Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nicholson Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Nicholson Farm Reviews

Nicholson Farm
Docklow
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 0SL
Tel: 07740 717564
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mushratt 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite, really safe for youngsters and relaxing for adults.

It has everything needed for tents and caravans along with lovely views and the use of fire pits rented from the owner.

Very reasonably priced.

We had a brilliant weekend and will definitely be going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clover2020 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful 5 nights here. Itís a lovely site and the owners make sure itís never over crowded. We would definitely stay here again. The children loved feeding the goats grass & watching them slide down their slide. The views are wonderful & the trees give some shade in hot weather & from the wind.

Tim the farmer is a wonderful character, some reviews have said they found him too blunt but we loved this about him, he tells you the rules of the farm without beating around the bush which is great & heíll deal with anyone thatís taking the mick. He was full of great stories, was really helpful and gave us the best tour of the farm which the kids loved. We had to leave 2 days early sadly due to one of the kids being sick and they gave us a refund straight away which was also great.

There are 2 swings & a little slide & fort as well which the kids enjoyed and a tunnel through the grass which they loved. The shower & toilet are basic but very clean & always stocked with toilet paper & there is a sink area for washing up.

There are 2 farm dogs which roam free with the farmer, the kids loved them, very friendly dogs, if you have a dog that doesnít do well with other dogs then make sure you tell Tim on arrival & heíll make sure his dogs are with him at all times. There was another dog that came in from time to time from a neighbour I think, it pooíd in the field, but Tim cleaned it up straight away when we told him.

You can have a fire but you have to hire the proper fire pits from the farm as they sit higher off the ground to protect the grass. We paid £10 for a fire pit & a massive tub of wood that lasted us a good 3 nights.

The rules of the campsite are to keep the noise down after 10pm, you can stay up as late as you like around the campfire but using low voices after 10pm, which is perfect for us as we have young kids. The stars are wonderful from here as well, we saw loads of persids.

We had a fab time,

The Edwards 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alan87 1 review from this member

 First time staying on this site and must say it was a lovely clean campsite on a working dairy farm. On arrival we were met by the owner Tim who was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. His Friendly dogs also welcomed us and they were both great with our girls. Digger who follows Tim everywhere is such a small happy dog and flo the bigger dog is older and just loves a little walk for a stroke. Iíve read other reviews about Timís dogs but donít be put off as they were both very welcoming and well behaved.

Wash block is small, but was always clean while site following covid-19 policies. We have stayed in various campsites around Leominster and would say this was one of the best value for money sites as most other sites we normally stay are more expensive than this one.

Children's play area comprised swings, and a playhouse. My two children were kept entertained for hours here.

On our last day Tim very kindly gave us a your of the farm. He was very good at explaining everything on a childís level and made it very interactive and educational for them. This was a great opportunity for the kids to understand where milk comes from in a bit more detail especially in a modern world with amazing machinery. The cows were all very happy and content which shows Tim looks after his fairy farm the same way he takes pride in his very clean campsite.

Tim also took his time to show us his new cabins, these are fantastic! well thought of as the one we seen was very secluded away from main site! (Adult only in cabins) so at least when your there your not being interrupted by other playful children. Views on site and by cabin were amazing. Can book these through caponyandstars website but booking up fast and not surprised as cheap rate and great location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cody Marsden 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the campsite as a family of 4 with 1 dog and another family in the caravan beautiful views of the Country side. When arriving the farmer was a bit abrupt and not very welcoming.

The facilities are basic very clean and had plenty of antibacterial cleaner and hand antibacterial gel. We were all settled kids loved the play area and watching the goats on the slide only down fall was the farmers dog kept growling at our dog and then urinated up our awning. Few days later the same dog then went and started growling at other campers dogs and the farmers wife came and collected the dog

Apart from that the site is ideal for a stop off between places and the view is beautiful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wackogasko 1 review from this member

 We have just spent two nights at this site with another family of four. Itís a very quiet site with amazing views over the countryside and perfect for a short weekend away from crowds during these difficult times.

We were met by the farmer and he showed us to our pitches. He appeared a little uncomfortable with the restrictions in place and the safety of the farm and visitors alike, making it clear in a rather abrupt manner that most areas were out of bounds. We were a little taken back by his tone and his explanation lacked friendliness, but we put this down to him trying to make clear the safety of everyone around the farm.

We also explained that we had brought fire wood for the fire pit, which is when we had another unfriendly lecture that we could only use his wood. Again we understood that selling a basket of wood for £10 is a profit making service for the farm, but again the explanation was a little abrupt!

The site we found very safe and plenty of space between each pitch.

The limited facilities were clean and they provided hand sanitiser outside the toilet blocks. On a previous visit, breakfast could be purchased but this is no longer the case, possibly due to Covid restrictions.

Generally, we kept ourselves entertained

Unfortunately, on the last evening having been on a lovely walk around the countryside and taking a stop off at The Fishermanís pub close by, my friend and I decided to use the cars to collect our family from walking along the busy main road. As we returned to the parking area via the farm drive we were immediately approached from an agitated owner who wanted to know who was driving the cars as in his opinion we are driving too fast. I immediately apologised if we had upset him, but he again started lecturing me and his manner was very unnecessary under the circumstances.

We all appreciate that itís a difficult time to run a campsite and make sure that everyone is safe, but please think about how you talk to people first without ranting and raving. He later apologised to my wife for his tone to me, but unfortunately his manner left me no option but leave a review.

Overall the farm offers a great place to enjoy camping in a quiet and lovely location. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hellywelly3 2 reviews from this member

 The setting is spectacular. We saw 6 red kites in the air at once. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous. Tim is friendly and helpful.

They are taking covid 19 restrictions seriously; this also means that there are no rides or viewing of the working farm which is quite right.

It is a great place to escape.

The hardstandings are closer to the farm.

It is quiet if your pitch is closer to the lake. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rainbowtent 1 review from this member

 A lovely sheltered campsite on a working dairy farm. The owner Tim was very friendly and welcoming.

Wash block is small, but was always clean and with plenty of (free) hot water. Washing up sinks were outside, but under cover.

Children's play area comprised swings, slide, playhouse and also a barrel train towed by Tim on a quad bike - the children thought this was the best thing ever - I was just disappointed it wasn't big enough for me to have a go.

Tour of the farm was informative, and a great opportunity for the kids to understand where milk comes from in a bit more detail.

Pitches are on very nice grass, but worth noting that once you have dropped your stuff off, you need to put your car in a carpark.

Many of the reviews mentioned Tims friendly dogs which did put me off a bit (not being a dog lover) but the three of them are genuinely lovely - don't let this put you off!  


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Janescottage 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, amazing views, goats, chickens, guinea fowl, ducks, dogs and cows. There were 4 swings, a slide, a large playhouse and tube for the children to play on.

It was £18-£19 per night for our tents. Itís a short drive to The Fishermanís Arms which was in a nice location and we had a good meal. We were very disappointed when we returned to the cafe next door to the pub the next day (Sunday) when they told us breakfast had finished despite arriving 50 minutes before they closed and made no apology or offer of help.

When we returned to the campsite to pack up the farmer gave us a tour of the farm which was fascinating. We loved the back scratcher and the waterbeds for the cows! We would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muddy feet 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights over the Easter weekend. Tim and his dogs were very friendly and welcoming. He places our three tents together next to a large field full of cows.

You are allowed a fire pit, which was welcome as the April evenings are a little chilly. He put on a barrel ride for the children and showed us around the milking sheds, we even helped bring the cows out to graze. The showers are basic but clean and roomy. This is a lovely campsite with fantastic views and friendly hosts.

We will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dyfi duo 1 review from this member

 Had three brilliant nights staying over the Easter period. Both Tim and Karen most welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Showers were clean with plenty of hot water. Fresh produce available to purchase, fresh eggs, sausages and the bacon is the best.

Highly recommended 🙂 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Nicholson Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nicholson Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Nicholson Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement