Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Seatoller Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Seatoller Farm Camp Site Reviews

Seatoller Farm Camp Site
Borrowdale
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5XN
Tel: 01768 777232
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodsey 1 review from this member

Stunning location, no phone signal, no hook up, so relaxing, can't wait to get back. Daniel is really friendly, good showers, just don't forget to take insect repellent to protect against the midges.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

I stayed here to do some walking in the Borrowdale area. As others have said, the site is very basic, buy at £7 pppn you can't grumble too much.

The toilet block was near the entrance to the camping field and was reasonably clean. It now has something like a motion activated lantern that comes on when you walk in, but it doesn't stay on very long so if you went in to do a 'number two' you'd be left in the dark I'm guessing. As mentioned there is no hot water at the block at all - I got around this by bringing my Jetboil up with me to boil up some water for washing dishes.

I guess the main thing that might put people off is that the showers are not just a 200m walk across a field, they are a 200m walk up a road and into the village, being located around the back of the farm house. However, once there I was glad to find that they were free, with plenty of hot water. Another nice thing was that, unlike most other sites I've been on, the three cubicles were very spacious with plenty of space to hang things and a bench to put your stuff on.

Overall, I'd probably use the site again if I was walking in the area on my own. I wouldn't recommend it for families or for people who like a little luxury in their lives!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Backpackerlee 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a great location, close to lots of varied walks surrounded by trees and has a large running stream at the bottom of it, adveragly priced at £7 pp pn. We found the farm house easily and decided to pay for the first night with a young guy who was really friendly. When we got down to the camping area we found we were the only people here and thought we'd found a hidden gem!

Unfortunately the amount of trees meant we were constantly attacked by midges and flies during the morning and at night. They do allow a fire pit if you protect the ground which for me is a must at this site. The ground is pretty poor with very few spots for a good pitch, so you'll need to pick a good spot for a large tent to avoid the lumps and bumps.

No hot water for dishes, which Isn't a big deal but coupled with the fact the toilets have no lights, running hot water or hand wash, meant keeping our pots clean after meals and our hands clean after the toilet very difficult. I think the owners really should rethink this set up as it isn't much to ask for somewhere adequate to clean your hands and pots for £7 per night.

The showers were ok but a trek from the camping area

Finally the owners were abrupt and frankly rude in their tone and demeanour towards us, after getting back from a walk on the second day we were heading into the showers when we were challenged by a woman asking if we were guests? We replied yes and she continued to question us, asking when we arrived, when, who and where we paid, then if we were staying ? We replied yes for 2 more days. This was about 7pm Wednesday night. We set off back to the tent for some cash, after the 10 min walk back to the tent I realised I didn't have enough cash to pay for all 4 of us for 2 more nights, so we drove to the local town for a cash machine. We noticed the pub had a quiz on so we took part but arrived back late at about 9. 30/10 so I decided to go up to the farm house on the way out in the morning but never got chance as just 12 hours later at 7am we got awoken to the sound of a man banging on the tent pole of both tents demanding 'camping fees' - not a good morning, no sorry to wake you!

It's a shame because it does have its own charm that other sites don't!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BrandonX 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the second time, and the site is exactly as we remembered it 4 years ago. It is the best site location wise if you're in a campervan as all the best walks are accessible on foot from here, while the best pub (Scafell Hotel) is about 20 minutes away.

This site is still excellent value for money if you don't mind basic facilities (no hot water or lights in the toilet block), and I expect we will visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spiritburner 18 reviews from this member

Glad there are still sites like this. Basic & earthy. No hot water, no lights in the bogs, no hookups - just what you need & nothing you don't. Even showers up by the farm in the village.

This camp site isn't for everyone but for backpackers or walkers who just need a basic pitch it's perfect. If you like your campsites to have stars it's likely not for you.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sasara0 15 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site. It is basic so don't expect any frills. Basic loos and washing up area. Midges seemed to be hanging around. Beautiful views. The sky at night was stunning, so many stars, it was amazing. The Yew Tree wasn't opened when we visited but managed to fine at the local inn, I think it was called Langstrath Inn, which seemed to be in chaos. It took ages to get served with a drink, so no chance of ordering food. We alas popped into Glaramara and had a beer there too. That was a strange place not sure what it's purpose was. All in all, nice site at £6 pp good value.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The snappers 2 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here while we were walking in the area. Campsite amenities were adequate for us, toilets are not lit, but no big deal as a head torch did the trick. Pot washing cold water, but again just boiled extra cup of water to wash up. The showers are a walk back to farmhouse, not to be done in flip flops lol as I did, BUT! they were well worth the walk, spacious and plenty of free hot water. A godsend after our walk up Scafell Pike. To sum up we really enjoyed our stay at the site, good value for money, great location and friendly owners. Would recommend this site

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brigadear 6 reviews from this member

Excellent base for Derwent water, Buttermere and the Borrowdale valley. We camped outside of the school holiday period expecting a quiet site. The site is used for The Duke of Edinburgh award campers, and the on-site facilities were inadequate for the number staying during our visit. The site has a licence for 75 tents, but with two sinks, four wash basins [all cold water only] and four loos I think the on-site facilities need to be increased to cope with the demand. Take plenty of insect repellent as the midges are prolific.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SpookHunter 1 review from this member

A lovely secluded site set in a stunning location and an ideal base to explore Derwent Water, Buttermere and Crummock.

The site had seen a lot of rain just prior to the visit, but was pretty well drained and I had no trouble finding a suitable pitch.

On site toilets and wash-up area were clean and functional (you will need a torch to visit the loo in the dark) and the main loos and shower block, only a short walk away by the farmhouse, were clean also. Big plus that use of the lovely warm showers is included in your fee and are available between 8am and 8pm.

Friendly, welcoming host and such a beutiful area. It was quiet when I visited with only a handful of tents and one small campervan on site. This is what camping is all about. Recommended site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: First time user 1 review from this member

Idyllic.

Beautiful tree-lined campsite located in picturesque valley near Borrowdale. Views towards Scafell Pike.

Quiet and peaceful area with walking opportunities abounding.

Campsite facilities perfectly adequate.

Spent two nights at this campsite. First night although there were plenty of other campers, it was not noisy. Second night there were very few tents and it was as if we had our own private field.

Excellent value. Would recommend to anyone who loves the Lake District.

(From a first-time camper. )

There are also yurts available to rent.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019