Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blackbarns Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Site Reviews

Blackbarns Farm
Lower Burnham Road
Latchingdon
Maldon
Essex   (Browse area)
CM3 6HFCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: June To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kallithea 5 reviews from this member

This site is a small but adequate field for 5 Units set behind the farm so quiet and away from the road. The field slopes and the ground is a bit soft but it is well drained and maintained. Alpaca's were in a compound on the way to the facilities block, taking an interest in anyone passing by, and more in the surrounding fields. The highlight for me was the uninterrupted views across the valley to the river Blackwater which were a delight to wake up to. The facilities block needs modernising but is functional.

I enjoyed my 7 night stay and the relatively flat cycling in the surrounding district.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sprucy 12 reviews from this member

I stayed at this campsite with a friend for a few nights in June. There were some problems with communication with the owner initially but these were eventually overcome and she gave us a bottle of bubbly as a way of apology, which I thought was nice. What I really like about this campsite is that it is small, quiet, and non-commercial. So much so that it is easy to miss the entrance as there are no signs to it along the road. There is a great view, though it is marred by pylons going straight across it. Having a freezer and fridge available is very helpful. The facilities are okay, though the two showers are enclosed in a room with a basin, which is great for a family or couple, but if a person goes in on their own and locks the door, then the second shower and basin cannot be used until they emerge. The campsite was not at all busy but the toilet paper in one loo ran out on Saturday night and was not replenished until some time on Sunday morning. There was no rubbish bin in the washing up room where the fridge and freezer are. I suggested to the owner that it would be helpful to have one in order to avoid bits of food scraps being left in the sinks. Overall I was happy with this site and it is very well placed for visiting places of interest to bird watchers. The main downside for me is that you can hear traffic, albeit not too loud, at all times.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blingbailey 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a night and it's a great little site. We were the only 2 tents in the field whilst we were there!

Yes the toilets are in a portacabin but they are functional and the showers are hot which is all you need. Be prepared for a walk though. The toilets are situated at the end of the labe near the entrance to the site. If you are camped over in one of the far corners of the field it makes for a trek!

I didn't meet Jackie, the owner, as they were away when we were there but her nephew let the kids help collect fresh eggs from the chickens in the morning. Yes, there is a bit of noise but it's a working farm so expected.

The downsides are that communication with the owners is not great. The telephone never appears to be answered and emails answered periodically. I suspect that this is because the camping is just an extra business to the farm and not the main priority, which is fair enough.

There is a fab pub called the Three Horseshoes 5 mins down the road. Turn left out of the site and stay on the main road. It's the first pub you get to. Just make sure you are hungry. Portions are huge and it's really good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LinziL 1 review from this member

We have stayed here twice before and loved it! The owners are so welcoming and helped us out last minute on our 3rd camp. The field is kept in really good condition, there is plenty of room between pitches. Surrounding fields with horse / Shetland / chickens / goats and now even 2 alpacas! the showers & toilets are very clean and always well stocked with tissue / soap. There are two washing up areas, one shed which also houses a freezer and a fridge which is really handy. There are two children's play frames with slides & swings which they just love!, you can buy eggs too which is great for the children to go and collect themselves. Plenty of bins for rubbish/recycling and well working tap. Highly recommend a visit here.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevlind 1 review from this member

What a fabulous site. Excellent location, so open, fantastic views and extremely well cared for facilities. We organised a large family birthday party on the site. The owners were most helpful and did everything to make our stay and the party a special occasion. It's a lovely friendly working farm. Animals in the adjacent field add their own interest and there is plenty of space for the children to play.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TheTs 8 reviews from this member

Very accurate description on their website, very friendly people, fantastic views from camping field, we thoroughly recommend this site and will come again.

It is a small scale campsite and that is part of its charm. They do really nice eggs as well.

There are no footpaths from the site but you can park at the railway station and walk up the estuary. Burnham on Crouch is just a short drive away, with lots of pubs etc. Also a Dengie Pennisular food trail.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keg80 1 review from this member

We visited this site, having searched for campsites on a farm using this website. There were 4 adults in our party and 4 children aged between 6 and 2 years old. We paid £20 per night for all of us, inclusive of our large tents, cars etc.

We were very impressed with the site. The camping area is situated in a field with sheep, geese and chickens in adjourning fields. The children were able to feed the chickens whenever they wished and in the morning to help the farmer collect eggs. The cost of this was £1 for the 6 eggs. The field is very safe to play on and there is some playground equipment as well.

The toilets and shower area are very clean and were well stocked with toilet paper and soap, at all times. There is also a washing up area which again is stocked with t-towels and washing up liquids and a fridge and freezer for campers to use to store food, which we found a real bonus.

There is a small shop selling meat and jam produced at the farm, which we found to be good value (for example 2 lamb chops at £1. 50. Wine was also available from the near by vineyard.

I think for the price this campsite is a real bargain and would definitively recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

Would agree with previous reviews. Quiet small site, gentle slope, lovely views. Showers/toilets were adequate and quite clean, but access was not very well lit, so take a torch.

There were some noticeable smells, but this is a working farm, so not unexpected.

Maldon and Burnham are quite near and well worth a visit. Local pub, 3 Horseshoes at Althorn, served excellent food, but we couldn't take the dog inside. Interesting garden though.

There is a field to exercise the dog, but nowhere to walk from the site.

The road is quite busy and has no pavement. On site eggs and bacon were much appreciated.

We were charged £15 a night for a motorhome, 3 adults, 1 child, a dog, an awning and an extra vehicle. With a 13A hookup this was excellent value. Would come again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moonstone 9 reviews from this member

Blackbarns Farm is a friendly little campsite that overlooks the Blackwater river and its associated flood plain. This site is small (only 14 pitches in total), but feels spacious due to the fact that it's surrounded on three sides by open fields. The pitches themselves are of a generous size, though the ground does have a slight, albeit workable, slope to it. When we visited in August the ground was baked dry and heavily cracked, but even so we had no difficulty pegging out. The site is located just off a fairly busy road, but the traffic noise was by no means consistently loud and was rarely an annoyance.

The showers (one male, one female), toilets (one male, one female) and other facilities (two dishwashing sinks, a fridge and a freezer) are located back up the lane towards the front of the property and would be considered basic, however these were kept clean and tidy, so were perfectly adequate. A small porta cabin houses both the male and female shower cubicles (located side by side in a room off to the right as you enter) and the male and female toilet cubicles (also side by side) plus a solitary hand washing sink. In a small shed next to the porta cabin you will find the fridge and freezer (both of which are free to use, so therefore very useful for campers who wish to freeze ice blocks or keep their perishables cool) plus one of the dishwashing sinks. The second dishwashing sink is located behind this shed under a lean-to roof. The refuse and recycling point can be found in the camping field next to the drinking water tap.

As previously mentioned there are a number of animals on site and these proved to be a big hit with the children present. There are also two slide/swing sets for the under-10's age group. Although wishing to keep the site small the owner plans to keep upgrading it by ploughing any profits made each year back into the site. The second play set and extra EHU's were this yearís additions.

The combination of value for money and location makes Blackbarnís Farm a little hidden gem. We spent an enjoyable two nights here and would definitely consider returning should we wish to visit the area again.

**all prices quoted are per night.

Basic pitch (up to 4 people plus car) = £10
EHU = £3
Extra adults = £1
Extra children (under 12) = 50p
Extra children (under 5) = free
Extra car = £1
Gazebo/awning = £1
Visitors = £1

Arrival time = 1pm onwards
Departure time = 12:30pm

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colin72 12 reviews from this member

Just got back from a weekend away here.

As previously mentioned on here, the way the site is run is very laid back.

I called the warden on the previous Monday to book, she said 'if there is no one around, go through the gate and pitch up where you like in the back field'

No worries with that!

Got there on the Friday and did as the warden instructed.

10 mins after pitching my tent, a family turned up wanting to claim the space where I was (because that's where she always goes)I explained the Wardens instructions and the fellow camper (nose rather put out) pitched up somewhere else.

Right one minor gripe out of the way, the site has some fantastic views out towards the river Blackwater, the site does have a slight slope to it.

You are surrounded on one side by Sheep, Horses and Hens, the kids loved that!

At 1200 lunchtime each day the Warden can take you kids to pick eggs if they wish and at £1. 00 for half dozen, they where great and still warm.

Shower/toilet block, is a bit of a trot if you camp on the far side of the field. The block is not the smartest in the world (but I've used a lot worse)but the block is kept tidy.

All this for £13 a night with EHU you really can't complain.

Only one suggestion, although there is a swing and slide, a climbing frame or something else to keep young minds occupied would be great.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019