Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Pinewood Holiday Park Reviews

Pinewood Holiday Park
Racecourse Road (a170)
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 5TG
Tel: 01723 367278
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans, 14 tents, 20 Tipis/Shacks glamping
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dudstud 7 reviews from this member

 It's really handy for Scarborough, not walkable unless you're young and fit but 5 or 10 minutes in the car.

Very well maintained site and facilities, men's showers and toilets could do with updating but still serviceable.

The camping field is small and sheltered with large pitches all with ehu and we'll maintained.

You could do a lot worse and I would try here first if coming to Scarborough. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grahame Wells 1 review from this member

 We had a friendly greeting on arrival and was shown were our pitch was. It is only a small site with 5 pitches for caravans. Electric hook up was available and water taps close by.

Shower and toilet block was also very close and were spotlessly clean and regularly maintained.

Quiet on a night time with privacy respected. 10 mins from Scarborough. And easy access to Dalby forest.

We would recommend this site all age groups and pets.

Grahame and Jill Wells. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HardyJude 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in March 2018. First thing of note was the friendly welcome by Kerry and Dave. I was in a caravan and there was space for 5. I prefer the smaller sites. Toilets and showers were clean and free of charge. Electricity was on a meter that you settled up at the end of your stay so no problems with it going down late evening. I didn't have a issue with the proximity to the road. Had a problem with my caravan electricity and Kerry helpfully contacted a local caravan repair company who gave me some free advice over the phone. This site is very close to Scarborough and some days I walked in. I was given a Parking Permit free of charge to use in town. Very useful. I liked this site a lot and intend to stay again when I'm next in Scarborough. Lovely couple running the site. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bungle666 3 reviews from this member

 I booked this site as a last minute getaway for me and the Girlfriend. And after looking at the website, I wasn't expecting much as the cowboy theme did nothing for me, but hey, it was a getaway!

On arrival I was met with a smile, and informed there had a been a problem with my online booking, but not to worry as they had saved me a pitch anyway, and they could sort the payment there and then. HAPPY DAYS! I was also a little sceptical of the PAYG electric, having heard horror stories of people being ripped off on similar systems elsewhere, this however turned out NOT to be the case and after leaving a 10 deposit, my meter was charged and we were switched on.

We pitched our tent and went for a look around, the site is dotted with cowboys, Indians, totem poles ETC ETC and although not to my taste I did find it amusing! the toilets were SPOTLESS with plenty of hot water, the showers were nice and big with a proper shower as opposed them rubbish push button thingy's that you have to keep one had on to get a wash! these too, were spotless!

A drive into town will take you about 10 mins and the site seems well drained as it is on the top of a hill!

Now, there are sadly some bad points (although only very small ones)

The path to the toilets through the trees is supposed to be well lit at night, this wasn't the case as 4 of the 5 lights were broken. The site is very close to the main road, and although it didn't bother me (i live on a main road anyway so I'm used to it) some people may find it a little noisy. The site could do with a proper children's play area, yes there is a field for ball games ETC, but no swings, slides ETC

Overall I was VERY happy with my stay and would visit again, and as for the PAYG electric, I spent 90p in a 2 day stay, powering chargers ETC and the Electric coolbox, so really I had NOTHING to worry about :) 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

 Just had a long weekend stay at this site. Upon arrival the reception we received was lovely and despite arriving late it wasn't a problem for the owners. We stayed in one of the cowboy shacks. The site has separate areas for Tipis, private tents, private Caravans and Cowboy shacks. The site itself is very well maintained but the toilet / shower block didn't appear to have been cleaned all weekend. Thankfully the site wasn't busy as there were only three showers in the gents.

As mentioned in other reviews it is very close to a busy main road and the noise cannot be ignored. Saying that it is a great location for exploring Scarborough.

For the price paid I was a little disappointed with the Cowboy shack. It was basically a big shed with three plastic mattresses.

The site itself is really missing a couple of tricks firstly, a children's play area would be a great asset and secondly, there is a salon area which could be opened as a bar with Cowboy style entertainment in an evening but it is only used for group bookings. So, basically there isn't anything to do on site other than make your own entertainment. I guess we just expected Cowboy and Indian gun fights and Line dancing! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

 We stumbled upon this site while looking for another one on the same road. All I can say is, thank goodness we did! What an amazing place this is, with its western-themed village. Room for 5 caravans/campervans in a nice quiet, landscaped garden; we could not hear hardly any road noise from where we were sited. Electric charged on a metre so you only pay for what you use (can't be fairer than that; we paid 50p for 1 night's use). The owners were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The facilities were everything we could ask for; immaculately clean toilets and free showers. We will be returning here and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grotbags-2007 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after spending a lovely time at Pinewood.

All the campsite facilities were excellent.

We will definitely return for another vist 10/10.

Toilets & showers were spotless.

Just a short distance to travel to shops & Scarborough town centre.

The lady owner was friendly & very helpful.

The site was very clean & tidy.

Nothing negative to say about the site at all.

Try the site for yourself you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TDoe 4 reviews from this member

 This is quite a unique site from any normal touring caravan site with its Tipis and Camping Cabins.

It has a separate adult only area for the touring caravans so as not to experience noisy children if not wanted.

The site and toilet block itself is clean and tidy and close to Scarborough.

Electricity is on a prepaid card but we did not find this excessive.

The only downside is that we experienced a bit of road noise from the A170.

Other than that very unique stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catbrown 5 reviews from this member

 Spent the recent bank holiday weekend here and overall had a pleasant stay.

Pitched on the tent field and we set up where we wanted, although I thought the grass needed a cut as it was fairly long. Perhaps the recent rain had prevented this.

As other reviews have mentioned the A170 is close and a fair bit of road noise can be heard, although this did not bother us too much. Did not think the electric was expensive, 5 on a prepaid card lasted all weekend.

We found the toilet and shower block very clean and the pot wash area was decent, with plenty of hot water.

This site seems to attract families to the tipis and pods so could probably do with some type of playpark although a wooded area with a rope swing enabled the younger ones to have roam about.

We found the site quirky and with its closeness to Scarborough and friendly owners we would probably stay here again. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Romeo 19 reviews from this member

 Welcome was really nice, very friendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed that the electric hook ups were on a pre paid card system as it was really cold and we felt we had to keep checking to make sure we'd got enough, however electric worked out about 2. 00 per night. The site was understandably quiet at this time of year so my partner was disappointed that the men's toilets weren't as clean as expected but I didn't use the ladies. Be aware the site is right off the main road, although there was little traffic noise. The walk to Scarborough is all main road but there are paths all the way. I can imagine this site is great in summer for the kids. Dogs are welcome and there is a dog walk very close to the site but dogs must be kept on the lead. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pinewood Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewood Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pinewood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement