Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Howard Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The Howard Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

The Howard Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rosedale Abbey
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8SA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16/03 To 30/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 520 reviews from this member

Excellent site, now updated with hard standing pitches.

There are no shower or toilets, but all pitches have TV and electric hook up.

Excellent pub just over the road, with excellent meals and ales.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights. It is a real gem, good grass pitches, peaceful site and friendly staff. There is pub opposite - but a better one up the hill with great views across Rosedale and the best steak pie we've had for ages. As regular CL users, the lack of toilets/shower was no problem at all.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

The Howard - Pretty but off grid

Visited for the Easter Daffodils in this valley & the Farndale Valley, all very pretty. NYM railway very good day out but strong price, careful planning reaped rewards and steamy photos. Lots to do in area with research. Arrived for check in with the temporary wardens, greeted with 'you do know there is no toilet block ?'. Regular wardens very helpful & pleasant. Hoping the CMC might see if there is anything in the dwindling club coffers to install a WIFI & telephone link to the site - its basically a black spot and requires some effort to get a signal up in the local hills. A really poor situation in 2017, unless that's what's wanted, and therefore be thoughtful if wifi or phone is essential for kids or home contact etc. There is no real 3G or 4G on site either so a mifi wont help. Pretty good value clean but basic firm grass pitches site which was surprisingly very quiet on the pre Easter weekend, hence un-used overflow paddock area handy for dog exercising. Seems that this site's previous popularity has maybe dwindled by 2017 ? A more commercial private owned site is over the road at 24pn with a toilet block & wifi, busy !

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newbies2 4 reviews from this member

Booked very last minute via Caravan Club Site (5pm on the Friday - we arrived 7. 30pm) - such a warm welcome and a choice of pitches. Really lovely weekend away and wardens couldn't be more helpful.

No toilet blocks and we were backed onto the road, which wasn't really busy but we did notice when there was traffic, we could have been on the other side which wasn't by the road, so our choice.

Lovely, quiet and well looked after. Good walking advice. We were fortunate enough to see a young tawny owl, yet to finds his wings, a lovely secluded area and one we will return to.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helendfc 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Would highly recommend. I had been here before many years ago. I could tell that many improvements had been carried out to the site and many more are anticipated for this year. The site is situated in a very quiet rural setting, approximately 10 miles from Pickering. It has a lovely toilet block with never ending hot water, a playground/ football pitch for the children and a well stocked shop on site. Electric is metered and only 1 a night. The staff/owners are very nice and pleasant and they tell me that a games room will be built this year for the children and that more room will be made available for tourers. The only negative (if you see it as a negative) is that you can't get a phone signal. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend anyone to visit

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rebecca Binns 1 review from this member

Very nice site well looked after and the wardens were really nice and helpful. Love Rosedale as we have shared some fantastic times and great memories there. We use to go every year for the Traction Rally. It would be an amazing site if it had a toilet / shower block because it is a beautiful place for all the family and friends it is also not far for Pickering and flamingo land. I would certainly visit again 😄

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Abbiecrowder 1 review from this member

Arrived at this site on spec on a busy half term holiday weekend after abandoning our originally chosen campsite in the Forest at Spiers House which had noisy building work going on. The staff were immediately friendly and attentive and managed to just squeeze us in. The site itself was really really pretty and had a good sense of well maintained space. We were pitched just next to the stream and only metres away from a new toilet and shower block. (I understand there is another one at the children's park area).

The pitch was great, the warden were just absolutely FABULOUS and helped me umpteen times with my various motorhome incapabilities. One of them even offered to wash out and help me empty the mobile toilet! (Bless him!).

Toilets were always clean and full paper rolls, showers were nice and hot though slightly lacking in water pressure. My only criticism would be the 'shop/reception' area. I think that much better use could be made of this. The stock in the shop is sparse - there was a row full of kids toys sparsely laid out and a few essentials on the other side. I would cram all of this space with stock and perhaps sell locally made cakes and Yorkshire treats, maybe even have a little hot food (pasties/pies/pizza) for those who don't want to cook.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

A small pretty site with very helpful wardens, generous pitches and close to the village. Was boggy when we arrived due to bad weather and one area was out of use because of the wet conditions. We stayed in the aftermath of the hurricane and because of the sheltered location had a very calm stay.

We tried both pubs and would recommend the White Horse for food, views, hospitality and ambience.

Be aware there is no mobile signal in the area and some of the BT lines have been out of order for over 5 weeks. In an emergency the warden is happy to make their phone available. We would suggest that the Caravan Club seriously consider putting a payphone on site as they do at almost every other site we have visited over the years.

There is no dog walk on site and although there are lots of public footpaths around for the infirm, dog or owner, these are over stiles and at a distance from the site which is on a busy road into the village. A dog bin at the gate would also be very useful and encourage people to clear up rather than walk on.

The fish and chip van can be recommended and it is possible to phone through in advance so that a rain soaked queue can be avoided.

A van selling milk and eggs calls on the site each morning.

Moss tyres in Pickering can be recommended for puncture repairs and have a great food van for a breakfast butty while I waited.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

This is a Caravan Club site for members located right in the village of Rosedale Abbey in the centre of North Yorkshire National Park. For this reason its ideal for walkers/hikers or those who love the outdoors.

We loved this site and will be back again ASAP. The wardens keep the place well managed and pitches are well spaced out on both sides of a central road.

It's surrounded by trees and within the village which has two pubs and a shop called 'Abbey Stores.' The only down side is the attitude of the woman who serves in Abbey stores. She seemed to 'look down' on campers and tourers shopping

The Rosedale Abbey Camping site (for tents) also looked great is Just next door to the Howard so the village has facities for everyone.

The highlight for us was finding the White Horse on The Hill Pub / hotel. Its only 300 yards out of the village up a steep hill but the views from this pub ( which welcomes dogs). It's a spectacular view of the Dales from the pub which has real log fire and a great atmosphere, good food plus open all day.

A mobile fish and chip van arrives every Friday (7.15) centre of village and this makes for a nice supper without the hassle of cooking

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

The area is immaculate, pitches neat and tidy and the site kept spotless and clean. The site is long and thin which results in 2 lines of vans separated by the tarmac road through the site. Each end of the site has a small 'field like' set up with the vans in a crescent.

We arrived mid afternoon on the Friday and were met by nice friendly wardens. We drove down the site to find a pitch and settled for one to the few remaining pitches on the side of the river rather than the side adjacent to the road as I am a light sleeper.

This proved to be a quiet place to stay, the site is along the edge of a river / stream, with lots of tree cover which was a slight problem for us as our van never actually got any sunlight which at this time of year meant we had to use the heating in the van.

I must admit, I am surprised that a site which can take 60 vans doesn't have any shower or toilet facilities, I had initially assumed the site to be more of a 'CL' when I booked it and only realised it's size a couple or days before we went - must pay more attention next time.

The village of Rosedale Abbey and the site itself are suited to people who want to completely chill out or those who love walking as the village is very small with no phone coverage and only a couple of small shop with limited stock.

All in all, a clean, quiet site, well kept with lovely wardens. We personally won't stop here again but only because we like smaller sites.

As for value for money - we paid 15 a night which is 3 a night more expensive than our visit to a stunning CL with toilets / shower a couple of weeks before but still a good price.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019