and water was lovely and hot.

We enjoyed our stay and would go again, 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Compgirl 6 reviews from this member

 This little campsite is a real gem. Located in a quiet part of Burnham On Crouch, 2 minutes walk from sea wall or shops and pubs. Units are located around the edge of a well maintained grass field which is mostly level with ample hook ups.

The ladies toilet/shower block is small, just 3 toilets and showers but well maintained and perfectly adequate.

The big plus with this site is the free Wi-Fi which I found to be quick and reliable.

All in all, well worth the cost and a site I look forward to returning to again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abby73 3 reviews from this member

 Camped in a tent at this small quiet site for 7 nights, limited facilities on site, toilets and showers could do with updating but were clean and tidy. It's mainly permanent caravans. Tent pitches are down the far end of the field so meant a little walk to loos/washing up facility. A short walk into town where there is everything you need. No ball games allowed but our group of kids had a good time, no traffic to worry about and secure, no footpath or woods for them to wander off. There are two drinking water taps in the tent area. Take a torch and outside light as there is no permanent lighting. Cost £17 a night for a medium tent with electric hook up. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

 This is very much like the municipal sites found in France (this one is privately owned) and something the UK needs a lot more of.

This site is all about location. It is at the end of the high street and a few hundred yards from the sea. You couldn't get any closer to the pubs, restaurants, cafés and shops of Burnham. But don't think that means it will be noisy - Burnham is a quiet little and extremely friendly coastal Essex town that mainly exists for sailing.

Yes the facilities are dated, but we found them to be clean, and yes it does seem a little expensive compared to sites out in 'the sticks'. But. Remember you won't be spending money on petrol and you don't need a designated driver to get to/from an evening out.

Because it's in the town, it is quite small and the pitches are close together. But that is a small price to pay for such a great location.

If you like to do nothing more than sit outside your tent or caravan of a day and evening or you have children that need space, this probably isn't the site for you. But if you're a couple of adults looking for a weekend away, without having to worry about cooking and like to eat out - you'll enjoy this place (It is however a very quiet site, so a coming back at midnight singing after a drunken night out probably won't be appreciated).

It is also a very popular site (especially at the end of September), so you need to book a couple of weeks in advance. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights here after our first choice (Burnham Wick Farm) was fully booked.

We already knew the location was great being just minutes from the small, quaint main street with plenty of eating places and easy access to the long estuary walks this area is famous for.

But location to Burnham On Crouch is pretty much all this site has going for it. The toilet blocks are very old and not very clean with black cobwebs being clearly evident in both.

The site is mostly very, very elderly permanently parked tourers - some so old they were quite a history lesson, and the whole site is very tightly packed.

There is no dog exercise area and the nearest place for this is a slightly irritating 10 minute walk through houses and then pitch dark as you hit the lane.

The entrance is very very narrow and because there are shrubs on one side our motorhome received several scratches on our way in and out.

We felt that £16 per night at the end of September was too high for this level of facilities even though the welcome couldn't have been faulted. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Silver Road Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silver Road Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Silver Road Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Burnham On Crouch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement