Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staden Grange

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Staden Grange > Reviews

Staden Grange
Staden Lane
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9RZ
Tel: 01298 70404
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Lisabu 1 review from this member

 We had a great weekend, very friendly and helpful owner.

Great location, A lovely walk into Buxton across fields.

Will definitely visit again.

Lovely sized campsite 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Limecc 16 reviews from this member

 We spent a few rainy days at Staden Grange (post-Covid19 lockdown) in early July. Restrictions were in place allowing only one person in the shower block at any one time, but we always use our own facilities anyway so can't comment on the cleanliness.

The pitches are under tall trees which are sufficiently large that they allow plenty of light, unfortunately even fine drizzle is caught which then falls as large heavy, noisy drops on your caravan. The soil has a heavy clay content and the grass was quite sparse despite not being used for a few months. The campers around us were generating a fair bit of mud. Our caravan step was sinking in quite easily and it was difficult to stop the caravan moving because the ground was so soft. Although I needed to use levelling ramps the pitches are mostly flat, no issues here.

The site was easy to find but the long access road was in poor condition and desperately needs deep potholes filling, it's made of road shavings so not proper tarmac. Also the tyre tracks between the trees and pitches were muddy ruts, a few tons of crushed stone would help improve things greatly. Not like there is a shortage of quarries in the area lol.

I'm trying not to be overly negative because overall we did like the site. Other cheap but big improvements would be clearer signage for the Elsan point, a 50mm label with small letters above the lid is simply a joke. There's recycling available but again the signage is so poor or missing, it wasn't clear what should go in which bin so stuff was all mixed up. Previous campers were obviously just as confused as I was.

The location is great and the price was reasonable, 20/night + 3 for the dog, it's 5/night cheaper without hookup. They have 30 pitches but are currently limiting it to 25 as lockdown restrictions are eased. If their website says that there is no availability it's still worth checking by phone.

Phone reception was a strong 4G signal and the tv reception was very good. Freeview seemed unaffected by the trees around us. There's normally plenty to do for children, however apart from the swings (muddy, needs rubber or bark chippings underneath) it will all stay shut for 2020.

There is a short 3 minute dog walk on site but what a pity we can't go further around the perimeter of the surrounding fields of wheat and barley. Final comments, the staff were all extremely pleasant and were very helpful. I liked how they were not fussy about which direction you point your caravan. Some pitches are bigger than others so if you have a large twin axle, be sure to let them know in case they need to swap bookings around a little. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Supersooty 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a couple of nights. No great dramas. The site managers were very helpful and gave a good rundown of pitch site and local facilities. All pitches are under shade of trees and were reasonably maintained. We were fortunate to be next to the site tap.

As has been mentioned in an earlier review the toilet and shower block lets the site down. Although it looks quite new and very Nordic looking it is uncomfortable to use. We are relatively new to camping so it is the first time I have had to pay for showers.

The space in the cubicle is very tight. If I had a cat I would not be able to swing it! If you have a shower at night or have extended toileting needs, be warned, the light PIR sensor only lasts about 3 minutes so you will have to exit the shower or toilet and wave your hands around to put the lights on.

Compared to other sites we have used this year it is a little pricey especially having to pay for showers!

I probably will not use this site again because of the above. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avidcampercouple 1 review from this member

 Fantastically disappointing, the owner wants you crammed in like sardines, crossing guy lines to ensure he earns the absolute maximum for the ill maintained quagmire of a field.

This possibly once lovely campsite is an insult to regular campers, the toilets are squalid there was little or no loo roll. The shop only sold sweets when it managed to open. Overall this is the worst site I've stayed on in Derbyshire.

We had booked for two nights but left at 9 am after the first night. And you have to pay for showers that have automatic lights that go off after 60 seconds.

There is also an industrial estate 2 minutes walk away that doesn't get a mention in the description.

Please avoid this site at all costs. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site over the spring bank holiday weekend. After a slightly unusual approach to the campsite (through an industrial estate!) we were very pleasantly surprised. Lovely shady pitches in a wooded area.

We had booked a large pitch with electricity, the pitch seemed to be pretty well-maintained.

The owner was friendly and provided us with information about the site and the local area.

There is a small kids play area on site, as well as a 'nature trail' in the woods. We noticed some of the children enjoying making dens in the woods, which we thought was great. There is also a petting farm attached to the campsite, which is free for campers to visit at the end of the afternoon. It was perfect for our two-year old, as there was a huge sandpit and lots of garden toys and Wendy houses etc.

The facilities on site were adequate, if perhaps a bit basic. 2 toilets and 2 showers each for men and women. Having said that, we never really had to queue, and the site was relatively busy. I thought the showers were expensive at 1 for 6 minutes - the water flow was variable, and as the pitches are not particularly cheap (23 for large pitch with electric) I thought it was bad we had to also pay for showers.

Washing up facilities were adequate and there is an area set aside for barbecues which I thought was a good idea.

My only other gripe was there only appears to be one tap for the whole camping field, although this didn't really cause us a problem it would have been nice to have a tap nearer our pitch.

Really nice, family-friendly campsite. We all loved it and would definitely like to return in the future 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GY88 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights at Easter. The setting for the site is nice, pitches under the trees and lovely views.

But the facilities are very poor. It is nice little wooden hut for the toilets and showers, but that is the problem 'little'. Only 2 toilets and 2 showers in the men's and women's side. The shower cubicles / changing area are so small that to get in you practically have to stand in the shower to close the door! There is one coat hook in the changing area (no chairs etc as no space) so you have to decide do you hang up your towel or your clothes (they won't both fit on the small hook!).

The shower is 1 for 6 minutes. But once again no shelf or anything to put your shower gell/ hair shampoo etc so down on the floor they go! And do not entertain trying to take a child in with you as there is only just enough room for you to get changed! I found having a shower here the most stressful time ever! But at least we had a bit of light in the ladies. My husband said the men's was extremely dark and the light was on a timer, problem was the light quite often went off when he was in the shower!

If you just want a general wash there are no vanity sinks, you will have to wash at the sinks everyone uses after going to the loo (so no privacy!).

All in all the facilities are not user friendly. We will definitely not be going back here. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RJW64 1 review from this member

 A group of us spent some of Easter weekend at this site.

On the plus side it is in a good location for walking into Buxton and reaching other parts of the area. Once through the industrial estate and up the rough track it is nice to be camped amongst the trees.

Beware though that the owner does insist that you leave when wind speeds are high!

There are a few disappointing things about the site. The toilet/shower block is lovely - warm and clean but they charge 20p per minute for a shower which is luke warm. There are nowhere near enough hooks around to hang your coat, clothes, towels. There is also nowhere to plug in a hairdryer (only a shaver socket). I notice that these issues have been mentioned in other reviews - but nothing done about it.

We also don't understand why they charge 3 per night for a dog - what exactly does this cover? There are no dog waste bins for them to manage or a dedicated dog walking field so what do the extra costs relate to? 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Granny5 22 reviews from this member

 Gravel road full of pot holes leading up to site, we were shown to pitch and given local information. Pot wash was a basic 2 sinks with plenty of hot water. Only 1 fresh water tap situated in middle of the site. I did not see an elsan point. Showers x2 toilets x2 1 for 6 minutes not much room and only 1 peg to hang towels clothes. Nowhere to put shampoo etc.

Good base for Buxton, Bakewell and Manchester - lovely area. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonbyrne 4 reviews from this member

 We booked in to Staden Grange as our first camping trip in 5 years, the first with our Son and the first in our new tent.

On arrival the site was very quite and we where shown to our pitch and given a run down of the facilities and left to pitch up. We where in the none electric side felt more spread out than the electric side.

We had plenty of space and the ground was good to firm and even ater plenty of rain drained very will. There is a slight slope on this side of the site but nothing much.

Rules are simple and provided on checkin, all common sense really.

The toilets and showers where ace, cleaned at least twice a day and although small, did not get busy.

The pot washing facilities where fine but some other campers who felt it ok to pour fat and cereal down the sink caused a few issues, but nothing more.

Others have mentioned you drives through an industrial park to get to the sitem but this is nothing that would be a suprise to anyone who looks on a map. Once on the site you could be anywhere.

All in all a great site, and it was nice to see the owner makeing the rounds in the evening. My little boy loved it too, plenty of space and area to explore. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SBannister 3 reviews from this member

 Booked in for 3 nights, only stayed two! The website stated it had a bar but on arrival we were told it was only for B & B customers! We were also told on the phone it had hard standing. Arrived The first evening and were told we could park anywhere. After driving up the gravel road in order to swing around to go nearer to the road we got stuck in Mud so stayed there the first night, owners were helpful the next day & helped pull us out. We were then told to park on the gravel area next to the road. Woke up the next morning with workmen with small diggers working next to us! This went on for a while so we decided enough was enough & time for home. The showers were clean, however was a few problems with the water going off & they were charging 1 for a 6 min shower. The site was very near an industrial park that you drive on to in order to get to Staden Grange. Not the type of site we expected and we will not return. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Staden Grange child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staden Grange?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staden Grange dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3741 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement