Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Field Barn Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Field Barn Park Reviews

Field Barn Park
Field Barn Park
Bourton Hill
Bourton On The Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LF
Tel: 07856 347519  or  01451 821260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 01/04/2021 to 26/09/2021
           14/04/2022 to 25/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
                9/10 from 201 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hill13 1 review from this member

 Very nice, quiet site within walking distance of Bourton-on-the Water.

The Showers & toilets block were fine but quite a distance from where we were parked up, although there was one toilet in a small hut nearby.

The site was very good on recycling which I liked.

The pitches were a decent size and separated by bushes and trees (lots of apple trees around the site) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Torry400 3 reviews from this member

 This is a peaceful, spacious site for over 30s. The pitches are large and private and the management are accommodating to requests for specific pitches where possible.

The shower block is, in general, extremely clean, although on busy weekends it does look a little the worse for wear by the end of the day.

The main problem is that there are only 3 showers, 2 basins and 3 WCs in each of the ladies and gents blocks. This is simply not enough for 53 pitches.

The owner has gone to the trouble of installing another two (mixed gender) huts to house an additional WC (serviced by septic tanks) at each of the two extremes of the site, but for some reason has decided that washbasins are not necessary in these.

This is a great pity given the current pandemic and even greater need for hygiene. It would also have been nice if each had been single sex rather than mixed for reasons best not gone into here!

However, I'm sure that many campers will appreciate the additions as the walk from some pitches to the main block takes about five minutes.

Management are friendly and accommodating and I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Riches 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site this is. I had a great week there, the site is set out uniquely with hedged pitches so everyone has a fair degree of privacy.

The pitches are well kept, with water and electric should you need either or both.

The showers and toilets are spotless, which is a credit to the owners and the management couple who I found to be extremely welcoming and friendly.

Its about a mile walk into Bourton, which is fine unless you walk back in the dark - you will definitely need a torch and a bit of lung capacity as its mostly uphill on the way back.

I would definitely go back there, and hope to next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: N Harwood 2 reviews from this member

 We loved our pitch. Nice n sheltered with a little sun.

Although we'd have liked more sun. Good customer friendly service.

Very dog friendly with lots of dogs. You must like all types of dogs and their owners some were very noisy on Saturday night.

We're going back next year 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobandbetty 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic park.

Really thoughtfully laid out, huge pitches (unless you have one of these gargantuan outfits - go to a hotel guys).

Lovely attempt to merge with nature.

Extremely clean and tidy toilet block and two new stand alone loos (in concrete structures, tiles floors etc) out and about.

Friendly, accommodating wardens who are there but not ‘in you’re face’, unless yo are being noisy after 11pm ish then they will quieten down the more enthusiastic - drunk and Leary :)

Really enjoyed our stay, very central to most of the Cotswolds

If you want “off the beaten track” then this place is for you, but don’t tell everyone

Already pencilled in for next year 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gsharo 1 review from this member

 Lovely natural surroundings, each pitch has enough privacy, whilst allowing you to meet up with your neighbours if you wish.

The addition of the single toilets around the site were very 'convenient' when you didn't want to walk to the main block! The facilities were very clean with plenty of hot water for a long shower.

The on site staff were very accommodating and there was the opportunity to purchase fresh meat and eggs supplied direct from the farm. The steaks we bought were amazing!

We didn't use an awning on this visit as the long pitch we were on sloped away from the van. Many others were in motorhomes, tents and campervans and seemed to have managed with the awning frame (without the side panels) to protect their outdoor furniture.

The site entrance would benefit from signage opposite as it is quite easy to drive past.

During our stay we saw lots of birdlife including Partridges and nearly had a fledgling blackbird enter the van. We also saw a hare outside the van one morning.

The site would benefit from a small area where dogs could be exercised off lead rather than on lead.

Overall a very enjoyable stay. No shops or pubs within walking distance but only a short drive to Stow on the Wold. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallya 1 review from this member

 Love this site. Husband goes as far to say that it is possibly his favourite campsite in 8 years of campervanning. I note several comments about the pitches being ‘unkempt’ or ‘unmown’ - but I think that is the point.

Pitches are roomy and very private, divided by hedges, with an abundance of trees and shrubs, and very unusual elephant grass hedge, full of birds and who knows what else!

Toilets/showers clean and adequate, warden very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive.

Half hour walk into Bourton on the Water, which was incredibly busy (apparently this is very normal).

Highly recommended if you appreciate a tranquil low impact campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yappieone 4 reviews from this member

 I'm not sure which site the other reviewers have visited but it's certainly not a 5 star campsite in my opinion!

It's extremely overpriced.

The approach to the site from the main road is a very long single track. I was concerned in case we met another large camper or caravan as there is just one small passing place.

It does have 53 pitches as stated on their website they are FAR FROM large and spacious.

It has the most bizarre layout I have ever seen. The pics on the website show a large green area with shrubs and bushes separating pitches, giving the impression of plenty of space - these are in a middle cross shaped section - it probably holds about 20 nice secluded pitches.

As we drove onto the site to find our pitch it was very difficult to see any numbers due to the very overgrown shrubs and bushes - the whole site is very unkempt and scruffy.

The pitches are so close to the road that we were able to stop, open up our window and talk to a fellow camper sitting just a foot away from the edge of the road to ask which number they were in order to find our pitch !

The rest of the pitches are situated along the outer edge of the plot - they sit actually ON THE THROUGHROAD of the campsite which is very dusty!

We were there while it was hot and sunny, every vehicle that went past kicked up an enormous amount of dust which you then are covered in!

They are extremely small and definitely NOT PRIVATE in any capacity. They are approx 8m square.

We are in an 8m long motorhome and had to pull in diagonally in order to fit without our bikes (which were on the back) hanging out in the road ! This as it turned out was the best option because if we pulled in longways like most others had we'd have had our feet dangling in the road ! From these pitches all you have left to look at is the hedge at the other side of the very dusty road!

We saw caravans struggling to navigate onto pitches all the time we were there.

The pitch had easy access to EHU and a water tap - we used the hose on the tap to dampen down the road and reduce the amount of dust we were inevitably going to be covered in :(

We did not use the showers or toilets so unable to comment.

The site is for over 30's which is nice

Dog friendly

It is only a couple of miles into Bourton on the Water - great for cycling or walking.

It is silent after 10.30 which is nice. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barsar 48 reviews from this member

 I must admit we booked this site because we couldn’t find another site in the area with space. The reviews also seemed good on the whole.

Before you set off, I suggest you plot exactly where this site is. We did and still missed it as there is no signage to it and a very small sign on a gate post when you get there.

Approach from the road to the site is along quite a long very bumpy track. Be prepared to go very carefully or suffer breakages.

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and told where our numbered pitch was.

It’s difficult to know how to describe the site. Don’t expect the manicured lawns of a CC site. It’s a rustic campsite in the middle of a re wilding project. All pitches are separated by hedges of shrubs or elephant grass. Large pitches but you’ll need levelling blocks. It’s different and has a certain charm. We liked it.

Whilst we were there the grass on the pitches was not being cut as it had been stressed during lack of rain earlier in the summer. It was very long in parts but just about acceptable. All pitches are on grass.

There were plenty of fresh water taps close to every pitch and we were recommended to empty grey water in the hedges, which I didn’t have a problem with. Electric points were a bit of a distance from some of the pitches but extension cables were offered. Wifi is available near the warden’s caravan. 4G could be temperamental. TV signal was ok if you played around a bit.

There is no lighting on site so be sure to take a torch. However, this does mean you get a good view of the night sky.

The toilet block is quite old and in need of refurbishment. It was kept clean but the floor was often wet which resulted in a covering of dirt from shoes.

They are very keen on sorting recycling into the right bin.

In Sept 2020 the Covid prevention measures were just about acceptable in my view.

It is a 1. 5 mile walk into Bourton on the Water. Uphill on the way back via either the road or across the fields. Lot’s of nice walks, villages and pubs nearby. Good location, apart from the access road. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobandbetty 9 reviews from this member

 Second visit this year.

Love this site.

Friendly and informative welcome from the wardens then left you to it (all grown ups here) unless there was an issue.

Large spacious pitches but a bit scruffy (overgrown) this year. Like the wild grasses but not ON the pitches, felt a little unkempt.

Love the local meat and little produce shed.

Pleased to see they sacrificed pitches for temporary porta loos - clearly customers come before profit.

Looking forward to 2021 season 


Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Field Barn Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Field Barn Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Field Barn Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4315 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement