Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Approach Farm Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Approach Farm Caravan Site
Approach Farm
Hollicarrs, Escrick
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6EE
Tel: 01757 248250
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 1st February To 1st December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 25 reviews from this member

Cheerful welcome by family plus the dog.

Simple site well away from the road which is the old road, so the main trunk road even further away. Big field with water and bins.

By the house was a single toilet, but no showers. However, there is a large play barn with pool table, so my 12 year old son was very pleased to be able to play pool and not to be required to have a shower!

Site is five mins bike ride from Riccall which has an excellent italian restaurant and two convenience stores. It is also the start of the cycle route to York with the scale solar system. Pluto is an easy walk or ride from the campsite, but Neptune is then a scale 2. 5 km away. So educational and healthy.

For us as cycle tourers, a great stop off point. I just wish there had been a hot shower after 40 miles riding.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hazelfrazel 3 reviews from this member

We store our caravan here. We have also spent 2 weekends on the caravan site and really enjoyed it. You can't hear the main road and it's lovely and peaceful. Very relaxed atmosphere.

There is only one toilet and no showers so it geared towards touring caravans really. The bin area and waste disposal all very clean. Kids love the site and spent hours making a 'bug hotel' under big tree in the middle of the field and riding round on bikes.

One of the barns has been turned into a games room which is great in the rain.

We live near York anyway so didn't bother going into the city but it is a great place to visit with loads to do. We especially love the fact the site is next to the selby to york sustrans route along an old railway line which is great for traffic free cycling.

There is also a nature reserve near by which we cycled to which had loads of off road routes.

Great convenient site which is surprisingly quiet and relaxing,

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Plushsid 3 reviews from this member

Great little site been a few times, stayed 4 days. Week ends can be quite busy though on site, lot of the vanners seem just to fetch their caravans from back of the farm storage compound, saves wear and tear on tyres I suppose. You can be real lazy if you want and get the farmer to bring it on and off site for you, for a nominal fee of course.

Really not a site for children as there nothing for them to do except play at the tree in the middle of the field. No room for ball games when it's busy. There's a games room at the back of farm but never seen anyone use it yet. All in all a good site for some peace and quiet, just to get away for a few days and recharge your batteries. Great family, the owners always willing to chew the fat, good old Yorkshire saying that is.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peajam 16 reviews from this member

Absolutely beautiful site on a working farm. The warm welcome we got was really nice. The site it's self is on the old main road, just off the main Selby to York A-road. With it having been on a road that was been by-passed there was NO noise from the traffic, even during the height of the day.

The water and disposal point were easy to find and easy to use. The only small snag we found was that the only on-site single toilet was the old outhouse for the farm house and it was along way away from the field (Opposite from the games room). I wouldn't like to be having to walk all that way at night when it was raining if your caravan didn't have it's own toilet.

The games room with free pool, snooker and table tennis to keep any kids amused. At the centre point of the site was a massive old tree it was beautiful thing to look at as all the pitches looked onto it from round the edge of the field, then there was 5 pitches directly under the tree.

I can definitely see where walkers and cyclists would like it here as there are loads of cycle paths and walks near by but I'm not really into that myself. However I can definitely recommend the sort 7 mile drive to the park-and-ride at the outlet village on the out-skirts of York where we left the car all day and paid about 3 (ish) each for a return.

All in all for 11 a good deal and would recommend it to anyone, especially if you have a toilet in your van. Will definitely go back again if we go to york. As I said thought if the site had a extra toilet nearer to the field it would be appreciated.

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Otters 4 reviews from this member

Family run, well kept, ideal getaway site. Good base for touring York attractions, 10 min drive from McArthur Glen Designer outlet. 5 mins from cycle path to York centre or Selby. Minimal facilities- toilet, play room with pool table etc. Good flat pitches with open views. Local shops in Riccall with excellent children's playground, good pubs in Riccall village, excellent Thai restaurant on main road (A19) 5 mins away. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gra + Lyn 2 reviews from this member

Can only confirm what others have said. A lovely pleasant and peaceful site with electric, a useful games room, and a toilet that does now have full handwashing facilities.

The site is level with a few pitches around a central oak tree and then a greater number around the perimeter of the field. It is adjacent to the York / Selby cycle track and is just off the A19.

The lady owner was very pleasant and helpful and I am sure that we will visit this site again in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Diane1068 9 reviews from this member

Just spent the Bank Holiday Weekend here, what can I say, this place is beautiful, the owners were very welcoming and helpful. Between us we had 5 kids, there is a games room and the kids used it, but mainly our kids made their own entertainment.
There is a massive bicycle route not far from site, which we took the kids on they enjoyed that. Would highly recommend this site and it's that type of grass you love to walk on in bare feet.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lilla 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site, we stayed for 3 nights after Easter, at around 10 per night, which was, in my opinion, very reasonable. Although the site only has a toilet, no showers, they make up for this by providing a games room with lots to do, and plenty of info regarding the surrounding area.

The owners were so helpful, the site is clean and the pitches are very spacious.

My children (2 and 4 yrs) had plenty of space to run around and were enthralled by the cows!

There is a bus at the end of the road to York or Selby, but we drove 15mins to the Park and Ride at the outlet centre (which had plenty of parking and no height barriers!) York holds plenty to do for all the family, and the seaside town of Brid is only an hour away.

All in all, I look forward to visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawnandgeoff 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site. The owners were very friendly & helpful. We used the nearby cycle track to ride into York, the hardest part was finding somewhere in York to fasten your bike to.

As for showers, we used the leisure centre in Selby where you can pay for shower only (1.40).

The site was very peaceful. A very relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ELH_Badger 1 review from this member

Spent three nights here over the B/Hol Weekend. The site was full but you still had space. Site was level (very important to me as I was in a tent)

The hedge will be perfect in a year or so when it has grown a bit and thickened out. It is a lovely farm campsite with cows.

The toilet is the old outhouse behind the farm.

There are no washing facilities (not even to wash your hands after you have been to the loo).

There is a nice games room with some books and local info.

The site is easy to find and although it is not too far from the main road you couldn't hear any traffic noise.

You can walk your dog on the lead around the farm. Across the main road there is plenty of areas to let your dog run off the lead. I would have liked a detailed local walks leaflet as although I was told about one on arrival I didn't find it until my last day (I was on another path nearby the other days!)

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3389 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019