Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Alicourts Resort

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Pierrefitte Sur Sauldre > Les Alicourts Resort Reviews

Les Alicourts Resort
Domaine Des Alicourts
Pierrefitte Sur Sauldre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41300
Tel: +33 2 54 88 63 34
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 490
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel68 8 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 2 weeks as a large family party with older teenagers and everybody had a great time. Les Alicourts is very well maintained, clean, lovely landscaping, friendly staff, modern toilets/showers (but still not enough hooks for hanging stuff!) Pitches are flat, large and usual grass/sandy surface. The big selling point for the site are the activities. There is so much to do and its very family orientated - there were lots of younger children there and it all seems pretty safe. Sports (great gym classes for adults in the morning), spa, water park, lake and beach area, golf. There were lots of brits there but its a real European mix, lots of Dutch - v friendly campers! A couple of v quiet but pretty villages a few kilometers away but for anything touristy you need to travel about an hour (Blois/Chambord)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familycampfunsters 8 reviews from this member

Have just come back from a week at this resort with two children aged 5 & 9. We drove her from Eastern France and was easy enough to find. The resort is very welcoming and you will quickly see that is is also very proffesionaly run, with a meet and greet by a uniformed receptionist. Our pitch (with a tent) was more than adequate. You do require an adaptor to suit your electric hook up but for a 20 euro deposit they will lend you one.

The site itself is very well maintained. The showers/toilets, etc are very clean and always kept this way. There is a large lake which we let our 10 year old kayak alone, with a small paddling area for our 5 year old. There is a waterpark which is decent in size but does get very very busy. The waterslides are great fun also. The bar area is again very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Prices are what you would epxect to pay at any resort. There is a shop on site that is well stocked and every morning you can get fresh croissants and baguettes, etc - recommend!

There is a restaurant that we didn't use, and there is also a fast food outlet open twice a day that is quite nice also.

We didn't really bother with the entertainment as we make our own fun. Both of our children were left to roam freely as we felt it was very safe. In fact we hardly saw our 10 year old apart from mealtimes and bed.

The downside to the site is it's location. If you are happy to stay on the site all week then this is absolutely fine. The nearest touristy thing is about 45 minutes drive and you can go to places like Orleans, and Blois and there are plenty of other places to do. As we had spent long periods driving on our holiday we chose not to. I took a road bike and went out on it for a couple of hours, but I don't think I turned one corner and did 30 miles. Very boring but the weather was nice so I didn't mind. You can get the train to Orleans from the nearest town which is about 10 miles away, and it takes about 35 minutes to Orleans. Didn't do this but wish we had.

The nearest Supermarket is in Salbris and is like a large Tesco. Decent prices. We bbq'd most nights and used this and the site shop. Beautiful selection of meats and fish.

Would we go again. No - but that's only because we like to go to different places. Would we recommend it? - Hell yes!

Finally it is a bit pricey but the way we look at it if you want nice things you have to pay a little but more.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jostyles-elms 5 reviews from this member

Great site for families with young children. The pool facilities were good. There was lots on offer to entertain the children with kids clubs and evening entertainment. The lake was good for swimming and families to use. We use our kayak and it was safe enough to let my 10 year old out on his own On the water. The shop on site was good and had a good selection of food. The take away food was good quality and reasonably priced. The camping pitches were flat and a good size. The pitches by the lake seem to get quite a lot of people around them so are not so private. The toilet and washing up facilities were good and cleaned regularly. There is a children's washing and toilet area with small showers, toilets and baths with shower heads over this is the best children's washing area I have seen and is great for children under 10 years and seemed to make washing time easier for parents and children. The staff were all friendly and helpful and all like to speak English. Would recommend this sight for young family's that want a holiday with everything on site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lyanabint 3 reviews from this member

First visit with family including grandchildren - Absolutely brilliant site for families - very well maintained with great swimming complex and organised children's clubs etc. The lake was lovely also our emplacement which was a chalet on the far side of the lake was lovely. The weather was perfect especially for May.

The only negative I have was the take away which we found was very disappointing and expensive. Would not use it again

Apart from that we had a brilliant week on a lovely campsite which I would highly recommend and the grandchildren absolutely loved it

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trekkin Tekkie 9 reviews from this member

As the name suggests, this is more of a 'resort' than a camp site. Depending on your preferences this could be a good thing or a bad one. About 70% of pitches, at least, are statics.

Certainly geared to young families, in August at least.

Reception style is more aligned with a modern hotel than a camp site, with uniformed receptionists etc. Prices to match though. And the extortion doesn't end when you have paid for the pitch. 8 euros for one hour wi-fi (!) / 10 Euros per day or 30 for a week. And to get it you have to accept a disclaimer that it will be slow and might not work. Worked for me though - I had to have it because I need to work whilst away.

Our second visit here, this time for a fortnight, having been hear three years ago.

Great site, I suppose, If you're a young family and this is your first continental camping experience. Many I spoke to were doing just that, with young families, and were loving it.

The 'sanitaires' are excellent. Shower temperature is adjustable, pressure reasonable, toilets have seats and toilet roll in the cubicle, and soap is provided for hand-wash. My only quibbles are that the main block is a bewildering labyrinth (so signage, or even a map would be helpful), and why oh why are ALL mens' toilets closed for cleaning between 7 and 8 each morning?

Despite booking 6 months in advance, and asking for a shady pitch, ours had none, until about 6pm each day. We did have some very hot weather during our stay (high 30s) and some shade would have been useful, if only to facilitate keeping food fresh.

The location (in terms of distance south) suits many who don't wish to 'waste' further days travelling, but for me the landscape for miles around the site is rather boring. The roads are long and straight, and heavily lined with woodland. Nearby towns are pleasant enough but too small to offer much for visitors. The chateau at Chambord is spectacular and is a feasible day trip if you can stomach the journey. Orleans is worth a visit too, and on a dull day you can join the convoy that inevitably forms from the site. We parked in the underground car park beneath the cathedral, which was surprisingly reasonable. Alternatively there is a park and ride system involving the new-looking trams.

The pool complex is great, especially for children of all ages. The waves in the wave pool are welcome for those of us who miss the real thing. Of course in high season it is overcrowded, and in our 14 days on site only once did we manage to get a pair of sunbeds. Space between sunbeds is minimal, so as the sun moves around you will not be able to move to follow it. Getting sunbeds on a sunny day involves partaking in the morning queue / sprint / bunfight / towel- spreading ritual.

The lake offers more space. Its usually possible to find adequate space for a decent swim: going along the edge of the wake-boarding area worked best for me.

Play on the pontoon/raft in the lake can get rough and is not for young kids.

Evening entertainment baffled me. It is abysmal, yet draws large audiences. Typically it will be sketches by the life-guards, or a 'Mr Alicourts' (drunk dads) competition. It's very family oriented, and I suppose passes the time, if that's your thing.

Nightime noise; the site rules show a quiet time of 10pm until 7. 30am. Whilst the entertainment can only be barely heard at the far reaches of the site (full-on if you'r pitched near it) it does wrap up around 10. 30 /11. There was lots of noise from people making their way back to their pitches, going on until after 12 most nights. Loud conversations on pitches until 1am, or on one occasion 2am went un-checked by site staff.

If you don't venture out, it is all too easy to forget you are in France. A pity, in my opinion.

If like ourselves, you have friends or family who wish to join you but prefer bricks and mortar, I would recommend Château des Bouffards - 18410 Brinon sur Sauldre - Tel : 02. 48. 58. 59. 88. Our friends invited us to join them over there for dinner and it was excellent and very peaceful.

We did enjoy our stay immensely: the site has lots of good points, and our company was great.

Will we return to Les Alicourts? Probably not. It's expensive, and other sites offer more (French things) to see/do in their immediate vicinity.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markpd999 6 reviews from this member

This is the most expensive campsite I have ever stayed on in France.

We were staying as a quite large group, 3 families, so I was expecting very high standards. I was disappointed straight away when told Wi-Fi was an additional 30 Euros per person per week; having three teenagers in the group this meant 90 Euros. Every thing you do on this site costs extra, Tennis, Frisby Golf.

Good points -

Pool complex is great if a bit small for the size of the site, playground looked good, toilets were clean and showers hot, lake with beach is great, fishing is average.

Now For the main Rant. The Restaurant.

For our second-to-last night we thought it would be a great idea to all have a meal at the site restaurant. There were 15 of us so we had booked well in advance and ordered our meals in advance too. As we walked in it was obvious that the head waiter was not happy, even though they had previous knowledge of what we were eating, Starters took about 40 mins and some of us were given the wrong order but mistakes can be made so being in good spirits this was just laughed off. Then the main courses started to come out, 3 were missing. This meant 12 of us had finished while 3 were still waiting; then when one of the kids got their burger, it came with cheese when we had asked for no cheese so we had to send it back. By this time the waiter was growling at us that this was not his fault. It was starting to be like Fawlty Towers. Still, mains over, we were feeling brave and had a sweet. Frozen profiterole rolls too hard to cut and a black crumble that had to be sent back.

By this time I had had enough and went to reception to complain. Bearing in mind that the site was 6 or 7 miles from the nearest town, and therefore the nearest competition, I had expected a little more effort on their behalf.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: NessP 9 reviews from this member

We stayed in a 6 person Chalet, the last week of August. The weather was great which helped as last time we visited in mayhalf term 4 years ago it rained everyday! The site is large with a mixture of mobile homes, chalets and camping pitches. We were the far side of the lake and loved the location. The pool complex was open at 10am and lots of people were putting their towels on the loungers then disappearing for a couple of hours! Pool complex was lovely, the main pool was a bit chilly, the pool with the slide and chute was warmer. My kids loved the pools. There was a wave pool and a baby pool. The indoor pool was great too, strictly trunks for men, it cost us 7 euros to use it, families allowed in the mornings only at 10. 30.

There is a lake where you can swim, hire pedaloes and canoes. The far side of the lake is for fishing. The shop was open at 8am til midday then from 4pm til 7pm. Bread and croissants etc available in the mornings, we did go early to ensure we could get them each day. Very limited stock in the shop as it was near the end of season. The bar was a bit pricey, didn't have my first two choices of drinks, again maybe as it was near the end of the season. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, although a little expensive. Steak 14 euros, burger and chips 11 euros. We did have food from teh take away which was fine, chips, pizzas etc.

Cant comment on the showers or loos I'm afraid. Playground was lovely for younger children. The lake did have a nice sandy beach which wasn't that busy. The golf course was always quiet, my hubby said it was fine. Not that much to visit in the nearby area to be honest but we knew that from our last visit. Super you in Salbris was 20 minutes, diesel was 1. 29euros.

We had a fantastic stay here, the sunshine helped, the only slightly negative is the location as I said not much to visit nearby but would go back as the sites facilities made up for this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lord Sc**thorpe 1 review from this member

Just returned from 8 night break at Les Alicourts in a tent.

Excellent site with large pitches. As others have stated toilets, showers etc are exceptionally clean. Huge lake with area sectioned off for fishing. Extremely picturesque with lovely walks around lake etc. When we were there the site was mainly occupied by Dutch families who were all charming and great fun. Shop is a little expensive but not excessively so and ideal for basics like milk and bread. The on site restaurant and takeaway did appear a little pricey though, although quality looked to be good.

Nearest supermarkets are 20 mins away at Salbris (Super U) and Lammotte Beuvon (Intermarche)

Local area is mainly forest and towns are few and far between. Pierrefitte and Brinon are lovely little villages with flowers everywhere. As with most French towns though they were virtually deserted.

Loads of things to do on site such as golf - nice course but artificial greens, football, climbing frames (very clean and excellent condition), basketball, pedalo's, kayaks etc (approx 10 Euros per hour)Pool complex tended to get busy but was very good. Yes water was not hot but neither was it freezing like I have read in other reviews.

Childrens clubs etc were excellent as was the evening entertainment which was mainly geared towards children.

Altogether a fantastic, clean and modern site set in a lovely region, yes a little isolated but the on site facilities more than made up for this.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleveley 8 reviews from this member

Perfect stopover site, exceptional cleanliness, kids facilities and on site provision.

This site is great if you want to spend most of your holiday on site by the pool/lake or enjoying the vast activities on offer rather than sight seeing. It is quite a drive to explore the main tourist areas of the Loire however.

Pitches were large and felt nicely spaced out. We stayed here for a couple of days enroute to the south of France. Perfect for what we wanted- to relax and stay on site whilst the kids (3 years & 10 months) had fun before driving further south. The play area was fantastic, and the pool complex probably our favourite out of the 7 sites we visited during this holiday.

We would highly recommend this site for a relaxing break, but if you want to see more of France we would recommend you try Chateau des Marais near Chambord or for a more basic site, Hortus at Sully Sur Loire.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbies 3 reviews from this member

This site is wonderful. The pitches were large and spacious. It is well worth booking a 'super' pitch with mains water and drainage. A lake side pitch is highly recommended.

The toilet blocks were immaculate with an excellent toilet block for children (mini toilets, showers and baths for babies and toddlers).
The on-site shop was adequate but slightly more expensive than a supermarket. The 2 lakes were good for children, one for swimming and one for fishing. Take your own frizbee as there is a really good 'frizbee - golf' site next door to the campsite - good fun for all ages.

The on-site entertainment was ok for children. The pools are brilliant - great for all ages and the children loved the wave machine. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The grounds are maintained to a high order. The spa facilities are excellent.
We had a few very hot days (early July) so this year will be travelling further south in the hope of better weather - but I doubt we will find a site as good as this one! The only downside is that the site is pretty remote. It is expensive but well worth the money.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019