Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Paradis

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > St Leon Sur Vezere > Camping Le Paradis > Reviews

Camping Le Paradis
La Rebeyrolle
St Leon Sur Vezere
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24290
Tel: +33 553 507 264
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Helzie2020 2 reviews from this member

 We visited during a hot dry spell towards the end of the season. The pitches had a mixture of shade and sunshine.

The grass on the pitch had mostly disappeared after the hot summer so we were on sandy dirt, which tracked into the van and would have become muddy after rain.

The pool complex was excellent. There's a nice bar with a happy hour. We ate in the bar one evening, and the food was average. All the staff were very good.

The site is in a lovely area and there are walks along the river in both directions. There is wifi throughout the site but the signal was better on some pitches than others (we moved pitch for that reason).

There is a small on-site supermarket but the nearest shops are a drive away.

There are good recycling facilities, somewhere to leave items you don't want for others to take and a herb garden you can use. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lidds0 50 reviews from this member

 This is a favourite site of ours and we always visit when in the Dordogne.

Ge and Ellen feel almost like old friends and it's nice to recognise and be recognised by campsite staff. And staff at this campsite really are very nice people indeed.

This site never disappoints; the pools are lovely, the pitches are well kept, the courtyard bar and restaurant are atmospheric and popular. Sanitaires are well maintained, as is the entire site. You can help yourself to herbs from the herb beds.

It's conveniently placed for all beautiful attractions of the Dordogne, an easy drive to Montignac for provisions and a 45 minute drive to Sarlat if you fancy more choice.

You can walk from the site, along the Vzre river to La Roque Saint Christophe. I personally wouldn't swim in the Vzre ad its too murky and there's a lot of weed, but it's nice to walk along, between the river and fields of sunflowers.

We did notice there were very many more families with young children this year and the heated pool was rather monopolised by littlest with inflatables. We overheard one younger person refer to the larger, unheated pool as 'The Old Persons Pool' but that's probably because there was no way for more mature customers to use the other one because of all the inflatables crocodiles and rubber rings! 😀

All-in-all, we enjoyed a really lovely stay, and will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 I'm going to buck the trend on this one and say I found it a bit disappointing. The setting is very imaginative and impressive as others have said - as a gardener I very much admired the topiary hedges and fabulous floral displays, but wonder if this and the layout contributed to the disappointment.

The site is divided into sets of six or eight pitches with bushes and some hedging dividing each individual pitch; the positioning of some bushes and trees - although attractive - makes it difficult to get access with anything bigger than a small camper van.

I never thought I'd be someone who trekked back to reception to ask for a 'better' pitch, but we couldn't get on or off without scraping our moho on low branches or damaging the tree. We saw countless new arrivals wandering around with site maps, obviously having had the same problem!

There are a few 'super pitches' although the locations of these didn't appeal - eg next to a service road where staff were running back and forth with buggies to clean the statics etc.

It was also the least friendly place we stayed in two and a half weeks -there was a mix of nationalities, so it wasn't an 'anti-Brit' thing. It maybe because within the the blocks of pitches there is little privacy - great if you are groups of friends pitched toghether however.

We eventually ended up in a cul de sac near the river which was lovely and peaceful, but a long way from the main buildings, pool etc. No real criticism of the facilities - the site was pretty busy but there were plenty of sunbeds around the two outdoor pools and a lovely shaded area for parents with tiny tots between the shallow pool and the splash pad.

Play areas are ample and suitable for children of all ages. The very clean sanitaires are unisex which I found a bit irritating - it's often a necessity on smaller sites but it should have been easy to build separate blocks on one as big as this.

The restaurant and bar area are very pleasant indeed and we had a good meal one night plus a takeaway another night; the young staff are utterly charming and friendly, and a 'film theme quiz' one evening made for good entertainment.

Reception and shop staff were also friendly and helpful. The location is good - I would advise against trying to walk to St Leon; it's not that far but the road is very busy and narrow in places.

The lovely town of Montignac is close by as are plenty of other attractions. There's also good hiking in the area - Cote de Jor has gasp-inducing views over the Vezere valley and can be reached by a steepish path direct from the site; you can also walk to Roc St Christophe along a farm track from the site.

As with many of these sites the river is a real draw - you can hire canoes, go tubing or enjoy as I did, a first taste of open water swimming in almost bath-temperature water. It's nice to just sit and watch the kayaks go past or walk along the farm track and gawp across the river at Roc St Christophe.

I feel this would be a good site for families or groups travelling together - I'm glad we went but the atmosphere is not for us, hence my low overall rating 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sallysensibleshoes 6 reviews from this member

 We hadnt planned to come here but decided to on the strength of a recommendation from a couple we met earlier on our holiday.


Its a much bigger site than were used to, but the pitches are set out cleverly with lush planting for privacy. Absolutely amazing plants and flowers, a blaze of colour, all beautifully maintained.

Fabulous situation on the Vezere, we had a wonderful day paddling downstream in a kayak (booked at the campsite). Delicious lunch at a riverside spot in St Leon, where you could buy a beautiful picnic with cheeses and charcuterie of outstanding quality, and craft bottled beers. We also walked to a nearby Troglodyte site, fascinating and well worth the longish walk in very hot weather.

The pool was still open, and there was a supermarket and restaurant on site. All the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful.

My only gripe was the communal wash block, I just dont like using the same toilets as the men! Although the site was almost full, we never had to wait for a shower and it was all kept very clean.

Extremely high quality site in a beautiful location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 34 reviews from this member

 5 star campsite, beautifully kept site run by Ellen and Ge with attention to detail. Pitches are big some are very private and ours had water and drainage.

The toilets and showers were very clean, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and pool changing facilities even had lockers and toilet/showers.

Every day activity like water aerobics, water polo are run in English as well as other nationalities but we were told it is heavily advertised in the Netherlands so lots of Dutch predominately were on site and we always find they are very friendly.

We had a day out canoeing down the river Vzre for 32 for half day but we took nearly all day by stopping for lunch at St Leon was very enjoyable.

Already booked for next year as we were that impressed 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 27 reviews from this member

 We've been lucky enough to stay at some cracking sites over the years (not least thanks to reading reviews on websites such as this one). But Camping Le Paradis might just be the single best one of them all.

It had been a long journey for us to get there, which had left me tired and cranky. But even in that mood I couldn't think of a single critical thing to say about the warm and friendly welcome and fast and efficient check-in process that we received. We were offered a choice of pitches, and all of the ones we saw were of a good size and separated from their neighbours by shrubs or hedges. However, if you have an awing it's worth paying a little bit extra for an 'XL' sized pitch which really allows you to luxuriate.

Facilities are plentiful, with an indoor and two outdoor pools, a steam room and sauna, a table tennis table and a football pitch. All of these, as well as the many toilets, showers and sinks are kept spotless. Swimming in the Vezere river, which backs onto the site is also permitted (though not supervised and there is a current). Bikes, children's go-karts and canoes are available to rent and the latter is a must do - the river is beautiful and peaceful. When you just want to relax, the beer in the bar is wonderful (though beer always is when you're hot and it's cold) and though the choice of food is fairly limited, it's of good quality and well-cooked. Entertainment is offered in the bar for a couple of hours on some evenings, and in the pool area during the day but this never felt invasive - the organisers are quite happy for you to sit and watch without compelling you to participate.

Don't think though that because it's a large site with lots of facilities, it always feels busy and noisy. It really doesn't. The owners have taken great care with the planting (even to the point of adding signs explaining the different vegetation and habitats) so that whatever part of the site you're staying on feels secluded. You really can sit quietly undisturbed outside your caravan, motorhome or tent if you so choose.

Some reviewers have criticised the quality of the grass on the pitches, but at least part of the reason for this is that the site don't ban carpets or groundsheets in tents or awnings. Would you rather they did?

The only critical comment that I can think of is that the site is in a fairly remote location, and that with the exception of the on-site shop and bar and a cafe in the tiny village of Saint-Leon-sur-Vezere, there is very little within walking distance. But look, you've driven to the site so you can put up with this. And if you really want to get out of your own vehicle, you can rent a bike or an electric car (yes, that's also available to hire) from the site.

We would return in a heartbeat. If only it wasn't 900 miles away from where we live. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lidds0 50 reviews from this member

 We've visited (and reviewed) this site several times before and love it.

The only thing to add is, the outdoor pool area was being re-done during our recent visit which meant only the indoor pool was in use and there was some associated building noise etc. The new pools and splash pad will be super when finished but it would have been helpful if the fact it was still under construction had been mentioned on their website or in the ACSI book. I've subsequently marked the facilities down a bit for this review, though doubtless they'll again warrant 10/10 when completed.

One small niggle: though we visited in early season, many of the pitches looked very worn and patchy, and with all the recent rain many were waterlogged. There's more chickweed than grass on many pitches and this seems not to soak up the water so well as grass, so might be part of the problem?

Staff were all friendly and helpful as always, sanitaires first-rate and immaculately clean. The bar and restaurant areas are great. The welcome drink and bottle of wine on departure just demonstrate their attention to detail and customer satisfaction. In fine weather and with dry pitches, this remains one of our favourite campsites in all of France. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindylou1 1 review from this member

 Camping Le Paradis is the site that we use as our comparison site and it still remains at No. 1. Ellen and Gu run this beautiful site with the friendliest manner. You see them around the site and they are never too busy to speak to you. Silvie in the office speaks excellent English even being able to explain to us which part had died on our car (immobiliser) when liaising with the repair garage some years ago. The camp site from entrance all the way to the river bank is like entering someone's beautifully kept garden, the trees, shrubs and flowers are magnificent. If you go in early June you can actually watch them grow and produce day by day. Each small grove has a floral/botanical name and these sometimes include a Eurocamp tent or two. We have our favourite pitches which we sometimes reserve but as we travel out of main season it's not usually a problem to find a pitch to suit our needs. Some pitches are massive. The site is served by two large toilet blocks and I have never had to queue up ever. They are kept very clean. There is a dog shower outside too. There are mini toilets and sinks for little children. The pool areas are gorgeous and the covered pool ensures you can swim whatever the weather, with this complex having a sauna and jacuzzi too. You can hire cars, bikes, canoes, go on guided rides, walks, canoe trips too. There is usually some entertainment in the lovely courtyard area on one or two nights a week in June, more in peak season. The restaurant and take away are located here too. With a well attended 'Happy Hour' every day families sit under the new sunshade sails and catch up with friends, before either eating from the restaurant or going back to their own dinner. There are books available in the library located above the bar, you may need help finding it but there are always a few English books to be found. The tiny village of St. Leon is very beautiful, Roque St Christophe is fascinating and you will have no problem finding some interesting and amazing towns around the area, despite having visited over ten times we still find new places to visit. You can use an ACSI card during low season and the site also run some offers too. The gardener has a beautiful plot full of herbs, tomatoes and strawberries that visitors are encouraged to pick a few, how brilliant is that! There is an excellent notice board near the office so watch out for local attractions and the daily weather report, a must for ever Englishman. The shop has a small but useful selection of foods, fresh milk (not always available on French sites) bread, croissants and pain au chocolate and wines. They sell ice creams too, a necessity during the scorching time we spent there in June. The site has a children's playground, a huge football area, a boulodrome for competitive boules matches and there are go karts and children's bikes too. On each pitch are your own tap, drain and electric hookup, what we usually call a super pitch and the WFI is now quite good all over the site, but for a few Euros you can get a guaranteed signal. There is a small outside fitness area and a table tennis table and tennis courts, it was just far too hot for us to try any of them. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lidds0 50 reviews from this member

 We just can't fault this site! The owners and staff are wonderful (approachable, accessible, friendly, helpful and informative), the pitches are level and generously-sized, the sanitaires kept immaculately clean, the indoor pool is excellent, the outdoor pools (which weren't open when we were there) look fab, the location ideal.

The courtyard bar area is lovely and the attention to detail (planting etc) is second-to-none.

We're hoping to go back at the end of August. It's a wonderful place. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitcat 11 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous stay at LP. Helpful staff, great atmosphere, lovely surroundings and pool. Again we saw many familiar faces and it's such a popular site. Great night at the food market at St Leon (I think it's every Thursday). I've given lots of reviews before but just to confirm another great stay. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Paradis child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Paradis have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Paradis?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Paradis dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Leon Sur Vezere      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement