Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nicholson Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Nicholson Farm Reviews

CLOSED: Nicholson Farm
Docklow
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Traceytjns 2 reviews from this member

 Again thank you Tim and Karen we had a fabulous 3 night break. Facilities clean, lovely areas to walk dogs, Lovely and quiet and views to die for. We brought a bag of logs and used the brilliant fire pits and we lovely and warm in evening having a great get together but being respectful of other campers. We had a wonderful time and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Steve3 1 review from this member

 We had a good weekend, although we were disappointed with the campsite. Although there are 18 pitches, only two were occupied all weekend, which was us and another family. This seemed really strange as it was the first weekend of the school summer holidays so we expected it to be really busy.

Things didn't start off great when we got there Flo, one of the farm dogs, had a poo by our car and I had to ask Tim to clean it up. The farm dogs roam free, so this is a bit of a problem. Then after about an hour Tim came over to our tent moaning at my son for leaving the toilet door open and the light on, when in fact none of us had even been to the toilet! It turned out it was his own grandson who had done it - he did apologise when he realised, to be fair to him.

The grounds are well maintained, and there are some lovely views. We pitched near the bottom corner by the play area as it was fairly flat, and a bit less windy than up the top.

The toilets were pretty clean, although the mens shower temperature control didn't work and so it went from cold to extremely hot in the space of about a minute. The sink taps also had very high pressure which meant you soaked yourself every time you wanted to wash your hands. I ended up using the outside sink instead which was ok. My wife also complained about the shower, saying the pressure was way too low and it was little more than a drip. Such as basic thing, but when you are camping, the very least you want, and should be able to expect, is to get a decent shower.

We also asked Tim for a farm tour (advertised on their website) and were told no, because there wasn't enough of us. The other family also asked, and were given the same answer. Never mind the calf feeding or egg collecting they also advertise, there didn't even appear to be any chickens on the farm. Pretty much all of the farm was off-limits. It just made the whole reason for staying on a farm seem a bit pointless. There are also no on-site facilities for buying basics like bread or milk, and you can't walk off the site because it's a main road with no pavements, so we had to drive everywhere.

Despite the campsite being a let down, we still had a good weekend, but I don't think we will be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Brilliant place, proper farm location, very quiet at night can hear the owls later on,

Nice area to cycle round and visit a few pubs,

Nice views from the campsite, friendly proprietors.

We will be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mushratt 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite, really safe for youngsters and relaxing for adults.

It has everything needed for tents and caravans along with lovely views and the use of fire pits rented from the owner.

Very reasonably priced.

We had a brilliant weekend and will definitely be going back 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clover2020 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful 5 nights here. Itís a lovely site and the owners make sure itís never over crowded. We would definitely stay here again. The children loved feeding the goats grass & watching them slide down their slide. The views are wonderful & the trees give some shade in hot weather & from the wind.

Tim the farmer is a wonderful character, some reviews have said they found him too blunt but we loved this about him, he tells you the rules of the farm without beating around the bush which is great & heíll deal with anyone thatís taking the mick. He was full of great stories, was really helpful and gave us the best tour of the farm which the kids loved. We had to leave 2 days early sadly due to one of the kids being sick and they gave us a refund straight away which was also great.

There are 2 swings & a little slide & fort as well which the kids enjoyed and a tunnel through the grass which they loved. The shower & toilet are basic but very clean & always stocked with toilet paper & there is a sink area for washing up.

There are 2 farm dogs which roam free with the farmer, the kids loved them, very friendly dogs, if you have a dog that doesnít do well with other dogs then make sure you tell Tim on arrival & heíll make sure his dogs are with him at all times. There was another dog that came in from time to time from a neighbour I think, it pooíd in the field, but Tim cleaned it up straight away when we told him.

You can have a fire but you have to hire the proper fire pits from the farm as they sit higher off the ground to protect the grass. We paid £10 for a fire pit & a massive tub of wood that lasted us a good 3 nights.

The rules of the campsite are to keep the noise down after 10pm, you can stay up as late as you like around the campfire but using low voices after 10pm, which is perfect for us as we have young kids. The stars are wonderful from here as well, we saw loads of persids.

We had a fab time,

The Edwards 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alan87 1 review from this member

 First time staying on this site and must say it was a lovely clean campsite on a working dairy farm. On arrival we were met by the owner Tim who was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. His Friendly dogs also welcomed us and they were both great with our girls. Digger who follows Tim everywhere is such a small happy dog and flo the bigger dog is older and just loves a little walk for a stroke. Iíve read other reviews about Timís dogs but donít be put off as they were both very welcoming and well behaved.

Wash block is small, but was always clean while site following covid-19 policies. We have stayed in various campsites around Leominster and would say this was one of the best value for money sites as most other sites we normally stay are more expensive than this one.

Children's play area comprised swings, and a playhouse. My two children were kept entertained for hours here.

On our last day Tim very kindly gave us a your of the farm. He was very good at explaining everything on a childís level and made it very interactive and educational for them. This was a great opportunity for the kids to understand where milk comes from in a bit more detail especially in a modern world with amazing machinery. The cows were all very happy and content which shows Tim looks after his fairy farm the same way he takes pride in his very clean campsite.

Tim also took his time to show us his new cabins, these are fantastic! well thought of as the one we seen was very secluded away from main site! (Adult only in cabins) so at least when your there your not being interrupted by other playful children. Views on site and by cabin were amazing. Can book these through caponyandstars website but booking up fast and not surprised as cheap rate and great location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cody Marsden 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the campsite as a family of 4 with 1 dog and another family in the caravan beautiful views of the Country side. When arriving the farmer was a bit abrupt and not very welcoming.

The facilities are basic very clean and had plenty of antibacterial cleaner and hand antibacterial gel. We were all settled kids loved the play area and watching the goats on the slide only down fall was the farmers dog kept growling at our dog and then urinated up our awning. Few days later the same dog then went and started growling at other campers dogs and the farmers wife came and collected the dog

Apart from that the site is ideal for a stop off between places and the view is beautiful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wackogasko 1 review from this member

 We have just spent two nights at this site with another family of four. Itís a very quiet site with amazing views over the countryside and perfect for a short weekend away from crowds during these difficult times.

We were met by the farmer and he showed us to our pitches. He appeared a little uncomfortable with the restrictions in place and the safety of the farm and visitors alike, making it clear in a rather abrupt manner that most areas were out of bounds. We were a little taken back by his tone and his explanation lacked friendliness, but we put this down to him trying to make clear the safety of everyone around the farm.

We also explained that we had brought fire wood for the fire pit, which is when we had another unfriendly lecture that we could only use his wood. Again we understood that selling a basket of wood for £10 is a profit making service for the farm, but again the explanation was a little abrupt!

The site we found very safe and plenty of space between each pitch.

The limited facilities were clean and they provided hand sanitiser outside the toilet blocks. On a previous visit, breakfast could be purchased but this is no longer the case, possibly due to Covid restrictions.

Generally, we kept ourselves entertained

Unfortunately, on the last evening having been on a lovely walk around the countryside and taking a stop off at The Fishermanís pub close by, my friend and I decided to use the cars to collect our family from walking along the busy main road. As we returned to the parking area via the farm drive we were immediately approached from an agitated owner who wanted to know who was driving the cars as in his opinion we are driving too fast. I immediately apologised if we had upset him, but he again started lecturing me and his manner was very unnecessary under the circumstances.

We all appreciate that itís a difficult time to run a campsite and make sure that everyone is safe, but please think about how you talk to people first without ranting and raving. He later apologised to my wife for his tone to me, but unfortunately his manner left me no option but leave a review.

Overall the farm offers a great place to enjoy camping in a quiet and lovely location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hellywelly3 2 reviews from this member

 The setting is spectacular. We saw 6 red kites in the air at once. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous. Tim is friendly and helpful.

They are taking covid 19 restrictions seriously; this also means that there are no rides or viewing of the working farm which is quite right.

It is a great place to escape.

The hardstandings are closer to the farm.

It is quiet if your pitch is closer to the lake. 
via mobile


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement