Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hortham Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Bristol > Hortham Farm Certificated Location > Reviews

Hortham Farm Certificated Location
Hortham Farm
Hortham Lane
Bristol
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
BS32 4JW
Tel: 01454 612451  or  07887796089
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Loupylou56 4 reviews from this member

 A great little Oasis for visiting Bristol.

Although there is road noise from the nearby motorway, the site feels very spacious with lovely views across the fields and walks from the site.

The owners are friendly and helpful and the next door caravan shop were able to help us sort out an issue with our van.

We got the bus into town from a nearby bus stop which was a pleasant journey and saved us driving in and parking and might be useful for non compliant vehicle owners. Bus stop is 15 mins walk away.

Electricity is metered so take 1 coins. We used about 1. 50 a day with electric heater and hot water on as it was very cold. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alaska Guy 1 review from this member

 I am pitched here as I write this. The 5-pitch members-only CL is just off J16 of the M5, on the A38 heading north to Gloucester. The CL is next to a number of commercial business units, all very neat and tidy, on a farm that is very handy for being near to Bristol, if you have a car or can order a taxi, or have a bicycle. I did see some buses going from Gloucester to Bristol. When booking, have your Club membership number ready.

The site itself is well managed, with friendly owner Oakleigh, or his colleague Jeff, to be found in the adjacent Bristol Caravans show room and office.

Facilities include hook-up, water tap with adaptor for hose connection, and a chemical cassette disposal point; there are two handy rubbish containers nearby as well. Late arrivals can pick up their booking envelope and put CASH in it, then drop it into a secure posting box next to the visitor info point. Good TV signal, and adequate 4G on O2 network.

Best bonus. Bird watching! I saw fieldfare, bull finches, song throughsh and some very cheeky magpies. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nina0548 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely well organised and laid out site. There are in fact two separate pitching areas so of course we went to the wrong one. Our own fault, the signs clearly told us what to do, we just didn't see the signs being that busy looking everywhere else. Envelope system means you don't have to worry if there's nobody around when you arrive. Lovely big pitches, separated by high hedges giving total privacy which is a particular favourite with me. Hard standing down middle of each pitch with nicely mown lawned area either side so plenty of room. The pitches are that big that we were able to leave the car hooked up to the van as we were only overnighting, anything for an easy life. Easy access being just over a mile from J16/M5 so perfect stopover if travelling to/from Devon/Cornwall which is exactly what we're doing. EHU but no loo or shower. All this for 14 pn, can't be bad. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: E Maydew 9 reviews from this member

 You arrive at Hortham Farm by entering the drive way after passing through a gate code needed after 8, 00pm. You then arrive at a board which says stop it then tells you to walk 100yds and pick up an envelope and then walk back to your car, but this day which was very hot, there was no envelope, after a telephone call and a wait a man arrived and gave us the envelope which informed us to go to Wood View. On arrival there another gate and another coded lock with a chain and we were told this gate must be locked every time we went through it, I do not know how any of the emergency services would get to the site during the night. This is a working farm, plus caravan sales, plus caravan workshop, plus caravan accessories which leaves them with not a lot of time for the CL site. Will not be going again 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 10 reviews from this member

 Used this site for an overnight stop on our way to Devon. Excellent position for leaving and accessing the motorways. Could hear the motorways in distance but not enough to disturb our sleep. Very friendly manager. No facilities so would not advise staying for more than a couple of days unless you have good on board facilities. Access to woodland and oodles of space for play and exploration. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 20 reviews from this member

 This was our first use of a CL, and meets everything we had learned of CL's. We arrived in a heavy storm, pitched up, connected the hook up and settled in. The owner, a gentleman farmer, popped in to ensure everything was ok. The booking process had been simplicity itself, directions superb, together with the instructions for the envelope system. Easy.

We had 2 comfortable nights. The water tap was pointed out to fill the waterhog, drain was to the grass area. The chemical disposal point was sufficient for the purpose.

Access to our family in nearby area was simple using the back lanes.

We had a fish and chip supper in the caravan one night, from the nearby Bradley Stoke chip shop, superb quality and massive portions.

We will use this CL, well 2 actually, Wood View and Farm View in the future for our visits to family.

Expectations exceeded. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 36 reviews from this member

 Small, well looked after site. Pitches large and separated by shrubs for privacy. Close to major routes so some traffic noise. However, this did not detract from our stay and is far outweighed by the ease of onward travel.

Small wood nearby which is perfect for dog walking.

Useful information provided in hut. Booking in system and directions to site are very precise an easy to follow. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Benabbyg 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 1 night in our Motorhome. We'd traveled down from North Wales and needed a site close to Bristol and Bristol Zoo, this site is great for that.

Met owner, a nice guy who was eager to help.

With our booking a great set of instructions are supplied on how to find the site.

We loved how each bay/pitch was separated with trees/bushes.

No toilets or showers, but we knew this prior to arrival, not a problem. Our pitch had electric & close to a water supply, and was neat and tidy.

Highly Recommended - we will most definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lexilew 3 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, close to the M4 / M5 interchange.

We stayed for 21 nights and there was plenty to do in the surrounding area. It is within easy reach of Bristol, South Gloucestershire and North Somerset and therefore makes an ideal touring base.

Yes it is near the motorway and you can hear the traffic, but it is not intrusive and you soon forget it is there.

The private wood makes an ideal chill out area and it is really beautiful with the wild flowers and wildlife. Our two dogs loved it too!

The owners are a lovely couple. Due to this being a working arable farm they are busy during the day, but always available at the end of the phone if you have any queries or problems.

The lack of toilets / showers is not a problem as most modern units have their own facilities anyway (and people booking the site are aware of this at the time, so I cannot understand negative comments about the lack of washrooms etc!)

All in all a brilliant site and we hope to return again next year. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adpew 2 reviews from this member

 Tidy site, all rules clearly marked out and directions to pitches on envelope on wall. This site was not for us, very noisy M5 motorway traffic just at the end of field. No views and no eating or drinking places within walking distance from site. No toilets or showers. 12 was not the cheapest of prices for no facilities other than E/H. Pay up front, money to be left in envelope provided and put in secure post box. Ok if you just want a short stop over for shopping in Bristol shopping centre. Which is 10 to 15 mins drive away. Depending on traffic. Never saw the owners!Stayed here for 3 nights. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hortham Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hortham Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hortham Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


62013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement