Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bailiffs Cottage Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Bailiffs Cottage Certificated Site Reviews

Bailiffs Cottage Certificated Site
Lodge Road
Hollesley
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 3RR
Tel: 01394 411275
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CCC Only + tent camping area
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: SammieJaie 11 reviews from this member

Adults Only. What a delightful place. So quiet and relaxing. Pitches are clean & tidy, overlooked by trees, and separated by hedges. I watched some lovely sunsets over next field.

Inside a small raised hut there is 1 toilet & sink and toilet with large 50p🤔 shower & sink. Books for sale (proceeds go to charity) and plenty of local information & wall maps to plan your days out. Behind toilet hut is a sink for washing up, assorted recycling bins and chemical disposal.

Woodbridge is worth a visit, Thursday Market (park motorhome behind Community Centre, not in Station car park. Cheap all day pay & display) Visit the last of the working Tide Mills, which also gives you an insight into local history. Also close to site is the Suffolk Horse Trust and Sutton Hoo.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anniebelle 2 reviews from this member

What a find. A small, quiet, really lovely site. The owners of Bailiffs cottage are really friendly and welcoming. Although there is only 1 shower and 2 toilets, this was was never a problem.

They are both spotless. The site is well located for various interesting places to visit including shingle street, bawdsey and Woodbridge.

The garden at Bailiffs cottage is lovely and we look forward to returning hopefully in the summer.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gill1222 8 reviews from this member

Booked to stay for 2 nights, ended up staying 4, we loved it that much. The peace and tranquillity is just exceptional.

We would definitely recommend this site and we also intend to return when next in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grimble1968 1 review from this member

We loved this site. The owners, Graham & Sandy were very welcoming and made us feel like friends. Thiergarden, which we were invited to walk around, was lovely.

The site was well maintained and the facilities always clean, tidy and all together in one place. We used the washing up sink which made it easier for us as our motorhome is fairly small. There was always hot water.

We plan to visit here again next year and hopefully meet up with others who shared the site with us. We used to live in Suffolk so we revisited places we knew from some time ago. Suffolk is still beautiful and there is a great choice of pubs and restaurants available around Bailiffs Cottage.

We loved hearing the Owls at night and it was so peaceful here.

We will return!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dronny 1 review from this member

'What a fantastic little Gem'.

A small, private site that when we stayed over the bank holiday weekend we were only one of three tents along with a handful of motorhomes / caravans.

This was perfect if you just wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy life. My wife and I pitched in one of the three open pitches and it felt like we were the only ones in the wooded area. Although our vehicle was only a few metres away it was great not to pitch next to it.

The owners were extremely friendly and hospitable and left you alone to get on with simply relaxing.

This was a wonderful surprise and we will be back again soon.

Ssshhhh. Please don't tell everyone! :)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

An absolutely excellent site. We stayed only one night as a stopover but were given a very warm welcome and a huge pitch. The setting is delightful, the shower room is spacious and the toilet/shower cabin includes a large selection of information on local attractions.

We walked the 1. 5 miles to The Sorrel Horse pub in Shottisham where they serve good beer and excellent food. Cost was a very reasonable 17 with electric and our only regret was that we could only stop for one night on our journey !

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prooro 1 review from this member

Just had a fantastic 10 days at this lovely campsite which was exactly as described by the previous reviewer. Everyone was very friendly, it was extremely peaceful and the facilities are kept very clean and tidy. If you don't have to worry about taking the kids on holiday but you're undecided about whether to book or not - just do it! You can choose to camp in 1 of three open areas or, if you want lots of shade like we did, you can walk a few meters from the car to pitch under the silver birch trees. It's an easy cycle to the beach at Shingle Street; less than 10 minutes by car to Sutton Hoo (National Trust); and the pub in the village has free WIFI which is very fast. There's a well-stocked local shop with pain au chocolate on the weekend; a meal and a pint for a fiver each at the pub in Snottisham; within 10 minutes cycle in another direction is year another local pub that serves delicious Indian food: you can't ask for much better!

Many thanks to S&G for a great welcome, as well as the tasty eggs and courgettes! We hope to be back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bridgeywidge 21 reviews from this member

This is one of those sites that you don't really want to tell people about and keep it for yourself.

This small campsite is divided into little sections with plenty of trees and greenery, adjacent to the owners' delightful home and fabulous garden. I came home inspired.

We had amazingly good weather which added to the idyllic location but even in not so unusual weather this site is a gem. The facilities (two loos, one with the shower in it) are housed in a little wooden cabin and were always very clean, thanks to the owners and the respect shown by other campers. Outside, there are recycling bins, the chemical loo disposal point, and a sink with hot water for a little washing up (not under cover). Out the front, there is a welcome bench should you need to wait for the shower but no hardship in such a lovely setting.

All EHU pitches receive a good amount of sunshine (if available); the tent (non-EHU) pitches are less open within a little copse.

The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful and accommodated our late request for an extra night which was much much appreciated.

Lots of walks and cycling to be done, plus sea swimming for the hardly, a lovely pub in walking distance, more boats than Howard's Way and good food/beer locally too. A superb mini escape from reality. Thank you.

Ssssssh, don't tell anyone.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B12kjc 12 reviews from this member

Superb. As said by many this is a little paradise. Great location for seeing Woodford and snape maltings etc. The sorrel horse pub down the road is excellent. We will be back as soon as poss. The food in area is some of the best in uk and this site you will be privileged to share the owners garden. The shower and toilet are in a nice little cabin with recycling bins to rear and a sink prep area for campers and waste disposal. Fresh eggs and some fruit and veg can be bought for very small money. The entrance on lodge road is quite narrow and easy to miss, if you see the red post box you just gone past. Oh yes the shower is 50p for 15 mins and as others have said 2 showers or one very long one for your money. The site is on grass a little uneven but no problem plenty of space as well and lots of privacy we thoroughly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

What a lovely site run by the equally lovely Sandy and Graham. We had the smallest van on the largest pitch! Only two vans in 'our garden', three squeezed in a little more tightly the other side of the shower block. A large portacabin housed the shower, washbasin and two toilets. Both the washing up sink and chemical disposal point were behind the cabin. 50p for a 15 minute shower large enough for both of us costing us a mere 2. 50 extra over 5 nights. Plenty of info about the area in the cabin as well as books, guests could borrow or swap. Peaceful most of the time, apart from the odd tractor in the fields next door spraying crops. We didn't hear the chickens from our pitch but I can't say for those next to the hens. My only criticism is that for hygiene reasons I really do not think that the chemical disposal point should be right next to the washing up facility! A minor point which does not deter us from returning. Our favourite site of the holiday.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019