Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Les Mouettes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Carantec > Camping Les Mouettes Reviews

Camping Les Mouettes
La Grande Greve
Carantec
Brittany   (Browse area)
29660
Tel: +33 2 98 67 02 46
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 440
Open: 05/04 To 08/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 25 reviews from this member

We only stayed here for one night before heading back on the Sunday morning boat from Roscoff which was less than half an hour away. The pools were amazing and the kids (11 and 13) loved the slides and the toddler liked the indoor pool and small slide. The pools were busy but not horrendous and we did the night swim which was great fun. As we only stayed one night we didn't use any other facilities other than the park and under 5s indoor play area which were good. For us, although a great stopover and we had a lot of fun, I wouldn't want to stay for a week as it was a little busy and we prefer slightly quieter sites. We had a little walk to the estuary nearby but didn't have chance to see much of the area. I would definitely stay again for a 1-2 night stay especially as it was so handy for the ferry. If I just had teenagers I would probably stay longer as the 13 year old absolutely loved it!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

This was our first stop on our Brittany holiday, we didn’t book in advance, and there was plenty of room at this out of season time. It’s not far from the ferry port at Roscoff. We camped here as we were intending to do the boat trip to the Castel de Taurau, however we walked from the site to the departure port and realised that the boat trips were at set times and there wasn’t a trip for 2 days (bad planning on our part!), we had a fairly pleasant walk back to the campsite along the beach/coast. We decided not to hang around and moved on after 1 night, as the weather (& sea!) was changeable. The site itself is clean and tidy with spacious pitches for campers, well laid out on grass with hedging, it has a large swimming pool and children's play area etc. It’s a “Yelloh! Village” camp site so has all the usual holiday park paraphernalia you’d expect, although a few things were closed in the early season. The beach next to the site is somewhat “estuaryish”. The reception staff were helpful and speak English. The toilets and showers were clean but we thought (as we do with many sites) that they would be under a lot of pressure in high season. Soap and paper towels are provided in the toilets. The on site shop was rather expensive but there is a supermarket up the road. Overall a pleasant campsite in a pleasant area, in fact we decided to spend our final night here as it is well placed for the port, and I have to say, on returning, it was nice to use clean toilets with loo roll and soap in a modern toilet block. We paid 18, 66 euros including EHU.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Rachieb 17 reviews from this member

We ( 15 of us. Ranging from age 2 - 81 yrs !) stayed here last week for June half term 2012, in 3 static caravans

Fab pools which the kids ( 17, 16, 11, 10, 9, 2) loved

Lovely under 5's playroom for the littlies and a games room next door for the older ones, also pool tables in the bar. 2 outdoor play areas, and sports courts too

Had a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening, and the takeaway pizzas were good too!

FREE wifi in the bar ( 1 hour unique code)

Lovely staff especially Vincent who was the mad aqua aerobics instructor ( and lifeguard and barman lol !)

The nearest beach isn't sandy but ok for shell hunting and a walk etc. And to collect mussels !

The beach in the town, Plage du Kélenn

( signposted) is a lovely stretch of sandy beach with restaurants ( had a lovely meal @ paradiso one evening )

Supermarkets nearby, and being a short drive from the ferry port is a bonus if you are not keen on driving in France or if it's your first time etc

Weather wasn't great but we all still enjoyed :) and plan to return next year

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 101sal 3 reviews from this member

This is the third year on the trot we have had a summer holiday in France, originally planned to head down to La Rochelle but grew increasingly frustrated trying to find a decent site so finally tried to find a good site within an hour of Roscoff and came up with Les Mouettes.

We caught the overnight crossing from Plymouth so arrived at the site by 8:30 (only a thirty minute drive) had to wait until 12:30 before we could get on the pitch as it has to be “serviced”. It turned out that the grass on the pitch was freshly mown after previous occupant had left (something we saw happen to other pitches during our stay).

Booked the site directly via the web with no hassles, requested a large pitch and were not disappointed, it was huge. All pitches that we saw were of a good size with electricity and water right by the pitch so no need for long extension leads. All were capable of taking tents up to Hartford XXL size which may be of benefit to some of you as YELLOH Benodet has quite small pitches (see my other review).

I would advise to take some rock pegs as the ground was very hard when pitching with a few stones and roots from the surrounding hedges thrown in for good measure.

The Site

The site has a small toddler pool, a pool with slides and the lazy river which our kids loved and large, deeper pool used mainly by the adults. There is also an indoor pool which is heated which would come in handy if the weather is bad. All outdoor pools were patrolled by a couple of lifeguards which we thought was very good.

On site facilities include a restaurant, the menu isn’t large and a steak costs around €16:00, There is also a bar with typical French prices which are dearer than the UK with a pint of Amstel @ €4. 80 and a half @ €2. 50. You can also get coffees and soft drinks if required.

The take away sells pizzas and pasta to go from around €7. 50 - €9. 95 for a pizza which is quite expensive, pasta dishes were a few euros cheaper. We used the takeaway on the day we arrived and to buy fries for the kids occasionally but mostly we cooked for ourselves.

The small shop can be pricey (the same as the Casino supermarket five minutes from the site in Carantec where most of the stock seems to come from), fresh baguettes and croissants are delivered twice daily and can sell out fast.

Shower/Toilet facilities are in one main block close to reception and are cleaned several times a day. Always plenty of hot water and we never had to queue. During our stay all toilets were fitted with toilet roll dispensers in the cubicles but it’s advisable to have a roll with you just in case.

Just behind the wash block are facilities for washing dishes and a chemical toilet disposal point. The washroom was always clean but the water was nowhere near as hot as it could be.

Used the Launderette just before we left and this was reasonable at €5 for a washing machine and €3 for the dryer (making life easier when we got home).

Live entertainment on site every night by differing acts which can sometimes be quite noisy but this usually stops by 11:30ish.

The only thing we would advise is not to ask for a pitch close to the wash block as there are four or five within 50 metres and two within 20 feet which are directly behind the evening entertainment stage and these pitches are quite small (and noisy) in comparison with all the others on site.

Out and About

The nearest beach is a two minute walk from the campsite entrance, it’s mainly shale and pebbles with no real sand but it’s great for fishing and for collecting fresh mussels when the tide is out.

We spent a few evenings (dad and two boys, wife supporting) fishing from here and managed to catch a good sized bass which was lovely on the BBQ so take some small travel rods if you have them (we used fresh mackerel bought from the supermarket for bait).

It’s also possible to walk all the way around the coast at low tide and this is a great walk with the kids, particularly when the sun is beating down.

The nearest supermarket is Casino which is expensive even for basics; you are far better driving to St. Pol de Leon which is 15 minutes away where there is a huge SUPER U, LeClerc and a LIDL so you have plenty of choice. Both of the French supermarkets have petrol stations as an alternative to Casino if you are out and about.

There is a free service which runs around Carantec which stops at the site every 10-15 mins and this is useful if you fancy leaving the car behind.

Carantec itself has a couple of small restaurants which are reasonably priced and a few other shops which you would see in any French town. There is also a cash point machine here which accepts UK cards with no hassle.

The main Carantec beach is proper sand and is fantastic; you can take boat trips around the bay from here or relax and have a meal in the nearby café. The beach is signposted left from the village centre.

Morlaix is about half an hour away and worth a visit if you fancy a change with plenty of shops and places to eat. Another camper told us there is a McDonalds here but thankfully the boys didn’t see the sign.

We had a fantastic time during the 12 nights we were here with only one night of heavy rain and a couple of gloomy mornings.

We can honestly say that this is a site we would definitely return to in two or three years’ time.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cornish Fairy 3 reviews from this member

We didn't really know what to expect when we booked this site as we tend to shy away from sites that offer entertainment.

The site itself is lovely and very well maintained. The pitches are of a good size and the one we stayed on was bordered by hedges to offer that little bit more privacy. Each pitch shared a water point with it neighbour and had an electric point with UK and European plugs.

The toilet and shower facilities were great and we found them to be clean and always had plenty of hot water. We didn't have to queue for a shower or to use the loo. We were fortunate in that our pitch was near the toilet block but it was only a couple of minutes walk from the majority of the pitches.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

The pool area although crowded through the day was great and the kids had lots of fun on the slides and in the lazy river. It was also nice to use the indoor pool on a couple of overcast days. You struggled to get a sunbed round the pool but we took our own chairs and sat on the grass which was still near enough to the pool to keep our eye on the kids.

The evening entertainment was good and the kids particularly enjoyed the magician. The one thing I would say about the entertainment was that it was loud, however, our pitch was right behind the stage so maybe the further away pitches were not so affected and it generally finished by 10pm.

The shop and site was very expensive but we went to the Super you in Saint Pol de Leon so it wasn't an issue.

The children's playground is quite secluded so I wasn't happy for our 8 year old to go and play by himself but it has a bench so I was happy enough to go and read my book whilst he played.

The beach near the campsite is not very nice as there is a lot of mud but Carantec is a 5 minute ride away by car and the beach there is lovely with ample parking spaces and a couple of lovely little restaurants.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here having booked directly with Yelloh.

Found the site quite nice and the pool complex was great, with a lazy river and three good slides.

I would say the site is aimed at children, but I suppose that's no bad thing

There wasn't much to do nearby, if that is of interest, but at the time we went, the kids just wanted to swim.

We found the local supermarket quite expensive though.

Finally, very handy site if you are travelling to / from Roscoff. We had planned this, but on the evening before we left, learnt that the ship had broken down, resulting in an extra trip in the morning, to St Malo instead but of curse this was nothing to do with the site

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buzymumma 1 review from this member

I am new to this so please forgive me if I waffle or don't say enough.

At the very last minute myself, husband and youngest son decided to go here. I booked it direct and we took our own tent. I kept looking and looking at the website and the price and thought it was such a good deal, far too good to miss. So car packed up, Ferry booked and atank of petrol. I drove from Calais, or should I say we shared the driving. Seemed endless as it was the first time either of us had driven this far abroad. Once we arrived we were over the moon. The reception staff were great, they spoke very good English and once she ran through everything she told us to follow her in our car and she drove ahead in her little electric golf buggy. The size of the pitch was great, electric and water and right by the shower blocks. These I have to say amazed me. My youngest is 2 and it was great for him. A smaller area, smaller sinks and showers. There was enough room in the shower cubicles for myself, husband and son, and his little motorbike which he scooted everywhere. They were always hot and they had sink unit with large mirror which lit up by sensor. Enough room to stand and dry, and change and then a huge shower part. I loved it.

I missed my older two boys who were off camping with cadets but I have booked this again for August this year. There is a new addition this year too, and indoor pool, cant wait to check that out. The pools were fantastic and we spent most of our time around there and the terrace. The take away was great,reasonable in price and ideal really. We ate out every other night at the crepe restaurant and the service here was also very good. There was evening entertainment and it was so great to see everyone really having a good time. I did spend the whole time saying to my husband how the boys would love it and how much freedom they would have. I will be posting a review after we come back.

We didn't venture out much as we were only there a week. We did pop into the local town to change some money at their post office and we had to visit the bakery or one of them. I think the next visit we will be more adventurous and definitely use the supermarket which we didn't realise was so close until we left!

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David + Barbara 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 weeks here staying in a tent (Keycamp not our own) There were 3 families of us altogether.

Where to begin? At the beginning then. Had to pay a refundable deposit of 20 Euro to get rubber wristbands. These were to be worn all the time on site so you could access the pool etc( different colours for kids and adults). The kids hit the pool straight away, and boy what a pool it is (especially nice on the nights it stays open til late and it's all lit up) the bar is adjacent so you can have a drink and keep an eye on the kids.
There's a stage for evening entertainment (magic show, dancing etc) and a take away and ice cream parlour and creperie. The shop stocks basics and there is a Casino supermarket 5 mins in the car but be warned this is rather pricey. SuperU and LeClerc is a lot cheaper and not far off in St Pol and on the way to Morlaix.
Entertainment went on til around 12.30 and there was some degree of noise but bearable (and we were in there anyway LOL)
The showers/toilet blocks as mentioned require you to either take your own roll or hope you get the right amount from the dispenser. They are unisex too. Cleaned regularly and plenty to go around.

The surrounding area is lovely, the nearest beach is just outside the site and down a hill. Great for picking shells and exploring rock pools. The walk into Carantec is quicker by the road but much nicer along the coast.Carantec itself is a nice village with creperies, bakery and chocolate shop but not large enough to spend anything more than an hour here. The beach there is a short walk down a hill from the centre, there there are some cafes.

We visited Roscoff, St Pol de Leon (go up the church tower it's great)Morlaix and went for a day to oceanopolis when it was raining, that is brilliant. We also went to Mont St Michel and St Malo and Dinard (yes we travelled a bit!) All these places are well worth a visit. It is just like Cornwall, but quieter!

During our stay we had call to need the Dr, the Dr in Carantec was brilliant and she spoke excellent English to, thought I'd mention this just in case.

Overall I could go on and on. Bad bits?

Well the weather the second week went a bit overcast but can't blame the site for that. We were lucky that our tent was near the toilet block otherwise it is a bit of a distance to it as there is only the one!

Would go back again no doubt about that.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Good site with good facilities and large pitches. Families can dip into or out of the various pastimes as they see fit. As a mature couple we were usually content to tour or stay on our pitch. There is a restaurant and takeaway, pretty typical of this kind of site, but I have to say that you're missing a treat if you don't get out-and-about among the many excellent (and family friendly as long as your kids are well-behaved) restaurants).

Toilet blocks were spotless, though as anywhere in Europe, take a family pack of toilet roll (I hate this French way of having one huge bog roll where you need to guess how much you'll need!).

Its location though is its best asset - 20 mins drive from the Plymouth / Roscoff ferry, which when the journey begins 400 miles away from Plymouth is very handy.

Get out and about. Carantec is lovely, as is Roscoff, with good restaurants, and the northern pink granite coastline has to be experienced. This part of Brittany is much less commercial than the South, where it approaches the Vendee (where the entire population of France goes on holiday). The place is full of Breton culture and festivals - very Celtic.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rebekah31 11 reviews from this member

Really easy to find this campsite from the ferry port of Roscoff,only about a 20 minute drive. After a delay departing from Plymouth we finally arrived at the campsite around 9.30pm, there was someone waiting to show us to our pitch on arrival, very friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool was definitely the star attraction, kids just wanted to be in the pool all day,have to say it was really good (me not being a lover of swimming pools).
Toilets and shower blocks spotlessly clean (no loo roll) and very modern. Sitting by the bar and the lit up pool in the evenings were fab, games room nearby for the kids.
Shop sold a fairly good variety, go down early for the fresh croissants and baguettes, they were delicious! Pitch size was quite large, nicely hedged off.
Only one let down was the surrounding area, not a lot in carantec itself, not enough places to eat although we did find a couple of restaurants and creperie by the beach out of town but were a bit pricey, you get a bit sick of eating pizza at the campsite!
We stayed for a week and had lovely hot weather. Would definitely go back to this campsite again in the future, possibly staying a bit longer and venturing out to explore other parts of Brittany. Also it does look exactly as in the photos!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Carantec      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5432 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019