Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Leisure Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears > Lakeside Leisure Campsite Reviews

Lakeside Leisure Campsite
Meidrim Road
St Clears
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA33 4DW
Tel: 07539 327814
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 caravans 10 tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Samantha Robinson 1 review from this member

 As a family of 6 pitch 2 has ample room, level ground and loved our view into a field of sheep! Very clean toilet and shower area. We are used to camping with just access to 1 toilet so the extra touch of a dish washing area was a joy! Also having drinking water on site means we bring less next time. Hot water tap made washing easier.

Another bonus is co-op being a 5 minute drive away, this will also mean we can buy chilled foods daily rather than rely on cool boxes for a longer stay.

We probably went when the weather couldn't be worse so as expected there were boggy parts especially the track to the toilet area but it all adds the experience! Can't wait to go back soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nathanstev 3 reviews from this member

 Looked great on the pictures, small site, seemed quiet.

Only 1 toilet and shower, except the porta loo in the box on the island. toilet had half a used loo roll. Never cleaned for the whole 2 days we managed to stick it. Track was to boggy to walk or drive, island pitch was left with rubbish all over it.

Fairly busy road close by that is noisy at night.

Staff none existent, owner apparently on the phone if needed showed no support when called. They directed us to the pitch and left us to crack on. Track was flooded and muddy

Large water bottles hang from trees to prevent wasps?! None of the solar lights worked at night. Lake was very boggy needs dredged.

There was no wood to buy, we just had to just scavenge. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BrettEagles 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite. So natural and peaceful. The kids loved playing in the boats. Having an open fire in the evening is great. The sound of birds singing and the bucking on the lake were amazing. Will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freedomandfreshair 1 review from this member

 Idyllic is how I would describe this site. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. If you like all the mod cons then this isn't the site for you. No phone signal and no Internet but for us this was a big bonus as you could get away from it all.

There were old washing machines drums and firewood for sale where you could have a fire in the evening.

The toilets were clean and serviceable. Didn't use the shower as only there one night to try the tent out so can't comment on that.

The highlight for us, and what made it memorable was the lake and the fact that you could get in a boat and row out amongst the lily pads. Magical!

There are no negatives. There is no electricity and it is an amazing place to get away from it all. A lovely welcome and you were left alone to have an amazing time. Can't wait to return. Thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hols4me 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights with extended family in our Folding Camper. Family stayed in their motor home with the two dogs. The facilities are basic, but well kept and clean. There's only one toilet and shower, but they were perfectly serviceable.

We were very happy to discover that we had the place to ourselves, and the dogs loved having so much freedom!

Loved the picnic benches, which are dotted around the site,

I don't think we used our table and chairs more than once.

We met the site owners who were very friendly and helpful.

This really is a place to get away from it all, as the mobile phone signal is very poor, and there was no TV signal. Also, I would say that because of the Lake, the site would be unsuitable for small children.

The nearest village ST. Clears is a nice little place with a few shops, a fairly large CO-OP, and a fab fish and Chip shop. We also had a lovely cream tea in one of the cafes in the main street, but I can't remember the name of it,

We had a lovely day in Tenby, and ventured in to Carmarthen to Tesco to stock up on supplies a couple of times.

All in all, we had a lovely few days and would return for a complete chill out when we feel the need to get away from it all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Becs109 6 reviews from this member

 The word 'idyllic' could have been created for this site. Smooth grassy areas surrounding a lily-strewn lake with small islands, quiet and peaceful with only birdsong (and the occasional car passing) disturbing the silence.

From the outside the facilities look unassuming, but they are a revelation inside - nice, clean, well decorated toilet and shower which once we'd worked out how to operate the boiler, had a hot water supply.

There is only one toilet and one shower for the whole site, which wasn't a problem as we had the place to ourselves, but could be more interesting at busier times.

It's a shame we couldn't hang around in the morning to enjoy it even more, but we had a train to catch and had to dash off early, only briefly meeting the owner (who was very friendly). 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scotsgordon 3 reviews from this member

 I booked via their website contact us option and received a telephone confirmation from the site owner in return. We booked for 3 nights over Easter bank holiday weekend and were surprised to find we had the place to ourselves.

This is a cracking little site with an ornamental lake set in the middle of a mown field. There are only limited facilities - one shower and one toilet, but they are well presented and immaculately clean. There are picnic tables dotted about for use, and fire pits (recycled washing machine drums - genius) with fire wood for sale if required.

The current owner has only recently bought the site and seems to be working hard to improve and upgrade what is available without detracting from the character of the site and deserves supporting in the form of bookings.

This site is definitely on my list of must return to sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peco77 1 review from this member

 This site is not for glampers or those who want their entertainment loud and laid on - no commercialisation here. If you desire seclusion, hidden in an emerald valley, surrounded by wildlife and a few other like minded campers/caravanners then this is the perfect place for you.

A warm welcome and facilities which are basic but adequate, functional and clean await you at the site - which is based around a lake and runs alongside a stream.

The site is perfectly placed for exploring Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire and 5 mins away from Laugharne, the home of Dylan Thomas with his boathouse, writing shed and the beautiful castle. The village centre is a few minutes from the site with local shops and small supermarket.

We will return again and highly recommend this tranquil gem. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PhilnKim 1 review from this member

 What an awesome site. Have to agree with other reviewers about the warm and friendly reception from the owner. I cannot remember feeling as relaxed here in the bosom of the Carmarthen countryside than on any other site, we had a lot of fun paddling around the lake and even our dogs were thrilled and chilled with the atmosphere of the whole place so thanks and we will definitely be back and very soon we hope. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maistro 6 reviews from this member

 We found Lakeside online and it sounded ideal. The directions are clear and the site is well signposted. Every pitch is large and flat, having picnic tables is good and saves having to take tables and chairs with you. We hadn't been there long and the owner came to see if everything was okay. The other owner visited us the next morning, bringing us a parasol as it was nice and sunny and some paddles for the dinghy. We had the site to ourselves and it was lovely, weather permitting we will be returning next week. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Leisure Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Leisure Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Leisure Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Clears      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement