Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Aux Memes

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Site Reviews

Camping Aux Memes
Camping Aux Memes
Bellegarde
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
32140
Tel: 0033 5 62 66 91 45  or  0033 6 83 62 02 22
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

Set in a stunning rural location with views of the Pyrenees from the pitches making for a very relaxed stay. The local roads are nice and quiet for walking on. Auch is about a 30 minute drive with a nice walk along the river bank.

The facilities were immaculate with both toilet roll and soap provided. The shower was spacious with loads of changing room. Some pitches were slightly sloping but not problematic, we managed without chock blocks.

The bar area was nice, food is served from July in the evenings. Drinks were reasonably priced and ice creams were also sold. There is a TV which had both Wimbledon and the euro champs on and it was very pleasant sitting there watching these. Free wifi is also available in the bar area.

Both Barry and Zoe (the resident dogs) are lovely and were very playful and friendly with our dog.

A lovely relaxing campsite and a credit to the owners.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluebird 1 review from this member

We recently stayed here for a total of 18 nights, this is by far the best site we've stayed on. If you value peace and tranquility with first class facilities and customer service this is the place for you. On clear nights we sat under the stars gazing into the sky.

When you can tear yourselves away there are many delightful towns and villages most of which have great markets.

One of the highlights of our trip was a days walking high up in the Pyrenees we were greatly assisted in planning this by the site owners Peter & Jan. The nearby village of Massube sells all the basics you will need but in all honesty there are far more scenic places a short journey away.

Wildlife is all around the site and we saw many species of birds and sightings of deer from our pitch was a daily event.

Can't wait to return, thanks Peter and Janet for making us so welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: FB99 10 reviews from this member

Spent one night at this site on the way to the Pyrenees - booked it based on the reviews and then planned our journey around it!

It really is a lovely campsite - there were very few others staying whilst we were there and we chose a pitch at the far end of the site so really felt like there was no-one else around. Extremely peaceful. Some of the pitches didn't look very level so if it was busy you would need to be prepared to be on a slope.

The facilities are fantastic - I think it was the only campsite we stayed in that had both toilet rolls & seat! It was like being in a nice hotel - not a campsite. Swimming pool was very welcome as temperatures hit 40 degrees c.

We didn't explore much of the area as it was just too warm - after a short trip out on my bike I decided to just sit and enjoy the peace. In cooler temperatures biking from the site would be very enjoyable and lots of villages and towns nearby looked worth a visit.

We ate at the on-site bar which was very good value.

We do prefer sites where you can wander into a town or village so probably wouldn't stay for longer than one night but would certainly return if passing through.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HelenWatkin 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent two weeks at this lovely peaceful campsite. The pitches are spacious, and the whole camp site very well looked after, with immaculate toilet and shower facilities (including an excellent accessible washroom). The English owners are extremely helpful and very friendly, maintaining everything to a very high standard, and going the extra mile to make sure that campers have a great holiday, without being at all intrusive. There is plenty to do and see in the local area, and the campsite bar was also a good place to while away many a pleasant hour. We would definitively recommend this site to anyone considering a trip to this area, though it's not the place to bring teenagers who are looking for lively night life. It would suit older couples like ourselves, or families with young children.

Definitely not one to be missed!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David Han 1 review from this member

We arrived at the site following an extraordinary amount of rain, some of which continued during our one week stay. We were the only people there, apart from another couple who were touring in their motorhome and who returned during our stay. One other couple arrived before we left to stay in the gite. What could have turned out to be a disastrous return to camping after many years due to the weather was actually a most enjoyable time. The facilities are spotless, and the English couple who run the site could not have been more helpful and friendly. It is a quiet and peaceful site that is a short drive to the nearest village and supermarket. There are spectacular views of the snow covered Pyrenees and the pitches are very generous although some are gently sloping. The large pool was also kept spotlessly clean. We had breakfast a couple of mornings at the covered bar area, and meals are also served here in the high season. Bread can be ordered each day. This is a great base for exploring this part of France, or perhaps just chilling out by the pool. Can't fault it.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BridgetC 1 review from this member

A wonderful friendly family campsite with the peace and tranquillity we were looking to experience in the real France. The facilities are superb and very family friendly; so much so my children asked to wash! Each pitch has plenty of room without feeling too enclosed by other campers and panoramic views.

The owners of the site were very helpful and full of advice for day excursions in and around the area. An easy day trip out to experience the Pyrenees. We will definitely return to Aux Memes and were so sad to leave as we made some lovely friends. Thank you so much for this truly wonderful camp site, a must for those seeking a get away from it all for an idyllic holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tresbon 6 reviews from this member

Quiet site nestling atop rolling hills with picture perfect fields surrounding it. Perfect for a relaxing break - lots of families staying there, a reasonable sized pool for the site allowed respite from the hot weather and in the distance the Pyrenees are awe inspiring. The owners are fantastic, the toilets are clean and a basic menu is complimented by regular theme nights. The owners get some interesting musical acts in which add to the stay! The children's play park is small and suited for younger children. Site is large enough with very generous pitch sizes for you to not be on top of other folk. Very quiet at night.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Majorjo 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Aux Memes. See my earlier review. We stayed for around 7 weeks June/July going up to the Pyrenees a couple of times. Just as good as last year. Only difference is that there are some more pitches with electric hook up.

They are excellent hosts and even when we arrived in atrocious weather did their best to settle us in even though we couldn't get onto a pitch as too soft. If you like live music check out the website as we saw two bands whilst we were there. The Gers is a lovely region with plenty of places to visit. Local supermarket in Masseube stocks everything you could need and local markets are worth a visit too. If you are a motorbike fan they always have the MotoGP on the bar TV. We had a fabulous time and will be back again. Can't fault anything

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DavisClan 1 review from this member

Oh dear! Seems the word is out - we were hoping to keep it a secret.

This is a fabulous site in every way. We stayed for three weeks last summer and had a wonderful time.

Where to start? As this is a small site, the facilities are never busy and there is a friendly atmosphere, generated in large measure to Pete and Jan. The pool is a really good size and we often had it to ourselves. Loungers and umbrellas surround the pool, which is close to the bar, loos and showers, which are kept impeccably clean.

We stayed at a large commercial site in 2011, which was incredibly noisy at night and were looking for a quieter site with good pool. It is testament to the obvious tranquillity of this site that we selected a pitch close to the pool without any concerns about noise. This allowed our kids to go to the pool on their own and we could still keep an eye on them. Also, while cooking up sausages, I could nip to the pool for a quick dip and be back before they burned.

As to practicalities, Pete and Jan take care of most things. There is a large washing machine, good and spacious showers, a welcoming bar, with good value drinks and games for the kids. Jan gets fresh bread every morning if you order the night before and freezes ice packs (essential when we went as it was baking). Jan also does a dish of the day, which is apparently excellent (we didn't partake (there are plenty of supermarkets close by so we tended to cook for ourselves) but will this year). We can confirm she makes excellent chips!

The pitches are a good size and many have electric hook up.

On the entertainment side, there is obviously the pool and a small kids play area. There is also a table tennis table but watch out, Pete is a demon player. Pete and Jan also hire out DVDs and I seem to recall there was a TV in the bar, but it was rarely on. There is also free wifi at the bar. The kids loved exploring and given the location, there were no concerns about roads etc. However, primarily this is a site for those who want to kick back and soak up the sun and not for those who want kids clubs or 'animations'.

The only negatives would be that the pitches are slightly sloping, which meant we rolled off the air bed from time to time and little shade unless you create your own. Oh, and Pete's table tennis skills, which put everyone else in the shade!

We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nigeljwatson 5 reviews from this member

We just loved this site. Jan and peter are wonderful and cannot do too much to help. Facilities are amongst the best we experienced any where with clean modern wash rooms, showers and toilets. The pool is large as are the pitches. Some of them are sloping and motor homes may need chocks for levelling. Mostly Brits when were there. Genuinely hard to fault. Maybe the remote location and the lack of much shade lose a star or two - but if you want sunshine, rural peace and beautiful night skies look no further. Camping at its best.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2055 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019