Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Yellow Wood Bush Camps

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hay On Wye > Yellow Wood Bush Camps Reviews

Yellow Wood Bush Camps
Bush Camps
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)

Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 6 Reviews
                10/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Marymermaid 1 review from this member

 Just spent three nights here. Husband, son, daughter and dog, all sleeping in hammocks. The weather was mixed with a fair amount of wind and rain and we LOVED it. It's so peaceful, no music playing, no cars moving around: just the woods and us.

Bushman was great, just let you get on with it and it was a privilege to be allowed to camp here.

We will hopefully be back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maddy and co 1 review from this member

 Had a fab time in yellow wood bush camp. Bushman very friendly and helpful. Our 5year old, 6 year old and 42year old dad were in their element and even me ( mum) enjoyed. ) sleeping under the stars and listening to the wildlife. A must for experiencing real camping. Was recommend to visit the warren in Wye on hay. Great walk alone the river, brilliant for dog walking and canoeing. Very friendly and worth a visit to see shops and have lunch. But the woods are hard to beat, so chilling with a open fire and tea was in order, and getting away from noise and being one with nature. Bliss. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: S4msb4gs 2 reviews from this member

 What a cracking spot, as others have said don't let the secretive aspect put you off we spent 2 nights and had 3 small tents and tarp and hammock set up between 6 adults.

As we were new to the site we paid the noise bond and this was returned to us by the time we arrived home.

Bushman was very helpful fire logs dropped off right to the pitch. Pitch size was just right for us. It was quiet, first night we had the whole site to ourselves. Great location it is truly basic but that is why we chose it, definitely booking back up this year and take my 5 year old next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MORGANIGHT 1 review from this member

 Recently spent two nights at yellow woods with my two sons(aged 14 and 9). Really beautiful site, quiet, secluded and very friendly and helpful owner. Basic facilities in that they have one standpipe and one composting toilet. This was all new to the boys and the only problem I had was getting them away from the site when it was time to leave. The boys really enjoyed the woods and made tables and fire fans from the dead wood lying around. You are a long way from anywhere (including phone signal) so make sure you have what you need. Spent a lovely afternoon in Hereford when I finally managed to drag the boys away.

Be aware you, will be up early as the bird song was deafening.

Will definitely be going again.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Don't let the secretive nature of this site and the lengthy list of rules put you off. This place is great.

There are a number of pitches all located in the woods but within approx 100m of your car so it is easy enough to unload kit if you haven't quite mastered surviving without a few basics! The pitches are well spaced so you are not on top of each other.

You can buy wood from the owner but you will need an axe to split it down. There is plenty of wood lying around for projects and camp tools but you are encouraged not to use this for the fires.

Water and a compost toilet is available but that is about the extent of the facilities, which is great if you want a safe but reasonably authentic Bushcraft experience. I took my 6 year old and he absolutely loved it. It is a great place for kids but they do need to be closely supervised around fires, axes, knives, etc. Not a climbing frame or entertainer in site.

The site is remote and provides peace and quiet with amazing views of the stars, but there are pubs within walking distance if nettle tea isn't your bag! I only met the owner briefly but he was a friendly guy, keen to ensure everyone experienced a great stay. We will certainly be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Infinityukok 3 reviews from this member

 Site was easy to find, situated within about 10-15 minutes walk from a pub (food available).

The site is absolutely brilliant if you want a traditional camping/ bushcraft experience.

Logs are available pre-cut for fires. Theres a compost toilet and a tap with mains water.

I would recommend this site to anyone who is into real camping! Not the sort of place where you find loads of screaming kids. I have a 5 year old son who I intend to bring on my next visit. Kids will enjoy it if they are in to that sort of thing. Theres no holiday clubs or parks, just good old fashioned fun.

Can't wait to try out the bushcraft course during the summer.

All in all, a great place! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Yellow Wood Bush Camps child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Yellow Wood Bush Camps?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Yellow Wood Bush Camps dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement