Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitmore Lea Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Edale > Whitmore Lea Farm Reviews

Whitmore Lea Farm
Barber Booth
Edale
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZL
Tel: 01433 670238
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chloeb1 1 review from this member

 As a young group of 17 year olds, a lot of people are put off by letting us camp on their land however the owner was so lovely and welcoming to us.

The site was quiet with only 2 other tents on the field where we stayed, the toilets were a 3 minute walk away and they were minimum. There were no showers just a cold tap in the wall but for us it was all part of the camping experience.

I would say this site is not child friendly as you do have to walk to and from the toilets as well as this there is no hot water, on the other hand this site has lovely views and is local to a chip shop, pub and cafe.

The owner was not to be seen however she seemed to know what we were up to and that we were causing no trouble, on the way out she gave our parents a lovely comment which we thought was really nice of her. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ThundaDowg 1 review from this member

 Our first choice of campsite on several occasions, together and with our friends. Accessible. Stunning location.

Basic facilities (a huge field, toilets and a single water tap), but all we require. You're left to it, ie. To put up a gazebo, for no extra charge. 3. 50 pp pn; affordable. Would certainly stay again. Enjoy 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drteg 1 review from this member

 I was looking for a 'wild' camping spot and visited this place for a weekend (just one night stay) for camping and hiking. The place is amazing! It is very basic camping site, open grass field with small stream nearby, just drinking water on the site and toilets at the farm (5 minutes walk from the field across the rail way).

No other facilities, no children's playground, so not very suitable for families but perfect for these who are looking to get away from the city and spend some time close to the nature. This site is as close to the wild camping as it gets. Sheeps are wondering on the camping field so be aware of poo when pitching the tent

Lady on the farm was extremely nice and friendly. There are couple of pubs 20-25 minutes away walking and the train station is just 15 minutes away (45 minutes from Manchester on the train).

There are no shops in the area so remember to bring all food with you or spend a small fortune in pubs. Loads of walking routs around and the landscape is beutiful! Definitely going back soon, overall brilliant experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5690Leander 1 review from this member

 I stayed here for three nights. Arriving in the dark was a mistake as the campsite is difficult to find. As others have stated once at Barber Booth you need to follow the signs to the Methodist Church and then continue following the track once you have passed the church on the right.

The main field is in a very picturesque location with great views of the surrounding hills in a field full of sheep. You get a great view when you wake up and look out of your tent. There was plenty of space and flat pitches available and fortunately I had the whole field to myself bar one other tent. There is a stream nearby with a public footpath also passing through.

Facilities are basic as there are just two clean toilets with wash basins provided in a separate room (only cold water). These are a 5 minute walk from the main camping field which only features a water tap. A shower would be handy as it would allow a longer stay at the site. After 3 nights I was glad when I came home and had a shower!

The railway line is between the farm and the field with regular passenger trains in the day and freight trains running through the night. I did not have any problem sleeping however and as a rail enthusiast it was great to find a site with a view of the railway from the field and plenty of bridges over the line nearby. It's only about a 20 minute walk from the railway station through the fields or down the road so the site is easily accessible for those arriving by train (on the Hope Valley line between Sheffield and Manchester).

The owner was very friendly and this was a very relaxed site. The only major rule seemed to be no fires. That being said I may not have enjoyed my stay so much had I gone at a busy time with noisy people until the early hours!

The nearby hills offer great walks, with something for everyone. The summit of nearby Mam Tor is accessible by car (parking off the road at the top of the hill) and a 5 minute walk up steps and offers wonderful views of the Hope Valley down to Castleton and Hope.

The combination of good scenery, basic facilities and cheap price (3. 50 per person per night) makes this campsite well worth a visit if you are prepared to go back to basics and take everything you need with you. The best experience is probably to be had at quiter times, when there is nobody else or few other people about. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz d 1 review from this member

 After finding this site on UKCampsite.co.uk we decided it looked exactly what we were looking for,

On arrival it was exactly what we expected very basic toilets but clean and stocked with paper.

The tap was to be found at the entrance to the field.

We were able to pitch wherever we wanted and we chose a lower field that was slightly more sheltered from the wind.

We spent 4 nights in the wild with walks available right on our doorstep so to speak,

Thoroughly enjoyed the remote location a perfect break from the city.

No phone signal and no internet so be ready for a great escape this is not a glamping site no showers or local shops be prepared to bring what you need.

At only 3.50 pp pn great site we will be returning next month with a few friends. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lilcark 3 reviews from this member

 Relay enjoyed our 2 night stay hear

This is the first of many trips to this campsite

There is nothing dancing about it just a loo and tap that's your lot the loo's all ways had paper in them and although old they were clean

I have been camping in this Valley for over 10 years as I love the hills around hear

The new management of the ramblers seemed rushed off there feet even thou there was only about 20 people in/out side the pub witch is empty for the size of the pub/ garden

I didn't eat at this pub but the cupple on the table next to us did order food witch when the man brought the food out side he gave it to the wrong people then when he came back out to sort it out he forgot the side order so when he did come back with it they had eaten there main and finished there drink and was ready too go ( I would of complained ) I hope it gets better as the summer comes on (fingers crossed)

There isn't any shops near the closest is in hope and its a spar so dear (make shore you take every thing you might need with you and you will be fine 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Austens dad 2 reviews from this member

 This site met all of our expectations.

I phoned Whitmore lea farm and was greated by a lovely lady. She explained there were no showers and the camping field was shared with sheep.

Upon our arrival we met the lovely campsite owner and her sheep.

This campsite really is a field + toilet + tap.

But that is perfect for our family of 5. Great views, lots of open free space to pitch your tent.

We were the only people on site for the Friday apart from the sheep. The field walk to edale village was a nice 20 min walk.

The walk back from the pub felt like 5 minutes!

All in all, good hassle free friendly no frills campsite.

Perfect for short stays where no one cares what tent you have or whether you have special poles when you walk up hills.  


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

 Can't fault the location, and it's the type of site that I usually love (ie Field + tap + toilet). But I might have picked a bad night to stay and there was music playing from a couple of units until gone 2am, and the site owners apparently couldn't be found.

Aside from this, and the fact that the toilets are a full 5 minute walk from the camping field (very run down with no hand washing facilities) the site was fine.

Maybe on another night I would have left a more favourable review, but unfortunately my experience of the owners was very negative. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lcdavis 4 reviews from this member

 First time at this site, and have found it the nearest to wild camping, while still being on a site. We did book (we were told no dogs, due to owner's dog), but when we turned up (7pm on a friday evening), the friendly owner did not take my name. The reason was soon evident, as there were only a half dozen or so tents in the 2 large fields.

You can drive over the field, park right next to your tent, and you pitch where you want. It's 3 per person per night, no extra for the car. It has 2 toilets (no sinks), which are kept clean by the owner. These are some distance from the actual pitches, however, so for late night visits, a torch is a must, as is wet wipes. Wellie boots would also be an idea.

The lower field is by a stream, with plenty of flat pitching. This is where we pitched. We had wonderful views and stunning scenery. There was evidence of sheep having been in the field recently, although not for the night we were there.

A trowel to remove the droppings would have been useful. We were pleased to have brought our footprint with us to save the base of the tent from being covered. There is one cold water tap at the entrance to the fields. We boiled our own water for washing up etc.

We were able to leave our tent pitched to dry out, while we walked up Jacobs Ladder and along Kinder Scout, without a problem. We didn't ask specifically if this was ok, but were not told about the need to leave by a certain time when we booked in. The campsite is ideally located for walking to these areas as the footpath runs straight through. Ideal location for the Pennine Way too.

Finding the site can be a problem, we went all the way to Barber Booth campsite before realising we must have missed it. If you turn right down the dead end road signed 'Nether Booth' you have missed the unsigned turn off for the farm. Take the right hand track before this turn off, go past the Methodist church on your right, and you'll find your way.

We both loved the minimalistic attitude, the scenery and uncomplicated site. It is probably not for those who want to stay more than a couple of nights, or who need showers and nearby facilities.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Commelina 7 reviews from this member

 Just had another visit, one night over the bank holiday. Hardly anyone there. Bliss. Just turned up and was made most welcome. Parked up in the main field. Full of Mother sheep and their baby lambs, lovely to wake up with the van surrounded by them and to watch them running around and playing.

Whitmore Lea is the most uncomplicated, natural campsite I know, and so we keep returning. Best to stay just for a night or two as the facilities are simple.

Two toilets with toilet roll. Taps for cold water. That's it. But you are free from pitches, space from others and are in the basin of Edale which is beautiful with a stream running through.

You can walk the 20mins from the site through the fields to the village of Edale and the two pubs and train station, so perfect for those arriving via train too.

If you are nearby and can highly recommend that you just turn up for a night or two. I think that 3 a night each, plus little extra for the van is a great deal for such a secluded, natural spot. We'll be back. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitmore Lea Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitmore Lea Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whitmore Lea Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement