Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sutton Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Sutton Park Campsite Reviews

Sutton Park Campsite
Sutton On The Forest
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 1DP
Tel: 01347 810249
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 01/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 5 Reviews
                9/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jowill 1 review from this member

 Site is set within the woods, itís a large spacious field with plenty of room. There is also a lovely cafe adjacent to the pitch.

All you needed was there, plenty of walks and lots to see in the local area.

Sadly we didnít get to see Maggie who took our booking the fees where put into an envelope and left in an honesty box, I think says it all about this site.

Would we go again absolutely at the drop of a hat. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johngl 1 review from this member

 An excellent site which is quiet and unspoiled. A fabulous area with pleasant walks.

The adjacent cafe is a delight. Walking around the village is very pleasant.

If Sutton Park garden is open donít miss it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 201 reviews from this member

 A return visit, but there have been a few changes (to the good) since our last stay. There's a ticket office / hut for entry to the house & gardens, where you can pay when it's open. Otherwise, the honesty box is still at the garden gate. We were pointed to the "square walk" which takes you around the outer perimeter of the estate, a pleasant stroll through woods and on a mown path across a field.

It's £12. 50 with EHU, and camping gives you free entry to the pretty gardens, and a reduced rate to go round the house, if it's open.

There's now a "wine cellar" beside the tea room, and it's open for meals & drinks on Fri and Sat evenings, April to August.

OK, there's no shower but there are ladies & gents toilets opposite the main garden gate.

There are good walks in the woods if you have a dog; a bit muddy. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MandLJones 8 reviews from this member

 I shouldn't really tell people about this as it is bliss. As described on previous reviews but the peace and quiet are unbelievable. A hot weekend with just the two dogs for company.

Plenty of walks in the woods. If you have the correct unit then this is ideal. I was prepared with an envelope to put the payment in the honesty box. I was the only one on the site for three nights.

The site did become a temporary car park on the Sunday for the wedding fayre at the main house but again it didn't spoil it.

Third visit and still love it. My ratings are all 10/10 because it had everything I needed especially no one else there. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rogerangie 22 reviews from this member

 As Fiona says, blissfull in the extreme. Quiet, peaceful, absolutely no hassle. Just the place to go to unwind. The pigeons are a pain with thier stupid mating (when will someone cull the retched things). There is now hot water in the toilets.

We will certainly be going again.

There was a caravan rally but the site is so big it didn't matter and we were invited to join in!

Nice people. Deer, barn owls, sparrow hawk,buzzard, rabbits and squirrels were some of the wildlife seen. The English Countryside. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 201 reviews from this member

 Initially wary about the site as I had to keep trying before I got through on the phone to book. Site is located in the grounds of a house and gardens that are open to the public (entry free to Friends of Historic Houses Association).

There was no-one to check in with (I did ask at the tea room), and we were told to just choose a pitch and plug in. Go through the small car park, down a short drive to a huge, mainly flat, grassy field surrounded by policy woodlands and fields of pedigree cattle. A notice board there advised us of the pitch fee (the cheapest in our week's tour of North Yorkshire) and said to put the money into the honesty box by the house.

Certificated site, so 5 pitches; south facing, backing onto woodland gardens, widely spaced, no hard stands, all had electrics. Minimum facilities - drinking water, CDP and a huge bin, no recycling boxes. Basic toilets for the house / garden visitors back in the car park - cold water only, but spotless and they aren't locked at night after closing time. No showers. No play equipment (we have no children).

The energetic dog loved her walks in the woods. The small village is in front of the Hall - it is very pretty, has no shops, but has two pubs: the closer one does super meals and has a superb wine list. There's a surprisingly good community-owned food shop in pretty Stillington village to the north, and another shop at Huby.

We would return - it's convenient for visiting York and all the National Trust and HHA houses and gardens in the area, or in transit as we were. It suited us better than the CCC owned site at Sheriff Hutton not far away. It was blissfully quiet, though check if that's important to you - there was a marquee in the gardens for a Graduation Ball at the weekend, and the opposite part of the field farthest from the camping area would become the car park; so the site may occasionally and briefly be busy, most probably on a Saturday. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sutton Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sutton Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sutton Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement