Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Letang Des Haizes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > La Haye Du Puits > Camping Letang Des Haizes Reviews

Camping Letang Des Haizes
43 Rue Cauticotte
St Symphorien Le Valois
La Haye Du Puits
Normandy   (Browse area)
50250
Tel: +33 2 33 46 01 16
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 5 April - 7 October 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Nitnat 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here during May half term and picked this site as it and the reviews said it was a good base for visiting the D Day beaches. Unfortunately we found it to be a little too far out, having to travel a good hour each day to visit any of them. The last time we came for the D Day beaches we stayed at Tournieres and that seemed a more central location for them.

We also chose this site on the basis you could order bread/croissants - unfortunately it must only be in high season as when we asked about it they said not!

I liked the fact the reviews mentioned English speaking staff, another reason for choosing the site. The lady at check in communicated with me typing in on google translate and showing it to me, and the others spoke very basic English. I appreciate we are in France, but as our own French is very basic we tend to choose those sites where English speaking staff is advertised.

There was a site BBQ whilst we were there with meats, chips and sangria, but unfortunately apart from a sign saying 'No snacks tonight' we knew nothing about it until they were wheeling the BBQ back in and getting a bit louder in the bar! If this would be something you'd like to attend, then it might be worth asking the owners when it will be.

It may sound as though we didn't actually enjoy our time here, these were just our niggles! On a positive note it was a nice, relatively small and well kept site and the static caravans for rental were nice and modern & well equipped, although it was an old fashioned hob kettle as opposed to an electric one, and there were no kitchen scissors. Little niggles, but did have an effect!

The pool area, again quite small was nice and well looked after. I did not actually go in, so cannot comment on the temperature. It was very quiet during our stay, but I imagine in high season it may get a little overcrowded.

The boys enjoyed the fishing lake too, plenty of fish in there!

I think this site, even thought go it does have facilities for children is more geared towards older couples and those who have bought their own statics there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobart0406 11 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed this campsite. It was consistently peaceful, with few cars moving around (and all of them carefully). Some noise at night from the on site bar/restaurant, but nothing to keep us awake, and it didn't go on late into the night. But the site just had a relaxed, friendly feel to it that we very much enjoyed.

Our boys played with others on the football pitch at the top of the site (they said they wished it had bigger goals though!). They met other young people, and enjoyed their company.

Lovely pool, but it was a big irritation to my boys that it was 'trunks only' and no swimming shorts. Perhaps this is a French thing, but my boys did not want to wear 'speedos'. Now if we'd read the printed information better we'd have known about this beforehand. But we hadn't read it, and we've never encountered such a rule before in a pool - in fact we were dumbfounded as to why it was considered necessary! Fortunately, we could buy trunks in the shop at 8. 50 euros each, and some of the boys used their younger brothers shorts so they were tight (and no-one commented on those). But this was a put off for our boys, so be warned, and come prepared!

Table tennis was also on site, but bats and balls had to purchased from the shop. I kicked myself as I had a good set of these at home, but didn't think of bringing them. So, again, please bring these unless you wish to buy them on site.

Those two slight niggles aside, we found the site and facilities good.

Two toilet blocks, with ample showers, enough hot water, and ample places to wash, clean teeth etc. Toilets can be multi-sex, but were usually clean. Paper was in rolls outside the toilets, so you had to collect paper before going into the loo - a bit different.

Site was well lit at night (on a clear night, lovely views of the stars). Water was nearby, electric hook up (I think they assume everyone will want this) was readily accessible though we didn't use it.

Wifi! Yes, that! Available from the bar/restaurant where there are two transmitters. It costs 2 Euros for 4 hours, and that is 4 hours of logging in and out, so total time. So this was sufficient for some of us, and worked fine. But coverage is not available right across the campsite (so it seemed to us). It is possible to buy Wifi in larger amounts if required - as some people cannot live with it eh?!

Lovely to be able to wash dishes within the washrooms so dry, and warm. Again, never busy, and more than enough hot water. And these rooms were cleaned and maintained regularly and well.

The small bar/restaurant had essentials available, including milk, and a few other necessities. Also ice creams, drinks etc. Bread can be ordered the day before and collected in the morning - and a good choice - the pain au chocolats were lovely, as was the bread. We never tried the restaurant food itself, as we cooked for ourselves or ate out during the day.

For bigger shops, the nearby village/town is within walking distance, with a wide range of shops and an Aldi - open until 7. 30pm most nights. There is a buzz in this place, that is missing from other French towns we've been to, so it's helpful to have that nearby. We bought our ice creams from Aldi, and cheaper for other things too!

We were within easy striking distance of Utah Beach, some of the museums, Cherbourg which has an excellent Museum of the Sea (more like 4 Museums in one). We went there one day (taking about 50 minutes I think) and thoroughly enjoyed that for several hours. Well worth visiting on a wet day too!

Mont St Michel is also relatively near - certainly within easy driving distance.

We spent a day in Bayeux, an hour's drive, and enjoyed the tapestry and the shops (this town was hardly damaged in WW2 so maintains a very French, small shop feel, with lots to enjoy.

We also did the Maisy Battery, Omaha Beach and Pointe du Hoc, all worthwhile places to visit. And, as it was an invasion area, it's worth realising that the beaches are very good. For instance, at Omaha, you can park almost anywhere near the beach, for free. The road goes along, right behind the beach. Beautifully sandy and more or less empty!

On a previous visit to the area with went to the American Cemetery near Omaha, that too is well worth visiting.

So a lovely stay, with slight reservations about the pool regime. If we wanted to visit this part of Normandy again we'd definitely consider this campsite. (It's well signposted from the main road. )

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donnac 1 review from this member

Best site in Normandy, We have visited most sites in Normandy and this is the best one

We have been going to this site for around 8 years. Spotless and clean. People are really friendly and helpful and the site is perfect. This site is a must of you want a great holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alumchinegirl 3 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites that we have visited over the past 15 years of Touring in France, staying at various times and length. This year we Stayed on this lovely site for 2 weeks, with the Tour de France passing through Haye du Puits, on the middle Saturday.

It is a lovely quiet site with large hedged pitches, very good, clean showers and a lovely Pool with slide and large fishing lake. The family and staff are very helpful and there is a small bar where the WC football was watched.

The town of Haye du Puits is within 10 mins walk and there are good shops and Resturants there and a very good Market on a Wednesday. You can access many lovely sandy Beaches between 15/ 30mins drive and also the WW sites and Beaches 30mins + drive.

The icing on the cake was seeing the Cycle race go through the town and all the celebrations. The campsite was busy for the weekend but very well organised and did not feel crowded at all.

A wonderful Holiday despite a little rain, wonderful sitting hearing the birds, and Church Bells ringing, we love this site and as it is an easy 40 kms from Cherbourg we will return again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

Sorry only stayed the one night, what a lovely site, the pitches still looked good. The facilities were in good condition and clean. It is a nice walk into hay du puits were there are plenty of shops to suit your needs. With it's location we will definitely be returning for a longer stay during the season. But not the first week of July as the Tour de France is visiting!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil rawson 3 reviews from this member

Just had 9 nights at this site. It was superb. Could not have wished for a better site in any way

Great size pitch. You can choose your own if they not too busy. Pool great warm enough when we were there. Nice bar area. Fab toilets and showers they're mixed male and female but don't let it put you off they're fantastic. Clean water warm on all occasions we visited

The lake great for fishing. Fish will keep you busy whatever bait your using

Two mins in car to town and supermarkets or 20 min stroll if you prefer

Great location to visit all major sights in Normandy. To sum up excellent site. Would not hesitate to recommend. 5***** no hesitation to give 10/10 for everything. Great price too

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babysoprano 10 reviews from this member

Spent 7 nights at this site and planning to return next year for the Tour de France Grand départ.

Everything is kept spotlessly clean and all the staff are very friendly. No real shop on site apart from a few basics sold from bar area. Bread is available every morning though - just order from the office by 7 the day before. La Haye de Puits is only a 10 min walk away, good selection of shops and big market on Wednesdays.

Pool is great, never too busy while we were there and lovely temperature - not too cold at all despite what some reviews have suggested. Lots to do in local area, Bayeux, landing beaches all driveable to. Pretty towns nearby like Lessay and Portbail. Great cycling area - especially if you use the 'voies vertes', which are traffic free flat routes. One of these is accessible at bottom of hill on way into town.

Showers are push button and some don't stay on very long. It's worth checking before you choose a cubicle as there's a marked difference between them!

All in all a great site, very quiet, well organised and great value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katemundy 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a glorious ten day stay and were very impressed with the site. The camp-site is run very well by Patrice and his team who are all very polite and helpful. The pitches are all good sizes and are kept well. The toilet blocks and showers are very clean and always had plenty of hot water. There are plenty of washing up facilities which again are kept very clean and have plenty of hot water. There are washing machines and dryers should you require them. Cool-blocks can be frozen for you in the bar area as long as you name them! The swimming pool area is immaculate and the pool itself is great. There are several things for children to do including a kids club, a small park area, the lake for fishing or feeding the ducks. During the peak season, there are daily activities organised and evening entertainment is provided at the bar area. The evening activities are not at all loud and do not spoil the relaxing atmosphere of the site. The playground area does become a meeting point for young people during the evening, but they were not loud or obnoxious and not a problem at all.

There is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, including many historical sights and museums, sandy beaches, quiet villages with great restaurants and great markets.

We were very impressed with the swift way that the owner Patrice dealt with problems that arose on the site.

The local village is within walking distance and has a big market on a Wednesday. There are two supermarkets; Carrefour in the village and Inter Marche (with a petrol station) just outside.

Overall, a great site with lovely clean facilities, relaxing atmosphere all situated in a beautiful area

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dell106 5 reviews from this member

Such a good campsite.

Safe for children and very clean for everyone.

Pitches were good sizes and hook up's worked all the time we were there.

Each pitch had a cold water tap point near to them.

Shower block clean all day long and plenty of hot water available.

Swimming pool was simply fab! and the weather was also.

We did plenty of fishing in their lake which holds good sized Carp, and even the odd terrapin who used to sit on his stage and watch us fish.

We are definitely returning next year, but crossing at Pool to Cherburgh as the hold up on the French tolls were dreadful, and by the time you cost out what you pay in toll fees, tariff works out just slightly more but with less miles.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolwat 6 reviews from this member

Kn1te has done an excellent review below so I wont repeat everything they have already said.

This is an excellent site that we would definitely return to and infact wished we hadnt left to venture closer to Calais so soon. Its a family run site and all the staff members there were very friendly throughout. The facilities were kept immaculate throughout and despite the site not being busy were cleaned at least twice per day, even hoovered. The pitch was massive and although didn't have its own water supply wasn't far from the facilities block.

Some of the showers didn't stay on as long as others but that was the only problem I had. Other than that they were fine and didn't appear to be affected by toilets being flushed during our stay.

The lake was lovely and the below mentioned pedalo is available for hire at 3euro for 20 minutes regardless of number of people on it. My husband and son used it and the same could be said about those on the bank, they were annoying with their rods. At the end of the day its a lake and its not dedicated to fishing or the pedalo so a little consideration is needed. We bought a small remote control speedboat for our son and were given permission to use it on the lake, we did try not to get in the way of the fishing so hope we didn't annoy anyone. :)

All in all a lovely site that we intend on returning to.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3007 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019