Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Farthingdales Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Bobbington > Farthingdales Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Farthingdales Caravan Park
Crab Lane
Bobbington
Staffordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparky 09 5 reviews from this member

 A delightful small privately owned level site with grass pitches opposite the entrance to Wolverhampton Business Airport. Good value at £10 per night plus metered electric with tokens at £1 or £5 available from the site owner.

We opted for the £5 and used £4. 30 from Friday until Monday but it was unseasonably cold and we used electric heating, the immersion heater etc.

There are good approach roads which are adequate for tourers from the A449 and the A458 and site access is easy with no narrow entrances.

The site is ideal for the annual Halfpenny at War weekend and popular Hangar Dance, held in May at the former WW2 airfield, which has a public cafe and bar in the WW2 control tower and is directly opposite Farthingdales.

Air experience flights in light aircraft or microlights are available on request at the airfield, when we were there for the war weekend several vintage aircraft visited with local flights for £50 per person in a 1936 De Havilland Dragon Rapide. During our weekend there was also a BBMF Hurricane flypast.

There is some occasional light aircraft and helicopter noise which didn't unduly disturb us, the site is ideally situated for visits to Birmingham, Dudley Zoo, the Black Country Living Museum and the Severn Valley Steam Railway.

Farthingdales also has a good sized level rally field (without ehu) where the grass is cut regularly.

Farthingdales is dog friendly but there are no on site children's facilities as such so it's probably better for adults, although we did see children on site during our stay.

The toilets and showers were limited in number but spotlessly clean at all times, with level access. The longer term residents and the site owners were friendly and helpful and we'd be happy to recommend this site and to visit it again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: L + A 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site! We have just spent 2 weeks here and it was great. It is definitely for adults as there is no children’s play area etc but this suits us.

The toilets and shower are spotless and the shower is free! The electric is by token but in the 2 weeks we have been there we have only bought £15 but as the site was only £100. 00 for 14 nights I think that is a good deal (and it has been cold and damp all the time we have been there so we have had heating on)

There is loads to go and see and do within 20-30mins drive.

The Royal Oak pub just down the road has very good food and is not expensive. We did not really notice the air craft going in and out at all not even the police helicopter that was in and out a lot.

The lady that owns the site was very helpful and pleasant and everyone was very nice with out being interfering. Will definitely be going back next year well worth the 2 ½ hour drive for us. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonymill47 1 review from this member

 My wife and I spent the month of February on this delightful site near to the village of Bobbington. The site is situated opposite the Wolverhampton Business Airport providing a free airshow every day.

The airport has a cafe and bar situated in the control tower building with excellent viewing facility. The site is level with excellent access, the on site facilities are more than adequate and always spotlessly clean. Situated as it is it is close to Stourbridge, Bridgnorth, Kidderminster, Dudley and Merryhill. We would recommend the site without hesitation and plan to visit again. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen barbara green 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to this site. We arrived early evening in the dark after being stuck on the M6 for 2 hours making it a gruelling 7 hour journey. We phoned the owner to explain we would be late and we can only praise the helpful and understanding response we got. We were guided to the site via the mobile as we were tired and fed up and had trouble locating the site when infact we were litually on the doorstep. We were shown to our pitch and told we could pay the next day giving us time to get sorted and relax. There was credit on the electricity meter which we were allowed to use.

The showers and toilets were beautiful and clean, although the shower itself was not very powerful.

The pitch was on grass but we had no problems with getting the caravan into place.

The site itself is not very big but is lovely and peaceful with plenty of dog walks.

It is a 10 minute drive from Kinver and 30 minutes from The Merry Hill Shopping Center. There are a number of country pubs near by for meals.

The only critisism I have is that in my opinion the site would benefit from having more pathways from the pitchs to the main pathway to the shower/toilet blocks as it was a bit muddy underfoot.

All in all we were very pleased with the site and will definitely be returning when we are next down visiting the family. At £10 per night we found it excellent value for money, very peaceful and a very friendly site to be on. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 Wow what a lovely site ! this place is just over the road from Wolverhampton business airport so there is some small aircraft and helicopter noise however ! it is sited on a former RAF base (still has air raid bunkers ! and lots of history) its a very laid back site!

The owner Kay is a lovely lady nothing seemed to be too much trouble ! we took our 4 year old grandson who really enjoyed the freedom to ride his bike around in safety !

The toilet and shower blocks are basic but always immaculate ! for £10 per night or £50 per week this place is well worth it if your visiting the black country (8 miles from Dudley - 12 miles from the west mid safari park - 7 miles from the severn valley railway)

Electric is charged via a meter (we stayed 4 nights and used £3.50 ! just watch the free range chickens as they'll be in your caravan (the grandson loved this)

All in all a great place for a chill out weekend (oh and try the food in the Red Lion Pub in Bobbington (just up the road)its superb !) 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hmv4u 53 reviews from this member

 The site is across the road from wolverhampton business airport,this seems to cater for small planes, microlites and helicopters so although you don't have the noise of jet engines there is some noise but personally I didn't find it that disturbing, missed the site sign but turned round in the airport entrance so it had its uses

The owner, kay is very friendly as are the other site regulars I spoke to-all described it as a quiet site (there seem to be a number of long term caravanners on site). There don't seem to be any hard standings available and we arrived in pouring rain and started to skid on the grass when trying to back in.

Dispite my misgivings we got off alright with kay volunteering her 4 x 4 to pull us off if needed. Price is very reasonable with cards needed for the electric (£1 & £5) we were a bit surprised when the first one ran out after 7 hours but were using the fan heater so shouldn't have been really but the down side is tramping out in the rain and mud at 12am to put another card in but you quickly learn to check it regularly to prevent this.

Overall used £4 in 2 nights,returning an unused card for a refund. Toilet / shower facilities are first class although limited to one shower and two toilets for the men,the missus commented on how nice her toilets were so full marks on that one ! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scott0323 3 reviews from this member

 Farthingdales Caravan park represented a good value for money site with decent facilities and a relaxed friendly venue. The shower and toilet facilities where of a very high standard and the location was ideally situated between Wolverhampton, Dudley & Bridge North. We will make a return trip and our friends that visited us (who keep a caravan on another Black country site) have said that they would certainly stay over at Farthingdales next Spring. The only real area of recommendation for improvement would be the addition of a wall mounted shaving mirror and shaver power point in the gents washroom. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adamanemma 2 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site on the Friday but Saturday saw a few younger people turn up with toys and gadgets making lots of noise.

Airport close by is a novelty but the police use it as a base for their helicopter, so noise and lights throughout the night can become quite disturbing.

Washing up sink is only available in the gents.

All in not a bad site and priced quite reasonable electric is charged using a pre-pay token meter, tokens are 1 or 5 pound we used just under 2 pounds in two days. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brasshouseval 1 review from this member

 An attractive site with good facilities but unfortunately although advertised as an Adult Only site there were at least two families with children on site - one approx 10 years old and the other a noisy toddler.

The site is very close to Wolverhampton Business Airport. For those of us not used to frequent aircraft noise from small planes and helicopters it was a novelty 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement