Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Barn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Lewes > Spring Barn Farm > Reviews

CLOSED: Spring Barn Farm
Kingston Road
Lewes
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the campsite at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. The Farm Park is still open and welcoming day visitors though

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W3ndy2 1 review from this member

 First time visiting Lewes and will definitely be coming back. The campsite was honestly one of the best I've been to. It is basic but well kept, clean and very good views. But the absolute best thing about it is the atmosphere. The other campers were mostly families so it had a very chilled feel to it with children from all tents (including my 4 year old) playing together in the fresh air.

Cars are not allowed in the camping area but it's easy to understand why and large wheelbarrows are provided to aid with the lugging that is inevitable in camping.

The site is surrounded by the downs and spring barn farm itself which lends to fab views but please note, if you are not keen on animal noises, then this site is not for you.

There is a small farm restaurant on site that caters for breakfast and lunch (I can vouch for the breakfast). There is also a farm shop but be warned, as is the case with most farm shops, the prices are pretty expensive so you may want to stock up elsewhere.

Unfortunately there are only two showers available which can mean a bit of a wait at peak times but we didn't find this a problem.

The town of Lewes itself is about 4 mins by car but walkable if you fancy a stroll. The town is small but charming with a few large supermarkets and several restaurants to choose from if having a night off from cooking. Brighton is 25 mins by car.

If you have children then I thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moonbracken 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Spring Barn Farm for two nights. Our party had two pitches, four adults and three children.

On our arrival the staff were very very friendly. We were given a map of the local areas, the on-site cafe menu and a small sheet enforcing where campers were 'ONLY' allowed and that campers would be 'asked to leave immediately' 'if found in these prohibited areas'.

We headed off to get our wheel arrows but there we none available, I think there were four (maybe five) for the whole site.

Our pitches were in the second field, which was very lucky as we both had large six-man tents and they were nice big pitches. Our tents would not have fitted in the pitches closer to the toilets. The down-side of this is that those with more camping gear have a VERY long trek with the wheelbarrows, it took five trips!

Once we were pitched up we realised we had not been told where the water pipes or toilets and showers were but found them, luckily it was still daylight.

There were four and a disabled toilet in the ladies plus two sinks and a family room. In a separate block two showers. There was always toilet roll and paper towels available. The block was not clean and desperate for a lick of paint. The showers were hot with a fixed head shower. A lockable door with an area with hooks outside the (mouldy) shower curtain.

In the morning the men's loo had no paper towel for hands and the bins were full.

We never saw any staff on the camp site.

I liked that the site had a 10pm quiet rule, though unfortunately this was not upheld, though I was awake anyway I was annoyed that the pitch next to us were up past midnight talking very loudly.

The atmosphere at night with all the firepits was amazing, a real sense of ancient times, the surrounding countryside is breathtaking being nestled in the South Downs and the convenience of the Farm for the kids was great. Especially having half price tickets for campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShoreRam 3 reviews from this member

 I enjoyed my visit to Spring Barn Farm, it is in a great location just a 20 min or so walk from Lewes and easily accessible by car from the A27. The site itself is fairly flat and had a moderate amount of space available for each pitch.

During booking and at check in, the staff were very friendly and helpful. While we were aware that this is a car free site and therefore prepared for the treck between car and tent, the wheel barrows provided aren't a great shape for transporting camping gear and there certainly weren't enough of them.

The facilities on the site consist of some portakabin style toilets and couple of portable showers. The facilities were of a fairly poor standard and again there were not enough of them. The lack of a washing up area is also an (obvious) problem.

It was great to have a firepit and bbq and this somewhat compensates for the lack of facilities. Overall this is an okay site for a quick 2 night visit, but not for any longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjones2000 1 review from this member

 We visited a year after the last reviewer and had a very different experience. We loved the farm, the new indoor slides were great, so never left the camp site, my wife, myself and three children. Toilet block as advertised, fit for purpose and clean. 7 adult, 5 child, seemed about right. Great to have a shop on site, great fresh bread and breakfast in the cafe highly recommended. Have already booked for April 2013! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hrobs62 1 review from this member

 Stunning views, old school camping just how we like it! Basic facilities, drinking water tap, proper toilets were perfectly usable, always a plus in my book. They were very clear about what is available when we booked so all as expected, however beautiful surroundings exceeded expectations as did food in farm shop! We took disposable BBQ's which were fine raised off grass on bricks. Very good weather for may made for a good trip. Would stay again for sure and would prob get fire pit if we went again as they looked good fun. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gufflings 1 review from this member

 We visited over the August bank holiday weekend, 6 adults and 3 children under 2.

Obviously, the animals and play area were a big draw, and they didn't disappoint. However, we found the place to be small, overpriced and lacking in facilities.

Gripes: no showers; no mirrors in the toilet block or hooks on backs of doors; no fires; only 2 wheelbarrows supplied to wheel belongings to pitches; pitches too small; campers can't visit animals and play area for free, despite having paid a fair whack to stay in first place; all rubbish must be taken home (bins are locked); shop doesn't open until 9, 10 on a Sunday (a long wait if you've been up with small people since 6).

By the end of our trip we'd nicknamed it 'No Fun Barn'! The scenery is lovely, but go for a day trip, or one night tops. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynda133 4 reviews from this member

 Our party consisted of two mums and four children ages 3 to 6 years. We stayed for two nights and although the views are beautiful from the campsite, having been to other campsites in Sussex, we considered this to be very over priced considering the basic facilities and that camp fires are not allowed.

The toilet block was clean and soap, paper and towels were available, however the washing up sink with standpipe was dirty when we arrived and we considered this very poor considering they have 3 hours between having to depart at 11am and not being allowed to arrive until 2pm.

We did visit the restaurant and farm shop but again this is overpriced and we spent a day in the park, which is half price to campers.

The park was good but again very expensive if you are not a camper. We were not introduced to the owners but all communication was good, however we would not return as feel it is overpriced for the lack of facilities and not being able to have a fire, even though I asked to have one in my raised BBQ off the ground, but at this time they are not allowing any fires, which is such a shame. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chook87 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this site a couple of times (only for 1 or 2 nights, so lack of showers didn't faze me too much, I have simple camping needs!)

Really pretty setting just below the downs so great if you like a walk but close enough to Lewes/ Brighton if you just want to relax or shop or whatever.

The girls in the farm shop were friendly and helpful, and to be honest the friendliness of this place is one of the main reasons I came back again.

(That and the breakfast - very important in my book)

Shame the previous reviewer didn't like his stay, I guess this kind of site might not be to everyone's taste - but have to say, if you do just turn up and pitch up without checking prices/ facilities first, then you take your chances. Just my opinion!

Anyway, it suited me, and if you like a nice basic campsite in a good location, I'd recommend it. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MichaelM44 3 reviews from this member

 Whilst backpacking the South Downs Way I stopped at this site in the early evening. As there was no reception open I pitched my very small tent and paid the next morning when the office/shop opened.

This site has a nice location at the bottom of the South Downs. However, I regret to say that there is very little else to recommend it.

After a long walk that day, I found there were no showers. In fact in the toilet block, there was no hot water, no working lighting, no mirrors and no coat hooks. The toilet cubicles had no locks and there was no means of even keeping the cubicle doors closed.

When I came to pay in the morning, I was asked for 15 which I paid. This is the highest fee I have paid at a campsite in England for staying one night with a very small backpackers tent (and, of course, no vehicle). Considering the very poor facilities this charge was in no way reasonable.

I sent a polite and constructive comment about the site to its owners by e-mail from their website but never received a reply. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12891 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement