Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coombe Leigh Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Chichester > Coombe Leigh Certificated Site Reviews

Coombe Leigh Certificated Site
Broad Road
Hambrook
Chichester
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO18 8RF
Tel: 01243 573883
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 9 reviews from this member

I chose this site from previous reviews, although very old.

The owners have some issues at the moment, so the site is more like a meadow. It is very well secluded though and has the advantage of a train station just 10 mins walk away. The lane to it is very uneven with large overgrown nettles and thorns. Of the 2 showers, 1 was always cold so we only used the other but there is no light in it. They do not get cleaned, nor do the 2 toilets. It is a shame as with a bit of effort it could be so very nice. I thought a bit pricey at £15 a night, plus £1 a night for the awning, plus £1 per person who visits!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

Lovely CL, down a 100 metre lane. Very secluded. Easy to miss the lane entrance, which is marked by the name Coombe Leigh on a yellow number plate type sign, 10 feet high on the tree at the entrance, but easy to miss. The field is huge, big enough for 100 caravans, so there's always plenty of room. Masses of safe room for kids to run about. There's an adjoining field with caravans stored there, some old and tatty, but it's separate, so no issue really.

Flat, level, grass well mown. The hookup points are near the house, but if you want to be away from there, there's a plentiful supply of extension leads available, miles of them!

The facilities are basic, but for a CL, they're fine, clean and they work ok. The only fault is that there was no hot water in the toilet sink, just cold.

The owner is pleasant and helpful. It cost us £25 for 2 nights, incl hook up. Not bad for such a pretty site.

The site is close to railway station, 2 minute walk, and a 15 min drive from Chichester.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pearson family 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three weeks with the children. Basic site with no frills but this encourages children/adults to talk and play together. Close to many things. Great walking in the area. Derek & Jean, the owners, couldn't be nicer or more helpful as was Fiona, their daughter, whilst she was there. Site deserves to be a lot busier than it is but I think it is just the way Derek & Jean like it. Toilets and showers are adequate and clean. Could probably do with a light sensor actually in the shower so that you can go over in the dark. There is no hot water in the sinks and so you need to take your own hot water over. Close to Nutbourne railway station but far enough away that you can barely hear the trains.

Entrance can be a little difficult to spot as you are effectively going down a shared driveway. There is a sign on the tree about 10ft up. Sign is made up like a car number plate.

We will definitely be going back to this gem of a site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sashadog 3 reviews from this member

I chose the site purely because of its proximity to the railway stn. I didn't want to be bothered visiting places and having to consider parking.

I am quite used to CL And CS type sites through our touring caravan. Obviously with having the tent for this trip I was keen to get a site with Showers and Toilet facilities.

When I arrived I was the only one there but within the hour other caravans and motor homes started to arrive but no more tents until later in the week.

The facilities on this site in my opinion are excellent. Two toilets two showers. They are old installations but kept really clean by the site owners. Both showers are free to use and have a really good flow of hot water.

The usual recycling facilities and a washing area with sink, but only cold water.

And of course porta pottie waste disposal and grey water disposal areas.

The electric hook up points were adequate, I'm not sure what amperage is available but it coped quite well with my mini fridge charging of mobile and my low wattage electric kettle. Which is all I required really. The site was well mown and I didn't have any issues with ground conditions. After some sites I have visited I would rate the site as Excellent with extremely friendly but unobtrusive site owners.

The charges for me were £13 per night all in.

Noise wouldn't be an issue for me because I am extremely deaf but the site being well back from the road I should imagine bird song is the only thing to disturb the solitude.

If you are in the area I can recommend this site.

Regards Brian

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iewe 1 review from this member

We eventually found the site after driving up and down the main road, and struggling to turn around twice, and then in desperation phoning them for directions. As it turns out, we were only about 50 metres from the turn off. When we arrived at the site and told them of our hardship in finding the turn off, the ownwer explained that their Sign Post had been blown down in the recent heavy winds. After finding a site, we started to get unpacked when my wife noticed that the van's jockey wheel had disintegrated in the hub/axle area. Disaster!How were we going to move the van, and support it? I went and spoke to the owner, who had a look, and within ten minutes he had the jockey wheel off, and took me to the nearest caravan shop, which was just down the road thank goodness. At the shop, where they knew him, and let me use his loyalty card to get 10% off the purchase price. Back to the van, and another 15 mins and he had the new wheel on. Job done and dusted in about an hour. What a life saver he was, and so modest and unassuming about my praise and thanks. A real gentleman. The surrounds are very nice, with daffodils and trees growing all over the site. The only noise was the birds in the early morning. There is a very nice Pub about a 5min drive away (The Barleycorn), which was very friendly, and although we did not eat there, the menu comprised of mainly fish dishes, which sounded great, and not too pricey. The toilets at the site are a bit primitive, but are clean and do the job. It is only about a ten to fifteen min drive to Plymouth, if the traffic is not busy. We will definitely be going back there, for the nice ownwners and the tranquility.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roger and Moira 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet, level site. Facilities clean and basic. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming with loads of advice about places in the area. They couldn't have been more helpful when we ran out of gas on Bank Holiday Saturday evening at 6 o'clock - the proprietor sorted us out with a small camping gas stove so that we could make a cup of tea and looked up on their i-pad when the caravan agents opened on the Sunday. The drive is easy to miss, but once you know the landmarks to look out for, it was simple. All in all a wonderful retreat to a place of calm and tranquillity.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim and Sue 1 review from this member

We spent an extremely relaxing long weekend camping with friends at this lovely, quiet, uncrowded site amongst fruit trees and shrubs.

The facilities are basic but clean with nice hot showers.

We found the owners to be very pleasant, easy going and helpful.

Good location with several pubs within walking distance.

Easy access to local towns and villages.

Good farm shop at Southbourne.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simonreynolds 1 review from this member

What a Pleasure.

A little difficult to find the small lane that leads to the site but that’s part of the charm.

A great little site in the orchard of the owner’s house. Not set spaces just choose where you want to set up and get on with it.

We visited with our motorhome and enjoyed our stay greatly. The owners were very friendly and helpful and showed us all facilities.

Facilities are fine. If you want designer bathrooms and robes go to a hotel.

Great train service within 10 minutes walk and the beaches and coastline are within easy reach.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris+jan 11 reviews from this member

Last minute booking, planned just for a 4 day weekend, such a lovely small site, we decided to stay longer.

Tucked away down a rather bumpy lane, behind the main house.

Don't be put off at the first sight, you can see some caravans in a small field to the left of the house, which is used as storage.

As you pass the house, the field just opens up into a lovely old orchard, with only a few trees about.

The lady at the house, said just find a spot & left us to it.

There was even extra long leads supplied if needed.

We were told the site was fully booked for the weekend, there was about 10 units including some tents.

Only 2 showers & toilets, but didn't have to wait once.

They were a bit dated, but clean.

We had a shower late one night & found there was no light for the showers, which was fun.

Grass well cut & level.

If you really sat & listened, you can hear the faint noise of the main A27 & the trains now & then.

The cows moo in the next field gives you that feeling you are in the county.

We had a dog with us, which has to kept on a lead, no walks off the site, but only a short drive the beach.

We would come back again, as this is a very relaxing site, our battery's were well & truly recharged.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dgw1963 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site. I agree with others comments about the approach, but once on the site it is lovely. We stayed as a stop over before catching the ferry and wished we had stayed longer. Space for the children to run and play, toilets basic but clean. Very relaxing.

Co op down the road for supplies.

We used the train to go to the Historic Dockyard. Excellent day out if a little pricey at £72 for a family ticket.

Great site.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4282 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019