Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Halstead > Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site
Spencers Farm Shop
Wickham St Paul
Halstead
Essex   (Browse area)
CO9 2PX
Tel: 01787 269476   or  07939 142286
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 46 reviews from this member

 A quiet site with five hard standings and, through the gate at the far end, a field for tents/rallies.

The site is a strip at the bottom of a field of apple trees and strawberry tunnels, with water point, rubbish bins and CDP at the far end.

The advertised toilet/shower are at the top of the field by the farm, so we did not see them.

The farm shop is, like all of its' ilk, a bit expensive but the quality is excellent - we relished the fresh asparagus and meat pies.

The cafe is good too, excellent Sunday lunch (you may need to book) and afternoon teas. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nickgloss 2 reviews from this member

 Great stop for a couple of nights, fabulous farm shop with cafe, short walk to country pub restaurant which we didn't try,

Elson and drinking water all close by, bins with recycling !

We had a Chinese takeaway delivered to the site which was excellent,

The fresh fruit and veg which are grown on the farm were so tasty. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craigj 1 review from this member

 This is a very basic site but level.

It suited us to be quiet and we enjoyed using the cafe for an excellent breakfast.

The shop and fruit especially were of a high standard.

Lovely village green and pub with restaurant. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Miss Susan Parrish 1 review from this member

 Very quiet and very clean. A lovely place to stay.

Would definitely use again.

Good value for money and the farm shop sells amazing fruit. The strawberries are the best I've had. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs398 35 reviews from this member

 The weather forecast was good for the weekend so we decided to go camping and canoeing along the river stour, spotted this campsite on Thursday evening and rang to book it for Friday night.

I realised after I had put the phone down that they hadn't taken my name and indeed when we arrived they Didn't have a note if yes but it wasn't a problem, we were directed to the site and told to pitch where we wanted, what a bargain, 9 a night with electric, site is basically two strips of grass with electric points but it was fine for what we wanted, a long trek to the toilet and shower which wasn't so'pleasant but at that price we weren't going to complain, had it have been a lot more money then we probably wouldn't have booked, I think they've got the pricing spot on.

Lovely to be left to ourselves, no time to be off site either which meant we could make the most of the next day.

A lovely little site which we will return to 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy12miller 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night 28. 03. 15 - never been here before booked for us by a friend. Very friendly on arrival

Only 9 a night for tent with electric hook up - lovely and peaceful

On the down side didn't enjoy the hike to the toilet(through the fruit and strawberry field) and shower which is to the left of the shop building. It also worried me that should someone be using the shower and shop not open (additional toilets with shop) then having to wait to use the loo could cause a problem or inconvenience, as shower and loo in the area.

We did have some rain and friends in the non electric area - quickly bogged under with mud !

On the whole liked it and will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rs_rob 2 reviews from this member

 We just got back from a one night stop over & absolutely loved it, we booked on the day by calling ahead to check availability.

Its a lovely peaceful spot & very basic site but as we were parking a motorhome for the night this did not bother us at all in fact its places like this that appeal to us.

At night I could sit & gaze @ the stars as there are no street lights to obscure the vision & there was only the occasional car passing by.

The site has a camping field at the rear & to the front is the motorhome/caravan section with only 1 Hard standing & I think I counted 8 electric hook up points on 2 blocks so its advisable to bring along a very long lead if you want some space next to you. Our lead wasn't long enough to reach the hard standing so we didn't bother using it.

We will definitely be going back again.

Rob. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melmel74 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night the last weekend in june and were lucky to have some good weather! We pitched in the non hook up 'field' which is more like a strip of grass at the back of the fruit farm. For this we paid 7 which for a family of 4 I thought was a bargain. The grass was a little long but for this price we couldn't complain.

Staying here is more about the whole experience rather than the site in itself. We went for the main purpose of fruit picking with our kids which they loved. We picked strawberries and there are various fruits you can pick throughout the seasons.

We ate lunch in the cafe and our boys loved playing on the old tractor and also the new 'kiddie' tractor cars.

We bought food in the farm shop to cook for tea. There is lots of homemade produce for sale. Beware - the site is cheap to stay on but with so many tasty treats on offer you will soon more than make up for that!

We took the kampa khazi as had read other reviews about the toilet being next to the shop. There are no lights on site and can't imagine navigating the poly tunnels in the dark!

We enjoyed our stay and the pick your own experience and will go back again for more goodies! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abby73 3 reviews from this member

 This was great value for money at 9 a night including electricity. The kids loved it as there was loads of space to run around and they loved going fruit picking.

The farm shop had everything we needed, which was good food and drink. The cafe was really nice too. The only let down was the lack of toilet/shower facilities.

I would say a camping toilet of your own is an essential, especially with kids, as the toilet was a two minute walk with no lighting and there was only one, which was also a shower and that wasn't very clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinacooper 4 reviews from this member

 We have been camping around this area for years and have never found this site before! mainly as the site advertises as c and c caravans only

BUT they now accept tents

There are separate areas for electric hook up and the area without allows camp fires

We found this site very laid back and yes its a short walk to the loos but there is a chemical disposal point so I would suggest taking your own loo for the night time

The walk to the loos was unique as in you have to walk across the fruit farm never done that before !

The farm shop sold everything you could ask for and I found it reasonable for the quality of goods sold there

You could pitch where you wanted, no set rules and we had loads of space and kids really enjoyed having a camp fire and going hunting for broken twigs to burn, which were plentiful, around the hedges over the big site

Very peaceful and relaxed and a short walk to the village green and local pub

Lots to see in surrounding area

We have booked to come back BUT the only negative thing I can say is there only being the 1 shower

However I only had a 5 minute wait and no one else in my party experienced a wait

I did ask the owner if he would consider putting more showers etc in and nearer to the camp field and he admitted the camping has taken off and it is something he would consider

Overall we had a great weekend here just a short drive from home and it made a change to get out in the fresh air and the kids away from computers x boxes etc and prices so reasonable 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wickham Fruit Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Halstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2649 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement