Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli > Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site
Caemawr Farm Furnace
Llanelli
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA15 4NU
Tel: 07711 274687
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Philnj 1 review from this member

 Loved the site in an open field with views of the estuary.

Hard standing and good hook up for water and electricity.

Facilities rural - but as you would expect on a farm in the country. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mjryan42 7 reviews from this member

 Fairly easy to find though a couple more signs within the farm might be useful to direct people through the yard and up the hill.

What an amazing view and such large well appointed pitches several new hard standings with electricity and water posts shared between every 2 pitches.

Itís amazingly quiet with a really friendly and relaxed owner. Rubbish and recycling available alongside Elsan disposal.

A toilet and dishwashing facilities are available but we didnít use them.

At £18 pn incld EHU, itís good value - we had mostly good weather with very little wind. Itís a fairly exposed hillside so folk shouldnít be surprised if itís sometimes a bit blowy! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay at Caemawr. Lovely open site with great views.

Did not use facilities due to covid they seemed ok. Nice walks from site 20mins acroos fields to town. Quite a climb to get back.

Would stay again and recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 33 reviews from this member

 The review from 2012 is still spot on in 2019. There is still no hot water in the washing up area which is easily solved with a gas bottle and boiler!

However thatís trivial, the site is in an excellent position and close enough to visit the local area.

Friendly owner who pointed us in the direction of the pitches,

We actually found the facilities in the farmyard whilst going out to the shops! They were immaculate. A little gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Californiagirl 5 reviews from this member

 Great little site which is open to non members of the caravan club. Only £12 per night without ehu or £15 with.

Fantastic views of the estuary. Toilet block with 1 toilet. Water taps throughout. Chemical point.

Only negative is very hard to get unit level.

Will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eegginton 1 review from this member

 Visited for 4 nights and loved the site - a real gem! The toilets and showers were constantly immaculate, but some were a long way from the pitches.

Owner very relaxed, friendly and helpful. Views fantastic and an easy bus ride into Llanelli, if you need shops, at a cost of £1. 30 each way.

Only a stones throw from cycle paths - but you do have a short but steep hill to climb back up to the site - had to push the bike not being too fit.

Will definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcjbears 12 reviews from this member

 We nearly didn't stay here, in spite of having paid a deposit when we booked! - because we were worried about the distance to the showers (husband recovering from broken leg!) and the lack of shelter from the wind. In the end we loved the place so much we stayed 18 nights, 4 longer than originally intended!

At £12 per night (£6 each for 2 adults), this is one of the cheapest sites we've stayed on for a while.

The site is on a hill, facing South West, so there is a superb view over Llanelli, the Estuary and the Gower peninsular, (spoiled only by the pylon line!)but it does get very windy. There is some shelter form the wind, but it is at the furthest point from the single toilet in the field, and a long way from the additional toilets and showers in the farmyard.

There is a small metal shed with washing-up facilities - (wash-up liquid and sponges provided and replenished regularly!)- but, as yet, (it seems there may be plans to address this in the future!) there is no hot water, so you have to collect it from the disabled loo in the farmyard, or heat your own.

All toilets have liquid soap and 'real' towels (except disabled loo/shower, which has an electric hand drier) and plenty of loo roll. The owner checks the facilities, cleaning, emptying bins and replenishing supplies several times a day.

She also cuts the grass regularly, so it is never long - (wellies not a necessity!), but the cut grass does get EVERYWHERE when it's wet because it sticks to your shoes and treads into the car, toilets, showers and tent.

There are electric hook-ups at £2 per night, but there is no playground or entertainment on site. The field is huge, with the tents and caravans around the edge so there is plenty of room for ball games, kite-flying etc. Because we did not require electric, we were free to put our tent wherever we liked.

Although it is not on, or particularly near a main road, Cae Mawr farm's position on the hill above Llanelli means that emergency vehicle sirens can be heard very clearly. However, all the campers and caravanners who were on the site with us WERE very quiet and considerate at all times.

Dogs are welcome, but must be kept on a lead at all times, except for the farm dog, who wandered freely and barked and growled at everyone using the facilities in the yard. It did mess on the camping field a couple of times, but this was cleaned up. There is an area of longer grass at the edge of the field for exercising dogs.

All rubbish is collected in a skip on the field. It has doors, so there is no smell. There is no recycling.

Llanelli is a 5 minute drive away and has a range of big supermarkets and Take-aways. Furnace village, 1/2 mile from the site, has a post office stores, open until late 7 days a week (not the PO part)and a newsagent and stores open in the daytime.

The Millennium Coastal park is a good place to visit, with several miles of coastal cycleway and walks. Bikes can be hired from the Visitors Centre in Llanelli. The Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust is also nearby, and you can get to anywhere on the Gower within about 40 minutes drive. We had a lovely day out at the National Botanical Gardens, about half an hour's drive towards Carmarthen. Our ticket (£8. 50 per adult) entitled us to a return visit within 7 days, and there was certainly enough to see to go back.

There are 2 local reservoirs within walking distance of the camp site, along quiet country roads, a disused railway and field footpaths.

We found plenty to occupy us for nearly 3 weeks, in spite of wet and windy weather, and enjoyed relaxing on the site admiring the view. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thedaviesclan 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped over the jubilee weekend in 2 tents and a caravan.

The campsite is in my opinion one of the best we have stayed on for atmosphere and views, its very relaxed and the owner is very flexible about where you pitch. Plenty of room for my 2 boys (20 months and 4) to run around till they dropped and you can always see them.

The electric hook up for the tents x4 is just a post in the ground so if there's 4 different people you would have to huddle round it if you don't have a long lead.

Bad points are the facilities are pretty poor, there's 2 working toilets and 2 showers for the whole site, also we where asked to keep our dogs on the lead which is fine but whilst we where out the owners springer spaniel ripped up our rubbish bag on 2 occasions as its left to roam!

I don't think the owner understands how good this site could be with a little improvement like shower blocks on the field instead of 300yds away.

I would definitely come back as overall its a lovely place to stay and the view is breathtaking. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gill Roberts 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at Caemawr with my husband and kids. The site in itself is lovely; but it is on a bit of a hill so it is just a little bit windy.

The facilities are a toilet block and also a sink unit in a shed which only has cold running water. There are 2 shower blocks and toilets further down to the main gate.

The owner is quite flexible in regarding the time you arrive and leave, which is better than some places I've read about.

There are a few steep hills in the area. But if you have a car it should be fine. With just a 10 minute ride in a car to the town of Llanelli. And if you are like us and have to walk. I'd say it is approximately 35 minutes to walk to Parc Howard which is very nice to take a few sandwiches on a hot day! There is a petrol station within a 20 minute walk a bit further on is a general store. Fish and chip shop

And also co-op with a Chinese take away opposite. Also there is plenty of space for kids to run around. Although no park to play in. They were fine making their own fun. Football, frisbee and a kite 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NormanSh 2 reviews from this member

 Yes, it was really supposed to be winter time but it was surprisingly mild and calm and it took us by surprise to be up here overlooking the Gower and Swansea and Burryport. We were actually revisiting Pembrey Country Park for the Skiing and Pony riding and Forest cycling and Beach walking, but found we liked being able to easily pop into Llanelli for supplies and restaurants and takeaways. We were welcomed, even indulged, and felt relaxed enough to look forward to coming home for the night. A real place. Diolch yn fawr. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caemawr Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanelli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement