Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandend Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Banffshire > Portsoy > Sandend Caravan Park Reviews

Sandend Caravan Park
Sandend
Portsoy
Banffshire   (Browse area)
AB45 2UA
Tel: 01261 842660
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 48
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nickli 1 review from this member

 Right on the beach, site facilities closed, but water hookups and drainage available.

Superb COVID protections in place.

Quiet, friendly, plenty of space between units.

Excellent communications prior to, and during the visit. £28 a night including electric for a hardstanding pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roden222 1 review from this member

 Liked the Beach View, the various cove walks, the braw Old Church Cafe/ Bistro at Fordyce.

The Friendly Lady/Owner.

Some amenities not available Re Covid. But thatís life at the moment.

Overall Brill 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ecsjflorence 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. Its in a lovely spot. Sobhandy for the beach which is beautiful. The site is Clean, Tidy and Organised. Super for families. The surfing is magic with wet suits to hire locally and surfing instructor too. The owners will do anything for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrismags 1 review from this member

 What a little gem! found this site by chance and spent 4 days there at the end of my holiday. Small, very friendly site. Owners friendly and extremely helpful. Facilities were spotless and all within short walking distance from our camper. I will definitely be back. A wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaydee55 10 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the last few days of our main holiday and was quite disappointed. The main touring and tent pitches have no view of the beach at all. Toilets were old with cobwebs on the windows and no access to the disabled toilet due to some water issue which didn't seem to be a priority to fix.

The hedge at either side of the entrance which has been mentioned previously, is still there and needs cutting back.

The owners seemed nice, however, the prices were extremely high for the level of facilities. We won't be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tea Lover 5 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here just out of season with our elderly dog. Given a place near the beach and loved the views. It was great to stumble out in the middle of the night and see the sea almost at the edge of the site, lit by moonlight, and also a stunning red sky one dawn. Fish shop close by and lovely harbour in the village. Bit pricier than we are used to and was not sure about the card system for the showers but it all worked well.

Lots of dog walkers on the beach and great place for children to play too. Will be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs Brian the Snail 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, within a few minutes' walk of the most gorgeous sandy beach. Not a large site, which makes it. Friendlier, I guess. All the pitches are grass, which isn't an issue unless it's pouring down, or has been pouring down.

We stayed there for 1 night towards the end of August 15, and surprised to find so few families there, but the Scottish schools had gone back so perhaps that was why. It really is the most beautiful site for families - wonderful to see children playing on the beach, making sandcastles, running on the dunes and playing on the sand - not an iPad or mobile phone in sight!

The toilet block was immaculately clean, if a tad dated, but so are loads of hotel bathrooms so really not an issue.

As a couple of reviewers have mentioned, it would be a good idea for the owners to trim back the trees and bushes overhanging the site road. We didn't have a problem with the hedge at the entrance, but wider rigs than ours could easily get damaged by it.

The Glenglassaugh Distillery is an easy walk to the east of the site, offers tours round the distillery and is well worth a visit.

If we go up in the direction of Sandend again we'll definitely stay here; it's beautiful. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

 A favourite site of ours, only 30 minutes from home but here we get straight from the site and onto the beach. And what a beach, a wide expanse of clean sand, sand dunes to the rear, the small fishing village ( with fresh fish shop)of Sandend to the left. At the far right end of the beach are the remains of a WW2 gun emplacement. The beach and bay are very popular with surfers. The site itself is quite compact with a mix of statics, tourers & tents. The pitches are all of the grass type the majority of which have EHU. The showers & toilets are kept spotlessly clean by a lady who ensures this several times a day. As this is a seasonal site the facilities are not heated which is fine most of the time but can feel a bit chilly on an underpar summers evening. The showers are card operated, one is given several of these upon arrival. There is a small shop offering the basics plus a selection of beach toys and goods. The owners are extremely welcoming and very helpful too. A short walk to the east is the Glenglassaugh Distillery. To the west are the remains of Findlater Castle. Also close by is the very picturesque village of Fordyce which is well worth visiting. A lovely site, many of its visitors are regulars which itself speaks volumes. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Calinyx 22 reviews from this member

 A good clean site that is well kept and tidy.

Stunning beach literally on the door step with Cullen and Portsoy handy for shops.

There was a large party of tenters the evening we arrived and our worries about noise were proven right. However the campsite owner did come out a number of times to try and quell the noise. I suspect we weren't the only ones who didn't appreciate a party. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whigsvolt 2 reviews from this member

 Sandend and the Genreal area is without doubt a 5 star location and really goes without saying but our first 3 night stay at the park was somewhat dissapointing in a few areas.

My first Gripe was the very Risky narrow hedge that runs very close togeather at the Entrance to the park. This Hedge should either be trimmed right back or completely removed as there is a real risk of scratching or damaging the side of your caravan and or vehicle. I really don't see the hedges purpose on the site.

The Site was quiet when we arrived with only a few Tourers with Families on tow, None of the pitches were marked with markers and had to be shown by the very nice lady where to put the drivers side of the van against which was a stone slap level with the grass.

The Chemical toilet discharge area was not the best with a meter or so length of hose which was burst in 2 places and a tap that leaked badly and when trying to wash out my portable toilet the water was splashing every where. I feel a simple repair or replacement hose would have made this tedious job much easier.

The Grass around many of the Statics was very long and not well kept at all and I feel the grass around the site was longer than necessary and not that well kept.

There is a Wooded area at the back of the site where the exit road runs next to and we had to take the caravan and truck on to the grass to avoid long branches and shrubbery that could have again scratched the van and or truck. This should be cut right back or removed as I see no purpose for it.

I never saw any wardens on the site the 3 days we were their.

Finally the site is very expensive and had I known about a fully serviced pitch on a site that was immaculate with a shop manned daily at 2 pounds cheaper per night I would have opetd for that.

Great Location Nice people, but not as well kept as it could be. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandend Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandend Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandend Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portsoy      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Banffshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement