Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Keverne Village Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > St Keverne Village Campsite Reviews

St Keverne Village Campsite
St Keverne
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6QS
Tel: 07975 688 088
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 hookups 20 tent pitches
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyho 1 review from this member

 If you like open fires and music until 3am, kids running around with little parental controls, then this is the place for you.

The mens toilets were dismantled so everyone had to share the ageing ladies shower block.

Though there are hard standing pitches with electric hook up there is little respect for social distancing.

The owners were very helpful in getting us water and electric hook up. However organisation was not their strong point.

We could hear the bedtime story being read in the tent next to us, which was just a couple of feet from the back of our camper.

Cars were used as sleeping compartments, and speed limits non existent.

This site has some lovely views across the bay and the country side around is lovely.

St Keverne is beautiful with two pubs in the square serving food. Beaches are nearby.

We booked for 6 nights and only stayed for 2.

We would not hesitate to avoid this place in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Hilary 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, quiet with amazing views.

I would definitely stay here again.

The pitches are large and flat and itís close proximity to lots of lovely beaches, pubs and the famous roskillys ice cream. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shazzy2017 2 reviews from this member

 Myself and my 2 young daughters stayed in a friend's caravan on this site for just under a week last summer as the owner of the caravan that I've known for many years lives in St Keverne and keeps her caravan on the site.

The site owner is a lovely bloke and the site is kept clean & tidy, the showers were of good quality for a small site and the washing up facilities were good as having a tiny sink in the caravan meant we needed to wash up in the kitchen block.

The field was safe for the kids to run around as any vehicle driving on site kept at a slow speed and were respectful of children. The kids enjoyed the pigs kept in the adjoining field but would of liked a small play area but it didn't make too much of a difference to other holidays as we went out to Cornwalls beautiful beaches every day, we were ideally situated for drives to lots of different places during our holiday, the Ice cream making farm.

Nearby and was a lovely afternoon out, and a cinema trip to Helston on a damp day. It was a short walk to the village and the local pubs were lovely & served gorgeous food at very reasonable prices. The locals are friendly and gave great recommendations for places to drive to. I would, and in fact have recommended this site to friends and we are hoping to visit again this summer to see our friends and enjoy beautiful Cornwall again 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laddenvean9 1 review from this member

 Nice quite campsite everything you need i. E. Showers, toilets, kitchen with

Washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge freezer, two big sinks for washing up, chemical toilet, four standpipes accross the field.

Nice views overlooking falmouth bay. Shops near by for all your needs

2 pubs, restaurant, paper shop, mini supermarket, bus service within walking distance from site looking forward to visit the site next year 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bodfish 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely part of Cornwall, not too busy even in the first week of August. St Keverene is a busy village - we were there when the St Keverene brass band was holding its annual ox roast - great atmosphere!. Some great beaches and nice pubs within easy driving distance.

The campsite is located near the village on a hilltop. Nice views out towards the sea, but a very exposed and windy spot. The van pitches get a bit of shelter from a hedge, but the tent pitches are very exposed. We were kept awake by our tent flapping, and a new Coleman Event Shelter had its frame snapped in a gust.

The owner had marked out some very small pitches for our tents, and seemed determined to cram the campers as close together as possible, despite there only being half a dozen tents on the field. The pitches were on sloping ground, which made for uncomfortable sleeping.

Immediately adjacent in the next field were a number of pigs, whose sty was located against the campsite boundary fence. This meant that we were sleeping approximately 15 feet away from the pigs whose nocturnal grunts and snores were clearly audible throughout each night. The pigs were owned by the campsite owners.

Previous posters have mentioned the dilapidated state of the facilities, and I sadly can confirm that nothing has improved since the last post in 2013. The gents toilet was particularly poor - a crumbling 1970's portakabin with a collapsing floor, smelling strongly of urine. The water heating was turned off overnight, so there was none available first thing in the morning. The ladies toilets and mixed shower block (circa 1980) were a bit better, although the shower was more of a dribble than a spray. The laundry / dishwashing facility was adequate, although rather dated and tired.

There was only one standpipe for water, on the opposite side of the field from the tent pitches. There was no site office or shop, and no facility for card or cheque payment.

The quality of customer care left much to be desired.

On a positive note the grass was cut short.

We left and went to a proper site after a few days, were we paid the same rate for a flat sheltered pitch with a full range of amenities.

Our experience at Little Treginges was very disappointing, and we could not recommend this site to anybody. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site with lovely views and spectacular walks but the downside is the Gents toilet block. We have been using this site for quite a few years and the Gents block is woefully inadequate and needs rebuilding as soon as possible. About the only gripe we hear from fellow campers is that the Gents is a let down so come on lets see what can be done over the Winter. A fee of £20 is much too high with things as they are !

By and large the good points far outweigh the bad and with the village so close we feel the site is a must at least once a year ! Do try the meals at the Tree Tuns whilst staying; they are really good. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 Having read the previous reviews for this site we werenít too optimistic, however, we decided to stay here as the location for our coast path walks was just right. It was a good decision, the new owners Sue & Jeff are nice and were based on site whilst we were there.

This site is essentially a field along the road from the Village of St Keverne, it has electric hook up, toilets, showers, washing up sinks, laundry facilities & chemical disposal point. The ladies toilet and shared shower block has tastefully tiled walls, soap & towels, (even flowers) the overall impression is that it is clean and cared for. The temperature does fluctuate a little in the showers, but there was decent pressure to wash my long hair. There is also a separate shower in another building which is adjustable. There is an indoor washing up area with fridge, washing machine, ironing board & iron. My only comment is that my husband thought that the menís loos werenít as good as the ladies.

The site itself is on a hill with fabulous views across to Falmouth and St Mawes. There is not a shop etc on site, but a ten minute walk takes you into the village of St Keverne where there is a pub, hotel, village shop, post office, butcher and news agent. The Ďspar typeí shop is great, it is well stocked with a good selection of supplies if youíve forgotten anything or donít have time to shop before you arrive. Everyone seemed really friendly and this village and camp site has a good vibe.

This area of Cornwall is severely lacking in a bus service, so we couldnít do our usual bus out and walk back to the site along the South West Coast Path, but we found a taxi firm called Telstar Travel who were very good and agreed a price in advance with us and collected us from the campsite and dropped us off at our requested start point.

We had a great weekend here and would definitely come back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TooTall 1 review from this member

 I love everything about this campsite. Iíve just had my fourth visit and Iím sure thereíll be many more to come!

There are many reasons why I hold this site in such high esteem. Its location is wonderful, on top of a hill with fantastic views and just a short walk from St Keverne with its shops, pubs and other amenities.

This part of the Lizard is beautiful, there are a couple of beaches within easy walking distance and Coverack with its beautiful harbour and white sand is only a couple of miles away. Helford is within cycling distance, and the whole of the Lizard is within twenty minutes by car. Every year we find more things to do.

The site is never too busy and itís never noisy. The showers are free and thereís always hot water. Thereís a utility room with two washing-up sinks, two fridge freezers, an ironing board plus a washing machine and dryer (thereís a charge for those).

Thereís a good selection of books to borrow. The gentsí toilets are a bit old, but theyíre more than adequate, besides which weíre men Ė who cares if our toilets are a bit rickety? By all accounts the ladyís are immaculate and are complete with pot pourri!

The site is so full of character. When you meet the owner, Sid, you understand why. The siteís run with a common sense approach to camping thatís missing at other sites.

PS. Sidís mobile fish and chips are well worth trying on Friday evenings. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site.

Bad points:

1. Gents toilet facilities are in dire need of updating. Two WCs and a basin in a very dilapidated portable cabin are not sufficient.

2. Because of the first point £20 per night is too much although it would be a very reasonable price if the gents facilities were better.

Good points:

1. The location is great with lovely views over the countryside and sea towards Falmouth. Also, the local village with pubs and local stores is an easy walk.

2. Very friendly and helpful staff.

3. Chilled out atmosphere as is normal on these type of basic campsites.

4. No light pollution from the surroundings or intrusive site lighting (bring a torch).

3. Ladies toilets and unisex showers fine (and clean) although seats and more hooks in the shower cubicles would have been nice.

Would we go there again?

Definitely a yes to that question. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MR+KR 10 reviews from this member

 Our second visit recently was for 4 nights. The campsite is as nice as ever. Basic (the gents washing facilities - one basin - are inadequate) but the views and location more than make up for that. A 10 minute walk is to St Keverne, which is a lovely place. It has a newsagent, a small supermarket and two pubs, The White Hart and The Three Tuns. Both serve good ale, with the latter being more traditionally styled internally. Both a child friendly all day.

The weather was glorious, so we were lucky. Take note, the downside of a lovely hilltop location with stunning views is it, no doubt, can get windy. If camping, use storm pegs. I didn't personally see Sid the owner this time, but he remains a character, I'm sure! His fish and chips are legend. But Sid. You have the whole place up for sale. Don't do it! St Keverne would never be the same again.

A short walk from the campsite is Roskilly's, which make ice cream and other foods and crafts. Its in a truly idyllic spot and we did a round walk to it. There is a walk close by which goes along a trail passing various ponds, which is tranquil. Visit the church in St Keverne, which is lovely inside. So peaceful.

Places to visit in Lizard are plentiful. I would recommend the stunning Kynance Cove, plus Church Cove. RNAS Culdrose has a viewing area with cafe. The BT Goonhilly Down site. Craft centres. A meadery. Plenty if you look, and some good beaches if that's what you want.

The Lizard does have a good range of 'hosteries' to visit. The Five Pilchards at Porthallow is also a gem. Both The Top House and The Witch Ball at Lizard are excellent, but absolute top marks go to The Mounts Bay Inn, in Mullion. We ate there. The place, the beer, the food, the atmosphere and the location are outstanding. Modernised, but done well. The outside veranda has sea views. Brilliant with a lovely sunset. One of the best places to eat out I have been to in a long time, and great VFM. Not cheap, but reasonable, and well worth it.

I would advise anyone to visit Sids campsite, and hope it stays as Sids campsite for a long time to come. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Keverne Village Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Keverne Village Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is St Keverne Village Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement