Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Paradis

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > St Leon Sur Vezere > Camping Le Paradis Reviews

Camping Le Paradis
La Rebeyrolle
St Leon Sur Vezere
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24290
Tel: 33 (0) 553 507 264
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 11 reviews from this member

5 star campsite, beautifully kept site run by Ellen and Ge with attention to detail. Pitches are big some are very private and ours had water and drainage.

The toilets and showers were very clean, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and pool changing facilities even had lockers and toilet/showers.

Every day activity like water aerobics, water polo are run in English as well as other nationalities but we were told it is heavily advertised in the Netherlands so lots of Dutch predominately were on site and we always find they are very friendly.

We had a day out canoeing down the river Vézère for €32 for half day but we took nearly all day by stopping for lunch at St Leon was very enjoyable.

Already booked for next year as we were that impressed
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 19 reviews from this member

We've been lucky enough to stay at some cracking sites over the years (not least thanks to reading reviews on websites such as this one). But Camping Le Paradis might just be the single best one of them all.

It had been a long journey for us to get there, which had left me tired and cranky. But even in that mood I couldn't think of a single critical thing to say about the warm and friendly welcome and fast and efficient check-in process that we received. We were offered a choice of pitches, and all of the ones we saw were of a good size and separated from their neighbours by shrubs or hedges. However, if you have an awing it's worth paying a little bit extra for an 'XL' sized pitch which really allows you to luxuriate.

Facilities are plentiful, with an indoor and two outdoor pools, a steam room and sauna, a table tennis table and a football pitch. All of these, as well as the many toilets, showers and sinks are kept spotless. Swimming in the Vezere river, which backs onto the site is also permitted (though not supervised and there is a current). Bikes, children's go-karts and canoes are available to rent and the latter is a must do - the river is beautiful and peaceful. When you just want to relax, the beer in the bar is wonderful (though beer always is when you're hot and it's cold) and though the choice of food is fairly limited, it's of good quality and well-cooked. Entertainment is offered in the bar for a couple of hours on some evenings, and in the pool area during the day but this never felt invasive - the organisers are quite happy for you to sit and watch without compelling you to participate.

Don't think though that because it's a large site with lots of facilities, it always feels busy and noisy. It really doesn't. The owners have taken great care with the planting (even to the point of adding signs explaining the different vegetation and habitats) so that whatever part of the site you're staying on feels secluded. You really can sit quietly undisturbed outside your caravan, motorhome or tent if you so choose.

Some reviewers have criticised the quality of the grass on the pitches, but at least part of the reason for this is that the site don't ban carpets or groundsheets in tents or awnings. Would you rather they did?

The only critical comment that I can think of is that the site is in a fairly remote location, and that with the exception of the on-site shop and bar and a cafe in the tiny village of Saint-Leon-sur-Vezere, there is very little within walking distance. But look, you've driven to the site so you can put up with this. And if you really want to get out of your own vehicle, you can rent a bike or an electric car (yes, that's also available to hire) from the site.

We would return in a heartbeat. If only it wasn't 900 miles away from where we live.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We've visited (and reviewed) this site several times before and love it.

The only thing to add is, the outdoor pool area was being re-done during our recent visit which meant only the indoor pool was in use and there was some associated building noise etc. The new pools and splash pad will be super when finished but it would have been helpful if the fact it was still under construction had been mentioned on their website or in the ACSI book. I've subsequently marked the facilities down a bit for this review, though doubtless they'll again warrant 10/10 when completed.

One small niggle: though we visited in early season, many of the pitches looked very worn and patchy, and with all the recent rain many were waterlogged. There's more chickweed than grass on many pitches and this seems not to soak up the water so well as grass, so might be part of the problem?

Staff were all friendly and helpful as always, sanitaires first-rate and immaculately clean. The bar and restaurant areas are great. The welcome drink and bottle of wine on departure just demonstrate their attention to detail and customer satisfaction. In fine weather and with dry pitches, this remains one of our favourite campsites in all of France.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindylou1 1 review from this member

Camping Le Paradis is the site that we use as our comparison site and it still remains at No. 1. Ellen and Gu run this beautiful site with the friendliest manner. You see them around the site and they are never too busy to speak to you. Silvie in the office speaks excellent English even being able to explain to us which part had died on our car (immobiliser) when liaising with the repair garage some years ago. The camp site from entrance all the way to the river bank is like entering someone's beautifully kept garden, the trees, shrubs and flowers are magnificent. If you go in early June you can actually watch them grow and produce day by day. Each small grove has a floral/botanical name and these sometimes include a Eurocamp tent or two. We have our favourite pitches which we sometimes reserve but as we travel out of main season it's not usually a problem to find a pitch to suit our needs. Some pitches are massive. The site is served by two large toilet blocks and I have never had to queue up ever. They are kept very clean. There is a dog shower outside too. There are mini toilets and sinks for little children. The pool areas are gorgeous and the covered pool ensures you can swim whatever the weather, with this complex having a sauna and jacuzzi too. You can hire cars, bikes, canoes, go on guided rides, walks, canoe trips too. There is usually some entertainment in the lovely courtyard area on one or two nights a week in June, more in peak season. The restaurant and take away are located here too. With a well attended 'Happy Hour' every day families sit under the new sunshade sails and catch up with friends, before either eating from the restaurant or going back to their own dinner. There are books available in the library located above the bar, you may need help finding it but there are always a few English books to be found. The tiny village of St. Leon is very beautiful, Roque St Christophe is fascinating and you will have no problem finding some interesting and amazing towns around the area, despite having visited over ten times we still find new places to visit. You can use an ACSI card during low season and the site also run some offers too. The gardener has a beautiful plot full of herbs, tomatoes and strawberries that visitors are encouraged to pick a few, how brilliant is that! There is an excellent notice board near the office so watch out for local attractions and the daily weather report, a must for ever Englishman. The shop has a small but useful selection of foods, fresh milk (not always available on French sites) bread, croissants and pain au chocolate and wines. They sell ice creams too, a necessity during the scorching time we spent there in June. The site has a children's playground, a huge football area, a boulodrome for competitive boules matches and there are go karts and children's bikes too. On each pitch are your own tap, drain and electric hookup, what we usually call a super pitch and the WFI is now quite good all over the site, but for a few Euros you can get a guaranteed signal. There is a small outside fitness area and a table tennis table and tennis courts, it was just far too hot for us to try any of them.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We just can't fault this site! The owners and staff are wonderful (approachable, accessible, friendly, helpful and informative), the pitches are level and generously-sized, the sanitaires kept immaculately clean, the indoor pool is excellent, the outdoor pools (which weren't open when we were there) look fab, the location ideal.

The courtyard bar area is lovely and the attention to detail (planting etc) is second-to-none.

We're hoping to go back at the end of August. It's a wonderful place.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitcat 10 reviews from this member

Another fabulous stay at LP. Helpful staff, great atmosphere, lovely surroundings and pool. Again we saw many familiar faces and it's such a popular site. Great night at the food market at St Leon (I think it's every Thursday). I've given lots of reviews before but just to confirm another great stay.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We took our own unit to this site but, on arrival, found most of the pitches were muddy and a bit waterlogged, so opted to stay in a Canadian tent instead. We had a fabulous time, despite the weather being a bit hit-and-miss.

What can one say about this lovely site which has not already been said? The garden setting is its main feature (the fig trees and the herb garden - where you can help yourself - just add to the ambiance). The pool area is glorious and proximity to local attractions and lovely villages can't be bettered.

The restaurant gets busy - booking is imperative - but worth a look, as is the bar area.

There's a great play area for younger children and bike and canoe hire on-site for older ones.

The owner/managers are genuinely interested in providing their guests with a positive stay experience and are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

I can't fault the place. Then again, we stayed in low-season and I'm pretty sure it will get very busy in July and August, which may stretch the facilities a bit more.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitcat 10 reviews from this member

Another fabulous visit despite some rain at times. Have booked again for next year - not much left even now! The inside spa area is wonderful and the site continues to be really well cared for and clean. A warm welcome again from Ellen and family as always.

This year we took the dog for the first time. Very dog friendly. Only place we couldn't take her was the pool area (not surprisingly). The joy of this site is that is that it gives kids freedom and experiences that they may not get at home. If you don't like kids - don't come at peak time. Our kids are older now but still enjoy it. We met some young people who now come on their own but have come since being children. This is a very successful site and if it's your thing you will love it. There is a lot of repeat custom. There is a very lively atmosphere but you can find quiet closer to the river of you want it. Can't fault it. Brilliant value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 9 reviews from this member

Visited during the peak season in August with a family two children aged 9 and 13

The whole site is very nice in general terms. Very clean toilet and shower blocks. Great shop on site and facilities were great.

The pitches were sadly very worn and muddy where people had used plastic sheets under there tents or awnings. Some of the sites were hard to manoeuvre a large caravan onto but our motor mover saved the day.

Negatives were the amount of children who were just left to their own devices using the on site go karts and bikes to charge up and down the main avenue leading to the shop/ bar area. We saw two accidents where young children actually ran down adults as they couldn't stop in time. The go karts where supposed to be locked up at 8pm. No chance as they continued until very late. They really need to monitor this as it spoils a fantastic site.

The river runs down passed the bottom of the site and canoes can be hired which was great fun they take you about 5 miles up stream in a bus and you row back down stream passing a great village for lunch.

Overall great site which I wouldn't hesitate to return to but they do need to sort out the kids cycling at high speed up and down the main walk. Fantastic location for seeing a huge amount of pretty villages and towns and local attractions

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

Visited in low season, so not rowdy or full of children

Extremely lush tropically planted site, made up of little groves of 6 or so pitches, so although the site is large, your surrounds seem intimate.

The indoor and outdoor pool areas, with jacuzzi and 2 types of saunas are simply amazing for relaxing in.

Shower blocks are large and clean.

Reception speak excellent english.

There are many many worthy attractions to visit easily from this site, so it makes it an excellent base.

Negatives:

Some pitches are tiny, low trees make it hard for manoeuvring onto some pitches.

Pitches are worn and weedy, making them muddy after the slightest rainfall.

If the site was full, it would maybe feel cramped.

Overall, a beautiful and well cared for site

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3539 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019