Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rcn Camping La Ferme Du Latois

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Coex > Rcn Camping La Ferme Du Latois Reviews

Rcn Camping La Ferme Du Latois
Le Latoi
Coex
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85220
Tel: 0251546730
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for about 10 days in August. The site was pretty much full in all that time but it's a really spacious site, not only the pitches but all around. It's a dutch run site, so there was about 90% Dutch families but there was quite a few other British people when you looked around the site.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the lake side pitches are slightly more shaded that others, I also felt that they looked a little smaller. The site has 4 service blocks. 2 of these look really great for small children, with smaller showers, baby baths and family sized showers. The other 2 are more traditional, so if you do have young children it might be worth requesting a pitch nearer to the ones you prefer.

The swimming pool is lovely, the slides made it great fun, as was the bouncy castle and playground. We didn't really make much use of the children's entertainment as it was geared more towards Dutch speakers but it looked fun, and it was spread throughout the day/evening. We also heard it a little from our pitch but it was pretty much finished by 10pm. The sports field is very popular and the children often arranged matches there in the evening- whoever turned up was accepted into a team, so very welcoming.

The site had a lake which you could fish or boat on. It's a big, big shame that the water is not clean enough to swim in, that would really make a nice change from the pool. Also, when we did take the boat out, it was quite hard to avoid the fishers, it felt like we were encroaching on their space.

The shop was useful, you could get fresh bread and croissants in the morning. We ate out 1 evening, there was a lot of choice and it was nice not to cook but we felt it was slightly on the pricey side- possibly due as much to the poor exchange rate.

We visited a few places from here. We had a whole day and evening at Puy du Fou which is about an hours drive, plus Noirmoutier. We explored many of the coastal towns and some of the beaches and Apremont. It was a lovely site to relax at too!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dobs75 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from staying here for 2 weeks (pitches 185/186) and really enjoyed our stay (kids age 7, 12 and 16). We booked early in advance and were given a choice of pitches. We were staying with another family, requiring 2 pitches together and chose them from the site map and virtual tour online. The pitches are of varying sizes all a good size, but the pitches we chose were absolutely massive could have fitted 4 of our very large out-well vermont xl on the pitch with ease. Pitch Location for us was excellent a short walk from well appointed toilet block and was at back of site adjacent to a large playing field behind and in front was a large grassy area for the kids to play. A nice quiet spot The whole site has a very open and roomy feel, not hemmed in like some sites. The pitches by the lake were a bit too shady for us and smaller and I'm guessing a lot of mosquitoes so we avoided that area.

The shower/toilet block is modern and was cleaned daily. The first week we were there, the footfall was greater and there were times when the toilets/showers could have been cleaner, however the second week when the site was quieter was much better in this respect.

The pool is great with slides, but make sure you supervise the children closely as there is no lifeguard, our kids were in it every day.

The site is generally very quiet, no adult entertainment, just a bar which was very nice and lovely area to sit out and restaurant which we did not get a chance to try but looked nice. There are kids activities laid on during the day and evening but our kids weren't really interested, there was a bit of noise from the kids entertainers in the evening which we could hear from our pitch (disco music and talent contest etc) but in general these finished fairly early and were a minor irritation.

I'd say about 95% Dutch and a handful of English, no French that we saw. Everyone very friendly and the staff speak very good English.

We have stayed in Brittany the previous 2 years and I have to say the Vendee area is a different experience. In general is definitely busier and more populated. The beaches busier and parking at some of the beaches was tricky on some days. That said if you are looking for days out there is a lot more to do in this area and our older kids loved the days out we had.

We visited Grande Defo (a huge 'go-ape' type park with zip wires across a lake) even our 7 year old was able to do this with Dads help. We literally did not see the older kids for hours - they loved it and it felt very safe for them. Another highlight was O Gliss water park. Quite expensive but we were there all day until 7pm so felt like we got our moneys worth. Your need to book this in advance which we did online and glad we did as was fully booked when we arrived

Cycling is great in the area, really safe and loads of dedicated cycle paths so really safe for the kids. We enjoyed cycling from the site down to Lac Jaunay and ate at the Auberge on the lake twice, very relaxed and reasonably priced, fantastic moules frites.

Make sure you visit Sable d'Olonne on a Friday or Saturday night they close off the seafront to traffic and all the bars and restaurants spill onto the street for the evening. We had a fab meal and then walked along the seafront watching the different acts performing at each lamppost along the way - bands, magicians, samba What a fantastic atmosphere and not to be missed!

One problem we had was that the freezer for the blocks was situated in the reception/shop so could only be accessed during shop opening hours, sometimes on a long day out we did not get back in time. This freezer also served as a freezer for shop produce and was tiny, sometimes tricky to get the blocks in and close the lid! I think it would have been better to have provided a dedicated freezer for blocks in a communal area that could be accessed at all times, as not everyone has electric fridges

In summary. We loved the site, and pool but would have preferred a site perhaps without kids entertainment. Felt the area was a little busy for us but on the plus side the weather was great and lovely and warm even in the evenings. The kids loved the days out (although for us made the holiday more expensive). We will return at some point but probably not next year

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskensington 1 review from this member

Just returned from this well organised and spacious site. We had a choice of 7-8 pitches when we arrived. They were of varying sizes but due to our large set up we chose 106. Worked out for us though not a lot of shade except from evening sun.

Amenities were excellent, plugs in sinks and plenty of showers and toilets.

Our 5 children enjoyed the heated pool with its 3 slides, the many playgrounds, games and ride-ons at reception. The older kids hired bikes and there are some lovely handy cycle tracks from site. We went to Coex on cycle track and to Lac Jaunay. Great track around lake for the more adventurous.

We had take away a couple of times. Not a huge selection though. On our last night we ate out at the restaurant and the food and selection here was great. All 7 very happy.

The managers Emil and Yolanda were so helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. They helped arrange our days out by making phone calls for us etc.

As regards our days out the newly opened O' Gliss park is only 45min drive and well worth it. It was quite expensive as you can imagine but definitely the highlight of the holiday for our children.

We also visited Puy du Fou which was just over an hours drive from site. Another super day and super expensive! Food not so good at park so advise you to bring your own.

Huge choice of shopping towns in area but would suggest Aizenay would have better value food shopping than Coex. Also seems grocery stores near the coast also seem to charge more. La Roche sur Yon only 25 mins away has big shopping centre Les Flanieries worth a trip for wet day retail therapy.

We don't usually return to sites as we like to see a bit of the country but would definitely consider returning to Le Latois.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Russells 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from 12 days at this lovely site. Suited us perfectly, generously large pitches, relaxed, family friendly atmosphere. We were a bit restricted beach wise as we took our old dog. This was our first camping trip in France and the site fitted the bill perfectly. Plenty for 12 and under to do but not so much for older kids. Ours all enjoyed themselves though, and didn't want to come home. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joflo2 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 11 nights at this site. There were 2 families camping together (originally 3) and we requested pitches together when booking, we were sent a list of possible pitches and a map of the site to enable us to make an informed choice - how wonderful to have this choice! We had a caravan and awning and our friends a tent.

We had read reviews that the pitches were large and we had chosen pitches 65 & 66 and we were not disappointed, we had foliage in the form of trees and shrubs giving us some privacy and shade. We had a good look round the whole site and although the pitches varied in size and boundary foliage, they were all large by English standards and in all honesty there were very few we would avoid and this would be personal preference for proximity to sanitaire areas rather than the pitches themselves.

As stated we were 2 families, with 3 children in total aged 8 & nearly 6, they loved the site, the various play areas dotted about also made for variations of play, and reduced overcrowding in one play area. We all loved the pool especially as it was heated, my son does not like a cold pool! The slides were a big hit and the pool just big enough for fun but small enough to be able to keep a constant eye on the youngest.

There are a number of toilet blocks dotted about and we never to queue for a shower, the small block we were nearest too also had one larger cubicle so I could shower the kids together without being squashed. Always plenty of hot water, only minor irritation was the short bursts of water, meant trying to constantly push the button to get a decent hair wash. But as I said minor.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was more than acceptable, as said before not a la carte but still fresh and tasty, and kids eating free from kids menu was fab! We also made use of pizzas for our last night, also very tasty.

Kids enjoyed the entertainment they joined in with, the nightly playback show, singing and dancing, but we were out and about most days so we didn't make full use of the available activities, all listed in a weekly programme, which also very helpfully listed tide times for passage du gois, which really helped with our planning. Kids also got a fun pass which allowed them different treats, again we didn't make full use of them, but we did claim our free playing cards and I think ice creams and doughnuts were other options.

The on site shop was great for essentials, especially the morning bread and crossaints. Also selling English newspapers.

Our nearly 6 year old only mastered riding his bike on this trip and yet managed the cycle to the lake du jurnay with only minimal walking up the large hill at the end. There is also an easy cycle into the nearest village of Coex that our friends did, and the village had an express U, although we never went into the village our friends said it was lovely.

We visited beaches at brem sur mer (les dunes) on 2 days for excellent body boarding and a snack cafe there provided all manner of food from rolls, to crepes and wonderful chi-chis (long freshly made donuts) with a Nutella dip, coffees and ice creams also available.

We also visited sables-d'Olonne, St Gilles Croix de vie, noirmoutier en I'lle which were all lovely. A quick mention here for the utterly amazing puy du fou; tickets bought from the site in advance. An hours drive and a really long day. Get there for opening if you want to fit as many of the main shows in as possible, we saw 4, and although can't speak French and didn't buy the translator box, all 7 of us were totally blown away but the scale, professionalism and almost west-end quality of them. We would go again to see some of the others and actually see some of the park itself.

We shopped in super you and thee was also a hyper you both with about 20 mins drive and normally on way back from one of our outings.

We also purchased a blow up dingy and took that out on the campsite lake, which the kids loved.

Suffice it to say we would definitely return, hence the cycle round and pitch inspection. We had near perfect weather, temps in mid 20's with occasional cloud cover and minimal rain, one day was horrid, but as at beginning of holiday we used it as a day to search for good beaches and have a nose round pin parasol ( it was only a quick nose in the car, but we were glad we ended up at RCN and wouldn't choose PP in its place, many many more pitches and seems much more crowded, we like space )

To try and be balanced if I wanted a negative it would probably be the lack of being able to walk off site to a bar or restaurant if you wanted to, but really that would not put us off returning.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Argente4 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 10 nights during the second half of August as one of two families holidaying together with a total of five children ranging from five to 13.

We were able to choose our pitches when we booked ensuring we had adjacent pitches, and were even given the pitch sizes, not that it really mattered since all the pitches are huge.

On arrival we booked in and were shown to our pitches, given an information booklet and an animation book which listed the weeks activities. This was great for planning and meant we didn't miss anything due to lack of information. It's a shame we didn't read it properly straight away- we only realised the takeaway closed at eight when we went down there at 8. 45pm on our first night! Good job we had some burgers for the bbq.

The site is generally flat and pitches level, and it is probably the most spacious campsite we've been on. One half is more open (the side to the right as you enter the site) and the other side has the lakes and more shade.

The facilities were all excellent with the exception of the showers- we all found the water temperature could be quite erratic.

There wasn't really any evening entertainment except for some for young children quite early on. The children were happy to play football and cricket, and made great use of the various play areas, especially the trampolines.

The pool area was nice, with a couple of slides and a shallow area for paddling. Although not huge it was sufficient for the site. One great evening event was the night swim, that the older children loved. Other activities included archery, pony rides, a climbing wall and a visiting circus. All of these did have extra charge, except for the climbing wall, but none was extortionate.

There are several cycle routes direct from the site which are on either off road tracks or very quiet lanes. We managed a route down to the lake, and back up to Coex, before returning to the site.

This is a very peaceful, relaxed family site with excellent facilities and a well thought out, family-orientated animation programme.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sportbarny 3 reviews from this member

As other reviews have mentioned the pitches here are massive, we barely covered a quarter of the space including our car, pleased on arrival to be given a teddy bear for our 2 year old daughter and also a savings card for our 5 year old, entitling her to a free doughnut and ice cream with reductions on some of the paid for animation activities. Facilities are very good with both purpose built and converted blocks.

Trampolines provided also a nice touch, the pool was very busy at all times but again excellent and well staffed, the on site shop was very expensive but it is only a short trip the the Super you in Coex.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jedzi 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 weeks in the middle 2 weeks of August, with our 2 children (11 & 9) in our tent. Overall it’s a well-run, medium sized family campsite.

Pros

Absolutely huge pitches. Ours was 13m x 16m and wasn’t the biggest there. There by far the biggest we've seen in the UK or France.

The campsite was generally well run. We reported a couple of minor things and both were sorted without any hassle.

Toilets were clean and serviced regularly.

Generally quiet at night.

The pool was warm & our kids loved the water slides. We managed to get sun loungers every day, although it was pretty crowded the first week.

Cons

It’s about the only time we’ve been to a campsite and our children haven’t made several friends. Not too sure why; it could be because the large pitches kept people further apart.

There wasn’t much of a mix of nationalities. I’d estimate about 60 to 70% of people there were Dutch, with the rest being English. That’s not itself a problem, but did mean that there’s not much diversity.

The wifi was lousy.

The undoubted highlight of our holiday was 2 days at Puy du Fou; it’s slightly bonkers, but superb, our kids loved it. We also enjoyed eating at nearby Lac du Jaunay, a trip to Noirmotier.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dutch Andy 1 review from this member

What a great site! Owned and run by RCN (a Dutch company). The pitch was really big (197) and easily accommodated our 6 man family tent, a two man tent, eating area with tarp and car, with no extra charges. The vast majority of campers were Dutch families with young families. I found the campers to be very respectful of others on the site, with no noise between 11pm and 8am. The pool was also cleaned every day and kept at a good temperature.

Having been to a number of top rated sites in the UK, I have to say that this beat them all. Our 12 nights on this site went all too fast, but not before we visited Puy Du Fou. A bit of a drive, but what an experience! Absolutely brilliant! Everything as good as you see on their video clips.

All in all a gem of a site, where like-minded considerate campers are drawn.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Couple (51 & 49) - looking for a bit of peace, but with a few mod cons, and something to do. Particularly flat, easy, cycling. Close by!).

Arrived Sun 7/9, departed Fri 19/9 = 12 nights

After making our French camping début (Dordogne) 12 months previous, which went superbly well, we decided 'to risk' trying somewhere different. This site is massive by our usual (UK) standards, but not compared to many in this area.

We arrived unannounced (i. E. Didn't book) around 11am on the Sunday morning, with the plan of bagging one of the exposed (to the sun) massive pitches to the west side of the site. Unfortunately, as we were now in to the last two weeks of their season, we were informed this half was now closed, and we were shown on the site plan where was available. We strolled off to take a look. And were far from disappointed! We chose a pitch (107) which offered morning and early pm sun (In the shade by 4pm-ish) that 'measured' (paced out) at least 15m wide x 12m deep. And all covered in grass! We have 7m x 4m tent, 4m x 3m tarp, and a 7 seater car. And could have fitted two of everything on the pitch!

Having subsequently toured the site, I'd say this was average. Smaller, and shadier, by the lakes, more open, roomier and less shade on the west side, when it's open.

The welcome was friendly, helpful, and the Dutch staff spoke perfect English. First impressions were somewhere between excellent and superb. And they never wained throughout our stay!

Small but useful shop (With small chest freezer for campers' cool blocks). Nice little bar with outside tables. The restaurant looked very nice, (but in all honesty, despite planning on taking advantage of it, we just seemed to be so busy out and about, we failed to find time!) The pool was beautifully clean, (and heated!) and clearly quiet at this time of year. Large unisex facilities block was well laid out, always clean, always accessible, and never without hot water. Most of our neighbours were Dutch, and most were in caravans and awnings. And most seemed to be returning customers. Which speaks volumes!

There was little to no evidence of evening entertainment. Or many children, to be honest. September is a GREAT time to camp!

Location-wise, the site is rural, down it's own country lane, but the local village, Coex, is about 3mins by car, 10 mins max by cycle (quiet roads or off road tracks). Bank, Supermarket, a couple each of Bars and Boulangeries/Patisseries, and a takeaway sandwich/burger bar.

We spent a day cycling around the nearby Lac du Jaunay, and had a nosey at the other, some might say, ' more popular' local holiday parks! They all looked great for families, but we are convinced we chose the right site for us!

Further afield, the coast can be reached in less than 30 mins by car (Saint Gilles Croix de Vie), from where, you can cycle North or South, along the coast, as far as your legs can take you. And mainly away from the traffic. Perfect! We ended up cycling every day, and covered a total of 135 miles. With uncountable stops for refreshments, of course! Visited every resort from St Jean de Mont to just south of the wonderful Les Sables-d'Olonne. And loved every inch covered!

One tip. Grab some picnic snacks from the boulangerie in Coex, and cycle out to the lesser known Lac du Gué Gorand for lunch by your own private lake! Heaven!

Oh, and certainly wait for the tide to go out and cross the Passage du Gois from Normoutier back to the mainland (We cycled both ways on the dried out road. Then went back two days later, and drove across, waiting for the tide to ebb away, as we headed the queue across! Highlight of the holiday for Mrs M!

Weather-wise, we certainly struck lucky. Sunny and 28 degrees every day, 13 degrees every night. And 3 showers totalling about 18 minutes. 7 in the early hours (still in bed), 8 late one evening (Sat reading under tarp), and 3 whilst we were out on our bikes!

This was not a perfect holiday by any means. We didn't find time to cycle along as much of the coast as we'd hoped, and still need to reach La Rochelle and the Ile de Ré amongst others, and didn't even get close to seeing the wetlands of the Venice-Vert, in The Marais Poitevin.

Due to those disappointments, and the desire to return to many already now visited, I think we'll be back pdq. And I see no reason not to join those other returning visitors, to this wonderful camp site. See you all Sept 2015!

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Coex      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019