Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Field Barn Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Field Barn Park
Bourton On The Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LF
Tel: 01451 821260  or  07856 347519
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 173 Reviews
                9/10 from 173 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  173 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malcbev 6 reviews from this member

This is our second visit here and again doesn't disappoint. Lovely peaceful site set in a lovely location just up the road from lovely Bourton on the Water. Facilities are clean lovely hot showers, there is a microwave, fridge freezer and washing machine and dryer ( small cost for the last two). Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff66 7 reviews from this member

Lovely welcome upon arrival from the wardens

Well stocked information cabin plenty of leaflets of where to go and what to see

Also cabin with freezers stocked with all your barbeque meats eggs etc, tried sausages must say were outstanding and you just paid into an honesty box.

Pitches were a very generous size but we did have problems getting standard pegs into ground on self draining pitch

Facilities were spotless, only stayed 2 nights but if diddnt have to get back for work would have stayed longer so would definitely return.

Bourton on water nearest town is a beautiful pituresque place lots to see and do will have to return 2 nights not enough never slept so well

A real gem of a site

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstsw 31 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept site in walking distance to Bourton on the Water. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. Very peaceful with excellent facilities. We enjoyed watching the birds and the stoat playing in the long grass. The pitches are large and on grass but we had no problems with the ground after the recent wet weather.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaap49 1 review from this member

One of the best campsites that we have visited over the years. Really quiet with your own semi private area. There's plenty of water taps on site. The electric hook up could have been closer but there was ample extensions in the shop to borrow(FOC). The steaks, sausage & Beefburgers are to die for. This is an ideal location for touring/visiting the quaint towns & villages of the Cotswolds. The shower block was kept really clean & tidy. Really close to Bourton on the Water as you could walk there in about 25 minutes, though there is a small hill to climb on the way back. Great to see that you are not being ripped off by them as Wifi is FREE.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crackinstuff 3 reviews from this member

This site is a great find with beautiful sun sets to boot!

Thank you to Bleddyn and Chris and Colin the cat for the friendliest of welcomes! From booking the pitches and ensuring that two parties were adjacent to each other, making booking an additional person seamless through to advice and information given during the stay, this team were great.

The site is very well laid out to provide privacy yet spacious pitches. (I'm sure more income could have been generated by removing the butterfly attracting foliage. Thank goodness this isn't the primary objective. ) EHU and water is never very far away. If an extension lead is required, this is provided with a deposit.

The facilities are spotless. 3 showers, 3 toilets and 2 sinks (women's) was never an issue however there was an issue with pressure when the 'kitchen' sinks are in use. I believe this is something that is in hand for a It was great to have the use of refrigeration. A microwave was also supplied and clothes washing and drying is available for a small fee. The information hut is a nice touch as is the shop with soft drinks, meats and eggs, however we felt that this was very pricey.

Location was fantastic. 20 mins or so down to Bourton on the Water and slightly longer back again due to a steep hill which isn't suitable for everyone.

As we were staying for the bank holiday weekend, leaving Monday evening, it was also much appreciated that, after packing up, we could leave two fully-laden cars on site until we were ready to return.

This site has been saved as a favourite and we hope to return!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Balddove 1 review from this member

Terrible access road patched repaired very poor. Wardens absolutely fantastic. Really helpful and friendly service. Very large pitches. All grass but drained well. Electric points are not enough. Owner should perhaps consider electric and water on caravan pitches. Toilet and shower block kept spotlessly clean but dated. Very much into recycling. Nowhere for rubbish that could not be recycled. Items for sale eggs etc. But expensive. Generally site quiet but road noise from A road a couple of fields away droned through the night. My general feeling site needs to move with the times. For 28 per night more is expected. Access road for one. Surprised that site was only about 1/3 full in mid summer. I would not return unless road and facilities are updated. Choose this site because it was August and wanted adult only. Sorry but I could only rate average.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malcbev 6 reviews from this member

What a lovely site each pitch is secluded not overlooked by other campers. Just a short distance from Bourton on the Water. The toilets and showers are spotless, there is somewhere to wash your dishes, available for a small price there is a washing machine and dryer and also a microwave. There is also a fridge freezer and another small fridge. You can also buy fresh eggs, homemade burgers, sausages and steak. The wardens are very helpful and live on site. We will definitely be back

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DougieA 8 reviews from this member

This site could be heaven for certain people who 'vont to be alone' with no young ones allowed and the dark sky at night, but there are some drawbacks in my opinion. Access is up a gravel road which, apparently, has been recently improved but is still a bit of a boneshaker. The site is a rectangular field surrounded by hedging, trees and farming land. Pitches are very large and screened but some are not very level. There is only 1 toilet block and if you are told to pitch at the opposite corner (as we were) ( Pitch 18), it's a fair run in the morning (!) and a long haul with grey waste, toilet cassette and rubbish. There is also no rubbish as such as everything has to be separated near the toilet block for recycling. The town Bourton (with shops, pubs, restaurants and buses etc ) is about 1 1/2 miles away by road or path but be warned that it is very steep on the way back and would not be suitable for a lot of people. We are walkers but it was not a welcome stroll after a meal and a few pints, more like head down and go for it ! A major draw back is the toilet block which is kept very clean ( just like the whole site really) but only has 2 gents wc and 3 wc in the Ladies. It's just not enough at peak times and the site was not full while we were there. Bourton is very nice but extremely popular and was full of tourists of many Nations at the weekend, so it can be a struggle to get a seat in the Beer Gardens in the sunshine. There are decent walks around the town to other quieter, rural Cotswold villages.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Teadrinker82 1 review from this member

We would thoroughly recommend this site. We did an overnight weekend stay in a T5 with awning.

The pitches are very private, they have electric if you need it, clean toilet/shower block with hot water, good recycling facilities.

Very friendly and accommodating hosts who gave us a good run down of everything when we got there and let us check in early [by pre-arrangement], which really helped us to maximise our short break.

Perfectly situated to explore the area too - only a short walk down into Bourton-on-the-water which occupied the afternoon. Longer walks are easily accessible - which we'd look at doing when we come back [for a longer stay!].

Personally - we loved the over 30's thing as well as it was inevitably very quiet. Far too many parents abandon their kids on campsites - letting them get up to allsorts - so its not often we get a trip quite as relaxing as this one.

Being in the middle of nowhere, its a bit dark at night-time is all I'd say - they could do with a few solar lights scattered over the site to assist the 'midnight-wee'ers.

9/10.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Novicecampers 2 reviews from this member

Overall we enjoyed staying on this site, it was well laid out with plenty of privacy between the pitches provided by the copious vegetation. It was also quiet but easily accessible with a touring van and we loved the walk into Bourton (about an hour if you're taking it at a comfortable pace)

It would be nice if there was a map to show the local walks however.

On the down side, we felt the families weren't adequate - it was bank holiday so fairly busy, but only two toilet cubicles for the men and three for the women weren't enough and a couple of times we had to queue. Also, no means of drying your hands was rather irritating and unnecessary.

A couple of reviewers have commented on the value for money - well we paid 30 per night which I thought was plenty. I really object to having to pay 2 per night for a dog which after all we accommodated ourselves and didn't need to be cleaned up after. I also thought that 4 per day for electricity was too much - most campsites include it in the tariff and being charged another tenner if you want to leave a couple of hours late was also irksome. I know this is a business but it really felt they were on to every technique for screwing a bit more money out of us.

Previous     173 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019