Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llanungar Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Llanungar Caravan And Camping Reviews

Llanungar Caravan And Camping
Solva
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6FG
Tel: 07837 995 910
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 24th March To 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 10 nights late June early July just as the heatwave took hold!

There was a notice telling us to choose a free pitch with a list of the taken pitches.

The pitches are spacious and easy to identify as there is a strip of unmown grass between them - good for wildlife too. Easy access to EHU and water, although many of the water points are on pitches so, in effect, most people end up using one point.

There is a really helpful and friendly site manager - Adam. He wanders around and checks everyone is OK. He told me where to swim in the sea.

Solva is a short walk, although you can take many different routes to make it longer if you like. Due to the heat and having one old dog who uses a buggy we mainly did the easy/shortest ways.

We went to the Royal George most often. It is a locals pub (all friendly) but does fine food. Not great but perfectly nice. We watched two England football games there and survived!

We also went to the Cambrian inn but that doesn't let dogs in after 5pm. So we huddled outside on the only cold day of the break! The food was very nice though - a step up from standard pub food.

We had a drink in the Ship, it was OK, been done up so a bit bland.

We also had a drink in the Harbour Inn. This is a massive pub a bit like a Wetherspoons.

We walked to St Davids one day and got the bus back to Solva.

Also went on a Thousand Island Cruise around Ramsey Island.

Mostly it was hot so we hung about doing very little!

The site was in a great spot with nice views. If we had younger dogs I think we would have walked a lot more.

The pot washing sinks (2) were ok but had push button taps - drives me mad washing up with those when you only want a little water to rinse off the suds! Also not much room to drain dishes.

There was a washer and dryer - looked industrial. We didn't use them.

The showers were fine - only two per gender but never waited even when the site was full. The toilets were OK but the toilet paper did run out twice. I think waiting until it needs changing is too late - be pre-emptive and change them earlier and leave the extra in there! That was my only gripe really!

The site was not crowded - they keep to 20 pitches and so there is a good space in the middle of the field for kids to run about in. We don't have kids but were entertained by some of the antics!

We will definitely go back - maybe next year for the Edge festival in Solva.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delmart 3 reviews from this member

Excellent quiet and peaceful site. Well maintained with good facilities. Lovely welcome from Rachel the owner. Owners are on site during office hours but are not intrusive and there to help should you wish and can provide plenty of information. Only two showers and three toilet cubicles in female block, but even though site was quite full, facilities were not busy and didn't have to queue. Generous pitches with EHU which are spaced around a large field, with open area in middle which gives a nice 'open' feel to the place. Fantastic views. Short walk to Coastal Path and nice walk to Solva, small village nearby. Site also has a takeaway restaurant PanAroma at entrance which makes excellent food. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned a fortnight later. Wi fi available for a small charge but we didn't use as excellent 4G phone signal.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clare Yeandle 1 review from this member

Just spent a couple of nights at Llanungar Caravan and Camping - what a great find. Superb and quick confirmation of booking, with an email listing how to find them, where to go around the area etc. Very well laid out, clean and tidy site in a great location. You can walk to Solva, which has many pubs to drink and eat, plus a couple of little shops and an art gallery/craft display. Showers and toilets are very clean and modern, with easy to use and well placed taps and hook ups. Would like to return again!Thank you !

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mcmahonj1950 1 review from this member

Had a very relaxing visit to this very clean site, pity the weather wasn't better. Very close to the coastal path. My dogs enjoyed themselves at the nearby disused airfield. Warm welcome and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DandN 1 review from this member

Fabulous site, peaceful with spacious pitches. Great value for money, with a warm welcome. Clean and well maintained facilities, plenty room for children to play, central facilities block with spacious showers (no extra charge!) and washing up sinks, washing machines and dryer, and a freezer for the ice-packs - even allowed to charge up your phone or dry your hair in the laundry room. Friendly approachable owners, couldn't do enough for you, full of great information about the area and things to do. Good location for exploring the area, close to the Coastal Path, with its well marked paths and beautiful scenery. Easy to walk to Solva and St David's via the Coastal Path. Local shop well stocked, with fresh fish available from a local supplier (with cooked or fresh lobster too!). A lovely site on which to camp and unwind, relaxing and easy-going, one to which we intend to return, for many years to come!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lottieandfam 1 review from this member

Came here with husband and 2 children for 7 nights and loved it! The campsite is quiet but within walking distance of Solva and a short drive to St Davids (which is really nice!) Their main business is static caravans so the camping field only had a couple of caravans and us on it. In the middle of the camping field are two goal posts so my kids were happy kicking a ball around and playing cricket. It is also a bargain compared to other campsites in the area.

Facilities were clean and the owners were really friendly. Lovely views of farmland and the sea.

We took a boat ride with Solva Sailing which was nice and inexpensive compared to the larger companies (older kids might not find it very exciting but perfect for our 7 and 4 year old). St David is lovely. Nice Catherdal, Bishops Inn is nice pub and Giannis ice cream lovely. Also best toasted sandwich in The Sound Cafe.

Campsite was good position to explore Pembrokeshire. We went south to Pembroke Castle which was brilliant and we went north past Fishguard to Castell Henleys Iron Age Fort (definitely worth a visit!). All the north coast is lovely with lots of little harbours and villages to visit.

Would return to this campsite and to Pembrokeshire!

(Possibly an addition of a small freezer in the washing machine area would be good for keeping ice packs in)

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family1234 3 reviews from this member

It's 5 years since our last visit and review. We noticed a few improvements since our last visit, we thought it was brilliant then.

Shower facilities are clean and free, ladies and gents now have hot taps in the sinks and plenty of hooks to hang up your things. Two large washing up sinks at the front of the toilet block also have hot and cold water for washing up.

Solva is stunning. The wander through the farm for the paper is a 10/15 minute stroll - the shop sells everything and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The coastal path is a few hundred metres from the campsite, be careful when crossing the road. A lovely cove called Porth y Rhaw is 1km from the campsite and from here you can walk the coastal path to Solva or St Davids.

The camping field is flat, with sea views. We paid 5 per person per night, which we thought was excellent value for money. They have a clear simple pricing structure which compared to some other sites where one has to factor in a number of additional charges was welcome.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Addpayne 1 review from this member

I visited the campsite for 4 nights whilst staying with a group of friends, and found the owners to be extremely friendly and hospitable, which is unfortunately something lacking in many other campsites now.

The site itself is very attractive and well maintained, situated perfectly only a few minutes from the coastal path for exploring by foot, and a short drive from both Solva and St Davids.

The showers were hot and clean, and the toilets appeared to be checked and cleaned reguarly as well. I stayed in my campervan (electric hookup was available) and my friends stayed in tents, we were all made to feel equally welcome and shared the site with a mixture of tents, campervans, caravans and motorhomes. It was refreshing to share the site with such a variety of other campers and it reminded me of the camping I enjoyed when I was younger, before complicated booking systems and precisely measured and expencive pitches became the norm.

I did not get chance to chat with the owners about the site history but judging from older reviews I would guess at some point there has been a change in management.

I would describe the site now as having the benefits associated with campsites of the past, ie, low fuss welcoming atmosphere, with the mod cons we've come to rely on. But for the price it would be hard to justify going anywhere else and I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend, hopefully I'll get chance to visit again in the summer.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BlAWES 1 review from this member

This is a really great campsite. Dan and Rachel, the owners, are extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean and tidy with hot showers and washing machines/driers. Electric hook up can be requested even if you're in a tent. It's a very family friendly campsite, our kids enjoyed meeting other children and playing football on the camping field.

The coastal path can be accessed in 5 mins from the campsite. This can be taken to walk into Solva, which is a lovely harbour village. Eat in the Cambrian for delicious food or No. 35 for a child friendly atmosphere.

For breakfast visit the Sound Cafe in ST. Davids for the best fry up we'd ever had.

Whitesands and Newgale are stunning beaches and great for surfing if the swell is running.

Dinosaur world and Bluestone are a good alternative to the beach if the kids fancy something different.

We had a great two weeks and would happily recommend camping there.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loulou Lewis 1 review from this member

We just LOVE this campsite, quiet, peaceful and in such a beautiful part of the world. It's close to the beautiful Wales Coast Path, the lovely harbour of Solva, Newgale beach and of course St. David's.

We have camped here several times over the past 18 months and enjoy it because it is so quiet and unspoilt.

It's an easy walk into Solva where there's a nice choice of places to eat - formal or relaxed.

A hot shower at the end of the day and a quiet campsite are essential for us to enjoy our weekend camping trips and you get this here.

Good value.

Highly recommended, just lovely!

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019